Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

Tony was there for July/August and restrictions easing, cases in single figures, no daily deaths. That's what the simple remember, not the nursing homes etc.

Ronan Glynn has been in charge as the virus gained ground again, in Europe and many parts of the world, this autumn. He's performed aswell as his predecessor in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,376 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Link a handful of articles then.

There's no need. Go back and look through previous threads all around this forum: you'll find plenty of evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Small bit of good news out of Israel

Enlivex's Allocetra improves COVID-19 recovery times, early data show
    The data was drawn from a small study of five patients with COVID-19, three of which were in a severe condition and two were in a critical condition. After being treated with Allocetra, all five patients achieved complete recovery; those in a severe condition were discharged from hospital after an average of 5.5 days, with those in a critical condition achieving the same milestone after 8.5 days. No adverse events were reported.

A sample size so small it would be considered insignificant.

But still one to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://apnews.com/article/virus-outbreak-archive-mexico-city-mexico-2ee425437ff8fd1b0dcd338d632dd40c

Mexican government updates estimated death toll by around 13,000 deaths. Although is still seems like an underestimate, excess deaths in Mexico were 123,000 as of August 1st , at that time the official death toll was just 46,000. Wonder what else is causing over 77,000 unexplained additional excess deaths if it is not the pandemic

It's why it's important in arguments to not necessarily rely heavily on existing official figures of countries, they really are preliminary currently especially in the developing world. Ecuador also updated it's death toll by over 50% just a few weeks ago. See people wonder why India is doing reasonably well despite high population density for example, you really can't say that for sure at this time, No doubt India will at some stage add tens of thousands of unreported deaths as Mexico did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Do we have more info at the start of his tenancy or at the end? There can never be enough and they need to do more.

For instance in the last two days we learned that one asshole couple went away for the weekend, came back, saw everybody they know and went to a pub/restaurant and resulted in 30 people infected and a business closed.

We also learned one cafe/restaurant in cork led to 56 people being infected.

Yes and we’ve also learned who is at most risk from this virus. And that it’s far less dangerous than believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭harr

NCT test centre last night 5 people in waiting room two without masks and both coughing away, staff took no notice of them. A number of people asked them to put on masks or wait outside since they were coughing fairly often but they taught it was very funny and said they were going nowhere and to cold outside.
    I wasn’t long moving outside .. I know a number of people complained but staff said nothing they could do. Two lads in early 20,s
    We haven’t a hope of controlling this with those kind of attitudes .

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,533 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Obviously not wearing a mask so. Teachers need to limit contact there class only and wear a mask at all times

I suspect none of us have any idea whether or not they were wearing a mask. A mask is not something that prevents covid-19 spreading. It's one important measure that helps reduce the chances. N95 are supposed to be at the better end, with surgical masks behind them, and then the fabric type most of us are wearing. Then there are the plastic shields which offer much reduced protection. However nothing can act as a complete barrier to transmission beyond something akin to a sealed "bubble". Masks may be faulty. They may be poorly fitting. In this case it may be that the teacher picked it up from a pupil and spread it across other pupils. It may be that the kids congregated outside school. None of us can properly understand exactly how it was transmitted (even if we were there to witness what was going on)

WRT the Cork restaurant it only needs one customer to infect one member of staff, who then perhaps passes it onto the chef, all getting limited protection from masks and sanitisers, and it then spreads before anyone shows any symptoms.

Equally I fully acknowledge that both "clusters" could have been spread by carelessness from those responsible for taking appropriate precautions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

harr wrote: »
    NCT test centre last night 5 people in waiting room two without masks and both coughing away, staff took no notice of them. A number of people asked them to put on masks or wait outside since they were coughing fairly often but they taught it was very funny and said they were going nowhere and to cold outside.
    I wasn’t long moving outside .. I know a number of people complained but staff said nothing they could do. Two lads in early 20,s

No indeed. Put the burden of enforcing restrictions on lowest paid workers in society? What do you expect?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

Centre shouid have called the Gardai and had them removed. Until we enforce and penalise thugs like that we are swimming against the tide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

It's amazing how people without masks seem to constantly cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

Whatever about not wearing masks, maybe they had a medical condition, but to be constantly coughing and not move outside is just plain rude and ignorant given the current circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

polesheep wrote: »

Swallowing so much bull**** is hard on the throat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Obviously not wearing a mask so. Teachers need to limit contact there class only and wear a mask at all times
    How come other sections of society get to socialise but you think teachers should see their class only? What about their families who may have school elsewhere? I love how you're so enthusiastic to take away the personal freedoms of teachers. Do you think doctors should also isolate themselves from everyone except patients?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Beasty wrote: »
    I suspect none of us have any idea whether or not they were wearing a mask. A mask is not something that prevents covid-19 spreading. It's one important measure that helps reduce the chances. N95 are supposed to be at the better end, with surgical masks behind them, and then the fabric type most of us are wearing. Then there are the plastic shields which offer much reduced protection. However nothing can act as a complete barrier to transmission beyond something akin to a sealed "bubble". Masks may be faulty. They may be poorly fitting. In this case it may be that the teacher picked it up from a pupil and spread it across other pupils. It may be that the kids congregated outside school. None of us can properly understand exactly how it was transmitted (even if we were there to witness what was going on)

WRT the Cork restaurant it only needs one customer to infect one member of staff, who then perhaps passes it onto the chef, all getting limited protection from masks and sanitisers, and it then spreads before anyone shows any symptoms.

Equally I fully acknowledge that both "clusters" could have been spread by carelessness from those responsible for taking appropriate precautions

From what I've heard about a school in Cork that closed. About a dozen cases so far. It spread from a child getting a bus/escort to school, who then passed it on to an SNA and from there it was spread to the rest. No details about the rest of spread.

SNAs are extremely vunerable because theres virtually zero social distancing when dealing with special needs pupils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,307 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

prunudo wrote: »
    Whatever about not wearing masks, maybe they had a medical condition, but to be constantly coughing and not move outside is just plain rude and ignorant given the current circumstances.

Perhaps they were deliberately riling people and freaking them for their kicks, who knows.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

Perhaps they were deliberately riling people and freaking them for their kicks, who knows.

That crossed my mind too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Boggles wrote: »
    They all touched the same vending machine.

Yeah. Superspreader deposited the virus then the first of 15 got the highest dose and the last one just wiped out the last bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Going to be interesting to see how Tony holohan works under the new regime ie, having the recommendations made by nphet scrutinised by the sub committee before being passed to the cabinet for approval, it struck me that he had the ear of Leo and Simon during his tenure before his leave of absence this might stick in the craw a bit

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

polesheep wrote: »

Some posters on this thread seem to be encountering people “coughing and spluttering” all over the place. I haven’t experienced anyone doing that in my vicinity. Am I just lucky or are these posters exaggerating just a tad?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Some posters on this thread seem to be encountering people “coughing and spluttering” all over the place. I haven’t experienced anyone doing that in my vicinity. Am I just lucky or are these posters exaggerating just a tad?

Its like at the start of the lockdown when every runner was 'coughing and spluttering' every time they passed someone.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

This it what they seemed to be up to ..

eagle eye wrote: »
    That's still unknown, the virus is too young yet to know if it mutates. If it does then there'll be shots when necessary, if it doesn't it's possible you'll only need one shot every decade or two.

As you said - we do not know. What we do know is that antibodies disappear fairly quickly and there was even talk that we may actually need a few of them every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,540 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Gael23 wrote: »
    Do they have a case?

If they think they have a case why wait...
    If they think they have a case why bother with talk about the Oireachtas.
    Just release the lawyers.

Maybe they think they have a possible case but arent sure, would be expensive and are trying to bluff the gov.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Is there a constitutional argument to make?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    For me personally I am just more aware of people coughing and sneezing and I think that is probably the case with most people. Before COVID you would hardly notice anyone spluttering out of them.
    The general public are a lot more tuned in now on the personal hygiene habits of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Its like at the start of the lockdown when every runner was 'coughing and spluttering' every time they passed someone.......

Do I remember correctly that Pat Kenny referred to joggers and cyclist's exhausting plumes of Covid?

Live on air

Do I remember correctly that Pat Kenny referred to joggers and cyclist's exhausting plumes of Covid?

Live on air

That dude got severe covidmania. Either that or he is being paid handsomely to pretend to have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

Holy Feck!

This intro to the Rte covid programme is awful hype.

'It ripped through the limbs of each family'. Now it did to many but this statement is hyperbole.