If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Is anyone else starting to become a bit excited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Stormington

tcawley29 wrote: »
    If you don't withdraw it they never know.
    What, and leave all your money tied up in crypto? Ha.
    Couldn't crypto debit cards hide this anyways?
    No. God, no. They'd rather keep their banking licences and Visa/MC partnerships.
    Yeah I did 1eth. Happy to let it ride a bit now and see where it goes.
    You reckon the people that swapped it all for ps5 cash are going to regret it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Mucashinto

when bitcoin go moon? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭makeorbrake

Mucashinto wrote: »

Zoom out for a better perspective. It's up 52% since Jan 1 and 120% since March 12. That's some way for bitcoin to handle its first economic crisis!

I'd be happy enough if it coasted along around current levels for the rest of the year.

Zoom out for a better perspective. It's up
    I'd be happy enough if it coasted along around current levels for the rest of the year.

I bought in May so I'm up - although not as up on my "portfolio" :rolleyes: as I was - and the idea of just easily enjoying a passive income from it is a bit unrealistic I suppose but I was forseeing a significant rise before xmas tbh. Like to 15k...

The stock market is also up - how in the actual fook?? - so it's hard for me to tell where crypto is really at. And I bought in cause I thought inflation was inevitible but looking at the consumer devices getting released at the moment they're going down if anything so I seem to have been wrong there.

I'm going to be forced to sell for "liquidity" reasons just before it rockets amn't I? :(

There are two full moons in October.

I bought in May so I'm up - although not as up on my "portfolio" :rolleyes: as I was - and the idea of just easily enjoying a passive income from it is a bit unrealistic I suppose but I was forseeing a significant rise before xmas tbh. Like to 15k...
    Trying to forecast bitcoin on shorter timeframes is incredibly difficult. It's definitely too much for me or else I could have been up a shed tonne had I taken money off the table (yet also been able to buy in correctly afterwards..which is the other difficulty with selling up) multiple times this year.
    The stock market is also up - how in the actual fook?? - so it's hard for me to tell where crypto is really at. And I bought in cause I thought inflation was inevitible but looking at the consumer devices getting released at the moment they're going down if anything so I seem to have been wrong there.
    I spent a lot of hours this year trying to understand the macro economic aspects of all of this. Not sure i'm any further on! However, both inflation and deflation can work out well for bitcoin. That said, the real effects of either of these can play out in the longer timeframe rather than short term.

I'd recommend you listen to Pompliano's interview with Michael Saylor of MicroStrategy (who this week confirmed another big investment in bitcoin). He talks a lot about the rationale for that decision.
    I'm going to be forced to sell for "liquidity" reasons just before it rockets amn't I?
    Well, that's down to your own personal circumstances. I mean, if you need the cash for other purposes, you need the cash right?

@makeorbrake

Thanks for your reply. That podcast was reassuring :) When I bought crytpo first I was feeling that way. Was looking at my savings in the bank getting depressed tbh. Thinking this is just basically worthless fodder for the banking system and getting worse everyday. And it does look like inflation is everywhere, just not in things like TVs or cars which we shouldn't be paying attention to anymore.

I'm 1/3 gold, 1/3 crypto, 1/3 cash now basically but treating the cash very lightly and burning through it as I was/am sure what it will buy today is more than it will buy tomorrow. Was thinking I'd just borrow if needs be while the investments went up. If they come looking for it "sorry, you'll have to wait, covid":). Now panicking a bit as I thought I'd see a better uptick by now tbh but feck it I'm going to ride it out. Happy to die on this hill.

The gold is a genuine hedge for me but I hope it's not an either/or with crypto. Just much happier seeing that relatively steady rather than crypto and would change the gold back to cash over crypto.

Equally I haven't done enough proper research on crypto so that if it does work out for me it's based really on a hunch (I had bought in June 17 and sold at end of summer cos I couldn't handle volatility. Bit early there :rolleyes:).

Honestly I was thinking there could be 2 outcomes - the western world returns to the kind of democratic socialism of before so maybe things like crypto drop like a stone but buying a measly house doesn't cripple you so I'm neutral at the end of the day or faith in systems collapses and money rushes to something like bitcoin which offers a counter balance.

A couple of things that I'll wait for;

1st October could be important apparently - this is when the furlough runs out in US so companies can start laying off employees. It's amazing to me the dow/s&p are still up when the outlook is so bleak. It just seems insane unless I'm really stuck in some 1980s mindset that no longer applies.

3rd Nov and US election. I don't think Trump's a Machiavellian genius (or a Russian puppet :rolleyes:) but I wonder if he's keeping the stock indices up. He's sorted them out enough, and he obviously cares about the headline figure, so maybe there's enough support to funnel some the trillions he's printing them to keep it looking healthy. A change in leadership, and the inevitible dispointment that will be felt if the underwhelming opposition get in, could see that change quickly imo.

Funny when you hear people investing sums infinitely vaster than yours completely chill. Everything's relative :) but maybe there's a mindset to it alright.

tl;dr I HODL

That podcast was reassuring :)
    One of the best I've listened to in 2020 (and I've become a crypto podcast junkie in 2020).
    1st October could be important apparently - this is when the furlough runs out in US so companies can start laying off employees. It's amazing to me the dow/s&p are still up when the outlook is so bleak. It just seems insane unless I'm really stuck in some 1980s mindset that no longer applies.
    Been waiting for this shoe to drop all bloody year. Crypto is complicated enough but this really has made for a far more complicated year than I was thinking in terms of back in January. Nobody can time this it seems...but surely a reset has to come....
    Bitcoin surely will take a bath with it - and that's the complicating factor as otherwise all signs are bullish for me.
    3rd Nov and US election. I don't think Trump's a Machiavellian genius (or a Russian puppet :rolleyes:) but I wonder if he's keeping the stock indices up. He's sorted them out enough, and he obviously cares about the headline figure, so maybe there's enough support to funnel some the trillions he's printing them to keep it looking healthy. A change in leadership, and the inevitible dispointment that will be felt if the underwhelming opposition get in, could see that change quickly imo.
    For a guy who clearly has zero empathy, if he was to muster some, it would be for the markets as that's all he cares about! I don't fully understand this but I'm listening to some commentators suggest that there will be a downturn either just before or after the election. As always, large servings of salt with all predictions!
    Funny when you hear people investing sums infinitely vaster than yours completely chill. Everything's relative :) but maybe there's a mindset to it alright.
    I guess it's all relative to how it works out proportionately. I'm sure that guy is worth a few quid so what he's playing with probably won't result in any lifestyle change for him if it goes wrong whereas for the rest of us, that's more likely. That said, he sounds savvy (and his record reflects that) - and it's still fairly ballsy for him to be the first CEO to take a publicly quoted company from mainly cash reserves to mainly BTC reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Raoul wrote: »
    Yeah I did 1eth. Happy to let it ride a bit now and see where it goes.

Trading at $5.14 now. It was $3.03 yesterday when I got my claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭KilOit

Whelo79 wrote: »

Over 2k dollars if you sell now, I'd skip the ps5 memes and get a beast of PC instead :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭rapul

Just let it ride!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Smurphy2223

rapul wrote: »
    Just let it ride!

Pure genius stuff here from Uniswap, have kicked life back into the whole market with this.

I think there will be more airdrops, so i'm creating another metamask wallet just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭rapul

Pure genius stuff here from Uniswap, have kicked life back into the whole market with this.

I think there will be more airdrops, so i'm creating another metamask wallet just in case.

Bigtime, very sudden but great idea, oh hah good call actually!

In other news, SXP turned out to be a big pile of ****. I had a lot of trouble with them, they locked my 300 for the card, then after a month no sign of the card and the order completely dissapeared from my app. Luckily I had taken screenshots and had an email, after 2-3 weeks of trying eventually got my SXP back. Instant market sell..

Instant market sell.
    Ouch. The price is being suppressed but I'm not sure how long it will remain low for.

There's always crypto.com. 8u8jyta8fa is a code for $50 on sign up when you grab a red card.
    You might be surprised at what the market does. There is a possibility that the market goes up as companies are able to reduce expenses (wages) and improve their bottom lines even as spending is reduced as belts are tightened by people losing jobs.

NEO on a slight run, is this in response to mentioning entering Defi market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 doyled4

Hi guys anyone know if connecting a wallet to uniswap before the 1st September is considered enough? I definitely connected my wallet to them but my phone is smashed and going cost 250 to fix. Not sure it's worth fixing unless there's an air drop in it. Thanks in advance

doyled4 wrote: »
    Hi guys anyone know if connecting a wallet to uniswap before the 1st September is considered enough? I definitely connected my wallet to them but my phone is smashed and going cost 250 to fix. Not sure it's worth fixing unless there's an air drop in it. Thanks in advance

Unless you bought something, then no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Raoul

Still going strong. Trying to not think about the fact I cashed out too early on some of it and thinking it was the right decision as I have been burned before. But f*cking hell, a free 2k is great. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

7 sweet dollas now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Fcuk sake and me telling ye all last month be careful of Uniswap! Well that went well didn't it....:(:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

Just noticed this UNI drop. Checked and I got the 400. More than makes up for the two ****coins I used Uniswap for last month. I'd no Eth in wallet for gas, so just transferring some now. Hope I don't mess it up somehow.

KilOit wrote: »
    swapped 200 uni for 2 eth, least some money off the table anyway, no reason why it shouldn't go up though

Well that could have been 4 eth if selling now:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

Dante7 wrote: »
    Just noticed this UNI drop. Checked and I got the 400. More than makes up for the two ****coins I used Uniswap for last month. I'd no Eth in wallet for gas, so just transferring some now. Hope I don't mess it up somehow.

Got them OK. Transferring them to Binance and will pay off some of my USDT loan before I get Margin called on LINK. Very nice surprise. Worth €2,757 at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Tango One

I'm kicking myself for not buying some ****e coins I was looking at on uniswap a few weeks back. Nice few quid for those who got it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Tango One wrote: »
    I'm kicking myself for not buying some ****e coins I was looking at on uniswap a few weeks back. Nice few quid for those who got it

There's more than ****ecoins on Uniswap. Some legit products on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭el diablo

Orange pilled.

Free airdrop here XYFI. Fork of YFI apparently....could be scam but no risk to collect free 0.12 just have to give wallet address no need to connect wallet.

https://xyearn.finance/sales-dashboard?ref=7981600511702

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

Just took a nice bit of lovely Bitcoin from some weak hands. Love doing it.

'a nice bit a ham bitcoin'

:D How very modern, Addison Fancy Macrame