Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College and Gaming

I smoke weed all day. I break up the weed smoking with video games and masturbation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I smoke weed all day. I break up the weed smoking with video games and masturbation.

Again, sounds exactly like my nephew.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,852 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Again, sounds exactly like my nephew.

Ah yes, the nephew that doesn't exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

He sounds like a typical teenager, likes playing games, does not like housework.
    Going outside is not much fun at the moment wearing a mask and keeping 4 ft from everyone else.
    Most people under 30 play games on pc or a console. It's not just moody teens playing games.
    Games are very advanced now. The graphics are like a TV movie.
    Some people play sports games like fifa or strategy games like civilisation.
    It's not strange to want to bring a console when you are going to 3rd level college.
    It does not mean he won't do any work in school.
    Because of covid more people are stating home watching TV or browsing the Web

• Registered Users Posts: 30,368 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Rothko wrote: »
    Ah yes, the nephew that doesn't exist.

He's probably a fan of RTÉ One presenters!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭auspicious

Games these days are an artform that exploit dopamine i.e. they are immersive and totally addictive.
    If his course engages him he'll be alright. Either those or the pull of partying and women will fill his time. Let him be, or perhaps contract him to repay all if his extracurricular activities cause him to fail 1st year. Harsh maybe...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,379 ✭✭✭Homelander

I think part of the problem is that people who have zero interest in video games are stuck in a time warp, when they hear of people playing games "for hours" they still think of some greasy lad sitting in a dark room playing 90's era Sonic the Hedgehog or Super Mario Bros.

We all know people who act perplexed when the topic of "adults" playing games crops up, as if they're lying on the floor playing with GI Joes.

Games these days are so incredibly complex, realistic and adult orientated (or not, depending on your taste - just like anything else, there's something for every taste) and crucially, incredibly social in terms of multiplayer.

Just the other day I used Discord to team up with a bunch of French and Arabic lads to play Overwatch and talk crap while enjoying a few games with beers.

I also regularly play stuff like Red Alert or the latest Call of Duty while talking with friends on Discord.

In fact personally I never really play single player games, I prefer the social-orientated multiplayer games. These sorts of games are huge - Call of Duty, Battlefield, Overwatch, World of Warcraft, whatever. They bring people together.

People need to let go of this idea that games are anti-social pursuits for kids that involve locking yourself away from the world, staring at a screen while your brain rots.

I get it, maybe you don't understand them, but at least make an effort to educate yourself.

Boffins have come up with a terrifying model to show what an avid gamer might look like in 20 years time.

F494-B28-E-3-C2-F-4039-BB43-D6-E64-AD0848-A.png

Looks uncannily like the middle aged me who were still propping up bars last year and when I first started to go to the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

My experience with people playing that sh*te for hours is that they’re far from social and do unfortunately often correspond to the idea of withdrawn loners cooped up in their rooms. It honestly comes across to me as people dressing up borderline personality issues as being ‘introverted’ or whatever. World of Warcraft is social? Is it b*llocks. That’s like saying posting on boards is the equivalent of hanging out with your mates or engaging with actual human beings. It isn’t. In moderation it can be ok like, but to define it as a hobby or socialising is ludicrous.

I dunno, seems to me part of a wider infantilisation of people I see going on. I’m far from an ‘old fogie’ or whatever (I’m 33) and people can do whatever they want but banging away on computer games for hours upon hours a week isn’t healthy by any means.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,015 ✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users Posts: 4,379 ✭✭✭Homelander

FTA69 wrote: »
    World of Warcraft is social? Is it b*llocks. That’s like saying posting on boards is the equivalent of hanging out with your mates or engaging with actual human beings. It isn’t. In moderation it can be ok like, but to define it as a hobby or socialising is ludicrous.

What a weird conclusion. No-one is arguing that games should replace actual normal human interaction, you've reached that warped conclusion on your own.

You might be 33, but you honestly come across like a 83 "old man yells at clouds" year old

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

John66 wrote: »
    And I'm thinking no way as what the f** with the amount of time you currently spend on it how can you study and work part time.

He can if he has no social life. Which is a common issue these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 John66

I suppose everything in moderation and there isn't really huge deference between playing computer games, watching telly or YouTube or even posting here. I'm just concern for a lad who I hardly see because he's playing games and only comes out for food and wonder how he will cope on his own.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭weemcd

I briefly lived with a lad who got on like this and tbh he hadn't a fùcking clue about life. He had 3 or 4 consoles in his room including 2 Nintendo Switches, yes 2. His walls were covered in anime posters and pokemon toys. At 27 I doubt he had the wit of even a 16 year old.

He used to make an incredibly basic dinner ie heating up frozen meals from Iceland or get a takeaway and eat it in bed. Don't think he ever changed his bedsheets. Once he locked himself out of the gaff and stood in the freezing rain for 3 hours instead of walking to one of the many many bars/cafés that would have been a minutes walk away and putting his feet up somewhere warm.

He had zero interests that weren't youtube, games or anime. He'd spend full weekends in his room where he wouldn't even leave the house. I tried to teach him some sense but I don't think you can, and he certainly didn't want to know. Eventually ended up moving back home complaining about anxiety and having panic attacks, which I know are very real and serious issues. But I don't know how he ever expected to improve his quality of life being locked in a room staring at a screen.

Basically OP, snap your kid out of it ASAP before they grow up to be like this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,942 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

My experience with people playing that sh*te for hours is that they’re far from social and do unfortunately often correspond to the idea of withdrawn loners cooped up in their rooms. It honestly comes across to me as people dressing up borderline personality issues as being ‘introverted’ or whatever. World of Warcraft is social? Is it b*llocks. That’s like saying posting on boards is the equivalent of hanging out with your mates or engaging with actual human beings. It isn’t. In moderation it can be ok like, but to define it as a hobby or socialising is ludicrous.

I dunno, seems to me part of a wider infantilisation of people I see going on. I’m far from an ‘old fogie’ or whatever (I’m 33) and people can do whatever they want but banging away on computer games for hours upon hours a week isn’t healthy by any means.

This sort of stereotype reminds me of the lads who used to call me boring because I wasn't obsessed with Manchester United, necking shots or driving a 101 with flashing neon lights in circles around my hometown.

In every hobby, there's always people who go too far. I'll take my games over spending time with the sort of drunken and odious pond life that takes over the streets by my house on matchdays thank you very much.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

This sort of stereotype reminds me of the lads who used to call me boring because I wasn't obsessed with Manchester United, necking shots or driving a 101 with flashing neon lights in circles around my hometown.

In every hobby, there's always people who go too far. I'll take my games over spending time with the sort of drunken and odious pond life that takes over the streets by my house on matchdays thank you very much.

To be fair I never said playing computer games automatically makes you an oddball, it doesn’t. But if the bulk of your free time is spent gawping at a screen shooting avatars or on World of Warcraft pretending to be a dwarf wizard then there’s something awry. I mean people can do whatever makes them happy like but you’ve a lad above there spends the equivalent of a full week at work at that craic declaring “people are sh*t” etc, I just find that bemusing and saddening to be honest but to each their own.

Have at it, it’s certainly not for me and very few of my peers in my age group would play computer games regularly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,942 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

To be fair I never said playing computer games automatically makes you an oddball, it doesn’t. But if the bulk of your free time is spent gawping at a screen shooting avatars or on World of Warcraft pretending to be a dwarf wizard then there’s something awry. I mean people can do whatever makes them happy like but you’ve a lad above there spends the equivalent of a full week at work at that craic declaring “people are sh*t” etc, I just find that bemusing and saddening to be honest but to each their own.

Have at it, it’s certainly not for me and very few of my peers in my age group would play computer games regularly.

I know a few people who play games regularly and only one would fit your stereotype and, frankly when it isn't games it's drinking and watching football matches so I think it's down to the individual rather than the pastime. I had a housemate quit her job and just sit on the sofa playing freemium apps but she had no interests besides blockbuster movies and gossiping about the housemates.

40 hours a week is excessive IMO but I would say the same about going to the pub every night or watching reality TV daily but those activities never draw the sort of censure that gaming recieves.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

40 hours a week is excessive IMO but I would say the same about going to the pub every night or watching reality TV daily but those activities never draw the sort of censure that gaming recieves.

Ah here Dark Horse, going to the pub every night is something viewed in modern Irish society as negative behaviour.

And personally I'd be of the opinion that gaming can be a healthier pastime than watching reality tv. I'm not a gamer, and know if I started playing I'd become addicted, but at least some games engage the brain. Trash bubblegum tv like Love Island, Kardashians, Real Housewives etc can NOT be good for people either.

I think we're back to the old adage, "all things in moderation".

I know a few people who play games regularly and only one would fit your stereotype and, frankly when it isn't games it's drinking and watching football matches so I think it's down to the individual rather than the pastime. I had a housemate quit her job and just sit on the sofa playing freemium apps but she had no interests besides blockbuster movies and gossiping about the housemates.

They do off me anyway. I hate reality TV and think it’s brain rotting nonsense. I might watch the odd episode of Masterchef the Professionals at a push but that’s it and if people start discussing Love Island or any of that sh*t I’ll usually switch off.

As I said, there seems to be a growing infantilisation of people, computer games and weird noncey Japanese cartoons and celebrity culture and all that craic. I’m driven mad from the lot of it.

John66 wrote: »
    I suppose everything in moderation and there isn't really huge deference between playing computer games, watching telly or YouTube or even posting here. I'm just concern for a lad who I hardly see because he's playing games and only comes out for food and wonder how he will cope on his own.

He's a teenager and he doesn't want to hang around with Mammy or Daddy all the time.
    Most people when they go off to college mange on their own. It probably won't be to some people's standards but they generally tip along.

They do off me anyway. I hate reality TV and think it’s brain rotting nonsense. I might watch the odd episode of Masterchef the Professionals at a push but that’s it and if people start discussing Love Island or any of that sh*t I’ll usually switch off.

As I said, there seems to be a growing infantilisation of people, computer games and weird noncey Japanese cartoons and celebrity culture and all that craic. I’m driven mad from the lot of it.

We can all serotype to be honest.
    Everybody I know know that's is involved in boxing is a trouble maker for example. Often getting in trouble with the Gardaí. They are rude and aggressive and you'd cross the road nearly to avoid them.
    However they all claim to have loads of discipline and respect.

I don't know. Japan has always been a bit loopy as a country. Mad work ethics so they seem to really go insane with their downtime.

I think the other thing is that the people who grew up watching Pokémon now have money so the market has responded in a way that it wouldn't have to the generation who grew up with Knight Rider and The Six Million Dollar Man.

I'd also add that for many people, real life can be fierce depressing. Climate change, covid, soaring rents and house prices along with stagnant living standards, etc. Not saying that WoW solves that or anything but I can get the desire for escapism. Topic for a different thread anyway.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

I'd also add that for many people, real life can be fierce depressing. Climate change, covid, soaring rents and house prices along with stagnant living standards, etc. Not saying that WoW solves that or anything but I can get the desire for escapism. Topic for a different thread anyway.

My last real outing was Final Fantasy VIII, then I went back and replayed Final Fantasy VII.

That provided an out. I can see the appeal. I've been tempted to try out the updated remake version of it, won't lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,412 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I'm here! I'm one of those terrible 'gamers' you're referencing. I spend, oh, I never actually added it up, but I reckon I spend 30+ hours a week gaming. As I'm getting older, I seem to be spending more and more time at it. I'm 37 btw. Yes, I live at home with my parents (if you care to go through my post history, you'll see plenty of reasons why) but basically it works for me and them and there's no complaints from either side.

I do my bit around the house, especially the jobs someone 70+ with health conditions can't do. I'm not big into the physical jobs, but my 3 brothers do that while I ensure there's working internet, tv, dodgy box and their phones are working as expected. I'm the tech guy. I do the shopping for them to save them having to go out in this pandemic (both have lung/breathing related issues). I do my bit and spend the rest of my time gaming.

In that time, I play mostly single player games, I love a good story and the more immersive the better. And within those games, there's more than a fair share of reading, so you can technically say I do a lot of reading each week. To rob a quick quote from Google:

So unlike watching tv (unless it's quiz based shows), i'm actively engaged more than most people while I'm gaming. On top of all this, I have a full time job (nights, i'm ginger so suits me better), I pay bills, I give my bit and help out when I can. I don't put in or out with anyone, and would prefer if people left me alone, because up to 4 years ago I did the whole life/drink/mortgage thing and it nearly killed me. I'm anti-social because, really, people are dicks, and nosey dicks at that (I detest gossip). I have a small circle of friends I use to go into once a week or thereabouts and we'd watch anime, play games or just have a laugh.

So yeah, I do all that, but unlike the lad mentioned in the OP, my parents made sure I did my bit around the house and got outside as much as necessary (again, not as much as others because ginger+sun=burn and pain and suffering for my parents). I've been playing since the Atari 2600 days, and actually had a pong console before that. going by a lot of outdated and ill-informed comments on here, I'm a pure waste, according to those who spends upwards of thousands to follow millionaires around the place kicking a ball around, screaming bloody murder because millionaire A didn't do it exactly the way your pudgy arse would. And then said millionaires having life altering injuries until the other millionaire gets a card. Really must get one of those sponges/sprays, because within a few minutes they're perfectly fine again. Do the medical industry know about this magic?

So you keep on believing what you want to believe, I'll be here, playing my games and thoroughly enjoying my life. Also, bad parenting is not the kids fault. I feel sorry for him that he's not prepared for life because ye let him play games all the time instead of, you know, parenting.

A few things have you got a job?, do you pay for your own heating and food, contribute to the maintenance of the house? and what is you plan when your parent die and you have to house yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,412 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Let everyone do what they like as long as it is legal.

Once the individual has a job, went to college or did an apprenticeship and is supporting themselves, play magic, collect pokemon, be into Harry Potter, be a gamer, or do whatever they want.

The is a difference when it is interfering with study and school or an adult being supported by parents.

I know a teacher who collects pokemon and comics but the points is they have a degree, a job, a girlfriend, friends and are not depending on anyone to support their lifestyle.

My last real outing was Final Fantasy VIII, then I went back and replayed Final Fantasy VII.

That provided an out. I can see the appeal. I've been tempted to try out the updated remake version of it, won't lie.

Why not? Unless you'd have to fork out a few hundred for the hardware of course. VIII was a broken mess. Fun but still a broken mess.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,244 ✭✭✭TheDavester

while I'm more of a let people do what they want (once not illegal) but, i dont get the Japanese anime stuff - know one guy in his mid 30's loves this thing, never had a long term job (college and masters degree, mostly on pc playing these dungeons and dragon/minecraft type of games, rarely leaves the house - 100 percent agreed more and more of the 20-30's are infantilised

and noticing more and more of those in their 20's - 30's (im in that age demographic) are still obssessed with Disney/Pokemon/My Little Pony/Harry Potter/Childrens cartoons...grow up ffs

We can all serotype to be honest.
    Everybody I know know that's is involved in boxing is a trouble maker for example. Often getting in trouble with the Gardaí. They are rude and aggressive and you'd cross the road nearly to avoid them.
    However they all claim to have loads of discipline and respect.

Yeah you get people like that in the sport no doubt, I’ve trained with many of them. Equally boxing has a reputation for generally steering at-risk young men away from that carry on.

Regardless of some of the people doing it, the act of boxing is a social activity which builds physical and mental well-being and character. Sitting on your arse playing computer games doesn’t, to be frank.

And again, for the millionth time, I’m not saying anyone who spends any time at all playing a console is some sort of Phantom of the Opera lunatic but again, if it is your primary activity then that’s odd and strange. People can jump up and down all they want about how computer games or cartoons are super complex serious hobbies and pursuits and the like but at the end of the day I’ll never take a fella seriously if he’s spending the bulk of his time at it.

while I'm more of a let people do what they want (once not illegal) but, i dont get the Japanese anime stuff - know one guy in his mid 30's never had a long term job, mostly on pc playing these dungeons and dragon/minecraft type of games, rarely leaves the house - 100 percent agreed more and more of the 20-30's are infantilised

and noticing more and more of those in their 20's - 30's (im in that age demographic) are still obssessed with Disney/Pokemon/My Little Pony/Harry Potter/Childrens cartoons...grow up ffs

I don't get the anime stuff at all. I've had people I've met and worked with recommend some and that's fair enough but the thing with the anime girls is just creepy. I play a historical strategy game where you'd have the flag of your nation in the top left of the screen. I've seen screenshots where people edit the game's files to replace the flags with pictures of anime girls. Came across as a bit creepy to be honest.

That said, the Pokémon games on the Nintendo portables are superb. They're impeccably designed and their only real flaw IMO is that they've been trotting out exactly the same formula for decades now. Think I've had my fill of the Avengers and Harry Potter but some of those card games can be very social and engaging.

H. H. Asquith

while I'm more of a let people do what they want (once not illegal) but, i dont get the Japanese anime stuff - know one guy in his mid 30's never had a long term job, mostly on pc playing these dungeons and dragon/minecraft type of games, rarely leaves the house - 100 percent agreed more and more of the 20-30's are infantilised

Oh 100%. Stuff like grown adults talking about politics in f*cking Harry Potter terms (“is Jeremy Corbyn Dumbledore?” and all that sh*te), unicorns and all that craic. Bizarre weird noncey vibe off the whole lot of it.

I lived in a warehouse in London and there was a few of these characters knocking about; revelling in bizarre childishness. It’s head-shaking stuff it really is.