Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

Undoubtedly, but the Government won't be in a hurry to release them. Consider the fury that would greet them from publicans down to their last penny.

Or maybe if you looked at the official site of the government organisation responsible for releasing the data

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Outbreak%20Highlights_Week402020_web%20version_v1.0_07102020.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

One can't do that. It would be racist. Numerous outbreaks in my county have been attributed to nomadic folk conglomerating in large groups and refusing to wear masks. Naturally I shouldn't point this out as I could be hauled in for racism.

Well if their behaviour cannot be pointed out during a Global Pandemic, or at least the questions be asked/ debated, society here is doomed for good and glory.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

ForestFire wrote: »
    So level 5 for weeks now, all for 1 week or mayhem and back to level 5 again? Is that the plan?

Whatever happens and whatever level we are on, Christmas should be a quite time for close family only.... Even as far as 1 other household...

Or half a million out of work so we can have a bit of turkey together, **** Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

niallo27 wrote: »
    Or half a million out of work so we can have a bit of turkey together, **** Christmas.

There's the sandwiches as well pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Inquitus wrote: »
    That's true for all Covid-19 tests, none are 100% accurate, so you could always have positive players playing.

But 66% is extremely low accuracy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

George Lee bemoaning the fact that Level 3 is not working.

That doesn't compute in my head, sure it will take another 1/2 weeks minimum to see the trend change.

He's a grim auld bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Clearly houses are the problem now.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Positive enough figures today in my view.

Let's hope we see it continue!

Dublin improving slowly. Just need to get the rate of growth down a bit more. It's not out of control thankfully.

Room for optimism. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Aren't we lucky he refused to resign when called upon to do so.https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20470821.html

Did the other 35 people involved with him in that scandal walk away scot-free too.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭screamer

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    George Lee bemoaning the fact that Level 3 is not working.

He's a grim auld bollix.

As my granny used to say, he fattens on misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭Sonny678

28 cases in a Westmeath school , many more students are waiting on results. That 28 number will increase in the coming days.
    I saw a study a month ago done in Canada saying 30 students in one classroom is five times more infectious then a classroom with 15 students. Of course we have some of the hightest students numbers in classes in Europe.
    One question why is the media not mentioning this whatsoever? I think parents would like to know whats going on in schools. Deserve to know the truth about the virus in schools. Government will try and get away with it, but media, no mention of this issue is a dreadful carry on. Remeber when cases broke out in meat factories and it was headline news. Now compare outbreaks in schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭khalessi

Sonny678 wrote: »
    28 cases in a Westmeath school , many more students are waiting on results. That 28 number will increase in the coming days.
    I saw a study a month ago done in Canada saying 30 students in one classroom is five times more infectious then a classroom with 15 students. Of course we have some of the hightest students numbers in classes in Europe.
    One question why is the media not mentioning this whatsoever? I think parents would like to know whats going on in schools. Deserve to know the truth about the virus in schools. Government will try and get away with it, but media, no mention of this issue is a dreadful carry on. Remeber when cases broke out in meat factories and it was headline news. Now compare outbreaks in schools.

Media blackout, the government cannot be seen to be wrong to reopen schools en masse rather than the original plan for phased reopenings of schools. They are worried about backlash and votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,568 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Its an absolute ****ing joke at this stage, those of us working in schools are terrified. Dublin has been at level 3 for a month and cases are back to 200+ last few days, what else can they possibly blame at this stage.

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Clearly houses are the problem now.

Well 2 of the 3 people I know personally who tested positive in the past couple of weeks picked it up at home, from visitors, who themselves in turn caught it at a funeral and from visitors to their home. From what I see and hear social gatherings are by far and away the biggest contributor to current growth levels. It’s where people let their guard down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Local sleveens and their shebeens

https://mobile.twitter.com/IrishTimes/status/1315724177760899072

Gardaí seize ‘substantial quantity’ of alcohol after searching three ‘shebeens’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,501 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Where did you see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Positive enough figures today in my view.

Let's hope we see it continue!

Dublin improving slowly. Just need to get the rate of growth down a bit more. It's not out of control thankfully.

Room for optimism. :cool:

Was is Crystal meth or a good batch weed has made you post this????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Its an absolute ****ing joke at this stage, those of us working in schools are terrified. Dublin has been at level 3 for a month and cases are back to 200+ last few days, what else can they possibly blame at this stage.

Terrified? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭screamer

khalessi wrote: »
    Media blackout, the government cannot be seen to be wrong to reopen schools en masse rather than the original plan for phased reopenings of schools. They are worried about backlash and votes.

More like a lot of those parents are the engine of the economy and tax payers keeping the lights on. Closing the schools will lead to those parents having no childcare and tax take will fall. That’s about the truth of it, whether we like it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Indestructable

I think the additional week off for schools this mid term and another at Christmas and maybe another the following mid term is actually a good idea. Break some of the chains of transmission maybe.

The lost weeks can be added on next June when, hopefully, we are in a much better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,974 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Apparently Dublin is stabilising though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Well 2 of the 3 people I know personally who tested positive in the past couple of weeks picked it up at home, from visitors, who themselves in turn caught it at a funeral and from visitors to their home. From what I see and hear social gatherings are by far and away the biggest contributor to current growth levels. It’s where people let their guard down

That's why house outbreaks figures kills me.

Everything is happening in da house, most of the outbreaks and that doesn't make sense to me.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,568 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

manniot2 wrote: »
    Terrified? Really?

Yes i have a very sick wife at home and if i bring covid home to her she will be in big trouble, but suppose that doesn't matter right.

khalessi wrote: »

https://Westmeath secondary school closes and classes moved online after Covid outbreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭khalessi

screamer wrote: »
    More like a lot of those parents are the engine of the economy and tax payers keeping the lights on. Closing the schools will lead to those parents having no childcare and tax take will fall. That’s about the truth of it, whether we like it or not

So you reckon the government are lying about what is happening in schools because if parents knew they would remove children and the economy would suffer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

I would think that reopening of schools was not wrong. The staff, parents and students needed it. What was wrong was reopening schools differently to every other area.e.g. in restaurants/ pubs open with social distancing.....in schools open with social distancing where possible. In sports venues max of 200 OUTDOORS with social distancing... In schools...pack them all in a space smaller than a GAA pitch no problem....but it's indoors no problem ...500 grand, 600 grand, 700 why are you asking? All no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,183 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Site Banned Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

I can't remember Clare being mentioned once so far this pandemic, unless in relation to Shannon flights.

Turns out they're in bad shape

0015788a-614.jpg?ratio=1.78

Claire Byrne got the fancy dress out early, though she forgot the hat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Why are NPHET targeting businesses, workers, truck drivers, couriers, etc. with their calls for anti-WHO lockdowns?

What have NPHET done to improve our testing and tracing systems?