Crap Towns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Eppie

the people in bray are holes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Originally posted by Shinji
    Dundalk sure as hell needs to be in there. In fact, the north-east has plenty to offer in the way of utterly crap towns - might I suggest Ardee, Castleblayney, Clones and just about anywhere in Cavan as worthy candidates?

Someone has obviously had a bad experience with the north east? Dundalk is grand now, I would agree with the rest.

I would tend to put any biggish sized town on the list that is stuck in the middle of nothing, i.e. more that 40 or 50 miles from another decent sized town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

4. Ballincollig, Co. Cork - If you go there its your own fault. Dont eat there, most thing originate from Dulux Emulsion.

So true, so true!

After being there, you'd look forward to going in to Cork (which is also a pretty sucky city)

I remember the day when I worked in a busy helpdesk, Ballincolling caused the most hassle. Between people being thick stupid or just trying to rip us off, I have really grown to hate CORK because of this kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Someone has obviously had a bad experience with the north east?

I grew up there. Yeah, I'd broadly class that as a bad experience :)

Dundalk is by no means "grand" now. The addition of a crap shopping centre and tarting up a few shopfronts does not change a town from being a scummy sectarian sh1thole full of filthy knackers overnight. And hey guess what! It's still ALL of those things, AND it's got a great drugs problem to boot. Plus it smells like a compost heap thanks to the Harp brewery.

Dr. Loon - Carrickmacross would be up there for me as well, although going back to the town now it doesn't seem half as bad as when I lived there. It's still a horrible rural Irish kip full of annoying nosy people, but as towns go it's actually quite attractive and well serviced by standards. Where "standards" are the comparisons with the surrounding towns, admittedly - Castleblayney, Ardee and Kingscourt aren't hard examples to surpass....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i want to nominate Dungarvan Co.Waterford. the ultimate **** hole. absolutely nothing to do except drinking. there is a 2 screen cinema with 1 speaker in each. 1 night club and they are probably the highlights. the best thing to come from Dungarvan is the N25

i rest my case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

i want to nominate Dungarvan Co.Waterford. the ultimate **** hole

Mossy it my not be New York but Dungarvan is positively attractive
    set besides say Carrick on Suir or Rathdowney...

I'll add Tipperary and Templederry to the list.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

id say armagh- i lives ther
    and wicklow- back arse of nowhere
    dunegall isnt that good in places either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

New Ross isnt that bad - Im guessing you people bashing it have never lived there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

Originally posted by spandauballet
    Portarlington in Laois/Offaly would get my vote.
    zzzzzzzzzzzz

i second this vote

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ballyshannon and Bundoran (though Bundoran has 1 redeeming feature, a 6screen cinema)

'nuff said! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Originally posted by weemcd
    id say armagh- i lives ther

Sounds like ample reason to avoid the place to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Bray is an all right town in places, but rather kleptomaniac, pyromaniac dodgy in others.

Dont do drugs, kids

Sounds like ample reason to avoid the place to me.

Beautiful......

I grew up there. Yeah, I'd broadly class that as a bad experience
    Dundalk is by no means "grand" now. The addition of a crap shopping centre and tarting up a few shopfronts does not change a town from being a scummy sectarian sh1thole full of filthy knackers overnight. And hey guess what! It's still ALL of those things, AND it's got a great drugs problem to boot. Plus it smells like a compost heap thanks to the Harp brewery.

The place has a few problems, that much is granted, but what other town of its size does not. As for the drug problem, you are overstating that issue quite alot. As for the the addition of a crap shopping centre, which one is this, the Longwalk or the Superquinn centre? The town itself has cleaned itself up dramatically and this was represented in the recent tidy town competition where it was one of the highest ranked large towns. The recent overhaul of the courthouse, the plans for the square (the last big problem), the retail parks and the constantly expanding college all bring the town out of the status of being a hole and makes it a considerably more pleasurable place to live than any other town in the regions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Yeah, let's face it - Dundalk is about 50 billion times better than it was about 13 years ago.
    Plus it smells like a compost heap thanks to the Harp brewery.

Would that be the Harp Brewry that shut down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Eppie

yay dundalk!
    plus dundalk fc supporters have all these deadly chants like "come on the shed" and "we just missed eastenders".

I was in dundalk once and saw a mini billboard advertisement beside the trainstation which said Bray for a Day and the price for the ticket :D

Honest I saw it with my own eyes.

mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Cork. Never have I met so many people with a chip on their shoulder against Dublin people. I’ve been there twice in recent time (both for weekends away with my mates) and the amount of hassle we got just because we’re from Dublin was unbelievable. I regularly go to Galway, Wexford and Kilkenny too and have never experienced anything like it elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Letterkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Biggest kip i've been in this year was Mitchelstown. God the thoughts of it now. And while I think if it Fermoy as well. We should ask George Bush for a couple of nukes for these two towns and do everyone a favour.

otherwise just bulldoze the slimepits and build a six lane highway right through 'em!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,425 ✭✭✭mada999

I'm live in Dundalk and goto college in Carlow. Dundalk is deadly. So fúck off and get some town pride you knob. Hope you end up marrying someone from Drogheda and living there for the rest of your life.

Drogheda is the worst town in Ireland. Tossers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Dr. Loon - Carrickmacross would be up there for me as well, although going back to the town now it doesn't seem half as bad as when I lived there. It's still a horrible rural Irish kip full of annoying nosy people, but as towns go it's actually quite attractive and well serviced by standards. Where "standards" are the comparisons with the surrounding towns, admittedly - Castleblayney, Ardee and Kingscourt aren't hard examples to surpass....

True, it's slightly more pleasant than what I remember from my younger years. It's often won the auld tidy towns hasn't it? Although that really doesn't say too much.

Anytime I've visited recently, all I've done is get amazingly drunk. Cos that's all there is to do, and all anyone seems to do. Gladly I won't have to visit anymore as I've no relatives there anymore really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

I cried with laughter. This is a great thread. Keep it coming. Please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭Jaden

New List - I'd forgotten about Navan, (not such a bad thing).

1. Tuam.
    Tuam is a clear winner in the "dump of the year" competition. Most of Tuam is grimy and unkempt. It's not unusual to see an old fridge dumped on one of the main streets. The people all speak "sham" which is a mix of english, Irish and slang, used by the travelling community. Communication with a Tuam native is often an adventure in itself. That is if you can talk to one without him/her trying to stab/kick/bite/shoot you. Drive through Tuam at night on a weekend, and half the people you see spilling out of it's 30 or so pubs, will be kicking the crap out of one another. Tuam people are nororiously Zenophobic (and smelly).

2. Navan.
    Navan's first big problem is that it's in Meath. If that wasn't enough, the Navan accent is easily the most horrid use of vocal chords EVER. Nothing to do there, and nobody to do it with. That about sums up Navan.

3. Kinnegad.
    Kinnegad is a place you pass through (or around, now that there's a bypass) on the way to somewhere else. The only reason you'd ever stop there is to get petrol. There is NOTHING to do in Kinnegad, except leave.

4. Newtownmountkennedy.
    Newtownmountkennedy is your typical Wicklow town, dreary, scruffy, and full of people who can't afford to live in a Dublin suburb. The amount of skangers in Newtownmountkennedy leads me to conclude that there is a factory there producing them.

5. Clane.
    I've been in Clane twice, but from now on, I drive to where I want to go, via Dingle, rather than anywhere near this place. A classic example of why condoms should have been more widely distributed in Ireland years ago.

There are other places that deserve a mention, but I have lived/spent time in the first 4 places above, so I consider my opinions to be well founded. Other places I have not been to much, but other people seem to abhor them. The rest of the list of shame should be:

Ballyshannon - Donegal's version of Tuam.

Bundoran - Meeting point for all the sumbags from the north to congregate at weekends to do as they wish, before heading back home where the Gardai can't touch them.

Edgeworthstown - Boarded up hell hole.

Waterford - Gowan Mossy!

Milltown - Or indeed Cork in general.

Limerick - It IS actually as bad as they say, but at least there are things to do there.....

Sligo. (I loved it, but it's got a bad rep).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭jd

course all the local council can say about naas is it's " a nice place to shop"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can’t believe no-one mentioned Courtown yet. I’m sure it’s a lovely place in the winter, but in the summer Dublin’s most hardened scangers pack up their shell suits, soverigns, and Johnny Blue, throw 10 horrible screaming little kids in the back of the Hi-Ace and make their yearly pilgrimage to Wexford. I’ve seen kids take a dump on the path outside an arcade, I’ve seen two grown men beat the living ****e out of each other over a kite and I’ve seen a horde of teenage scumbags descend on a shop and fleece the place blind, before beating the ****e out of each other over the spoils. All of this was in the space one long weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by super_furry
    Johnny Blue, throw 10 horrible screaming little kids in the back of the Hi-Ace and make their yearly pilgrimage to Wexford.
    yeah- *avoid the train to wexford on a summer bank holiday weekend* or at least hide until the train leaves gorey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Originally posted by bucks73
    Shannon is a complete dump. If it wasnt for the airport you would never have to see it.

I'm from shannon and I totally agree.
    Other bad towns include:
    --Cork--
    Bandon
    Castletownbere
    Little Island
    Dunmanway
    Macroom
    Kinsale (bunch of assholes who act rich)
    --Limerick--
    Adare
    Moyross
    Southhill
    --Kerry--
    CastleIsland
    Ballyduff
    Lixnaw
    Fenit
    --Donegal--
    Petico (not sure of correct spelling).

I could go on and on and on, but yee get my drift. ww)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by super_furry
    Cork. Never have I met so many people with a chip on their shoulder against Dublin people. I’ve been there twice in recent time (both for weekends away with my mates) and the amount of hassle we got just because we’re from Dublin was unbelievable. I regularly go to Galway, Wexford and Kilkenny too and have never experienced anything like it elsewhere.

Only reason for that is to keep ye jackeen scuts out. Back to your smoking hole in the ground ye Dublin feckers. Honestly though... we (Cork people) cant help it if every time we hear a Dublin accent we feel physically ill. It's just the way things are! There should be some sort of ID check on the Cork border to keep anyone from Dublin out of the county. Hmmm... not a bad idea.. We could call it "Jackeen Patrol" and get a special dispensation to authorise the use of deadly force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Is this gonna be a Cork Vs Dublin thread now, brought on by the Cork people!? Imagine. Inferiority complex?