The Moaning of Death: Liveline 23/9 forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

How does a visually impaired person be certain it's a legitimate taxi they are getting into...

They'd want to be very trusting especially considering the accent is all they have to judge by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Good to see Joe still reading the thread. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,310 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Remind me never to go to Dooblin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

AppleD wrote: »
    Yeah but you were saying that you weren't complaining about not being able to go into the hospital, hardly the same as not going in if you were losing your child.

I was making the point that the rules are the same for everyone the same for everyone no matter how serious or trivial.

That's a total of €13 for today's BINGO, as far as I could keep track of the "Hotspittle" mentions, on today's Bingo Wurds.

Will devise another little list for tomorrow, maybe one that's easier to keep track of. Suggestions of slightly more occasional wurds dat Joe says, but doesn't say 10 times in a run, welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

That's a total of €13 for today's BINGO, as far as I could keep track of the "Hotspittle" mentions, on today's Bingo Wurds.

Will devise another little list for tomorrow, maybe one that's easier to keep track of. Suggestions of slightly more occasional wurds dat Joe says, but doesn't say 10 times in a run, welcome.

Adamant

Unbeknownst

Hear, hear!

Adamant

Unbeknownst

Hear, hear!

Can he pronounce de second wan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I caught about 2minutes of the last segment.

There is an ENORMOUS difference between being visually impaired and being blind. The buffoon of course in his I assume efforts to appear to be woke and not to offend blind people repeatedly said "visually impaired".

A blind person cannot see anything. I am visually impaired, but as the name suggests I can see when that impairment is corrected be that through contact lenses or glasses. I am not blind.

Whilst technically anyone who requires visual correction could be classed as visually impaired, practically it is used to describe those at the extreme end of the scale, such as myself with my -14 in both eyes prescription. Whilsyt I absolutely could not function without glasses or lenses, I am not blind.
    Who do i complain to?:rolleyes:

For the nearsighted, the American Optometric Association (AOA) has determined the following levels of severity:
    If your number is between -0.25 and -2.00, you have mild nearsightedness
    If your number is between -2.25 and -5.00, you have moderate nearsightedness
    If your number is lower than -5.00, you have high nearsightedness

For the farsighted, the AOA classifies it this way:
    If your number is between +0.25 and +2.00, you have mild farsightedness
    If your number is between +2.25 and +5.00, you have moderate farsightedness
    If your number is greater than +5.00, you have high farsightedness

For both types, the closer you are to zero the better your vision is.

There is an ENORMOUS difference between being visually impaired and being blind. The buffoon of course in his I assume efforts to appear to be woke and not to offend blind people repeatedly said "visually impaired".

A blind person cannot see anything. I am visually impaired, but as the name suggests I can see when that impairment is corrected be that through contact lenses or glasses. I am not blind.

Whilst technically anyone who requires visual correction could be classed as visually impaired, practically it is used to describe those at the extreme end of the scale, such as myself with my -14 in both eyes prescription. Whilsyt I absolutely could not function without glasses or lenses, I am not blind.

For the nearsighted, the American Optometric Association (AOA) has determined the following levels of severity:

I know dat! I know dat! I know dat!

Dont ever attempt to have that kind of sight corrected by surgery as I tried to do when I lost license to fly. I rushed headlong into primitive radial keratotomy surgery and ended up with right cornea severely scarred (even optician has difficulty seeing through cornea), left cornea somewhat scarred, severe astigmatism in both eyes, as well as the severe muscle imbalance I was born with, and for which I could attempt further surgery that would fix it for a few months. Makes reading or anything close-up very difficult. Doing the art is a real challenge. I can only drive shortish distances in daylight as my eyes get either dazzled or tired.

My advice is to steer away from all that laser correction, it put paid to any hope of regaining pilots license. Above all it interferes with night vision in many people.

I know dat! I know dat! I know dat!

Breakfast don't ever attempt to have that kind of sight corrected by surgery as I tried to do when I lost license to fly. I rushed headlong into primitive radial keratotomy surgery and ended up with right cornea severely scarred (even optician has difficulty seeing through cornea), left cornea somewhat scarred, severe astigmatism in both eyes, as well as the severe muscle imbalance I was born with, and for which I could attempt further surgery that would fix it for a few months. Makes reading or anything close-up very difficult. Doing the art is a real challenge. I can only drive shortish distances in daylight as my eyes get either dazzled or tired.

My advice is to steer away from all that laser correction, it put paid to any hope of regaining pilots license.

I'm way beyond hat most consultants will touch in Ireland or the UK for either LASIK or LASEK. Most won't touch you after -6 here. At -14 I'm way outside that.

I'm considering the lens replacement option. :eek: I watched the operation being performed once, not the wisest move.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

Disagree with you a bit there caller. There is a legal/medical definition of blindness which basically says if you are unable to read the top line of the regular eye chart. If you cant do that you are defined as blind for legal/meducal purposes. So its not really true to say that if you are blind you cannot see anything. You have total blindness in its purest form but 90% of people who the NCBI work with have some level of sight - if course most would pribably be defined as visually impaired.

I lost my sight 2 years ago and am now "defined" as blind. Its beem hard to adjust to and I have to get injections every 2 months to.keep the very limited level of vision I have

I dont care how someone describes me be that blind, nearly blind ir vusually impaired. If someone sees me they wouldnt know I am almost blind

I have virtually no distance vision so you have to be right up beside me before I recognise you. People I am sure, say at work, think I am ignorant as I wouldnt acknowledge them as I would have no clue who I would be saying hello to. Obviously I cabt dŕive so use the bus but I cant see any bus number so have to be smart when waiting for the bus. I could get a mini white stick but that would be devastating for me.

Funny enough one of the best things for a nearly nlind person is a phone. If I cant read something I can take a picture abd then blow it up. On the example with the buses once I have the bus stop number I can use the app to see how many minutes away my bus is and can use that to help me get the right bus The time boards they have at bus stops dont help me as the height they are at is toi high for me to read. If they were at a lower level I would be able tonread them. One plave I Have noticed they are very aware of these challenges is at airports where they tend to have some eye level abd below flight screens like after going through security at Dublin Airport.

Life has changed so much since this hapoened but others have to get through much worse. Best thing for me was fetting back to wirk abd having as normal a life as much as possible.

Fair play to taxi driver whacker Francis for his service although I wont be troubling him.

Oh and Joe blindness is not a sin either��

Clon63 wrote: »
    Disagree with you a bit there caller. There is a legal/medical definition of blindness which basically says if you are unable to read the top line of the regular eye chart. If you cant do that you are defined as blind for legal/meducal purposes. So its not really true to say that if you are blind you cannot see anything. You have total blindness in its purest form but 90% of people who the NCBI work with have some level of sight - if course most would pribably be defined as visually impaired.

I lost my sight 2 years ago and am now "defined" as blind. Its beem hard to adjust to and I have to get injections every 2 months to.keep the very limited level of vision I have

I dont care how someone describes me be that blind, nearly blind ir vusually impaired. If someone sees me they wouldnt know I am almost blind

I have virtually no distance vision so you have to be right up beside me before I recognise you. People I am sure, say at work, think I am ignorant as I wouldnt acknowledge them as I would have no clue who I would be saying hello to. Obviously I cabt dŕive so use the bus but I cant see any bus number so have to be smart when waiting for the bus. I could get a mini white stick but that would be devastating for me.

Funny enough one of the best things for a nearly nlind person is a phone. If I cant read something I can take a picture abd then blow it up. On the example with the buses once I have the bus stop number I can use the app to see how many minutes away my bus is and can use that to help me get the right bus The time boards they have at bus stops dont help me as the height they are at is toi high for me to read. If they were at a lower level I would be able tonread them. One plave I Have noticed they are very aware of these challenges is at airports where they tend to have some eye level abd below flight screens like after going through security at Dublin Airport.

Life has changed so much since this hapoened but others have to get through much worse. Best thing for me was fetting back to wirk abd having as normal a life as much as possible.

Fair play to taxi driver whacker Francis for his service although I wont be troubling him.

How is it caller you managed to type all that with your difference as they say, so to speak, and Joe can't read a statement from a professional PR company if it doesn't have double spacing?

Clon63 wrote: »

Hi Clon63

You are correct. I wasn't going into the minutiae of the definitions for the more general callers so to speak.

I can't manage at all without corrective aids. I can't read anything unless it's right up to my face. Forget the top line of the visual chart, I can't see the chart. I woiuldn't describe myself as legally blind though (though technically I suppose I am), rather visually impaired.

Sorry for your "difficulties", I know it's not easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,310 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Wheel 1 or Wheel 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Oh hello

Hi Clon63

You are correct. I wasn't going into the minutiae of the definitions for the more general callers so to speak.

I can't manage at all without corrective aids. I can't read anything unless it's right up to my face. Forget the top line of the visual chart, I can't see the chart. I woiuldn't describe myself as legally blind though (though technically I suppose I am), rather visually impaired.

Sorry for your "difficulties", I know it's not easy.

Thanks. Ah yeah its a pain akright but thats life. Unfortunately for me glasses ir corrective aids dont help me so I am fecked😓😓

How is it caller you managed to type all that with your difference as they say, so to speak, and Joe can't read a statement from a professional PR company if it doesn't have double spacing?

Ah give up your awl guff caller. Dont you know I am ceadled in the loving arms and warm embeace of Mary to keep me from feeling cast down by my difference, mar dhea as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Did I miss anything today?

On Joe's crusade to allow more visitors into hospitals I was talking to a friend of mine who works in a hospital over the weekend.

He described how a pregnant woman and her husband - both positive with Covid at the time - said nothing about their symptoms which meant that 10 hospital staff (the wonderful, wonderful front line wurkers) had to leave work for 2 weeks as they were defined as close contacts.

Well done Joe, well done.

BPKS wrote: »
    Did I miss anything today?

On Joe's crusade to allow more visitors into hospitals I was talking to a friend of mine who works in a hospital over the weekend.

He described how a pregnant woman and her husband - both positive with Covid at the time - said nothing about their symptoms which meant that 10 hospital staff (the wonderful, wonderful front line wurkers) had to leave work for 2 weeks as they were defined as close contacts.

Well done Joe, well done.

EXACTLY the reason we don’t allow anyone Covid positive into the hospital. If they knowingly came in positive (and I’m taking your word they did) then those selfish pr*cks should be prosecuted imo.

One person can take out an entire ward just from close contact alone, even if no one catches it from them. And the buffoon himself saying he’s highlighting this. You’re highlighting the wrong thing you muppet (Mr. Duffy dat is, not you).

I'm way beyond hat most consultants will touch in Ireland or the UK for either LASIK or LASEK. Most won't touch you after -6 here. At -14 I'm way outside that.

I'm considering the lens replacement option. :eek: I watched the operation being performed once, not the wisest move.............

I have been told by a few consultants that ultimately I will very likely need that, but that because of the corneal scarring I might also have to undergo a corneal transplant after as the surgery has potential for further scarring in my case. Well de cat has a corneal graft, from a pig's bladder. Maybe I could opt for something like that.

If I were you I think I would go for that option whilst the remainder of your eyes are otherwise healthy, ie no fragility of retina or unstable pressures; speaking of de latter my late aunt had to have an emergency op in Mater Private to treat acute glaucoma which runs in de family of creaking doors, but who tend to hang around forever like grand old antiques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Surely the time has come that Liveline can no longer avoid discussing the greatest crisis this country has faced in a century................the disappearance of Fungi.

Fungi might have gone looking for a mate.
    Joe should volunteer to go for a swim in the bay as a decoy.

Fungi might have gone looking for a mate.
    Joe should volunteer to go for a swim in the bay as a decoy.

giphy.gif?cid=4d1e4f29fb49c9cd99806420fab0cb4eba7e2eb885b82286&rid=giphy.gif

Tomorrow Joe will be trying to find any amount of opportunities for callers who want to be bearers of de voirus.

Who will I "bubble" with so to speak? Gotta be male, young, attractive, intelligent, feline-tolerant and with scrolling finger intact :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Tomorrow Joe will be trying to find any amount of opportunities for callers who want to be bearers of de voirus.

Who will I "bubble" with so to speak? Gotta be male, young, attractive, intelligent, feline-tolerant and with scrolling finger intact :D

Scrolling?.............is that what they’re calling it these days?;)

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Scrolling?.............is that what they’re calling it these days?;)

Well as Joe said to de guy who got his finger blown off by a foyrewurk "and dat's your scrolling finger".

Rules me out so.

On the young bit anyway ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I can tick most of your boxes (with my scrolling finger) there Cat.
    I'm male, attractive, intelligent and I love pussies.
    The young requirement could be a problem though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Maybe its the lockdown or whatever it is but Ronans "roundy birthday" is annoying me now, give it a rest Ro

zell12 wrote: »
    Remind me never to go to Dooblin

Zell, Don't go to Dooblin. Full of whackers or snobs like me and Catmaniac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

Maybe its the lockdown or whatever it is but Ronans "roundy birthday" is annoying me now, give it a rest Ro

Everyone & everything on de radio is annoying today. Lockdown overload. Luckily Joe will be along shortly to lift de Nation's mood :mad: