Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Turtwig wrote: »
    Do you guys go into RIP threads and post
    "I'm really sorry your mother died but you know today In Africa children the age of four and younger died. Please consider this fact"

"sorry your son died in a motorcycle accident but you know today two people also died farming accidents this week"

Why this incessant need to point out other deaths? Jesus. It is a bit like looking at a soccer player stats and going
    "ya, his goals tally is great but what about his touchdowns? "

Agree with this (apart from mention of touchdowns with soccer players :D )

People die of cancer it's awful, but not transmissible in the community.
    People die of suicide it's absolutely awful but not transmissible in the community.
    People die of accidents tragic but it's not transmissible in the community.

And before you come back with a smart comment i have lost close family members to all 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Since Friday, 357 people who installed the app and tested positive, uploaded their keys and because of the app, 808 people were alerted that they were a close contact with a confirmed case.
    At a time when contract tracing is struggling, the app will still alert people, so I wouldn't consider it a waste of time and money.

They could've invested the time and money into developing an effective contact tracing system, which would be a lot more useful.

wadacrack wrote: »
    No need to really bring that up. Its self explanatory. Death from re-infection has obviously very serious implications

While her death is obviously tragic it is important to point out she was 89 and on chemo for cancer. Its hard to draw any implications from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

European reported daily cases now twice what they were at the height of the first wave in March/April.

We are most definitely on the wrong track and it is time to look again at the areas of the world where 'best practice' has the virus under control.

Distribution of laboratory-confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 12 October

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-12-october-2020.png?itok=WKmH7Yjp

14-day COVID-19 case notification rate per 100 000, weeks 39-40

w39_40_COVID_subnational_Last_2week.png?itok=Hy85dwDD

Larger clickable versions here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

GazzaL wrote: »
    They could've invested the time and money into developing an effective contact tracing system, which would be a lot more useful.

And how would that work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

GazzaL wrote: »

They spent less than 1 million on the app, which is very little in the grand scheme of things. It was developed by a software company, so the HSE didn't waste much time or resources on it. It's part of the contact tracing system. If they didn't have the app, sure you would be giving out they didn't have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

niallo27 wrote: »
    As well as the other 147,000 that died today of other causes.

No $$$$ to be made out of those...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

European reported daily cases now twice what they were at the height of the first wave in March/April.

We are most definitely on the wrong track and it is time to look again at the areas of the world where 'best practice' has the virus under control.

Distribution of laboratory-confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 12 October

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-12-october-2020.png?itok=WKmH7Yjp

14-day COVID-19 case notification rate per 100 000, weeks 39-40

w39_40_COVID_subnational_Last_2week.png?itok=Hy85dwDD

Larger clickable versions here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

Are you comparing like with like?

Wolf359f wrote: »
    They spent less than 1 million on the app, which is very little in the grand scheme of things. It was developed by a software company, so the HSE didn't waste much time or resources on it. It's part of the contact tracing system. If they didn't have the app, sure you would be giving out they didn't have one.

I wouldn't, because it was flawed from the outset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭MarkY91

If you don't use the app on a daily basis then your opinion on the app is meaningless.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    If you don't use the app on a daily basis then your opinion on the app is meaningless.

What sort of logic is that? If you haven't had COVID then your opinion on COVID is meaningless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRRGAJzl_58

WHO Special Envoy on COVID-19 Dr David Nabarro said national lockdowns should only be used in “really extreme circumstances when things are very bad.”

“That is really because you don’t get rid of the virus with a lockdown. You hold it in place. You get rid of the virus by isolating people with the disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Claire Byrne on about a circuit break next on RTÉ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,192 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

MarkY91 wrote: »

I don't use the app and feel perfectly entitled to have an opinion on it. Said opinion is that it was short-sighted not to have been developed to suit all phones. My not ancient phone is deemed too old for it. Kind of crap having a system that excludes so many people - only one of my friends was able to download it.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

flanna01 wrote: »
    Did I just read a poster outlining his plans for Christmas dinner this year....??

Sweet suffering Jaysis... What a snowflake you are..

Thankyou for kindly sharing your Christmas dinner plans with us... Sorry you can't make the in-laws this year (desperate isn't it!)

Anyway, hopefully this Kung Flu will blow over...

I hope the rest of the 5 million population are as transparent as yourself.. Love to hear their Xmas dinner plans... NOT!
    Attack the post, not the poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Anyone know if the HSE is handling the FAI testing programme? There's murder atm over false positives. Another at the weekend, performed by a test in Ireland. The first was a Slovak test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Turtwig wrote: »
    Do you guys go into RIP threads and post
    "I'm really sorry your mother died but you know today In Africa children the age of four and younger died. Please consider this fact"

"sorry your son died in a motorcycle accident but you know today two people also died farming accidents this week"

Why this incessant need to point out other deaths? Jesus. It is a bit like looking at a soccer player stats and going
    "ya, his goals tally is great but what about his touchdowns? "

60 people died of flu last year in Ireland.

People say the virus is killing people.

Fair enough.

Now were any of these people calling for a lockdown last year when people were dying of the flu?

No they weren't. Are flu deaths not as important as covid deaths???

Are we only to call for lockdown when people start dying of Covid but not the flu.

What's the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,332 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I would really like if we used a different term that community transmission.

Community is a good word. A friendly and wholesome word.

Untracked transmission or unidentified outbreak or something like that would be far more suitable. Maybe even “we haven’t a clue how transmission”

I like my community.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Local sleveens and their shebeens

https://mobile.twitter.com/IrishTimes/status/1315724177760899072

Gardaí seize ‘substantial quantity’ of alcohol after searching three ‘shebeens’
    I was pmsl at the photos, did you see they censored loads of brands including the portaloo's and the mineral bottles (but not the guinness glasses) and they censored somebody's face on the TV :D:D:D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Anyone know if the HSE is handling the FAI testing programme? There's murder atm over false positives. Another at the weekend, performed by a test in Ireland. The first was a Slovak test.

As I understand it these tests are being done under the direction of UEFA. The HSE is not going to be testing on behalf of professional sports organisations

I also understand the UEFA testing process has a high error rating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Beasty wrote: »
    As I understand it these tests are being done under the direction of UEFA. The HSE is not going to be testing on behalf of professional sports organisations

I also understand the UEFA testing process has a high error rating
    It's feckin disastrous at the moment, I'm not sure what test they're using

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,740 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Anthony Staines not bothering with a mask in studio tonight.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.news.com.au/world/coronavirus/global/coronavirus-who-backflips-on-virus-stance-by-condemning-lockdowns/news-story/f2188f2aebff1b7b291b297731c3da74
    The World Health Organisation has backflipped on its original COVID-19 stance after calling for world leaders to stop locking down their countries and economies.

Dr. David Nabarro from the WHO appealed to world leaders yesterday, telling them to stop “using lockdowns as your primary control method” of the coronavirus.

He also claimed that the only thing lockdowns achieved was poverty – with no mention of the potential lives saved.

“Lockdowns just have one consequence that you must never ever belittle, and that is making poor people an awful lot poorer,” he said.

Niall Boylan shared that article on Twitter earlier today. He said:
    The World Health Organisation is calling for world leaders to stop locking down their countries and economies but are Ireland listening. It’s too late for Ireland, we have already destroyed the private sector and the economy.

Doesn't this prove that lockdown is not the way to deal with the pandemic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Hse update.

230 in hospital +14 from 8pm last night
    32 in ICU +2

Cavan now 30 in hospital after just 3 a few days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

copeyhagen wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRRGAJzl_58

WHO Special Envoy on COVID-19 Dr David Nabarro said national lockdowns should only be used in “really extreme circumstances when things are very bad.”

“That is really because you don’t get rid of the virus with a lockdown. You hold it in place. You get rid of the virus by isolating people with the disease.

How many times has this been misrepresented today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

s1ippy wrote: »
    I was pmsl at the photos, did you see they censored loads of brands including the portaloo's and the mineral bottles (but not the guinness glasses) and they censored somebody's face on the TV :D:D:D

Infairness though, at least they had a pool table.

60 people died of flu last year in Ireland.

People say the virus is killing people.

Fair enough.

Now were any of these people calling for a lockdown last year when people were dying of the flu?

No they weren't. Are flu deaths not as important as covid deaths???

Are we only to call for lockdown when people start dying of Covid but not the flu.

What's the difference?

The answer is in your own question.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

How many times has this been misrepresented today?

How has it been misrepresented? What Dr David Nabarro said is what Dr David Nabarro said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

DubInMeath wrote: »
    The answer is in your own question.

Which is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,568 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Hse update.

230 in hospital +14 from 8pm last night
    32 in ICU +2

Cavan now 30 in hospital after just 3 a few days ago.

Jesus :(