Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭dmakc

Why not employ overtime gardai to enforce the pub restrictions on social distancing instead of stopping people crossings areas under the same level

You can drink in Dublin, and have been able to since the E9 meal came in.........

Level 3 saw an end to that weeks ago surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Augeo wrote: »
    Level 3 saw an end to that weeks ago surely?

Not if there is an outdoor area

The poster was suggsting indoors with a meal
    You can drink in Dublin, and have been able to since the E9 meal came in. Now you can drink outside in Dublin too. Since it was upgraded to 3.484184 two weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

aziz wrote: »
    My wife burst into tears tonight at the announcement tonight ( she's a barmaid)
    Only two weeks back and shut down again

The bar she works in is what a lot of people would describe as a " old man's pub"
    But she can see the mental anguish that it is causing to a lot of people.

She found it hard on reopening to keep the regulars in check but once it was spelled out to them on what the terms of the pub reopening was , they all respected it

As she says herself ,she's more social worker/ psychologist than a pint puller and she has degrees in social care

She is disgusted and now totally disappointed that despite her and the pubs owners best efforts to run a safe environment for both the staff and customers
    That they are being shut down again after only two weeks.

She loved bar work but now is contemplating going into home care as she thinks that this is the final nail in the coffin for some smaller pubs

I sympathize with anybody being out of work but public safety must come first. The pubs are simply not a safe environment presently. There are now several clusters traced back to pubs/restaurants. These premises were adhering to all the mandated covid safety measures put in place, but people still got infected.

Indoors, over a sustained period, without masks and adequate ventilation are optimal conditions to let this virus transmit. Then add in the alcohol factor which lowers peoples inhibitions and it's a recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭seansouth36

I still find it strange that publicans are being held responsible for the behaviour of their customers, yet Spar/Centra etc are not. Two of my local shops have at most maybe 20% mask wearers, the rest not wearing anything; chatting away at the deli counter, post office counter, not a care in the world. Staff in both (most don't wear masks either), say it's not up to them to enforce it. Imagine a pub owner saying he's not going to enforce the guidelines as it's not up to him - Frustrating as wearing a mask while going to the shop is probably the easiest of all the restrictions; yet the selfish, yellow-pack bottom feeders in my local area can't even be arsed doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I sympathize with anybody being out of work but public safety must come first. The pubs are simply not a safe environment presently. There are now several clusters traced back to pubs/restaurants. These premises were adhering to all the mandated covid safety measures put in place, but people still got infected.

Indoors, over a sustained period, without masks and adequate ventilation are optimal conditions to let this virus transmit. Then add in the alcohol factor which lowers peoples inhibitions and it's a recipe for disaster.

Typical of the nonsense and hysteria being peddled.

If you want a 100% safe environment I suggest you hide under your bed for the foreseeable. Don't drive a car, don't go for a walk outside and don't walk up or down a flight of stairs.

People like you are incapable of judging risk or the correct response to it.

Trying to placate people with your mindset is the the reason that 10's of billions of debt are being added to our children's futures and hundreds of thousands are losing their jobs.

Typical of the nonsense and hysteria being peddled.

If you want a 100% safe environment I suggest you hide under your bed for the foreseeable. Don't drive a car, don't go for a walk outside and don't walk up or down a flight of stairs.

People like you are incapable of judging risk or the correct response to it.

Trying to placate people with your mindset is the the reason that 10's of billions of debt are being added to our children's futures and hundreds of thousands are losing their jobs.

Driving a car, using a stairs etc is a necessity for most people. Drinking in a pub or eating in a restaurant is very much not a necessity for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Driving a car, using a stairs etc is a necessity for most people. Drinking in a pub or eating in a restaurant is very much not a necessity for anyone.

It's definitely not a necessity for any one who runs and works in a Pub/Restaurant, the magic Government money tree will pay your rent, council rates, services bills, insurance and still give you enough to pay your own mortgage and bills.... so keep 'em closed, the money is free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Drink driving is certainly not a necessity for anyone but you have bragged on here enough times about doing it.

You, of all people, have no moral authority to define what is a necessity or what risks are acceptable.

You lack any empathy and cannot see beyond your own selfish viewpoint.

To find oneself on the opposite side of an argument from you, should be a comfort for anyone.

You should run along and get your mammy to cook your dinner for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,818 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

When you look in the mirror do you realise you are the reason this virus is spreading? Absolutely idiotic being out in the pub in the current situation.

It appears you are the one doing the crying also.

Rubbish.

House parties. Communion and confirmation parties. Schools and school buses. Socialising after matches.

These and similar uncontrolled, undistanced places are responsible for a lot more cases than pubs are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭random_banter

Has anyone seen any commentary on the rationale behind keeping "wet pubs" in Dublin closed without the option of 15 people outdoors?

Now that the whole country is on level 3, why does this difference exist when "wet pubs" will still be allowed to serve outdoors in the rest of the country?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

and you reckon schools are safe ?

Now that the whole country is on level 3, why does this difference exist when "wet pubs" will still be allowed to serve outdoors in the rest of the country?

Rates of the virus are higher in Dublin then most of the rest of the country perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

How did the guidelines for pubs end up getting flipped from Dining = Good / Drinking = Bad to the complete opposite, where now we can drink but can't dine in?
    Sawduck wrote: »
    Wait so what's happening with pubs then, are they going to remain open, I don't get all this level 3,4,5 nonsense

People's confusion is understandable considering that sections of level 3 of the much publicised 5 stage plan have been substantially rewritten since Sunday.

Level 3 for restaurants used to say "additional restrictions for indoor dining", and pubs just said "open with additional restrictions" . Now both say 15 people outdoor only. This level of restrictions previously only appeared at level 4.

The whole plan is a farce. By the way, the other thing they slipped in that nobody has noticed is a ban on travelling to weddings in another county.
    Indeed but it won't stop people abusing and scapegoating pub goers as recent posters have shown. Some clearly want everyone to suffer as much as they are or more, sad to see!
    No, some people who want pubs open don't want idiots breaking restrictions and then coming back whinging when that's used to keep pubs closed.

Reliable source for that claim needed.
    According to the most recently published clusters report (for some reason this week's is missing) there have been a total of 7 pub-related outbreaks, only 2 of those in the last month despite the fact that numbers have been climbing rapidly during that period.

During which there were 46 between childcare facilities and schools.

I find it curious that shortly after NPHET let slip that, unbelievably, no real effort is being made to backtracks and determine where in-home clusters are originating, we're suddenly seeing an increase in anecdotal media reports of pub clusters despite that not being borne out in the officially published figures.

While every attempt is being made to downplay the impact of schools reopening, despite the fact that loads of other countries experienced a surge after school opening and it's obviously something to be expected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

When you look in the mirror do you realise you are the reason this virus is spreading? Absolutely idiotic being out in the pub in the current situation.

It appears you are the one doing the crying also.

Touchy this morning Noxy, guess you didn't get the full lockdown you wanted, back under the bed with the laptop so lol

FYI there are barely any cases in my county the past few months and I've followed all public health guidelines. Going to pub was allowed, I felt obliged to support struggling local businesses who will be devastated today.

Unfortunately not everyone has a well paid safe job as yourself and they have to try make a living. I know you only care about your own situation though, so that doesn't come into it for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

You just know the ones screaming the loudest are the ones sitting at home on the laptop getting a nice pay packet.

To the people the lockdown actually affects it’s devastating.

Cases started flying when the schools opened. What next will Nox etc start blaming schoolchildren when cases continue to rise with 99% restaurants, pubs, hotels basically shut from midnight.

Always want to blame and scapegoat others. Sad!

You just know the ones screaming the loudest are the ones sitting at home on the laptop getting a nice pay packet.

To the people the lockdown actually affects it’s devastating.

Nox already admitted about his highly paid WFH job. Likes to pretend it's not relevant. I still believe he is low key trolling and giggling to himself when his bait works!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Augeo wrote: »
    The poster was suggsting indoors with a meal

The sentence you underlined, literally says outdoors.

Rubbish.

House parties. Communion and confirmation parties. Schools and school buses. Socialising after matches.

These and similar uncontrolled, undistanced places are responsible for a lot more cases than pubs are.

Exactly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

How is driving a car a necessity?? :rolleyes:

Has anyone seen any commentary on the rationale behind keeping "wet pubs" in Dublin closed without the option of 15 people outdoors?

Seems absurd especially since most wouldn't be able to open anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Nox already admitted about his highly paid WFH job. Likes to pretend it's not relevant. I still believe he is low key trolling and giggling to himself when his bait works!

It’s exactly this. I don’t know one day to the next whether my workplace will be open. With all this crap happening this year I’ve accumulated 30 days holidays. I haven’t taken a single day off. I’d like to at some point take those holidays and not be cooked up at home.

Nox already admitted about his highly paid WFH job..........

He's not on great money iirc ......... he expects to be once the gig he's in takes off or something.

You can drink in Dublin, and have been able to since the E9 meal came in. Now you can drink outside in Dublin too. Since it was upgraded to 3.484184 two weeks ago.
    The sentence you underlined, literally says outdoors.

Yes ....... and the piece I've now bolded suggests you can drink indoors with a €9 meal which is not the case of late.

TOO suggests you can now do both ..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How is driving a car a necessity?? :rolleyes:

Can't drink and drive without the driving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

the publicans should get together and open all the pubs, the government can hardly shut them all down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Invited to a party for the match Thursday night. Zero social distancing at this party. Did the government think this true at all ? At least when pubs were closed over summer it was a lot of outdoor barbeque party's, now it's going to be indoor party's with no ventilation

The second person to make up things that I never posted. I never at any point mentioned my salary, not once. You have no idea what I earn and I did also highlight that my wife is being impacted by the covid job situation. So back in your box.