Should I report naughty friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Sakana wrote: »
    Isn't frottage the sole purvey of lgbt men?

I think you’re confusing frottaging with frotting. The former refers to “getting off” on rubbing up against things, or people, while the latter requires two penises.

You could always spot a “frottager” on a packed bus. They’d stand downstairs and as people tried to pass they’d make out like they were moving out of their way while pushing out their hips to get a “grind” on.

You’d see them at garages too, they sit their crotch onto the hose as their pumping the petrol and “enjoy” the buzz. I’m sure I mentioned it on here before but, not too long ago, I saw a lad in grey tracksuit bottoms doing just this and he had a clear, and graphic, erection showing.

These perverts are everywhere. I don’t think anyone should “cod” themselves that they aren’t on the other end of a work Zoom call.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭BrianD3

**** at Zoom meetings may be a positive thing with increased productivity and reduced tension - wisdom ****, post nut clarity etc.

"Ok all, I'm going offline for a few minutes, when I return I'll have some great new ideas. PS - that's a nice outfit, Deirdre :D"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I think you’re confusing frottaging with frotting. The former refers to “getting off” on rubbing up against things, or people, while the latter requires two penises.

You could always spot a “frottager” on a packed bus. They’d stand downstairs and as people tried to pass they’d make out like they were moving out of their way while pushing out their hips to get a “grind” on.

You’d see them at garages too, they sit their crotch onto the hose as their pumping the petrol and “enjoy” the buzz. I’m sure I mentioned it on here before but, not too long ago, I saw a lad in grey tracksuit bottoms doing just this and he had a clear, and graphic, erection showing.

These perverts are everywhere. I don’t think anyone should “cod” themselves that they aren’t on the other end of a work Zoom call.

You must have to be on the look out for it. I have never spotted people with hard-ons subtly humping the hoses at the petrol station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Gruffalux wrote: »
    You must have to be on the look out for it. I have never spotted people with hard-ons subtly humping the hoses at the petrol station.

Not so, G. Merely “observant”. I find the act of waiting for the petrol tank to fill quite boring so I look around. I’m not one to stare at the counter to try and stop it at a certain amount.

The guy I saw that time, in the grey tracksuit bottoms, wasn’t “humping” the hose. It was more like his was resting his junk on it and slowly moving over it. Had he been humping he might have been able to hide, or disguise, his “tumescence”.

As it was, the grey tracksuit bottoms provided little “cover”. And, as I said, it was clear, and graphic.

These creeps are everywhere, G. Hopefully you don’t come across too many, or, worse still, they across you. There was a “European Sharking” case out around UCD last year. Shocking stuff.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I regret that google search.

dotsman wrote: »
    What exactly are you suppose to do - send out a generic email to the entire company asking people to refrain from masturbating during conference calls?:D.

No need for the mental gymnastics.

All you need to do is send out a generic email stating webcams should be switched on during conference calls, please and thank you.

"but my laptop camera is broken?" pick on up on Amazon?

Zoom on your phone ?

All you need to do is send out a generic email stating webcams should be switched on during conference calls, please and thank you.

Zoom on your phone ?

And if the employee refuses? I doubt there is much the employer can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Zoom on your phone ?

Two problems with that:

1) HR can't really insist on the right to pry into people's homes. Everyone doesn't have a private, dedicated home office. Some people are forced by this emergency WFH scenario to work at a kitchen table in a shared area, or a dressing table in a shared bedroom. So now as well as the employer insisting that the employee provides an office space for free to the employer, and heats and lights it for free, you think that employers can now insist on the right to visual inspection of the space that they're not paying for? Not a runner.

2) The camera usually shows from the shoulders up, so it may not prevent the matter in hand from happening. Once Mork from Morkeshing can control his orgasm face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭tjdaly

Funny, I was laughing reading this as we had a similar thing in my household. Wife had a bit of a crush on this lad at work, chiselled jaw, designer stubble, master race mofo, and it's a running joke in our house where we will incorporate him into our sex play.

Then since the pandemic hit I am working from my desk in the bedroom and dude is there as part of Teams meetings. She must have noticed it a few times coz she mentioned it in a non serious way, and then one time during a meeting she started massaging my shoulders, slipped her hand inside my shorts and started jacking me off, and as I was getting into the swing of things I had my eyes closed but when I was about to shoot my wad I opened my eyes and see that she is laser focused on the lad, with a really lustful look on her face.

So I have just decided to ride with it and we get up to all sorts of sex play and role swapping shenanigans now. As long as she can see the Team viewer she is happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Think its makey up myself but as someone else said - it is a plausible scenario.

Yer man needs to wise up.

Plenty of people out of work worrying about keeping the roof over their heads and then there's this idiot pulling the plum off himself during work meetings.

Employer would be best off rid. Hes adding no value.

This is sexual harassment and gross misconduct and a sacking offence.

Most employers have rules in relation to home working (it is seen as an extension of the office) and the same laws apply to protect employees from this sort of creep.

I do believe that as remote working will be used a lot more in the future, there will be more cases like this.

Also, it is possible that employers will insist on cameras being on. You dont want it on to protect the privacy of your home, grand, blur the background or use one of the backgrounds available. Many employers are giving employees corporate branded backgrounds to use.

Many employers have gone above and beyond to keep people in work and then you have fools like this who doesn't deserve a job.

Also laughing at the load of makey up scenarios on here. Written like 50 shades of **** gone wrong.

Dav010 wrote: »
    And if the employee refuses? I doubt there is much the employer can do.

Well that would be one way to draw unnecessary attention to yourself.

Depends really, on if you feel the **** is really worth that much to you?

If it is, I think you have a much bigger problem.

But I'm sure it would be quite easy for the company to make a new policy on webcam use during meetings if required.

As a matter of interest - I know when we have large zoom meetings the organiser has control over microphones. Do they have control over video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Sakana

Interesting! As a practitioner of the fine art of twin dragon sparring (frottage), I'd never come across this "frottager" business.

Makes my antics look positively vanilla!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,776 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Maybe some pics of these workers he's pulling his pud to could be posted. Er, for perspective, you understand.

Well that would be one way to draw unnecessary attention to yourself.

Depends really, on if you feel the **** is really worth that much to you?

If it is, I think you have a much bigger problem.

But I'm sure it would be quite easy for the company to make a new policy on webcam use during meetings if required.

As a matter of interest - I know when we have large zoom meetings the organiser has control over microphones. Do they have control over video?

You are missing the point.

It is easy to make a new policy, but difficult to enforce it. If a wfh does not want work to see their home, or what they look like when they don’t have to dress up to go into work, or because they’ve a giant zit, there is feck all their employer can do about it.

Well, in my view they'd be very foolish to refuse to comply, given the circumstances.

Refusal to comply is also something that would not look good on a performance review, and as a manager, is something I'd have to consider carefully when assessing someone for promotion or increment - as well as who to recommend to allow continue WFH when the current situation stabilises.

You might get away with it short term - but not long term.

Again, you'd have to ask, is it worth that much to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

its probably a scene for his onlyfans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭3DataModem

1990sman wrote: »
      the attack on christendom wasnt neccessary to make your point

Mary was Jewish.

1. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Dav010 wrote: »
      You are missing the point.

It is easy to make a new policy, but difficult to enforce it. If a wfh does not want work to see their home, or what they look like when they don’t have to dress up to go into work, or because they’ve a giant zit, there is feck all their employer can do about it.

Not sure what you are getting at.

If you work in person, they can see if you have a zit, same as cameras.

Most companies will allow people time to turn their cameras on, or call time before the meeting starts.

You can blur your background, but they will expect go see you - the person they are paying. It does not explicitly say your contract - no **** during office meetings, but it would be covered by the gross misconduct clause and 99 percent of staff would not be surprised that **** is not allowed.

If you dont like it, you can leave and pull your wire to your hearts content.

2. Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

This sad scenario gives new meaning to wfh.

3. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Two problems with that:

1) HR can't really insist on the right to pry into people's homes. Everyone doesn't have a private, dedicated home office. Some people are forced by this emergency WFH scenario to work at a kitchen table in a shared area, or a dressing table in a shared bedroom. So now as well as the employer insisting that the employee provides an office space for free to the employer, and heats and lights it for free, you think that employers can now insist on the right to visual inspection of the space that they're not paying for? Not a runner.

Just set a background on Zoom?

4. Advertisement
    5. Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I really wish I hadn't read this. It will be all I'm thinking of in our zoom call tomorrow morning!

There isn't much you can do about it with no evidence. Weird enough to be doing it. Even more bizarre to admit it. Our work zoom calls are fairly dull, it would take supreme effort for anyone to get off on one.

6. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

JeffKenna wrote: »

Most people I see using backgrounds look horrific and I just want to scream at them as it is very distracting. Even with a decent background image (typically provided by the company), you need a decent webcam, lighting and a solid background for Zoom to properly work. And a lot of companies are not using zoom, but teams or webex etc and they don't all support backgrounds.

Ultimately, you don't want to have to "enforce draconian company policies". Working from home is still a very new concept for most people and companies and they are still struggling with it (but putting a smiley face on it). At this stage, I would still only be suggesting/encouraging/trialling improvements/ideas and not implementing company rules (especially when the only reason to do so is to discourage masturbation during meetings!:D)

In my company, the advice we are rolling out to to the teams is that people should use a video if a small meeting and others on that meeting are using it. It is ok to occasionally not use video. For larger meetings, and especially presentations, where the person is mainly just listening, video should not be used (and only presenters and main participants should be on video).

7. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Piehead

Just tell him to take some screen shots and do it later on!

I think he’s fairly bored wfh.

8. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

JeffKenna wrote: »

1) Not everyone uses Zoom. Most corporate VC tools don't support backgrounds.
      2) Setting a background, and editing a background for every movement of the person consumes computing resources that should be used to provide clear audio as a priority.
      3) Not everyone is comfortable with having a camera on them, with no certainty over who may be recording video and using it for other purposes.

Employers should tread very carefully before making such demands, given the current legal protections on video surveillance.

9. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭auspicious

Don't bother reporting them and don't bother interacting with them again.
      That's a huge in your face no getting around red flag.

10. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Employers should tread very carefully before making such demands, given the current legal protections on video surveillance.

A lot of employees are very happy working remotely and would like to continue to do so in some capacity when life resumes.

It is the Negative Nellie's such as this, who will ruin it for everyone. Never happy.

I'd rather turn on the fookin camera when in a meeting than sit for hours in traffic on the N7 five days a week on top of my work week. . I believe 90 per cent of people would feel similar.

Blended work options gives people the opportunity for for a work life balance. It is a watershed moment for those who know the torture of a commute.

But still some people object to being "videoed" which is reality is nothing worse than being there in person.

Meetings are easier when you can see who you are talking to, it also keeps you in touch with colleagues.

As Mr. Tayto says, always one.

11. Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Why the obsession with cameras on during meetings anyway. Where I work it would be seen as fairly weird if you did turn on your camera during a meeting. No-one really wants to be looking at you slobbing it up in your home "office". Handy too, can just keep working while those who like talking keep talking.

12. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

nah

13. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Why the obsession with cameras on during meetings anyway. Where I work it would be seen as fairly weird if you did turn on your camera during a meeting. No-one really wants to be looking at you slobbing it up in your home "office". Handy too, can just keep working while those who like talking keep talking.

What's that saying...no matter how you feel, get up, dress up show up and never give up.

In order to keep sane, dont be a smelly old boot, slobbing it at home. Its not helping you personally.

Adds nothing to your mental health.

14. Advertisement
    15. Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,056 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I don't have any attractive coworkers :(