Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Des Bishop falls foul of the Traveller lobby

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

In before the lock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Des should know travellers can do what they want in ireland . RTÉ love them as long as they don’t live in donnybrook or Dalkey .

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Everlong1

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Des should know travellers can do what they want in ireland . RTÉ love them as long as they don’t live in donnybrook or Dalkey .

Yeah it's interesting to see how their public relations machine is getting more sophisticated. They've had their taxpayer paid mouthpieces in Pavee Point long enough but in recent years we've seen John Connors on RTE every other week putting on the poor mouth about racism blah blah blah. Now they have a another mouthpiece in the Seanad to tell us all how wonderful they are and what a great contribution to Irish culture they make.

I've never understood people demanding an apology. If you have to demand one, it's meaningless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Ain't no fan of Dessie, but the boy speaks the truth, boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,167 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I read the article.

He didn't say anything that wasn't true.

The new lockdown restrictions allow for ten people only at funerals. Should be interesting to see how many times that particular measure is openly flouted by the Traveller community over the next six weeks while the Guards stand by and do nothing.

I've never understood people demanding an apology. If you have to demand one, it's meaningless.

It's called playing to the gallery. There's no better way to get your picture in the paper these days than by being offended and demanding an apology. It's practically an industry now. The media love it of course. Those newspaper columns won't fill themselves you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,167 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Everlong1 wrote: »
    The new lockdown restrictions allow for ten people only at funerals. Should be interesting to see how many times that particular measure is openly flouted by the Traveller community over the next six weeks while the Guards stand by and do nothing.

Its been upped to 25 to match weddings.

Still, they'll break it willy nilly without any comeback.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Slideways

Tell them to fûck off.

If they feel so slighted by it, sue him. See how that pans out in court for them. It’s not slander if it’s true

• Registered Users Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Tommy Tiernan, now theres a man who could tell a joke about travellers, and get away with it

• Subscribers Posts: 41,144 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I see nothing wrong in what he said, and he actually highlighted that travellers are discriminated against

Typical "truth doesnt suit the narrative" when it comes to travellers.

Garish cemetery graves, blancmange weddings to cousins, on street feuding, withholding education from their kids, girls being corralled into homemaker lifestyles at at young age .....

This is the truth that is held evident by travellers themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

They should call him out good and proper like all his family. They are a bucket o' Sugar. They were always that way and before them they were. Now Bishop better assemble his crew and come and meet them, tooled up and all. The first man who hits the floor is a big girls blouse and he wont marry and sister o' mine let me tell you that.

Seriously, Travellers are sacred cows. You can say anything to them, they can be disciplined in the courts or though education and people wondering why they act feral. The carrot approach has failed, what options are left?

Tommy Tiernan, now theres a man who could tell a joke about travellers, and get away with it

Yeah but he is a completely mad bastard!!! He is smarter than any traveller out there plus he has funny leanings!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,735 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ya whatever about what you think about what was said why would care about a forced apology from someone

• Registered Users Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

"They’re sort of feudal, so they have a lot of feuds."

I'm just here to point out that "feudal" does not mean having a lot of feuds, and unless Travellers have a system whereby the nobility own the land and peasants work it, they're not feudal.

That said, carry on...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

NIMAN wrote: »
    Its been upped to 25 to match weddings.

Still, they'll break it willy nilly without any comeback.

And then complain that AGS didn't do more to intervene and stop them from congregating in large groups.

Just saw it's that fool Beanz Ward that brought this up.

Terrible comedian who mocks "buffers" yet doesn't like when travellers are mocked. Hypocrite.

Well I for one am glad Martin Beanz Ward got up and did something. I wanted noted in history that on this very day, Martin Ward arose, got out of bed, trolled the internet, went outside for a dump and went back to bed.

That concludes the Legend that is Martin Beanz Ward.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

NIMAN wrote: »
    I read the article.

He didn't say anything that wasn't true.

Yes he did. The article also contains this;

At another point Bishop says he “always sticks up for” Travellers, adding they are “hated” by the Irish, calling this “irrational” and “classic racism”.

It is neither irrational nor racism. Everything else he said is very true though.

He's full of sh!t playing the big man on a radio show in America where he thought no Irish would hear him. Watch this space, he'll be apologising like fcuk shortly so that his fellow media luvvies don't turn on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I think he gave a very fair statement on the current situation.

The fact that they are demanding an apology is probably cause it hits a little too close to home and god forbid Pavee Point ever accepts it and tries to deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Martin Collins, co-director of Pavee Point, said the comments were “absolutely appalling”. He said: “Of course they are racist and of course he should apologise. There are some Travellers though, working in the arts, who inadvertently cause hurt also when they use stereotypes of their own community.

Martin Collins' little dig at actor John Connors (who isn't a fan of Pavee Point).

Y

At another point Bishop says he “always sticks up for” Travellers, adding they are “hated” by the Irish, calling this “irrational” and “classic racism”.

Of the four things two are true and two are false.
    He does stick up for travellers else he would he wouldnt have made it out of Ballina when he was there.

They are hated and it is not irrational. A traveller male over 18 is 60 times more likely to have a criminal record than a settled person.

"classic racism", interesting term! I prefer "acute sense of intuition".

It is neither irrational nor racism. Everything else he said is very true though.

He's full of sh!t playing the big man on a radio show in America where he thought no Irish would hear him. Watch this space, he'll be apologising like fcuk shortly so that his fellow media luvvies don't turn on him.

I do wish he would f off and stop doing these deprived/working class based shows. He pretends he cares and that he's trying to understand these less advantaged people but really it's just a posh boy doing poverty porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Of the four things two are true and two are false.
    He does stick up for travellers else he would he wouldnt have made it out of Ballina when he was there.

They are hated and it is not irrational. A traveller male over 18 is 60 times more likely to have a criminal record than a settled person.

"classic racism", interesting term! I prefer "acute sense of intuition".

I was watching the Ross Kemp in Belmarsh series recently. I honestly don't think there was one Irish lad on screen who wasn't a traveller.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭KennisWhale

I ventured to twitter for the first time ever and it's amazing the amount of WOKE people supporting the "educated" travellers.

There's someone called Dr and is always spewing how the "minceir" is being racially abused. And the likes of Saoirse McHugh licking her arse.

They're so blind to the truth!!!

I have found that two different types of extremists live on Twitter and on Facebook. Both sets are united in ignorance and hysteria so I tend to ignore anyone who takes their opinions or news from Twitter and Facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Des, Des, Des...it's not "all"..it's "most".

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Oscar Madison

Where was he telling a lie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭KennisWhale

He does a podcast called the Shift with some midlands one who lives in NY, carving out a living doing stand up comedy but all she goes on about is trying to get a man like it's so edgy. You can probably guess he'll be blabbering on the podcast with his apology and her trying not to associate with the comments he made without actually thinking for herself.

It sounds like you spend a fair bit of time listening to a podcast you hate

I ventured to twitter for the first time ever and it's amazing the amount of WOKE people supporting the "educated" travellers.

There's someone called Dr and is always spewing how the "minceir" is being racially abused. And the likes of Saoirse McHugh licking her arse.

They're so blind to the truth!!!

NEW TWEET FROM MING FLANAGAN:

'Saorse mcjueh licking her arse....'

TWEET DELETED