Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,095 ✭✭✭prunudo

Many people also miss the option of going to a pub? It is sense of freedom. If I did go to a pub (a couple of times a month maybe) I usually did have a pint and I miss that possibility.

This is it in a nutshell, it was the spontaneity of going for a pint or 2. Up till recently it felt you could only go if you were hungry and had to make an outing of a trip to the pub.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/let-coronavirus-spread-through-under-60-population-dáil-committee-told-1.4361858?mode=amp

Finally some sense being discussed with Covid Special Committee.

Whether it will go any further than special committee or not - who knows, my optimism is running on empty.

No thanks, crazy suggestion not surprising it’s from some Swedish doctor. I do not want to get a potentially deathly virus nor would anyone I know Or anyone in my family. Suppression is the way to handle it, the vast majority of sensible people would be strongly against a strategy like that.

patnor1011 wrote: »
    Sweden's unemployment rate january 7,2% august 9,1%
    Ireland's unemployment rate january 4,9% august 15,4%

Lives >>>> employment rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/let-coronavirus-spread-through-under-60-population-dáil-committee-told-1.4361858?mode=amp

Finally some sense being discussed with Covid Special Committee.

Whether it will go any further than special committee or not - who knows, my optimism is running on empty.

Hell will freeze over before this gets any further. It would be like the government announcing that money for social housing will now instead be used to provide upskilling supports so that people can take personal responsibility for themselves and earn a right to buy their own house.

Political poison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Lives >>>> employment rate.

Employment rate equals lives. Of course you will only start to understand when you lose your fancy "working from home" job. Until then you will be ignorant of all the implications.

You must be joking now. Since this thread and main covid thread started up until fairly recently this merry band of covid doomers bashed anyone who said it is not that bad with a vengence.
    People whose opinion even slightly different from initial scare based on nonsensical models were called covidiots, deniers, antivaxxers and granny killers.
    Now that most of the people abandoned wildfire-spreading-deadly-disease-requiring-perpetual-lockdown narrative he and about two-three others only get back what they were dishing out daily.
    I say he is just getting a taste of his own medicine.

You are living in dream land. The vast vast majority of people are still heavily behind doing what ever is necessary to stop this virus spreading. Only a small number of selfish idiots have “abandoned” their fellow citizens and stopped caring about saving lives. These need to be severely tackled to put them back in their box and allow the rest of the country to do our best to keep this virus at bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Glynn appealing to people in their 20's and 30's - hilarious stuff.

I presume they're hanging off his every word.

It's taken them 6 months to realize they've been sold a total con-job and their social-lives and livelihoods have been sacrificed to "protect" the very old and very sick.

Sure. Take flu which is not that infectious and still kills more people every year.

Precisely. Covid is far more infectious and could have spiraled out of control hence the restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,021 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I think it is pretty unfair that people here gang up on posters who don't agree with the herd mentality here .... constantly.

It makes it adorable when they try to use the "mental health" card when they pile in and lynch anyone who disagrees. It shows where there concerns really are and its nothing to do with anyones health, mental or otherwise, but their own. Its been transparent since the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Don't feed the troll hopefully he'll go back under his bridge when he doesn't get the attention that he craves.

You are living in dream land. The vast vast majority of people are still heavily behind doing what ever is necessary to stop this virus spreading. Only a small number of selfish idiots have “abandoned” their fellow citizens and stopped caring about saving lives. These need to be severely tackled to put them back in their box and allow the rest of the county to do our best to keep this virus at bay.

What makes you think that you are responsible for saving me? Also how exactly do you plan on doing it? By ordering someone else like gardai, hse or perhaps army to check on me periodically if I am locked away so you can be happy you helped to save my life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

The number of people who are catching Covid-19 and have no idea where they picked it up is rising - increasing the chances of more lockdowns.

There were 334 new cases of the virus reported yesterday and 55 of these could not account for where they caught it, meaning Covid-19 is increasingly hidden and ­difficult to control.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/mystery-over-source-of-covid-19-infections-could-lead-to-further-lockdowns-39555193.html

This is the sort of rubbish Irish media reports. What an absolute farce. Get rid of NPHET. There is no emergency....... emergency was back in March. Now this lot of scientists with guaranteed pensions and six digit salaries are just scaremongering about restrictions because they themselves have no idea where covid spreads (as if they ever did.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Spare me the faux outrage love.

Over in the main thread you and your cohorts will be found stalking the pages to form a guerilla ambush on anyone who doesn't agree with the narrative that we are blessed with luck that 100k havent died in Ireland.

"Herd mentality here"

Hyprocracy is alive and well thats for sure

The mask thread is worse. It's like a "safe space" for anyone to attack those who question the effectiveness or value of them, never mind the impacts to social contact, mental health and that they continue to feed the fear in the general population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I don't know , did they ??

The person you are painting as a victim did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Employment rate equals lives. Of course you will only start to understand when you lose your fancy "working from home" job. Until then you will be ignorant of all the implications.
    Some people just can't wrap their minds around the fact that poverty kills people. They are wrapped in their own little bubble and can't work through the implications.
    Don't feed the troll hopefully he'll go back under his bridge when he doesn't get the attention that he craves.

I'm starting to realise this now, that post this morning just confirmed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Is the job of the Irish Independent to scare people? The sooner it goes out of business the better. It contributes nothing to the Irish Society anymore

What makes you think that you are responsible for saving me? Also how exactly do you plan on doing it? By ordering someone else like gardai, hse or perhaps army to check on me periodically if I am locked away so you can be happy you helped to save my life?

Trust me I have little interest in protecting you or any of the selfish idiots who ignore restrictions and break regulations because they are unable to just stay at home but the problem is the more it spreads among this cohort the more they will spread it to the (majority) of people who are doing their best to follow guide lines and making sacrifices to protect themselves and their family.

This group of brain dead fools are also the ones causing people to lose jobs, causing businesses to close and for directly causing the situation where the places they want to go are closed - at the same time giving out about nephet and the government rather than looking in the mirror. If everyone behaved as they were asked Dublin would not at level 3 (likely moving to level 4) it would a much more open city - this is all down to you and people who hold your opinion.

So yes people need to be forced to comply, be that curfews with fines for breaking, automatic fines for meeting in groups or for attending house parties etc. If people wont comply with trying to fight this virus then they must be forced to comply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Trust me I have little interest in protecting you or any of the selfish idiots who ignore restrictions and break regulations because they are unable to just stay at home but the problem is the more it spreads among this cohort the more they will spread it to the (majority) of people who are doing their best to follow guide lines and making sacrifices to protect themselves and their family.

This group of brain dead fools are also the ones causing people to lose jobs, causing businesses to close and for directly causing the situation where the places they want to go are closed - at the same time giving out about nephet and the government rather than looking in the mirror. If everyone behaved as they were asked Dublin would not at level 3 (likely moving to level 4) it would a much more open city - this is all down to you and people who hold your opinion.

So yes people need to be forced to comply, be that curfews with fines for breaking, automatic fines for meeting in groups or for attending house parties etc. If people wont comply with trying to fight this virus then they must be forced to comply.

Jaysus Noxxy, you are excessively angry this morning.

No offence, but if you were in charge majority of Irish people wouldve migrated by now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

NPHET have screwed themselves. They could easily have done a ten level plan. More fear, more restrictions. Amateurs. I reckon we could get Dublin to ten.

Wonder when cars will be banned?? More deaths by them than Covid in the last few months.

You are contradicting yourself here and quite a lot. You are constantly virtue-signalling about how all you do is about protecting vulnerable yet when vulnerable are forced to go about their daily routine job-shop-home even at the height of "lockdown" you call them selfish idiots.
    Not everyone can work from home and vulnerable people like me for example simply can't live in your fantasy land where everyone is locked away so you can feel better. Not to mention tens of thousands who lost their jobs already. They are even more vulnerable by default right now.

As other poster suggested this is exactly "I am allright Jack" attitude and majority of people have enough of it.

Some people just can't wrap their minds around the fact that poverty kills people. They are wrapped in their own little bubble and can't work through the implications.

Sure lots of people on boards claim that 45 - 50K is the average salary. Despite the fact that the majority earn less than that. Lots earn considerably less.

Teachers looking to go on strike while 20% of the country would snap your hand off just to have a job.

Most of the pro restrictions posters fall into the Safe job, safe salary, safe pension category.

Doesn't surprise me at all that poverty would be an alien concept to them.

At least our unemployment issue will be solved. 40000 new gards. Police State :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

jawohl mein führe......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭JRant

You are contradicting yourself here and quite a lot. You are constantly virtue-signalling about how all you do is about protecting vulnerable yet when vulnerable are forced to go about their daily routine job-shop-home even at the height of "lockdown" you call them selfish idiots.
    Not everyone can work from home and vulnerable people like me for example simply can't live in your fantasy land where everyone is locked away so you can feel better. Not to mention tens of thousands who lost their jobs already. They are even more vulnerable by default right now.

As other poster suggested this is exactly "I am allright Jack" attitude and majority of people have enough of it.

One of the unintended consequences of all these additional workplace requirements is that it's the very people they are designed to protect who will more than likely be the first the lose their jobs.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Wonder when cars will be banned?? More deaths by them than Covid in the last few months.

The "Greens" are working on that separately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

At least our unemployment issue will be solved. 40000 new gards. Police State :rolleyes:

:D ... facemasks would double nicely as party armbands.

Meh, cars...
    It is about time to ban papaya, goat and quail as they all tested covid positive in Tanzania. And shoot all of the cats as preventive measure some got it too and we needs to get proactive to get ahead of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I know off topic here, but I recorded PT last watch and just watched T Ryan and the Oxford professor in discussion. I actually felt embarrassed for Ryan. I never saw such a public putdown form colleagues in a similar profession. To use an old American phrase 'he got owned'.

What the...? Where exactly do you think you live? Clue: It's not the Soviet Union or Communist China.

Your first paragraph (as also highlighted) shows how out of touch you are, but here's some perspective for you - *I* work from home, and have done for the last 6 months but I am not so blind or arrogant to presume that me being in a role that allows me to do that translates to EVERYONE being able to do that.

Nor do I presume that because I'm generally happy enough at home because I have my own space and peace and quiet that everyone else is in a similar position and can do likewise.
    There are are people force to rent sitting rooms in crowded house shares, couples whose relationships are breaking down (or worse, domestic violence involved), socially isolated people whose mental health has been severely impacted by all this, and just normal everyday people who want to see their friends and loved ones.

At this point you are either so terrified of "the virus" that you really should talk to someone about it because it's not healthy to have that level of anger and outrage regardless of your view on it, or you're just too invested in your online position at this stage to back down. Either way it isn't good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

He's still winding ye in folks. His posting history should be enough to dissuade anyone from engaging with him. The most extreme and contarian opinion to generate a response. Not worthy of a reply. I unfortunately engaged before I realised who I was dealing with.