Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

Shut down the world because of what ifs???

What's your solution, let it rip through the population and if the hospitals cease to function? I think your tune would change if you or someone you know went in with a heart issue or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

jackboy wrote: »
    The people who have complied all along will comply. Those that have never complied will be exempt from this as usual.

Yeah the gombeens like ourselves will stay home and do without and the pond rats will continue to pond.
    No difference then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

jackboy wrote: »
    Look, we all know we are being lied to about the schools. It has been decided to keep them open at any cost, including lying to the public.

This was done to us six months ago also when we were told not to wear masks as not only are they ineffective but actually dangerous to use.

Damn liars sending letters to parents of all kids in schools in which cases have been identified.

We'll just never find out the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

boardise wrote: »
    I'm just curious about all this execration of Leo Varadkar. Wasn't it a whole government decision ? Leo happens to be the guy who went on national TV to explain the thinking behind it. Why is it being presented as his personal fiat ?

Because some people just can't wait for us to go full lockdown so they can say told you so to Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ah that link taught me that Couvre Feu is the origin of Curfew. Another gap in my education plugged lol.

Anyway I think it means cover the fire or something like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭Trampas

What’s the point in having level 1-5 if the government don’t even follow them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Trampas wrote: »
    What’s the point in having level 1-5 if the government don’t even follow them

These levels are a farce now at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,728 ✭✭✭KaneToad

What are peoples experiences with Covid outside of restrictions?
    Have you or friends/family for it and how bad was it

I have 12 friends/family/co workers who have had confirmed cases and all of them were grand, all under 60, 8 who had sypmtions described it as a slight cold for 5 and 3 as a bad dose for a few days.

The hysteria around it is ridiculous!

My uncle had it. Got it 4 weeks ago. He's mid 60s but in ok nick. He thought it was grand initially but it stepped up a gear and he ended up in hospital. He wasn't in ICU. He was out after 4 days. Still a bit ropey with fatigue but that might be due to stress & minding himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

These levels are a farce now at this stage.

Id rather they adapt to the changing situation than stick blindly to the levels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Pubs are at fault, schools immune to criticism. Rinse and repeat.

Schools are blamed in every second post on this thread. It's tiresome.

A reminder that annoying pompous neighbours should mind their own business. If families continue to meet up, that's their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Polar101

Confirmed: Cabinet agree a ban on all household visits from tomorrow night except on compassionate grounds and essential reasons like childcare @rtenews
    8:13 PM · Oct 14, 2020

Not sure what that is actually going to do.. I don't think they're going to post guards on every door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Is there supposed to be a press briefing at 9pm?

Two single person households now can't visit each other. 30 separate households can hang out in a school together for 6 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

A reminder that annoying pompous neighbours should mind their own business. If families continue to meet up, that's their business.

Well no, not really. I live in an apartment and if the guys who live next door decide to bring crowds around then it is my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,252 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

In relation to the north - it really does show why competent government matters and thinking clearly about the consequnces of your actions - SF blew a hole in the credibility of the regime there with yer man's funeral. Then came out saying "it's grand".

Of course no one would listen to them after that. Now look at the mess - trying with straight faces to tell people to limit numbers at funerals.

Eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

niallo27 wrote: »
    Go home for Christmas, nobody is going stop you. Bit of cop on is needed.

People shouldn’t need to stop you.
    Travelling down the country to visit older people, high risk people, family members in the health service.

That’s how This spreads and people die

A bit of cop is needed, not from the people who want to stick to the plan for the greater good though

sterz wrote: »
    Well no, not really. I live in an apartment and if the guys who live next door decide to bring crowds around then it is my business.

I disagree, just worry about yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Longing

Well i cannot see the logic in having nobody visit your home but homes up and down the country are visiting each other for 5 days in a poky room. It makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Honestly I thought we should have taken a different approach to households once it became clear they were a source.

Let households bubble rather than have different people visiting one after another.

So right now my household bubbles with the childminders.

If/when things improve then allow households bubble with one or two others. In my case that would be my sister in my county but we’d only see each other once a week at most due to locations and work so it’s still very limited. Then continue to increase the bubbles in line with the infection rates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

This new household restriction is so depressing in many ways but without doubt the worst thing about it is the fact that there is no end in sight to a restriction like this.
    When no one was allowed visit your house back in March/April, everything else was closed and we were in lockdown. So cases were enevitably going to drop.
    With this...i feel like household restrictions are not going to bring down cases to a level thats required on its own.
    The schools are open, some of the economy is open and there is also less buy in from people.
    So we might have 2 weeks of this, then 2 weeks level 4 then 2 weeks level 5..the cases might level off...but without everything closed i.e schools the cases aren't going to disappear.
    How can we face into a whole winter of seeing nobody from our families? It's a depressing and despairing thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Education about this virus crucial, would make controlling this so much easier. Alot of vulnerable minds believing mis-information.

https://twitter.com/EricTopol/status/1315632119201243136

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,342 ✭✭✭gipi

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/district-court-sittings-postponed-after-garda-tests-positive-for-coronavirus-1.4381105

The Garda, who was in the courthouse, got a positive test result, told court staff and left.

Why was he\she in the courthouse in the first place if they were waiting on a test result???! How many times are people told to restrict movements and isolate until the results are in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭KennisWhale

In relation to the north - it really does show why competent government matters and thinking clearly about the consequnces of your actions - SF blew a hole in the credibility of the regime there with yer man's funeral. Then came out saying "it's grand".

Of course no one would listen to them after that. Now look at the mess - trying with straight faces to tell people to limit numbers at funerals.

Eejits

Same would apply to the Republic too. Look at what happened with our initial lockdown but no travel restrictions.

Of course no one would listen to them after that. Now look at the mess - trying with straight faces to tell people to limit numbers in their homes while still nothing happens with those arriving via the airport.

Eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Level Pi tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

I disagree, just worry about yourself.

That's what I'm doing.

It hasn't happened here though and unlikely to happen now at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Longing

Eejits

Its the same here with Golf-gate. I said it back then this will have a magor knock on effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

So whole country is effectively in level 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

People are going to flout this requirement to give the government the 2 fingers. No matter what restrictions you put in place there are a cohort who will continue as is.