Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Who is this person? Is he related to Brian Cowen or what?

Get off the stage you muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

I have read all the reports. Group think. Poor structures, bad governance and Lack of independence. NPHET have all of that.

Nphet/public health = Science
    Banking/economic ≠ science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Necro wrote: »
    Exactly. I'm fairly sure I caught Covid from a mate who had been up the North (never told me) watching a match two weeks ago around at his place. His sister subsequently tested positive during the week.

I only developed symptoms on the Tuesday so the contact tracers didn't even want to know about what I did Saturday evening.

From what I have read they are only interested in what you did for previous 48hours. Some people take 5-14 days to develop symptoms. Therefore I would conclude the track and trace system was always going to fail as they have never been getting on top of the virus. In typical HSE fashion they have decided to pass the buck and refuse to take responsibility so will play the blame game.
    It’s very easy to call for Level 5 when your job is safe and will be safe. It is vital that they have plans to fix it and get it right. People are frustrated now what will they be like when lockdown 3 is suggested??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

rob316 wrote: »
    It's not just about covid though, why are you so blind to the bigger picture. Or does this lockdown have zero effect on you?

Again, not actually debating any of the points I made, but persisting with some pretty creepy personalisation.

I am neither part of NPHET or the Cabinet.

You do understand right?

It wasn't me that allowed tracing to collapse.

Personally I think it should have been a priority, given.

Test, Trace & Isolate was the plan.

Now I sense you are angry, but why that is being directed at me is truly a mystery.

So if you could stop please, I'd appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Arghus wrote: »
    I know.

I think that discussion will eventually happen with the North if the potential brutality of the coming few weeks comes to pass.

It seems politically impossible now, but I think November will soften a lot of coughs.

The only way to stop the virus crossing the border is to put all of the border counties into an extended level 5 lockdown. Yes it's tough for them, but our current outbreak down south didn't come out of fresh air. It came from the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

pjohnson wrote: »
    Is this the same "bigger picture" that involves riots in the streets?

NPHET have one purpose and one purpose only advise on public health. The government have to make decisions in the public's interest. The overall interest not just some.
    We have to bite our tongue, hold our nerve and try to get through this with the least damage as possible to the country.

People will get sick and die, it's a pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

The only way to stop the virus crossing the border is to put all of the border counties into an extended level 5 lockdown. Yes it's tough for them, but our current outbreak down south didn't come out of fresh air. It came from the North.

Correct. It mostly came from poorly ventilated spaces down South.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 TheDeep

bk wrote: »
    That is the point. Rather then having 14 Gardai standing around manning a checkpoint, you could have 4 Gardai + 10 soldiers assisting them, while the other 10 Gardai go off and do something more useful, like breaking up house parties, etc.

Or don’t have checkpoints all at because the guards can’t make you go home anyway. Maybe then they could go out and catch a criminal or two.

The incomparably stupid panic buyers are back, stripping the shelves bare. Stopped by my local Lidl, trolleys coming out the door stacked high with toilet roll. Shower of neanderthals.

NPHET have one purpose and one purpose only advise on public health. The government have to make decisions in the public's interest. The overall interest not just some.
    We have to bite our tongue, hold our nerve and try to get through this with the least damage as possible to the country.

People will get sick and die, it's a pandemic.

So not just people for whom health is a concern. Gotcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 brighterspark

My opinion is that hospital occupancy is sufficiently high to put pressure on the system.

Given that dublin has been in level 3 for a month now and is still worsening the hope that level 3 would work has been abandoned by many.

Jack Lambert who works in Mater and consultant in infectious disease disagrees - on Primetime he stated they are not seeing a surge and that although they were stretched in ICU at the peak in April they were able to manage. He also stated that we are in a different place this time round - less nursing homes being infected and less HCWs also being infected. The fact that more patients are also from the younger age groups makes it a very different situation. Education and enforcement of masks and better ventilation in indoor areas are the solution not more misery and depression for all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

A leading infectious disease consultant at Cork University Hospital (CUH) has confirmed that the hospital is not overwhelmed by Covid-19, is managing current pressures, and has urged patients to continue attending for medical treatment.

Professor Mary Horgan said it was not unusual for intensive care beds to be at capacity at this time of year and confirmed that just one patient was in ICU with Covid-19.
    https://twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/1317125833207795712?s=19

Non story about covid numbers in the hospital, just look at the HSE operations report and it tells you the amount of beds taken up with covid. Still 23 people on trolleys.... during a pandemic and winter flu season starting. Should really read as nothing changed, still not enough beds etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

The incomparably stupid panic buyers are back, stripping the shelves bare. Stopped by my local Lidl, trolleys coming out the door stacked high with toilet roll. Shower of neanderthals.

I don't get this. The supermarkets aren't even going to close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

So not just people for whom health is a concern. Gotcha.

If health was the only concern we'd have been in level 5 already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭no.8

32 cases I think in Waterford and local travellers up the road have a marquee set up and a good few extra cars caravans and little ****s blocking the roads jumping on the cars!! One rule for some!

Carmagedon!

This is why its difficult to leave the fate of our general freedoms in the hands of those who may or may not decide to abide. The people involved are traitors imo

Correct. It mostly came from poorly ventilated spaces down South.
    We were doing great, well under control, then Donegal had a huge cluster, followed by Cavan and Monaghan. You are in denial.
    It's not exactly rocket science. It reminds me of all the horsey forum members being in denial about Cheltenham in March.

If health was the only concern we'd have been in level 5 already.

We should've gone to level 5 two weeks ago for the sake of the economy.

We're in a considerably worse state now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

I have no kids and no knowledge of modern education but way back over the summer I and a couple of friends were discussing how the Dept of Education should be working on a straightforward PDF-based lesson-plan/syllabus for each school year that can be centally produced and then emailed (or posted) weekly in order to keep students' learning moving forward (even as an absolute last resort).

I still don't understand why this hasn't even been discussed. We're on the brink of having to close schools again, and literally nothing has been advanced. I'd be apoplectic if I was a dad.

Yep and to be honest I'm fuming.
    The department is an absolute disgrace and we’ll be shortly back to printing out reams of paper to try and teach the kids while answering emails and calls all day.
    None to very little support from the department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Tandey wrote: »
    No, we’re a Gardai state.
    Feeling better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Polar101

bk wrote: »
    The army wouldn't be acting as civilian police, they would be acting in the "aid to to civil authority" role

This. Whenever the army is mentioned, a lot of people just think 'armed soldiers'.

I was in the army back in the day (not here), and the unit was always on standby to assist civil authorities - when the call came, it was usually to do with traffic management (manning checkpoints) or searching for missing persons. Armies during peace time are pretty handy when it comes to having lots of manpower, and moving that manpower around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Wonder what's going on in Cork.
    The clinical director of Cork University Hospital, Professor Conor Deasy has said that it was inevitable that elective treatments would be cancelled as Covid numbers grow and hospital staff are unavailable because they too have the virus.

People needed to do the right thing and society had to show moral responsibility, he urged.

“We're under considerable pressure, this wave is different to the first wave in that when this hit in March we were able to effectively empty the hospital, in other words we were able to discharge patients to long term care facilities, to community hospitals, back to the community, we were in a position then - and we thought it was the right thing to do to turn down and in some cases turn off elective activity,” he told RTÉ radio’s Morning Ireland.

"Such a course of action brought with it its own morbidity and mortalities", he warned and there was a need to keep the non-Covid stream going while at the same time dealing with “the tsunami of patients” that are coming in with respiratory illness and respiratory symptoms that could be Covid.

Such was the level of concern that even patients coming in without respiratory symptoms were being diagnosed with Covid.

Meanwhile, it was reported yesterday that staff of all grades in a Covid-19 unit of Cork University Hospital are on sick leave after contracting the virus or as they await test results, it has been revealed.

A text message from a senior CUH doctor informed GPs across Cork that staff in the unit are off sick with Covid-19 and a number are also awaiting test results.

The staff are based at the acute medical assessment unit (AMU), which has been used to house Covid-19 cases. As a result, the unit cannot be used for assessments due to concerns of more contamination and CUH outpatient appointments will be moved to online platforms only where possible.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1317040859519590400?s=20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭AlphaDelta1

If only the virus couid target these idiots in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,060 ✭✭✭Storm 10

How are we so bad just checked Australia New Zealand Singapore and Hong Kong and they all are under 10 cases

We were doing great, well under control, then Donegal had a huge cluster, followed by Cavan and Monaghan. You are in denial.
    It's not exactly rocket science. It reminds me of all the horsey forum members being in denial about Cheltenham in March.

No, I'm just not going to blame all of the South's problems on the prods.

We've made a balls of things all on our own, thank you very much

No, I'm just not going to blame all of the South's problems on the prods.

We've made a balls of things all on our own, thank you very much

No we didn't. And you brought religion into it. Not me. It's nothing to do with that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Polar101

Storm 10 wrote: »
    How are we so bad just checked Australia New Zealand Singapore and Hong Kong and they all are under 10 cases

Melbourne just got to their 100th day of lockdown, they are definitely not doing the "lifting restrictions too early" thing this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

If only the virus couid target these idiots in particular.

But isn’t that the problem?? Some of them will and It’s the likes of these who will spread it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

Storm 10 wrote: »

Better healthcare, closed airports, rules being enforced and as for asian countries, they have history of wearing masks due to various diseases over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Cork has a huge catchment are and always had a bed capacity issue. Patient numbers always go up coming into winter and add staff out sick.

I would also assume that if anything like Waterford they would isolate people while waiting for results, that would take up more rooms etc.