Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭DrSpongeBobz

Is social media still open in level 5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,609 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

duffman13 wrote: »
    Alan Farrell is some spanner with that tweet. Id doubt the leak came from NPHET and if it did why wait till this afternoon. Hoolahan went out of his way to say nothing! At the very best he's just created more unneeded animosity between NPHET and the government. They need to be working together not creating a divide.

Alan Farrell FG is a terrible TD. I am shocked they re-elected him after his insurance scam.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,864 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Unfortunately, yes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

shinzon wrote: »
    Why does Varadkar keep going on about an exit strategy if we go to level 5 the only exit strategy is to go back down a level or two when the numbers stabilise the same as every other level or is it simply there's no more levels beyond 5 if it doesn't work

Shin

Because we didn't have a proper exit strategy after the last lockdown, just opened everything up and now we're back in the mire again.

Problem is, I don't know if there actually is an effective exit strategy while the virus is out there, or will large swathes of society just have to stay locked down until we get a virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Leo is at home binge watching the lord of the rings and the hobbit to see can he come up with an old bit of a poem to inspire the nation and ease them into a 6 week lockdown.
    Trickle and the boys then will carry on as normal while paddy the gombeen sits at home and only allowed out to work and a few yards of exercise.
    A load of sh1te the lot of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

rusty cole wrote: »
    we have a family friend who had her father in a care home at lockdown.
    She could not see him at all for months and then when she finally did, it was limited.

In advance of this level 5 crack, she's taken him into her won care at the family home...you know what she told us??? My father and I are more concerned with his Quality of life, not the quantity he has left...

Bravo I said, and may there by many like her! old people are petrified once more.

Agree with this. We have a 96 year old family friend who spend a few weeks in hospital in May where the decision was made that she was going into a zNursing Home.
    She left her home in an ambulance, alone, and did not see anyone she knew until one weekly 20 minute visit was allowed to the Nursing Home and that’s gone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Yeah it's not exactly news this time around.

Level 5 was recommended 2 weeks ago. They were hardly going to recommend level 3 on the back of doubling case and hospitalisation figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

There is huge waste within the HSE. Criminal waste. And I am not talking about front line workers here.

Every public servant in the country is getting a 2% payrise in October. You wont hear that mentioned much.

A) No they aren't.

and

B) People haven't shut up about the govt giving themselves a "pay rise".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Yes but restricted to 70 characters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

JDxtra wrote: »
    It is not the number one vector. Keeping the schools open allows parents to continue working.

They could change their mind on this. I wouldn't be surprised if the announced extension to mid term 4 or 5 days b4 kids due back if hospitals coming under pressure.
    Waiting Gives them a bit more time to see how things are going b4 deciding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

NPHET should not be leaking information or flying Level 5 kites. The coalition of chaos already do enough of that.

You don't know they leaked this, nor do we still know if they leaked the last one (unless info subsequently came out showing they did)
    Gael23 wrote: »
    NPHET should go on PUP then their salaries used to pay towards level 5

Just because you don't like what they're recommending, as is their remit, doesn't mean they're not fit for purpose.

It's like being diagnosed with cancer, that nobody wants, and blaming the doctor for telling you.

The only hysterics here are reactions like yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Its clearly being leaked by some loud mouthed back bench TDs (FF and FG) who heard it on the grapevine. The same lads who are only too happy to see the government flounder due to the fact they were not made a junior minister etc....

Its definitely TDs briefing the press

TDs with an agenda of bouncing the government into rejecting the level 5 escalation as happened the last time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭duffman13

Sounds like the issue here is the confused advice about workplaces vs the reality the app is designed around tbh.

In the real world, they were all close contacts with you, and the app is designed around that proximity exposure. But that's inconvenient for business, so we all have to pretend an empty desk or a sanitiser station here or there magically trumps that. Carry on everyone, nothing to see here.

Its proximity based and doesn't know if your or those around you are wearing PPE (mask) Even if you are within proximity to someone for 7 hours, once your both wearing masks for the entirety, you won't be considered a close contact. The app doesn't know that so will flag you as a close contact however a contact tracer will say differently.

The problem you have is two pronged, contact tracing is dire. Also the tracers and the app don't seem to be anyway interlinked!

I've had to deal with a number of positive cases for workers and basically because they are all wearing PPE, they didn't need a test according to the HSE. We still organised tests for everyone out of caution. What I will say is, ive yet to have a cluster so the masks seem to be working well. (Healthcare setting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Strumms wrote: »
    We Want the children, teachers, staff, parents, ALL of us in our communities to be well, that is the priority, what nonsense are YOU spouting ?

The alternatives to learning in classroom settings have and are being discussed.

But I’m glad you are advocating directly the schools act as babysitters .. shows further the angle you are coming from and the disingenuous standpoint of your ‘argument’.

Jesus christ, nobody is suggesting schools act as babysitters. I'm going to assume you don't have kids, because the kind of garbage you're posting is staggeringly ill-informed. Moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,232 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Necro wrote: »
    Yeah that's exactly it imo, that and the workplace contact tracing is probably horribly complicated and they just don't have the resources at present.

Which smells terribly typical of the HSE.

It is meant to catch random untraceable contacts with strangers so presume it has been designed quite defensively to capture scenarios like you sat within 2 m of someone on a train for 30 min who later tested positive etc.

It cannot see a difference between this, and being close to someone you are working with (who may be wearing protective equipment) or fact govt. has decided what you are doing (e.g. healthcare or teaching?) is considered too critical to have whole place shut down to allow everyone to isolate after a positive test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Thanks for the reminder to limit myself on these threads/social media in general when stress levels are increasing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,864 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Its proximity based and doesn't know if your or those around you are wearing PPE (mask) Even if you are within proximity to someone for 7 hours, once your both wearing masks for the entirety, you won't be considered a close contact. The app doesn't know that so will flag you as a close contact however a contact tracer will say differently.

The problem you have is two pronged, contact tracing is dire. Also the tracers and the app don't seem to be anyway interlinked!

I've had to deal with a number of positive cases for workers and basically because they are all wearing PPE, they didn't need a test according to the HSE. We still organised tests for everyone out of caution. What I will say is, ive yet to have a cluster so the masks seem to be working well. (Healthcare setting)

They definitely aren't linked, my wife had two calls, one was related to the App and the other because I obviously gave her name (and the kids).

I'd imagine they have an App team and then the normal team and info isn't shared at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,458 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

shinzon wrote: »
    Why does Varadkar keep going on about an exit strategy if we go to level 5 the only exit strategy is to go back down a level or two when the numbers stabilise the same as every other level or is it simply there's no more levels beyond 5 if it doesn't work

Shin

Because he's right, nobody has ever known and still doesn't know what the criteria is. At least in other countries its if we get below x number these services open up. Here its right 3 weeks or whatever it is and we'll look at it again with people given absolutely nothing to go on as to how low is low enough. Its been asked time and time again, appearently 10 cases a day wasn't low enough either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭duffman13

Necro wrote: »
    They definitely aren't linked, my wife had two calls, one was related to the App and the other because I obviously gave her name (and the kids).

I'd imagine they have an App team and then the normal team and info isn't shared at all.

Which is ridiculous! Also you upload your contacts so surely you can identify yourself so there isn't cross contacts. But, its the HSE :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,251 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Eod100 wrote: »

They had the choice a week and a half a go.

They did not take the advice.

Which is ridiculous! Also you upload your contacts so surely you can identify yourself so there isn't cross contacts. But, its the HSE :(

Yeah you just input the code they send you on and it fires all the data up to the HSE who in turn ping any close contacts.

There was some level of panic on Sunday when 7 colleagues got pinged :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

They had the choice a week and a half a go.

They did not take the advice.

Who’s suggesting they will take it this time. It will destroy the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

My 87 year old granny rang me and told me to get a grip. The war years were worse.

giphy.gif
    What the f*ck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

My 87 year old granny rang me and told me to get a grip. The war years were worse.

giphy.gif

Pubs, restaurants, theatres, cinemas were open during the war years, just saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

All this levels talk:

1) It is completely useless to destroy economy, businesses, services, mental health under a total economic lockdown. Complete and total useless.

2) Keeping the schools opened and pretending like they are not the cause is as absolute vomit-inducing deceit.

3) And all this with the gardai have no powers to enforce any of the measures when it comes to house parties, gatherings etc.

So essentially they are looking to kill off all life while keeping the main cause of the virus spread open, and giving no enforcement powers to stop the people spreading the virus.

What kind of absolute and complete moron would agree to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,458 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

giphy.gif

What the fućk is the point in this.

Fishing for likes or just trying to go on a wind up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭IrishStuff09

Swab data for today (16/10)

Positive Swabs|Positivity|Total Swabs
    1,376|7.75%|17,758

AhyFqiD.png

Not sure why its so early but there we are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭DrSpongeBobz

Gael23 wrote: »
    Who’s suggesting they will take it this time. It will destroy the country

NPHET

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney