Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

AUDI20 wrote: »
    Yeah and Donald Trump was elected as the new pope

Whatever. You are living in dreamland if you think there isn't lockins happening all over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

MrStuffins wrote: »
    They don't take that much training to be fair. Myself, alongside many people in this thread I would imagine, worked as lounge staff back in our teens.

It's not rocket science.

Also, one of the pubs I was in last weekend gave us our bill after the original 105 min booking and then we paid as we went for each round. Easy!

Absolutely it isn't rocket science but it still takes time to implement routines and run them smoothly. I'm sure there were pubs who never thought of a need for a aprons or other ways to carry pens and pads (or even pens and pads for that matter :D) When to run tabs vs rounds as you say etc. Having good communication between servers and bartenders etc. Lots of little details people overlook or improve over time. Also if you can remember back to those teen days can you remember the first time you carried a tray of pints, bottles and wine glasses and tried to distribute them for the first time? I swore rocket science at the time would have been less daunting :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,315 ✭✭✭Glebee

Did not get to go to pub over the weekend:( but from what I heard first weekend that pubs in my area opened has been a fairly decent success. Social distancing did lapse a bit as the night went on though. The only problem was that from talking to different people today when they had to leave the pub at 11pm, the majority all ended up going back to various house parties..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,787 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

a few publicans saying they had to turn away loads over the weekend due to numbers

Going to be mayhem christmastime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    a few publicans saying they had to turn away loads over the weekend due to numbers

A big **** off sign in the window

No booking
    No entry
    No exceptions

Problem solved.

PTH2009 wrote: »

Sounds like they're doing smashing business so far! Good for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

In my local hotel today in Cork and the manager says he won't be open past Monday he reckons. He didn't elaborate but it sounded like he was sure rather than speculating. That's the pubs gone too if he's right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

What about the other 80%?

I would say your glass is half full Stuffins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Wasn't Cork second lowest rate only 2 weeks ago? Pubs definitely spiking the number in the city there.

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Classic whataboutery!

You can read the article yourself. This thread is about pubs so the figure is relevant.

My glass is always full but never got long when there's a tasty, delicious pint involved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,747 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Wasn't Cork second lowest rate only 2 weeks ago? Pubs definitely spiking the number in the city there.

Except the pubs haven’t been fully open for two weeks so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Classic whataboutery!

You can read the article yourself. This thread is about pubs so the figure is relevant.

My glass is always full but never got long when there's a tasty, delicious pint involved!

****ing insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,747 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

In my local hotel today in Cork and the manager says he won't be open past Monday he reckons. He didn't elaborate but it sounded like he was sure rather than speculating. That's the pubs gone too if he's right.

So you saying he wasn’t just pulling that day out of thin air then ? Informed one way or the other. Well the pubs had a good brief run then if what you were told is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

titan18 wrote: »
    Des Cahill threw some pics up from the city centre there

https://twitter.com/CllrDesCahil/status/1310669933110587394?s=20

Cork Tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Whatever. You are living in dreamland if you think there isn't lockins happening all over the country.

Serving till 7am in my home town after losing the county final. I was out for the match earlier on and pub was packed. Order away at the bar. No masks, was like corona never existed. It was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Farrelk

A tale of two cities for me..

One local served beyond capacity like the pubs opening was simply a cash grab for publicans

Other local stopped people at the door, never once strayed past guidines, informed all their staff to "Treat every moment like the one before a Garda Inspection"

niallo27 wrote: »
    Serving till 7am in my home town after losing the county final. I was out for the match earlier on and pub was packed. Order away at the bar. No masks, was like corona never existed. It was brilliant.

Absolute disgrace, hopefully the guards are wise to it and object to the license renewal and the place is shut down.

It’s disgusting the disregard some are showing for this hugely serious situation we are in, it’s going to take extreme measure and force to get people to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭aziz

Went to my local tonight for a pint at 9.30

Was the only customer there for the night

Ah just like the old days

Absolute disgrace, hopefully the guards are wise to it and object to the license renewal and the place is shut down.

It’s disgusting the disregard some are showing for this hugely serious situation we are in, it’s going to take extreme measure and force to get people to cop on.

When the license renewals come round and they realise just how many businesses have closed down, I doubt they'll be jumping to shut down more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

AdamD wrote: »
    When the license renewals come round and they realise just how many businesses have closed down, I doubt they'll be jumping to shut down more.
    I doubt there are that many to object to. I would imagine they could easily do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So there’s a lag in cases unless there isn’t a lag in cases. So it’s the pubs fault.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So you saying he wasn’t just pulling that day out of thin air then ? Informed one way or the other. Well the pubs had a good brief run then if what you were told is true.
    He got called away and I left so didn't get a chance to ask but it definitely sounded like he knew something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Funny the way they can go from not having a clue where cases are coming from in Dublin to suddenly being that precise.
    Did they just decide it would be a good idea to ask people where they had been over the past week or so? And if they did how did it not occur to them to do that before.

Decision on Cork by the end of the week. Can't link but on the Cork beo website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Scoondal

It seems like I picked a bad weekend to give up drinking at home by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,787 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

its laughable

The hospitality/entertainment industry is ****ed if the rumoured plans happen. The decision makers have there rainy day money and mental health but what about the people affected ?? Go on the dole and then have ****e like Turas Nua drive people paronoid/mental ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭juno10353

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Looks like the gov reject the level 5 and go for level 3 - rightly so.
    Will the Pubs will remain open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

cadaliac wrote: »
    Looks like the gov reject the level 5 and go for level 3 - rightly so.
    Will the Pubs will remain open?

Nope not unless they can run with just 15 people sat outside