Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Michael O'Leary on newstalk and he's not happy with the inconsistency of the decisions. Says that of the 4 countries remaining on the Green list, one doesn't have an airport and the other doesn't have flights from Ireland

Swipes at NPHET and the app etc too. It's hard to disagree with a lot he's saying though

He needs to start firing staff if he wants to get the required attention of the government. Terrible thing to say, I know, but such is the reality.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

walus wrote: »
    He needs to start firing staff if he wants to get the required attention of the government. Terrible thing to say, I know, but such is the reality.

When we loose alot of our connectivity and it's not replaced I'm sure they'll sit up and pay attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

What a picture at the top of that article.

Micheal Martin at the Oliver Bond flats bravely commanding his freshly assembled PR team.

Thats a picture for the mantlepiece in the future

Im sure Tom Barry is proud of how far we have come.

In a rather unique approach MM has proclaimed the next 10 days are critical

I've laughed very hard :D:D:D

Perhaps you can answer me this?

A friend of mines family have sought legal advice against the HSE. His aunt, fathers sister, died a few weeks ago. She was riddled with cancer, so it wasn’t unexpected. After she passed, she tested positive for Covid. His father is looking after the finances, so has been in touch regarding hospital charges. He was told that if they put cancer on the death cert, the bill would be €800. But if they put Covid on the death cert, the fees would be waived. This is the sort of people you are asking us to trust.

It’s fcuking disgusting. I’m hoping that whatever advice they get, they bring this as far as they can. I told him they should also get onto the newspapers, but his dad doesn’t want it turning into a circus as they are all obviously grieving at the same time. They paid the €800.

Absolutely speechless stuff. I knew that in US should a hospital mark death as "covid-19" they'll get $13,000, so you can see why US is leading in the death numbers cant you.

Also - a co incidence she is confirmed covid case after she dies?? How many more dead people have been put down as "confirmed covid case" after their passing? I've linked story from Washington where a shot individual was confirmed to have covid after he got shot (you know, just in case) and was put down as covid case....

Absolutely speechless stuff. I knew that in US should a hospital mark death as "covid-19" they'll get $13,000, so you can see why US is leading in the death numbers cant you.

Also - a co incidence she is confirmed covid case after she dies?? How many more dead people have been put down as "confirmed covid case" after their passing? I've linked story from Washington where a shot individual was confirmed to have covid after he got shot (you know, just in case) and was put down as covid case....

Every single person that dies gets a Covid test now.

And the test is very sensitive. So much so that it even gives false positives at times.

So yeah... potentially dead people are testing positive and included in the figures, even though they died from something else.

THE CABINET HAS decided to place Donegal under Level 3 of restrictions, amid a spike in cases in the county.

People in Donegal would be told to stay in the county and only leave it for essential purposes, only have visitors from one other household in your home or garden and to work from home unless absolutely necessary.

Indoor dining in pubs and restaurants would not be allowed, with only outdoor dining permitted to a maximum of 15 people.

https://www.thejournal.ie/donegal-cabinet-5213992-Sep2020/

More job losses, unemployment, poverty and all the deaths that follow it.

I hope Fintan doesnt live in Donegal, he ll be livid

Also, this describes proceedings very well

We’re trapped in a revolving door… lockdown followed by spike… lockdown again, spike again…and so on and on… That is not living with covid, that’s hiding indoors away from other humans everytime theres a spike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

THE CABINET HAS decided to place Donegal under Level 3 of restrictions, amid a spike in cases in the county.

People in Donegal would be told to stay in the county and only leave it for essential purposes, only have visitors from one other household in your home or garden and to work from home unless absolutely necessary.

Indoor dining in pubs and restaurants would not be allowed, with only outdoor dining permitted to a maximum of 15 people.

And why? What is the gain? To bring cases down?

I thought Dublin was being made an example of, but its clear now that they will go through entire country - randomly shutting down counties based on 0 science. This is horrifying.

It's not even Dublin's level 3.2.. Apparently pubs with food will be allowed with limited numbers per the 6.1.

Level 3.25....7685322783?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

I thought Dublin was being made an example of, but its clear now that they will go through entire country - randomly shutting down counties based on 0 science.
    They made it clear the other day that they do not take a blind bit of notice of the effects of their decisions. They want 0/0 and they will close the entire country down in order to get it - which, of course, they won't so this will never end - unless the Govt. grows a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Micheal on the 6.1 now.

More scare-mongering to try and justify the nonsense restrictions.

Implications that restrictions for other counties on the cards too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Micheal on the 6.1 now.

More scare-mongering to try and justify the nonsense restrictions.

Implications that restrictions for other counties on the cards too

He shouldn’t be naming counties that aren’t going to be raised to level 3 when taking about Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

When we loose alot of our connectivity and it's not replaced I'm sure they'll sit up and pay attention.

the morons will find a way to blame MOL one way or the other :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

We’re trapped in a revolving door… lockdown followed by spike… lockdown again, spike again…and so on and on… That is not living with covid, that’s hiding indoors away from other humans everytime theres a spike

Lockdowns don’t even prevent a spike. look at Kildare. An utterly failed strategy but we’re now living in an open lunatic asylum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

road_high wrote: »
    You couldn't make up the idiocy if you tried could you? The Taoisech of a country indulging in this utter bollox (as you rightly put it). Unbelievable.

No trade deal with the UK and this absolute cabblage goes to visit where people had some fun....fcuking hell

Like I said yesterday, a huge part of this governments policy making is based in following whatever the trends are, hence this useless PR stunt simply because that particular party was the one reported on by the media.

It is just unfortunate that earlier in the year the event junkies jumped on the hysteria and fear bandwagon, and now we seem to be stuck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

road_high wrote: »
    Lockdowns don’t even prevent a spike. look at Kildare. An utterly failed strategy but we’re now living in an open lunatic asylum

They locked down Kildare despite the problem being in a small number of meat processing plants in the arsehole of nowhere.

Incompetence on a grand scale.

Lads I just read a smart post on Swedish thread (not mine, I know, you all expected it to be mine ;) )

If there are 1,000 new covid cases per day in Ireland, it will take 13 and a half years for whole country to get infected. Let that sink in.

OH RO RO NEW CASES TODAY 300 well fk me. What the hell is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

pre social media and internet this farce doesn't happen.

Social media, mainstream media and uneducated hysteria creating a perpetual cycle of over reaction, over zealous policy implementation and then more over reaction follows.

Everyone needs to calm down. The media the government and the populace.

It a shambles.

This virus isn't the boogeyman its being made out to be.

A lot more counties need to move to level 3 now also along with Donegal to get ahead of this.

It’s laughable, absolutely laughable that there are people in here patting each other on the back for their anti-lock down comments when they are clearly the way to manage this virus. Imagine these mad men actually had a say in things, we can be thankful they don’t.

The biggest issue is the pace of acting is too slow. Dublin needs to go to level 4 now, not next week, other counties with high numbers need to go to level 3 now.

If we don’t get a handle on things before the October bank holiday we will definitely be facing level 5 in the weeks following that if we are not already at that stage.

A lot more counties need to move to level 3 now also along with Donegal to get ahead of this.

It’s laughable, absolutely laughable that there are people in here patting each other on the back for their anti-lock down comments when they are clearly the way to manage this virus. Imagine these mad men actually had a say in things, we can be thankful they don’t.

The biggest issue is the pace of acting is too slow. Dublin needs to go to level 4 now, not next week, other counties with high numbers need to go to level 3 now.

If we don’t get a handle on things before the October bank holiday we will definitely be facing level 5 in the weeks following that if we are already at that stage.

Inflammatory definitive statements calculated to gain responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

On a day when Belgium dismissed cases as reasons for imposing restrictions, focusing the metric of hospital admissions, Donegal entered level 3 restrictions with a handful in hospital. Wet pubs closed because who the fcuk in their right mind is going to sit outside in this weather for a few drinks.

We are going around in circles. Businesses and people continue to suffer for a virus that doesn’t affect 99.5% of the population.

Heard of 3 suicides today that happened in the last 7 days. 16 year old girl, 23 and 29 year old men. Two of them in Kildare and one in Laois.

We don’t hear about those numbers, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Lundstram wrote: »
    On a day when Belgium dismissed cases as reasons for imposing restrictions, focusing the metric of hospital admissions, Donegal entered level 3 restrictions with a handful in hospital. Wet pubs closed because who the fcuk in their right mind is going to sit outside in this weather for a few drinks.

We are going around in circles. Businesses and people continue to suffer for a virus that doesn’t affect 99.5% of the population.

Heard of 3 suicides today that happened in the last 7 days. 16 year old girl, 23 and 29 year old men. Two of them in Kildare and one in Laois.

This is the definition of insanity. Textbook. Repeating what you did before and expecting a different outcome.
    The outcome will be the same as we’ve seen over and over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Lads I just read a smart post on Swedish thread (not mine, I know, you all expected it to be mine ;) )

If there are 1,000 new covid cases per day in Ireland, it will take 13 and a half years for whole country to get infected. Let that sink in.

OH RO RO NEW CASES TODAY 300 well fk me. What the hell is this?

1*LDLn2HBqQT55A9jcvL0AdQ.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

This will be dismissed as hearsay because I’m anti restrictions but a city council worker in Cork was inspecting a vacant council property on Tuesday, and the poor man took his own life inside the house.
    He wasn’t found till yesterday evening when a neighbour noticed that a city council vehicle had been parked outside all night and reported it to gardaí.

One of the worst, most tragic stories I’ve heard in ages, not that any suicide is better or worse than another. There does seem to be a huge increase of people taking their own lives in my locality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

SusieBlue wrote: »
    This will be dismissed as hearsay because I’m anti restrictions but a city council worker in Cork was inspecting a vacant council property on Tuesday, and the poor man took his own life inside the house.
    He wasn’t found till yesterday evening when a neighbour noticed that a city council vehicle had been parked outside all night and reported it to gardaí.

One of the worst, most tragic stories I’ve heard in ages, not that any suicide is better or worse than another. There does seem to be a huge increase of people taking their own lives in my locality.

Male suicide has been a big issue long before Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The pub that I was supposed to be going to on Friday evening and possibly Saturday afternoon won't be worth going to now as I've no doubt that they'll be at their limit of 15 and will have a waiting list. The manager has put up a post to say that there's no point in bringing in any other staff as there's only 15 people to serve.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

The irony being that all the excess deaths from suicides, cancers etc will of course be attributed to covid and then used to justify whatever measures they pull from their ass next.

"Look, excess deaths are up, that is because of covid so we need to act now! The next 2 years are critical!!!"

We won’t, and to be frank, we shouldn’t. News about suicides are proven to trigger more suicides.

Young people. My God, that is very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭VG31

walus wrote: »
    We won’t, and to be frank, we shouldn’t. News about suicides are proven to trigger more suicides.

So brushing it under the carpet is better?

Michael O'Leary on newstalk and he's not happy with the inconsistency of the decisions. Says that of the 4 countries remaining on the Green list, one doesn't have an airport and the other doesn't have flights from Ireland

Swipes at NPHET and the app etc too. It's hard to disagree with a lot he's saying though

He nailed it.... Government like headless chickens making it as they go along. I agreed with everything he said!

Who in there right mind would go to a pub in the current situation with covid everywhere and cares increasing every day.

VG31 wrote: »
    So brushing it under the carpet is better?

That is not what I’m saying. This sort of information should not be the 6 pm news type of material. Authorities should be paying attention though.