Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College and Gaming

• Registered Users Posts: 12,394 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

FTA69 wrote: »
    Oh 100%. Stuff like grown adults talking about politics in f*cking Harry Potter terms (“is Jeremy Corbyn Dumbledore?” and all that sh*te), unicorns and all that craic. Bizarre weird noncey vibe off the whole lot of it.

I lived in a warehouse in London and there was a few of these characters knocking about; revelling in bizarre childishness. It’s head-shaking stuff it really is.

That is unfair just becaue you do not like or understand it.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,321 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yeah you get people like that in the sport no doubt, I’ve trained with many of them. Equally boxing has a reputation for generally steering at-risk young men away from that carry on.

Regardless of some of the people doing it, the act of boxing is a social activity which builds physical and mental well-being and character. Sitting on your arse playing computer games doesn’t, to be frank.

And again, for the millionth time, I’m not saying anyone who spends any time at all playing a console is some sort of Phantom of the Opera lunatic but again, if it is your primary activity then that’s odd and strange. People can jump up and down all they want about how computer games or cartoons are super complex serious hobbies and pursuits and the like but at the end of the day I’ll never take a fella seriously if he’s spending the bulk of his time at it.

To be honest with you all the young lads I know who are involved in crime and drugs are involved in the boxing clubs or MMA. There’s the odd rough diamind
    The majority of them don’t work.
    Whilst all the guys into geeky activities such as gaming do and have good enough jobs.
    Some of them have loads of friends and others may not but not everybody is a social animal.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

mariaalice wrote: »
    That is unfair just becaue you do not like or understand it.

Understand what? Adults being preoccupied with children’s TV and story books and developing weird subcultures around them?

Absolutely I don’t. It’s the equivalent of coming home from work and finding your 30 year old husband playing with an action man.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Y

Regardless of some of the people doing it, the act of boxing is a social activity which builds physical and mental well-being and character.

Nah it's for wannabe mcgregor types or a few that want to be the local hardman. Nothing social about bloodsport.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,607 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Understand what? Adults being preoccupied with children’s TV and story books and developing weird subcultures around them?

Absolutely I don’t. It’s the equivalent of coming home from work and finding your 30 year old husband playing with an action man.

I think it's a bit unfair to use the term "noncey". Ultimately, they're doing nobody any harm so using language like that is a bit harsh. If you don't get it, that's fine. I don't get why grown men watch young fellas chase a ball around a field but I wouldn't take shots at them over it.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 8,979 ✭✭✭pgj2015

it is hard to know what will happen teenagers who are into computer games. when I was in college I drank a good bit, binge drinking on nights out, we were out a lot but now im in my 30's I hardly ever drink, I haven't been hungover in a few years, some of my college mates are still big drinkers but most are not, some quit the booze altogether.

I was mid twenties when in college so wasnt interested in computer games but the lads i was friends with were mostly 18-21 and they were into call of duty, fifa etc, none of them play computer games now. id say most people wont become problem gamers where they are addicted. I like the odd tv series but I havent watched one this year because I know how much of a time waster they are so I keep away from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,394 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I do think it is odd and a bit childish when I disagree with you is that it indicates certain tendencies in an individual.

You are also coming across as being a man = doing manly things ie. sports and that there is something suspicious about a man who is not into sport or other manly activities.

"Traits traditionally viewed as masculine in Western society include strength, courage, independence, leadership, and assertiveness. Machismo is a form of masculinity that emphasizes power and is often associated with a disregard for consequences and responsibility."

The routs of fascism?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Why not? Unless you'd have to fork out a few hundred for the hardware of course. VIII was a broken mess. Fun but still a broken mess.

Because I've a baby, one on the way, a busy job, doing a masters at the moment, and two dogs that need walking :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

They do off me anyway. I hate reality TV and think it’s brain rotting nonsense. I might watch the odd episode of Masterchef the Professionals at a push but that’s it and if people start discussing Love Island or any of that sh*t I’ll usually switch off.

As I said, there seems to be a growing infantilisation of people, computer games and weird noncey Japanese cartoons and celebrity culture and all that craic. I’m driven mad from the lot of it.

I think these days there are slightly more pressing concerns.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,607 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Because I've a baby, one on the way, a busy job, doing a masters at the moment, and two dogs that need walking :)

Ah. Fair enough. You might be able to free up some time if you upgrade to cats though.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

mariaalice wrote: »
    I do think it is odd and a bit childish when I disagree with you is that it indicates certain tendencies in an individual.

You are also coming across as being a man = doing manly things ie. sports and that there is something suspicious about a man who is not into sport or other manly activities.

"Traits traditionally viewed as masculine in Western society include strength, courage, independence, leadership, and assertiveness. Machismo is a form of masculinity that emphasizes power and is often associated with a disregard for consequences and responsibility."

The routs of fascism?

Considering I’m a communist I’d hardly say I’m on the road to fascism now to be fair. I don’t believe in dick-swinging machismo, I never have really even as a youngfella. I think physical activity is good for wellbeing and I know full well that sports aren’t for everyone and I don’t look down on those who don’t play sports or have no interest in them. People can be into film, books, cooking, travelling, learning languages, gardening, anything really.

What I don’t get is people being preoccupied with childish stuff. It honestly just turn me off people, the same way people being obsessed with celebrity culture and the like does. It’s not about “being a man” or any of that craic.

I nearly pulled the head off the fella in my gaff. I remember I’d no lighter and knocked on his door to borrow one and he ripped it open like “what? I’m busy!!!” Around his room then were stacks of unwashed glasses and plates I could have slapped him clean across the face. On Sunday I was out the back with his kid digging potting beds and plucking tomatoes while he was dribbling into a headset. It’s definitely an addiction for a lot of people dressed up as a hobby; I’d be genuinely worried about the chap as he’s only 23 and will be made redundant soon due to the Covid carry on.

I think on future we’ll be seeing a lot of people retreat into these sort of hyper stimulating games.

Define Irony: Being overly concerned that your kid is addicted to Xbox, while you're knocking on his door to feed your own addiction which you've passed on to him.

Take a guess as to which out of smoking and video games is more harmful.

I think these days there are slightly more pressing concerns.

It’s the boxing aggression I’d say!

Define Irony: Being overly concerned that your kid is addicted to Xbox, while you're knocking on his door to feed your own addiction which you've passed on to him.

Take a guess as to which out of smoking and video games is more harmful.

He’s not my kid he’s a grown up man child I share a gaff with. He’s my missus’ cousin.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭ranto_boy

Two lads I know have taken today off, because of the new (well old) Mario game. Yeah the one they played when younger. Supposed men in their thirties.

This a nonsense equivalence. Gaming has never been exclusively made for children.

Jesus Christ I swear people are unable to read these days before wading in. That post you quoted was made in reference to people who like Harry Potter and Pokemon etc, not computer games.

I'm here! I'm one of those terrible 'gamers' you're referencing. I spend, oh, I never actually added it up, but I reckon I spend 30+ hours a week gaming. As I'm getting older, I seem to be spending more and more time at it. I'm 37 btw. Yes, I live at home with my parents (if you care to go through my post history, you'll see plenty of reasons why) but basically it works for me and them and there's no complaints from either side.

I do my bit around the house, especially the jobs someone 70+ with health conditions can't do. I'm not big into the physical jobs, but my 3 brothers do that while I ensure there's working internet, tv, dodgy box and their phones are working as expected. I'm the tech guy. I do the shopping for them to save them having to go out in this pandemic (both have lung/breathing related issues). I do my bit and spend the rest of my time gaming.

In that time, I play mostly single player games, I love a good story and the more immersive the better. And within those games, there's more than a fair share of reading, so you can technically say I do a lot of reading each week. To rob a quick quote from Google:

So unlike watching tv (unless it's quiz based shows), i'm actively engaged more than most people while I'm gaming. On top of all this, I have a full time job (nights, i'm ginger so suits me better), I pay bills, I give my bit and help out when I can. I don't put in or out with anyone, and would prefer if people left me alone, because up to 4 years ago I did the whole life/drink/mortgage thing and it nearly killed me. I'm anti-social because, really, people are dicks, and nosey dicks at that (I detest gossip). I have a small circle of friends I use to go into once a week or thereabouts and we'd watch anime, play games or just have a laugh.

So yeah, I do all that, but unlike the lad mentioned in the OP, my parents made sure I did my bit around the house and got outside as much as necessary (again, not as much as others because ginger+sun=burn and pain and suffering for my parents). I've been playing since the Atari 2600 days, and actually had a pong console before that. going by a lot of outdated and ill-informed comments on here, I'm a pure waste, according to those who spends upwards of thousands to follow millionaires around the place kicking a ball around, screaming bloody murder because millionaire A didn't do it exactly the way your pudgy arse would. And then said millionaires having life altering injuries until the other millionaire gets a card. Really must get one of those sponges/sprays, because within a few minutes they're perfectly fine again. Do the medical industry know about this magic?

So you keep on believing what you want to believe, I'll be here, playing my games and thoroughly enjoying my life. Also, bad parenting is not the kids fault. I feel sorry for him that he's not prepared for life because ye let him play games all the time instead of, you know, parenting.

Sounds like you're trying to convince yourself of a few things more than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

ranto_boy wrote: »
    Two lads I know have taken today off, because of the new (well old) Mario game. Yeah the one they played when younger. Supposed men in their thirties.

And I suppose it would be more acceptable to you if they took the day off to go shopping for new shirts and slacks, then home to guffaw at the paper while listening to liveline? Mind your own business what people do in their own time, I'm pretty sure your hobbies would have some people rolling their eyes as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭ranto_boy

And I suppose it would be more acceptable to you if they took the day off to go shopping for new shirts and slacks, then home to guffaw at the paper while listening to liveline? Mind your own business what people do in their own time, I'm pretty sure your hobbies would have some people rolling their eyes as well.

So how are the games then? As good as as they were in 1996? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

ranto_boy wrote: »
    So how are the games then? As good as as they were in 1996? :)

No idea, I was a Sega kid :D

This is actually a very interesting thread to be honest and it shows the pressure some people/parents put on men/sons to be proper man and to act in a certain way.

*Clearly they are some people can take a hobby to an extreme who may need help.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,724 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Fair play to your dad.

I see men even in their thirties that still play these games, sometimes for hours at a time.

It's like seeing a grown man out drawing on the footpath in chalk or playing hopscotch. Very weird to be honest.

In my forties and I plan on playing Assassin's Creed for several hours this weekend. Nothing weird about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ekerot

Like everything, the key is moderation.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Considering I’m a communist I’d hardly say I’m on the road to fascism now to be fair. I don’t believe in dick-swinging machismo, I never have really even as a youngfella. I think physical activity is good for wellbeing and I know full well that sports aren’t for everyone and I don’t look down on those who don’t play sports or have no interest in them. People can be into film, books, cooking, travelling, learning languages, gardening, anything really.

What I don’t get is people being preoccupied with childish stuff. It honestly just turn me off people, the same way people being obsessed with celebrity culture and the like does. It’s not about “being a man” or any of that craic.

A communist with little empathy. Is there anything more dangerous? Why don’t you spend some time reading up on how many people have been killed by this ideology.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Fair play to your dad.

I see men even in their thirties that still play these games, sometimes for hours at a time.

It's like seeing a grown man out drawing on the footpath in chalk or playing hopscotch. Very weird to be honest.
    Hopscotch is specifically a children's game to develop balance, proprioception and turn-taking skills. It has its place in childhood but it wouldn't be of benefit to or enjoyable for an adult. Drawing on the footpaths could be compared to the groups who go around decorating cities with murals and planting pots to add character. There's nothing wrong with occupying some of your time doing the latter as you get a feeling of fulfilment and the city looks better for it.

I play video games as a way of rewarding myself for tasks and achievements, or if I'm stressed in the run up to an event, interview or presentation to make the time go by more quickly. I hate winter and usually get to go out playing music in pubs but I suspect that this year I'll spend a lot more of my time playing games with friends online.

Tbh I think it's sad if people don't have the fine motor coordination, concentration or imagination required to enjoy games. Why don't you watch a few episodes of computer chronicles with Stewart Cheifet and he'll give you a crash course :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭KilOit

I miss my 12 hour game binges, this thread brings back some happy memories, God bless the current neck beards I envy them

Potatoeman wrote: »
    A communist with little empathy. Is there anything more dangerous? Why don’t you spend some time reading up on how many people have been killed by this ideology.

Don’t have time mate me and Steelex1455 from Sweden are on a quest to become the top Fire Mages in Warcraft.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

In my thirties and would still give Baldur's Gate (an RPG, pure nerd central) an odd run. I pretty much stopped when I went to college. It wasn't conscious. Work, study, women, gym and beer took up to much time.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ekerot wrote: »
    Like everything, the key is moderation.

I mean, we can keep talking about “moderation” but these people don’t appear to take anything in moderation. Well, maybe they take their hygiene in moderation.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis