Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Clare Byrne getting a flu jab ? I am on a list waiting for one as the supply is low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Suggested initiative: Hire some of the people who have lost jobs in the hospitality industry as reserve Gardaí to ensure compliance with the measures implemented. The kicks in every time we hit level 3 restrictions.

khalessi wrote: »
    ah sure she is frontline services and competing with turbidy getting his nasal swab

I bet they'll be the first to get Covid jabs too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Oh CB is now becoming a dose herself.... on air swabs, antibody tests, flu jabs, ugh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,839 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Thomas.. wrote: »
    Maximum of 50 in a house

Ice cream banned for 4 weeks
    What about gelato?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,194 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

What takeovers? They're cooperating, it's not a takeover.

For a hefty price though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

I bet they'll be the first to get Covid jabs too

best of luck with them untested and no come back if they are deemed to cause problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Does that include at home?
    Yes , barbecue sales are going to rocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

If we (well the UK would have to be included) had done a 2-3 week militarized total lockdown like China, airports included, life would be back to normal and none of this would be talked about.

People show so much horror at the talk of such 2-3 weeks, and yet.....are willing to accept what is now half a year, very likely into next year, of endless quasi lockdown rollercoaster vomit? In what possible world is this any better and the preferable option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,653 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

s1ippy wrote: »
    Any synopsis of Claire Byrne to save me the agony?

Just more glad-handing and excuses I assume... Hope it works out for the government. If not, hope they react in a timely fashion. It's a wreckless gamble.

Blonde Bob, damn sexy woman, very sharp, lovely voice, credit to Laois, probably a bit too careerminded, might sell her Granny and yours too, but would be a grand distraction for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,471 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Lundstram wrote: »
    Hoolahan should have never been allowed back, you cannot walk away from a position like he had at a time like this whatever the reason and expect to stroll back in and start ordering around elected representatives.

Glynn should've been left in charge of NPHET.

Whatever the reason ? Such a nice comment :(
    This thanked by those who would be always going on about the amount of cancer cases being missed in this pandemic.

There is insane demand this year for flu vaccine.
    My husband is in social care earliest he can get through work is November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭JJayoo

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Suggested initiative: Hire some of the people who have lost jobs in the hospitality industry as reserve Gardaí to ensure compliance with the measures implemented. The kicks in every time we hit level 3 restrictions.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

He was only diagnosed on Friday, so hardly fit enough to leave hospital.

They only claim diagnosis was on Friday, but they've dug themselves into so many holes it's likely to have been before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭KaneToad

So, in a nutshell...Tony/NPHET believe we're headed for level 5 regardless. Going there straight away would be more prudent as it would lessen the disruption.

Personally I think the govt likely agree but can't, politically, stomach it. They're going to plod along till the mid term school break and then keep the kids home for 2 weeks rather than 1...

Reservoirs of infectious disease.... except almost uniquely not Covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Give them a yellow jacket and Green uniform, call them the "Order Corps"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,304 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Leaked by NPHET was my impression. Open to correction though.

Government side I'd reckon. What would NPHET have to benefit from leaking? Was going to be published after either way. Allowed government sources to brief against them

I am just realising this is ex td Kate McConnell...
    This is a cushy wee number for her and great publicity for her pharmacies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rooney30

Thought Leo did well on Clair Byrne . Nphets level 5 aspirations were nonsensical . He didn’t quite throw them under the bus but he very nearly did .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

Lundstram wrote: »
    First sensible thing you said all night.

In your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Goldengirl wrote: »
    And wasn't it leaked by the government?

Based on the last hour, it wouldn't be unlikely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 141 ✭✭Thomas..

Will we give them any training?

Or do they even need it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,339 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

The day the government abandoned the elderly and those most at risk. Disgusting.

Aren't you aTrump fan?

gmisk wrote: »
    I am just realising this is ex td Kate McConnell...
    This is a cushy wee number for her and great publicity for her chain pharmacies.

No PUP payments needed by her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

KaneToad wrote: »
    So, in a nutshell...Tony/NPHET believe we're headed for level 5 regardless. Going there straight away would be more prudent as it would lessen the disruption.

Personally I think the govt likely agree but can't, politically, stomach it. They're going to plod along till the mid term school break and then keep the kids home for 2 weeks rather than 1...

Did you listen to Varadkar? It doesn't sound like you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

In your opinion

It would appear he's not alone in his evaluation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Reservoirs of infectious disease.... except almost uniquely not Covid?

Im calling them reservoirs from now on. Dirty pigeons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,653 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Clare Byrne getting a flu jab ? I am on a list waiting for one as the supply is low

She had the Covid too. And got tested very quickly, mind. She had major trouble breathing at night and 3 days later was broadcasting from home.
    Yeah right....