Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crap Towns

• 08-10-2003 12:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

Did anyone see the piece on Newsnight the other night about a survey which was done in England called "Crap Towns", where people nominate the crappiest town to live in in England.

Is there a "crap town" league table for Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Theres a town in Kerry called Camp.

Sounds little like crap, and is pretty small and crap.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

If there was, it would look like:

1. Tuam,
    2. Kinnegad.
    3. Dundalk.
    4. Newtownmountkennedy.
    5. Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Eppie

dundalk is great.
    i was there at the weekend and had great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Originally posted by Jaden

1. Tuam,
    2. Kinnegad.
    3. Dundalk.
    4. Newtownmountkennedy.
    5. Limerick.
    I'd go more for:
    1: Navan
    2: Trim
    3: Athboy
    4: Dunshaughlin
    5: Ballivor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Portarlington in Laois/Offaly would get my vote.
    zzzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

I know it's not a town but Dublin is the biggest s***hole of the lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Dundalk sure as hell needs to be in there. In fact, the north-east has plenty to offer in the way of utterly crap towns - might I suggest Ardee, Castleblayney, Clones and just about anywhere in Cavan as worthy candidates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Ballinasloe, no contest. Especially during that fortnight of firework/slash-hook inspired bloodfrenzy known as the October fair.

Horrible place, can't believe it's my home town...

Incidentally, It's Mary Harney's home town too. As if it hadn't been vile enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭BigDaddyKone

i would say
    cork (it is definetly a town)
    dundalk
    navan
    Cavan
    port laois

f*ckin holes the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Originally posted by Jaden

1. Tuam,

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Such muppets, ye lot obviously have not been here in about 10 years. Tis a great place to live!!!!!! Dundalk that is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Dublin is the biggest mess of a dirty town I've ever been in.

Again, Dundalk is class. How can anyone knock "the town" hey? You and yore mudder hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jam

Jaden, you're a bit off the mark on Newtownmountkennedy, it should be higher on that list. I have to wonder how you managed to, unfortunatly, stumble across the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Newtownmountkennedy,
    New Ross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Clane, Co. Kildare - Hell on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

New Ross is Quare bad lads......

jesus Clane.
    I had blocked it completely out of my mind.
    the biggest hole on the planet. Full of knackers.
    Every person from Clane seems to be a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Tuam (Knacker central)
    Loughrea (ghost town)
    New Ross (bring a weapon)
    Navan (bring something to keep you awake)
    Kilcullen Co. Kildare (full of posh 4x4 driving horsey types and low forehead muck savages)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭NedNew

No contest... the final results are as follows;

1. CastleDermot, Co. Kildare - If there was ever a shanty town in Ireland this would be it. Ive heard of cars driving into the place and they would be missing their alloys by the time they get out.

2. New Ross, Co. Wexford - Where else has the local Gardaman/woman been held out upside down over the bridge or bitten on the knee?

3. Athy, Co. Kildare - Tribal warfare runs amok in this paradise run by wild dogs and derelict sites.

4. Ballincollig, Co. Cork - If you go there its your own fault. Dont eat there, most thing originate from Dulux Emulsion.

5. Bundoran, Co. Donegal - the feck hole of Ireland.

What about New Ross anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Shannon is a complete dump. If it wasnt for the airport you would never have to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

What exactly is the definition of crap in this case? How is Dublin crap? I mean yeah it's full of skangers, but there's plenty to do, alot of culture, museums etc...etc... how can someone say that's crap. Where are you from that you claim to be better? Define crap?

My definition would be, boring, dreary, no nightlife, no day life, all aul fellas, smelly, and just generally useless.

My nominations would be Carrickmacross (my hometown) and Ardee.
    I was gonna say Cork city, but I actually quite enjoyed my stay there, but I must say, it's fairly feckin small. Like a town.

I would define a crap town as a town i want to get out of as fast as i can if ever i have the misfortune to land in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Carrick-On-Suir
    Thurles
    New Ross
    Kilmallock
    Rathdowney

Mike.

Is everone to scared to mention Bray? The chances of being tracked down are slim...

Bray is a scary town.
    Then the further south you go the worse the towns get.
    Kilmacanougue,
    Newtownmountkennedy,
    rathnew,
    wicklow town,
    arklow,
    gorey.

Its like a list of locations along the descent into hell ending at new ross

I have a cousin who moved to Bray a few years ago. Now he has a hairy back and eats firelighters. And he's only eight.

When driving through New Ross i swear i can hear banjos and men squeeling like piggys.

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    Bray is a scary town.
    Then the further south you go the worse the towns get.
    Kilmacanougue,
    Newtownmountkennedy,
    rathnew,
    wicklow town,
    arklow,
    gorey.

Its like a list of locations along the descent into hell ending at new ross
    The first three are villages.

you forgot Greystones, which seems to be a total nothingness.

Arklow is scary only if you don't pay for your drugs or go to the Tunnel, other than that it's a nice town.
    Gorey isn't bad at all, it's full of Roides actually:D
    mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

yeah Bray is by far the worst town in Ireland ...by a long way.

Its a hole, and so are most of the people in it.

I have yet to meet a person from bray I like. this is bearing in mind I worked in Bray for 18 months and lived 5 mins out side bray for 12 months

Its a kip...destroy it

the people in bray are holes?

Originally posted by Shinji
    Dundalk sure as hell needs to be in there. In fact, the north-east has plenty to offer in the way of utterly crap towns - might I suggest Ardee, Castleblayney, Clones and just about anywhere in Cavan as worthy candidates?

Someone has obviously had a bad experience with the north east? Dundalk is grand now, I would agree with the rest.

I would tend to put any biggish sized town on the list that is stuck in the middle of nothing, i.e. more that 40 or 50 miles from another decent sized town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

4. Ballincollig, Co. Cork - If you go there its your own fault. Dont eat there, most thing originate from Dulux Emulsion.

So true, so true!

After being there, you'd look forward to going in to Cork (which is also a pretty sucky city)

I remember the day when I worked in a busy helpdesk, Ballincolling caused the most hassle. Between people being thick stupid or just trying to rip us off, I have really grown to hate CORK because of this kip.

Someone has obviously had a bad experience with the north east?

I grew up there. Yeah, I'd broadly class that as a bad experience :)

Dundalk is by no means "grand" now. The addition of a crap shopping centre and tarting up a few shopfronts does not change a town from being a scummy sectarian sh1thole full of filthy knackers overnight. And hey guess what! It's still ALL of those things, AND it's got a great drugs problem to boot. Plus it smells like a compost heap thanks to the Harp brewery.

Dr. Loon - Carrickmacross would be up there for me as well, although going back to the town now it doesn't seem half as bad as when I lived there. It's still a horrible rural Irish kip full of annoying nosy people, but as towns go it's actually quite attractive and well serviced by standards. Where "standards" are the comparisons with the surrounding towns, admittedly - Castleblayney, Ardee and Kingscourt aren't hard examples to surpass....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i want to nominate Dungarvan Co.Waterford. the ultimate **** hole. absolutely nothing to do except drinking. there is a 2 screen cinema with 1 speaker in each. 1 night club and they are probably the highlights. the best thing to come from Dungarvan is the N25

i rest my case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

i want to nominate Dungarvan Co.Waterford. the ultimate **** hole

Mossy it my not be New York but Dungarvan is positively attractive
    set besides say Carrick on Suir or Rathdowney...

I'll add Tipperary and Templederry to the list.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

id say armagh- i lives ther
    and wicklow- back arse of nowhere
    dunegall isnt that good in places either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

New Ross isnt that bad - Im guessing you people bashing it have never lived there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

Originally posted by spandauballet
    Portarlington in Laois/Offaly would get my vote.
    zzzzzzzzzzzz

i second this vote

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ballyshannon and Bundoran (though Bundoran has 1 redeeming feature, a 6screen cinema)

'nuff said! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by weemcd
    id say armagh- i lives ther

Sounds like ample reason to avoid the place to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Bray is an all right town in places, but rather kleptomaniac, pyromaniac dodgy in others.

Dont do drugs, kids

Sounds like ample reason to avoid the place to me.

Beautiful......

I grew up there. Yeah, I'd broadly class that as a bad experience
    Dundalk is by no means "grand" now. The addition of a crap shopping centre and tarting up a few shopfronts does not change a town from being a scummy sectarian sh1thole full of filthy knackers overnight. And hey guess what! It's still ALL of those things, AND it's got a great drugs problem to boot. Plus it smells like a compost heap thanks to the Harp brewery.

The place has a few problems, that much is granted, but what other town of its size does not. As for the drug problem, you are overstating that issue quite alot. As for the the addition of a crap shopping centre, which one is this, the Longwalk or the Superquinn centre? The town itself has cleaned itself up dramatically and this was represented in the recent tidy town competition where it was one of the highest ranked large towns. The recent overhaul of the courthouse, the plans for the square (the last big problem), the retail parks and the constantly expanding college all bring the town out of the status of being a hole and makes it a considerably more pleasurable place to live than any other town in the regions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Yeah, let's face it - Dundalk is about 50 billion times better than it was about 13 years ago.
    Plus it smells like a compost heap thanks to the Harp brewery.

Would that be the Harp Brewry that shut down?

yay dundalk!
    plus dundalk fc supporters have all these deadly chants like "come on the shed" and "we just missed eastenders".

I was in dundalk once and saw a mini billboard advertisement beside the trainstation which said Bray for a Day and the price for the ticket :D

Honest I saw it with my own eyes.

mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Cork. Never have I met so many people with a chip on their shoulder against Dublin people. I’ve been there twice in recent time (both for weekends away with my mates) and the amount of hassle we got just because we’re from Dublin was unbelievable. I regularly go to Galway, Wexford and Kilkenny too and have never experienced anything like it elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Letterkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Biggest kip i've been in this year was Mitchelstown. God the thoughts of it now. And while I think if it Fermoy as well. We should ask George Bush for a couple of nukes for these two towns and do everyone a favour.

otherwise just bulldoze the slimepits and build a six lane highway right through 'em!!!!