Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭titan18

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    A Roscommon publican who went to work displaying coronavirus symptoms while awaiting test results has said he didn’t know he should have been isolating.

Mr Murray, owner of An Bóthar Rua pub in Elphin subsequently tested positive for coronavirus after attending his busy bar on Saturday night.

Mr Murray told the Roscommon Herald: “I will put my hands up and say I didn’t know I had to self-isolate. If I knew I was supposed to, I would not have been at the bar on Saturday.

The Independent

Idiots like this are why so many are afraid and pro lockdowns imo. If everyone was a responsible person, we'd be fine, but there's too many like the above.

Boggles wrote: »
    Well no, I didn't do any of that. Again they are your assumptions, I can't take any credit or blame for them.

I simply challenged your assertion that public health and science community were split on how at this moment in time to deal with the pandemic.

You countered with the lazy predictable hand grenade

'What would you know, you are not qualified'.

But I completely agree, people need to "climb down from their own sense of moral and intellectual self-righteousness" and start basing their opinions on evidenced based science and common sense.

Like I do. ;)

Common Sense Is Nothing More Than a Deposit of Prejudices Laid Down in the Mind Before Age Eighteen - Albert Einstein

A man of great common sense and good taste - meaning thereby a man without originality or moral courage. - George Bernard Shaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

A Roscommon publican who went to work displaying coronavirus symptoms while awaiting test results has said he didn’t know he should have been isolating.

Mr Murray, owner of An Bóthar Rua pub in Elphin subsequently tested positive for coronavirus after attending his busy bar on Saturday night.

Mr Murray told the Roscommon Herald: “I will put my hands up and say I didn’t know I had to self-isolate. If I knew I was supposed to, I would not have been at the bar on Saturday.

The Independent

This from a business owner is annoying.

Had he someone else reading and interpreting the guidelines?

He must of been wearing ear protection when they were talking to him at the test centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,314 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Common Sense Is Nothing More Than a Deposit of Prejudices Laid Down in the Mind Before Age Eighteen - Albert Einstein

A man of great common sense and good taste - meaning thereby a man without originality or moral courage. - George Bernard Shaw

Jesus you are gone full "theoretic epidemiologist"

Go on, shout out James Joyce and be done with it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

465 new cases in Scotland.
    219 in Glasgow & Clyde.

124 positive in an outbreak at a Glasgow uni.

Good times

558 new positive cases in Scotland.
    255 in Greater Glasgow and Clyde.

That's not great. Is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Is there a 'pitchfork and torch' bus being organised for Elohim? Where are the pick up points?

No need, just wait for the licencing renewal. What else doesn't he know about running a pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Every shop I go into these days has a Perspex screen at the check out desk. The screens are about 1 meter high and have no sidescreens. They also have an opening for passing purchases through to be scanned.
    Do people actually believe that these screens achieve anything at all. Do they believe that if there is virus in the air that it won’t go around the sides, or over the top or through the hole in the middle of these screens?
    Are these screens there just to pretend to the staff and customers that there is some protection afforded by these nonsensical screens.
    The same, of course, applies to face visors, (sometimes worn on the top of the head).

It depends if the virus is actually airborne, or simply droplets. If airborne then nothing short of hazmat \ffp3 mask will prevent contamination. If however, it is really only droplets based, the the screen will reduce the amount of said droplets, in vapor form from exhalation, from reaching the till operator, since there's less than 1 metre between both parties, thus reducing the likelihood of infection.

The droplets will ultimately land on the screen, which must therefore be regularly cleaned.

Is it airborne or not? I don't think anyone really knows for sure. It's pretty tricky to find out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

No need, just wait for the licencing renewal. What else doesn't he know about running a pub?

He will have his licensed renewed no problem. The judge may admonish him but emotions play no part in decisions from the bench.
    I thought the article was about him claiming not to know about restricting his movements. No mention of bar operation skills or lack thereof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭growleaves

The 'sense' in common sense is intuition. No wonder a physicist and a Fabian socialist don't like it. Intellectuals over-rely on their intellect, like a weight-trainer who has over-trained a single muscle

That people in this country would support years of social isolation due to their statistics-based understanding of a scientific problem is about as far from common sense as its possible to get imo.

Jesus you are gone full "theoretic epidemiologist"

Go on, shout out James Joyce and be done with it.

Mistakes are the portals of discovery - James joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

Mr Murray, owner of An Br Rua pub in Elphin subsequently tested positive for coronavirus after attending his busy bar on Saturday night.

The Independent

This was earlier in the thread as well, it's mind boggling. That publican needs to have his pub taken out of his hands immediately, he's clearly too fcukin stupid to be entrusted with such a premises. Not even sure how he manages to get himself dressed in the morning with that level of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

He will have his licensed renewed no problem. The judge may admonish him but emotions play no part in decisions from the bench.
    I thought the article was about him claiming not to know about restricting his movements. No mention of bar operation skills or lack thereof.

Not endangering your patrons would be a requirement.

Opinions are like bumholes, everyone has them and they smell like poop. Unless its wiped clean properly with toilet paper or water.

Mallarmé?

558 new positive cases in Scotland.
    255 in Greater Glasgow and Clyde.

That's not great. Is it?

Any deaths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

'I didn’t know I had to self-isolate' - Publican who had coronavirus went to work while waiting for test results

IMO this guy knew exactly what he was doing.

Money over Public Health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Taoiseach says NPHET may advise Govt on restrictions in cities such as Cork, Waterford, Limerick and Galway, where number of cases continues to rise

growleaves wrote: »
    The 'sense' in common sense is intuition. No wonder a physicist and a Fabian socialist don't like it. Intellectuals over-rely on their intellect, like a weight-trainer who has over-trained a single muscle

That people in this country would support years of bureaucratically-enforced social isolation due to their statistics-based understanding of a scientific problem is about as far from common sense as its possible to get imo.

I think your invocation of common sense along with that of Boggles kind of proves Einstein correct in his quote. 2 posterswith diametrically opposing views both invoking common sense as being the ultimate arbiter of the validity of their point of view. You both can’t be right, yet both claim it’s just common sense. Either one of you is wrong or what you both regard as common sense is just a manifestation of your individual backgrounds, prejudice and traits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Taoiseach says NPHET may advise Govt on restrictions in cities such as Cork, Waterford, Limerick and Galway, where number of cases continues to rise

SD just on the radio & he's saying the Gov. have no intentions of increasing restrictions in those counties in the immediate future.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Not endangering your patrons would be a requirement.

He claims he was wasn't aware he had to restrict his movements. So as far as he was concerned rightly or wrongly he was not a danger.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Any deaths?

you tell me

Mallarmé?

Close, Dirty Harry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Good luck to Martin and NPHET trying to sell that one

I think your invocation of common sense along with that of Boggles kind of proves Einstein correct in his quote. 2 posterswith diametrically opposing views both invoking common sense as being the ultimate arbiter of the validity of their point of view. You both can’t be right, yet both claim it’s just common sense. Either one of you is wrong or what you both regard as common sense is just a manifestation of your individual backgrounds, prejudice and traits

I didn't say it was 'the ultimate arbiter of validity of my point of view'. I said common sense was derived from intiution - and that purely intellectual and positivist points of view lead people away from common sense. Which is arguable but that's what I think.

In that I'm in agreement with you, am I not? You claim to abhor common sense and no doubt you see yourself as thinking in an intellectual or scientific way. Certainly you use a lot of statistics.

Of course Boggles may disagree and be using a different definition. Its a wonder we can even communicate at all since words can have radically subjective differing meanings to each person.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Good luck to Martin and NPHET trying to sell that one

I wonder will a certain area South of the Lee be exempt

He claims he was wasn't aware he had to restrict his movements. So as far as he was concerned rightly or wrongly he was not a danger.

He also claimed he knew nothing about a party going on his pub that he was actually at.

The claim is there was 60 people at it, he claimed only 20 around about 3 tables, all though he says he has CCTV footage showing only 60 people.

"Are those my feet"

I didn't say it was 'the ultimate arbiter of validity of my point of view'. I said common sense was derived from intiution - and that purely intellectual and positivist points of view lead people away from common sense. Which is arguable but that's what I think.

In that I'm in agreement with you, am I not? You claim to abhor common sense and no doubt you see yourself as thinking in an intellectual or scientific way. Certainly you use a lot of statistics.

Of course Boggles may disagree and be using a different definition. Its a wonder we can even communicate at all since words can have radically subjective differing meanings to each person.

Ye are way over thinking it lads.

"Are those my feet"

On the basis I haven't seen them , I regretfully find myself unable to answer your question. Commonsense suggests I shouldn't guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,652 ✭✭✭gipi

This from a business owner is annoying.

Had he someone else reading and interpreting the guidelines?

He must of been wearing ear protection when they were talking to him at the test centre.

Buddy of mine was tested this week and was told 3 times to self isolate pending the result while at the test centre - was also given an information leaflet, so yer man must have lost his glasses too.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Limerick ? Had about 20 cases in the last week.