Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

New Alternative News Channel "GB News" chaired by Andrew Neil launching - read OP before posting

• 25-09-2020 10:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14,514 ✭✭✭✭

Interesting development this, there had been rumours for the last few months.

Andrew Neil has left the BBC to launch a 24-hour news channel to rival BBC and Sky.
    GB News will launch early next year – under the chairmanship of Andrew Neil, who will be its flagship presenter.
    GB News is aimed at the vast number of British people who feel underserved and unheard by their media.

Its being backed by Discovery and Rupert Murdoch .

https://deadline.com/2020/09/gb-news...il-1234585344/

This should be a welcome addition to counter the far left /woke media so prevalent now.

Mod warning 01/09/21
    More off topic posts deleted

Just to repeat - the topic is GB News and not it's underlying stories. Nor is it a thread to discuss other users. There will be no more warnings about this. Ignoring the warnings will result in sanction including threadbans
    Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The BBC are only a few decisions away from real trouble if they are not already there...woke/SJW/Feminism rots everything it touches.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,058 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The DUP won't like that. GB News throwing Northern Ireland under the bus.

Sounds like a poor man's Fox News.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,065 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Another far right outlet parroting white victimhood and ethnic nationalism. Joy.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Another far right outlet parroting white victimhood and ethnic nationalism. Joy.

Another?

Far right?

White victimhood?

What the f##k is Ethnic Journalism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Sources have described the new 24-hour station, from early next year, on Freeview, as an antidote to the “woke, wet” BBC's

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Not too surprising, really. The UK has been going down the road of Alternative facts for some time and Brexit just highlighted the whole thing. There's clearly a viable market now comprised of the stupid that's worth tapping into. From Murdoch's point of view, he's going to want people to think that the shítshow that will be Brexit is all going swimmingly or that those lazy, scrounging blacks are tooking everyone's jerbs.

People have a different view of the world...that is all, it's nothing to be afraid of!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

OFCOM will see this doesn't become a witless clone of Fox News - they've closed Press TV, curtailed the excesses of RT and also intervened against the Chinese lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,576 ✭✭✭✭listermint

OFCOM will see this doesn't become a witless clone of Fox News - they've closed Press TV, curtailed the excesses of RT and also intervened against the Chinese lads.

Not under this regime.

New world.

Another in a lineage of far right representation in the UK media. The right wing in this thread are well represented across the spectrum which is absolute at odds with whinging they go on about not being heard. Flakes...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,440 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Andrew Neil, the Brexit pushing, Brittania is great, Climate change denying, HIV/AIDS denying,
    Iraq war and Afghan war intervention supporting Scion of British political commentary.
    The same Andrew Neil who also has a lovely home in France...

Pontificating to the Great British public on Brexit and having his EU bolt hole sorted?
    Many of the viewers of GB news, won't see the issues with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭irishproduce

OFCOM would be a government appointed body with government direction.
    The current government in UK wouldn't see too much wrong with some right leaning news coverage.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Neill is a Self hating North Brit, can't wait for Scottish Independence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

listermint wrote: »
    Not under this regime.

New world.

Another in a lineage of far right representation in the UK media. The right wing in this thread are well represented across the spectrum which is absolute at odds with whinging they go on about not being heard. Flakes...

What far right representation is there in UK media? And no the Sun isn't far right unless your far left

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's needed on UKTV. Sky News used to be a good counter to BBC but has gone to the dogs in recent years and especially since Comcast took over.

I hope it obliterates Sky News. They were huge into cancel culture before it got itself a title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sky News just grew up that's all.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,514 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

What far right representation is there in UK media? And no the Sun isn't far right unless your far left

Everyone thats not a woke far left liberal is far right it seems.

Anything that brings competition is good and I for one will be glad of a channel with a non PC, non woke , non condescending agenda.

Anything that brings competition is good and I for one will be glad of a channel with a non-PC, non-woke agenda.

Liberals have a sense of humour and an open mind...this culture isn't liberal nor are these people.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Liberals have a sense of humour and an open mind...this culture isn't liberal nor are these people.

The SJWs are as liberal and humourous as the Spanish Inquisition. They have all the same characteristics except burning at the stake. At least not yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I think this could be good. Andrew Neil is pretty even-handed. Despite being right-wing himself, he famously handed Ben Shapiro’s arse to him. He’s an equal opportunities hard arse. No harm having another news outlet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Brilliant news. Long overdue.

I'm sure Channel 4, BBC and Sky are trilled by this news.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ekerot

For me, it's NHK News Channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,299 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I remember seeing a Youtube clip of the BBC Daily Politics interview that Andrew Neil a few years ago did with Alex Jones of Infowars.

When Neil heard of the things from Alex Jones had his huge rant about immigration & Islam being a huge problem and the role of the mainstream media particularly with the BBC in the UK; Neil tended to blatantly ignore those statements from Jones instantly. Neil wasn't too kind to Jones either when the programme was finished.

Now that Andrew Neil is going to be the star of GB News, as soon as he leaves the BBC after the US Presidential Election coverage in November, I would find it quite bizzare, in these crazy times, that he could just glaringly accept to hear more opinions being said from people who follow far-right politics when it is the main show of the day coming from the likes of the Trump crew & when talking about other things like Brexit affecting the UK.

Now when he is doing a news programme on this new news channel; can he be told by the channels management team straight off the bat that he can just accept lots of far right opinions coming in from various people within that political sphere as he tries to adhere to the strict news broadcasting requirements from Ofcom in the UK? I know that Ofcom has had a lot of recent influence from the Tories in making the rules more strict for the BBC & the like. However; it wasn't being too kind to the likes of RT who had been ruled to have broken the terms of their UK Broadcasting licence on lots of occasions.

The telegraph for starters .

Sure look whinge away. But note whining exposes your far right beliefs . Not something to be proud of. This isnt traditional conservatism. It's a warped liberalism where you believe making the lives of the ultra rich easier will somehow make yours easier.

Lol.

I think this could be good. Andrew Neil is pretty even-handed. Despite being right-wing himself, he famously handed Ben Shapiro’s arse to him. He’s an equal opportunities hard arse. No harm having another news outlet.

He's not remotely even handed. You haven't been following along. He's selective. Very much so

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Another far right outlet .

far right opinions coming in from various people within that

But note whining exposes your far right beliefs

Everything I don't like is far right. The fact that you people think that Andrew Neil of all people has anything to do with the far right is ridiculous.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Everything I don't like is far right. The fact that you people think that Andrew Neil of all people has anything to do with the far right is ridiculous.

Who's you people.

Andrew Neil bought and paid for by the Barclay brothers as editor in chief of the spectator. It feels like you know very little about him.

In his time as editor of the Sunday Times in 1992, he hired Britain’s foremost Holocaust denier, Nazi apologist David Irving, to work on the Goebbels diaries

Neil made a speech in homage to rightwing radical Friedrich Hayek, in which he called for a “radical programme to liberalise the British economy. Pure middle of the road stuff I'm sure your agree.

During last year’s general election, he presented the Daily Politics wearing a tie emblazoned with the logo of the hardcore neoliberal Adam Smith Institute.

When he was Sunday Times editor, his newspaper ran a series of articles arguing that HIV did not cause Aids.

I mean you may think he's a conservative mouthpiece. I'd argue he's, not he's a libertarian who moves in libertarians circles. It's money men. It's amusing that people want to affiliate with this sort of thinking when you'll never ever be a part of it . Right cap doffing stuff. These people don't and won't ever represent you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,065 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Sure look whinge away. But note whining exposes your far right beliefs . Not something to be proud of. This isnt traditional conservatism. It's a warped liberalism where you believe making the lives of the ultra rich easier will somehow make yours easier.

Lol.

I don't think they're all that bothered about making their own lives easier. While the moneymen behind this new Fox News will earn off it, all the viewers seem to care about is feeling like their whining, bigotry and victimhood complexes are justified. If they get that then they don't care if their bottom lines get better or not.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭francois

/QUOTE]

Anything that is not hard right conservative is far left communist it seems

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Far right? LOL get over yourself, by far right i presume you mean anyone to the right of Mao Zedong. What's wrong with a little balance? Virtually all mainstream media in the Anglosphere is decidedly left wing progressive.

On a lighter note, published in Private Eye some years ago - perhaps his co-presenter? (Doubtful)

andrew-neil.jpg