Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,787 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Lads congratulating themselves for going to the pub and "fcuking the begrudgers" with lock ins. There seems to be no sign of intelligent life anywhere these days.

Were going to see scenes of house parties and illegal outdoor gatherings over the next few weeks

Some pubs are still going to open and abuse the outdoor rule

Social media will make sure of breaches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Were going to see scenes of house parties and illegal outdoor gatherings over the next few weeks

When did they stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Cheers Stephen, nice Ninja edit.

What the hell are you ranting about?

The only possible sense I can get from that is that you failed to realise that there's two separate SIs, and are blaming the government because you missed the one extending the restrictions in shops. Which given it's #404 actually came before the one you knew about extending the public transport restrictions (#405).
    (Guess you'd have to call that a 404 Not Found error on your part :cool: )

Either that or you're claiming that a minister signing a statutory instrument amending previous legislation, which is publicly available from numerous sources, somehow constitutes a "stealth edit".

In which case you might want to sit down, lest you be shocked by similar amendments to:
    - The Forestry Regulations 2017 (DUNN!!)
    - The Betting Duty and Betting Intermediary Duty Regulations 2015 (DUUNNNN!!!)
    - The European Communities (Minimum Safety and Health Requirements for Improved Medical Treatment on Board Vessels) Regulations 1997
    (DUN DUNN DUNNNNNNN!!!!!!)

And that's only this year. Where will this madness end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Had a few down the local last night, big open area so theyre allowing people stay outside for pints, going ti give them a ring today and book myself a table every friday for the next 4 months just incase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Last few pints last night, I don't see them reopening this side of Christmas sadly. Serving 15 people outdoors won't be feasible for pretty much most pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

rob316 wrote: »
    Last few pints last night, I don't see them reopening this side of Christmas sadly. Serving 15 people outdoors won't be feasible for pretty much most pubs.
    I most definitely can. I think one of the reasons that we're hearing of this "circuit breaker" lockdown coming after this current phase 3 is to ensure that we can have some sort of Christmas. Obviously it won't be the same as other years, and will be devoid of Christmas parties, etc. but I think pubs will be open in some form or another. No party will want to be responsible for cancelling Christmas! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

The plan I'd say is to keep us locked down until Christmas week, and then open up for that week. It's a crazy policy. Do they not know that people will go bonkers that week if they are given their freedom again? And then the numbers will go up ..... again, and then they will shut us down again. And repeat ad nauseam.

It is so disappointing to know that many pubs all over the country will have to shut their doors for good as a result of this current lockdown. But then again, that is all part of the Government plan. Many rural villages have already lost their only pub, which only adds to the isolation that these areas experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Kivaro wrote: »
    The plan I'd say is to keep us locked down until Christmas week, and then open up for that week. It's a crazy policy. Do they not know that people will go bonkers that week if they are given their freedom again? And then the numbers will go up ..... again, and then they will shut us down again. And repeat ad nauseam.

It is so disappointing to know that many pubs all over the country will have to shut their doors for good as a result of this current lockdown. But then again, that is all part of the Government plan. Many rural villages have already lost their only pub, which only adds to the isolation that these areas experience.
    Is this actually the case, or is it a bit of a misnomer? I love the pub, but I'm not sure I buy into the narrative that they are closing down left, right and centre. It will be interesting to see the stats at the end of this. For sure, there will be casualties, and that is unfortunate - but many of those were probably on the way out anyway and this pandemic only accelerated the outcome. I live in a village with 5 pubs, all doing a decent trade and I know they were all given handsome start-up grants when they reopened 3 weeks ago and were compensated for lost stock, etc. so, whilst, they were definitely out of pocket, I'm not sure the picture is a bleak as some like to paint it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I would guess the plan is to keep the lockdown until numbers drop dramatically, and then slowly reopen with restrictions.

I think the most important thing is for people to understand why the restrictions are there and understand that everyone has to be careful if they want things to stay open.
    The idiots that might go bonkers when restrictions are eventually lifted are more than likely going to be the reason restricitons are implemented again, and are also most likely to be the ones complaining about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Sconsey

You're giving out about a plan you just made up yourself in the previous sentence :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What department looks after pub licensing etc?? Want to try something out.

I most definitely can. I think one of the reasons that we're hearing of this "circuit breaker" lockdown coming after this current phase 3 is to ensure that we can have some sort of Christmas. Obviously it won't be the same as other years, and will be devoid of Christmas parties, etc. but I think pubs will be open in some form or another. No party will want to be responsible for cancelling Christmas! :pac:

I think we are been hugely optimistic if we think the alert level will drop below 3. If 3 is the best we manage for the winter I think we will be doing very very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

What department looks after pub licensing etc?? Want to try something out.

Revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It will be interesting to see the stats at the end of this. For sure, there will be casualties, and that is unfortunate - but many of those were probably on the way out anyway and this pandemic only accelerated the outcome.

Are we still talking about pubs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭brilou23

If bar/resturant has a beer garden out the back and seating at the front outside are they allowed to have 30 on premise

brilou23 wrote: »
    If bar/resturant has a beer garden out the back and seating at the front outside are they allowed to have 30 on premise

No, its pretty clear an absolute max of 15 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,787 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Its going to be quite hard to get a table outside anywhere, maybe easier for a Monday/Tuesday but weekend forget about it unless you pre booked

Was bloody looking forward to a few pints watching the Ireland match tomorrow. Guess it's cans at home

rob316 wrote: »
    No, its pretty clear an absolute max of 15 people.

Heard of a bar with two beer gardens and front seating area trying reopen with 45. Hope they get shut down fast if they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

brilou23 wrote: »
    Heard of a bar with two beer gardens and front seating area trying reopen with 45. Hope they get shut down fast if they do
    I heard of a bar (well known place) rumoured to have locked in the local football team until the early hours of the following morning, staff members with them one night and a load of them ended up with the virus.
    They posted a message online refuting the allegations and denying that any of it happened except that the team were there for exactly 105 minutes :rolleyes:.
    I know two people that were at the lock-in and it did happen. They also had to close down because staff members caught it, which they admitted. They closed on the Friday, and reopened on the following Monday.
    What is the point in any of these rules if they are not being enforced in any way.
    That pub has a massive outdoor area and even allowed onto the street, so a lot of people will be going there. :confused::confused::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Suckit wrote: »
    I heard of a bar (well known place) rumoured to have locked in the local football team until the early hours of the following morning, staff members with them one night and a load of them ended up with the virus.
    They posted a message online refuting the allegations and denying that any of it happened except that the team were there for exactly 105 minutes :rolleyes:.
    I know two people that were at the lock-in and it did happen. They also had to close down because staff members caught it, which they admitted. They closed on the Friday, and reopened on the following Monday.
    What is the point in any of these rules if they are not being enforced in any way.
    That pub has a massive outdoor area and even allowed onto the street, so a lot of people will be going there. :confused::confused::mad:

Is that something “new”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭sp00k

Just found out today my local has gone up for sale and the owners are finished. Looking like it won't be the only one going the same way in my town either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Walked past an establishment today that have an enclosed marquee outside their front entrance, the number of people inside looked right and it is a interesting idea if done right but I do not see it lasting long as none of the sides were open which defeats the whole purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,731 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Xenji wrote: »
    Walked past an establishment today that have an enclosed marquee outside their front entrance, the number of people inside looked right and it is a interesting idea if done right but I do not see it lasting long as none of the sides were open which defeats the whole purpose.

Bad time of the year for outdoor dining!

Current weather....

Capture.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Marquees not allowed per VFI this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭HBC08

I think I know where you're talking about WI recently changed name to IT?
    Fair play to them for trying but i don't think it can be considered outdoor and wouldn't expect to see it still up by the weekend.

1966 wrote: »
    Marquees not allowed per VFI this evening.

Can u pm me the link for this pls

HBC08 wrote: »
    I think I know where you're talking about WI recently changed name to IT?
    Fair play to them for trying but i don't think it can be considered outdoor and wouldn't expect to see it still up by the weekend.

I guess this is the place you mean?

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/2020/10/07/mayo-hotel-setting-trend-in-meeting-level-3-trading-challenges/?fbclid=IwAR1PhiqbB9VCxOBD8qX-Z06LTeLcJjKdOcz8IoPgyDm-a3ITLH8Xa-MXXBQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Thats news to me, an acting (although i was panelled after a recent interview) Grade 4 in the civil service. :D

Congrats! Which govt department?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Dickie10

I really cant see pubs open until January 2021 now, they have them closed again and this was what they seemed to want all along. I would be shocked if they open mid November with xmas so close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Yyhhuuu

Exactly do the think we’re living in the Costa Del Sol with their Outdoors

Did you hear about outdoor heating?