Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

Wolf359f wrote: »
    The only reason for lower deaths so far in Europe is the vulnerable can/are still be being protected.
    Israel's second wave killed nearly 3x as much as the first.
    Australia 7x as many deaths as their first wave.

The loosing potency argument I don't get. There's now a delay due to better testing between new cases and deaths.
    We had ~2900 cases in August and 4 Deaths
    September so far ~2800 cases and 14 Deaths so far

Australia and israel did not have first waves.

Why did Leo seem open to the possibility on tv yesterday of it weakening, yet your so sure it has not. Are you a medical doctor?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,685 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Agreed so maybe the way to go is controllable spread and to me it sounds that's what we are effectively doing anyway. The question is what threshold of hospital/icu is controllable.

We reached 1,000 cases daily in mid-April which coincided with intensive care treatment coming under serious pressure if left unchecked. So that's something we can sort of compare to.

That pressure was relieved rapidly due to the lockdown as the number of new cases plummeted to 200'ish by the end of April.

NPHET are predicting we will have between 500 - 1,000 cases daily by the end of September. Other health officials are predicting it will be between 3,000 - 5,000 daily new cases by the end of October if the current tend continues. NPHET do not wish to make their predictions public for that far out.

It's hard to see how the health system will not seriously struggle given that the type of lockdown we saw at the start of the pandemic is unlikely to happen this time around.
    Our health system never came close to breaking point.

Yeah, thanks to the lockdown. Intensive care treatment availability was becoming an issue leading up and during it while waiting for its effect to filter through the health system. Why do you think we had a lockdown? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

Grim evening with the drip drop of news..

Have to say, as someone who bought into the green jersey stuff, play your part etc at the start, this has gone past restriction level and feels like a punishment. Closing restaurants, cafes and museums won’t stop the spread, it’s an admission that no one can stop household spread. It’s more punishment for business owners, workers, and people who’ve missed out on seeing friends families and loved ones. Encouraging people to meet in control settings were the key, that’s gone now if government accept this.

It’s easy to see the general public are waning. Just because a few people online haven’t seen anyone else in months and are happy to stay at home watching Netflix as advised, it doesn’t mean everyone is. The wider population need a carrot dangled to keep up the basic measures. Closing restaurants, sports, cultural events, the things that bring us some joy and sanity, isn’t the way to go.

The household gatherings, parties, family events will continue. They won’t stop. Cases won’t come down quick. We’re looking at months here in Dublin. It would kill your spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Why did Leo seem open to the possibility on tv yesterday of it weakening, yet your so sure it has not. Are you a medical doctor?

True about Israel +Australia but I think the near 600 deaths in Spain over the last 72 hours have pretty blatantly dismissed the virus weakening theory

bb1234567 wrote: »
    True about Israel +Australia but I think the near 600 deaths in Spain over the last 72 hours have pretty blatantly dismissed the virus weakening theory

Spain's reporting of numbers has been questionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Stheno wrote: »
    135 out of how many?

Anywhere I've been are rigid with guidelines tbh

165 'restaurant' pubs breaching the guidelines. Three weeks ago (more now).

That's a lot of opportunity for our 20-25% community transmission to occur.

Plenty on here and Twitter boasting about no food, staying 5 hours, showing their 30 pint and 3 substantial meal receipts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Define the difference between a first and second wave.
    Leo is first and foremost a politician.
    Read your own words.... "Leo seem open to the possibility"
    I'm open to the possibility of this is all a dream/nightmare everyone is having worldwide due to some contamination in the air from a probe that has returned from taking samples off a comet and burned up in the atmosphere.

Spain's reporting of numbers has been questionable.

I don't know what you mean..that they're exaggerating the number of deaths or what? The dramatic increase in number of ICU admission(over 500+) over the last 7 days also matches the large increase in deaths (and cases and test positivity rate), so I don't think there's anything too immediately questionable about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Schools. I know I have said it before, but 25 or 30 kids, primary and secondary in an enclosed environment for up to five maybe more hours per day. Coming from households, going back to households. And multiply each class by ten or whatever. That's every day.

I dunno, but seems to be suppressed. So let's stop a few people staying for an hour or two in a controlled environment once or twice a week, sure why not, same with weddings.

Six to be in a house at the one time apart I presume from the dwellers, but all just from one household.

Nope, it is not the partying either I don't think, that is a handy crutch, not doubting that there are such things going on, but have these weekly/bi weekly gatherings really led to the current scary spike? Pubs with food seem to be out of the loop, as do cinemas, gyms, shops and so on.

So let's think it out again. Yep to me it's the schools, has to be, but that will never be mentioned. Now I have no doubt that some statistician will object to what I am saying and will back it up. But the timing of this spike is an outlier since all the above businesses have been open for ages, and parties have been happening all along, whether we want to admit it or not.

Anyway, on a point of order..... I really feel so sorry for those getting married soon. It is a total disaster for them and must be so stressful with the changing of the rules to 25 next week, and no one is sure if that includes or exclues staff, musicians etc. Sad times for them to be sure.

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Define the difference between a first and second wave.
    Leo is first and foremost a politician.
    Read your own words.... "Leo seem open to the possibility"
    I'm open to the possibility of this is all a dream/nightmare everyone is having worldwide due to some contamination in the air from a probe that has returned from taking samples off a comet and burned up in the atmosphere.

He is a trained medical doctor.

Like many doctors/medically trained professionals across europe he believes the virus may have weakened. Your certain it his not from your extensive medical background.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

165 'restaurant' pubs breaching the guidelines. Three weeks ago (more now).

That's a lot of opportunity for our 20-25% community transmission to occur.

Plenty on here and Twitter boasting about no food, staying 5 hours, showing their 30 pint and 3 substantial meal receipts.

You still haven't answered my question

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I don't know what you mean..that they're exaggerating the number of deaths or what? The dramatic increase in number of ICU admission(over 500+) over the last 7 days also matches the large increase in deaths (and cases and test positivity rate), so I don't think there's anything too immediately questionable about it

7 day average is about 50.

Death numbers jumping up and down massively day to day.

Cases just as high as peak.

Peak deaths in Spain were well over 1000 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I dont think there is a 2nd wave. Its the same wave with a lockdown dent in it. I also dont think its weakening, its just a numbers game.

I thanked that post because I agreed with almost all of it and it is a great post , Calamari !

But that last paragraph is not one I agree with , not totally anyway

You think they are not telling us that the numbers have changed ?

But you know, I know , and so many others know because they have been saying it for weeks now .
    Testing more , picking up more asymptomatic and younger cases .

That worries me all the more , because when hospital cases are rising even slowly , they are true numbers , and they are going in one direction only .

If they start to settle and go down or even just stabilise with these restrictions I will start to feel a lot happier.
    As it is I dread what's coming , and I am not a panicky person , just worried now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

What I gather from this article is that we are still technically on our first wave still.
    A wave first has to run through the population of a country/state's/geographic area's etc. Then you have a fall in numbers to close it either naturally or enforced. If it then re emerges it is a second wave.

In Ireland we brought the numbers down through enforced measures/restrictions but it never got the chance to run through all of the population. First time it sadly mainly infected those who where high risk e.g. nursing homes and healthcare workers. It really didn't touch most young people, working people or children. Our increase recently has been in those categories.

Hence, like our governments 5 phase pandemic plan that would put it as wave 1.5.
    Correct me with other definitions, as it seems to, not be defined well as even the epidemiologist in the article states.

https://www.discovermagazine.com/health/the-u-s-isnt-i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭MOR316

Kh1993 wrote: »

Have to say, as someone who bought into the green jersey stuff, play your part etc at the start, this has gone past restriction level and feels like a punishment. Closing restaurants, cafes and museums won’t stop the spread, it’s an admission that no one can stop household spread. It’s more punishment for business owners, workers, and people who’ve missed out on seeing friends families and loved ones. Encouraging people to meet in control settings were the key, that’s gone now if government accept this.

It’s easy to see the general public are waning. Just because a few people online haven’t seen anyone else in months and are happy to stay at home watching Netflix as advised, it doesn’t mean everyone is. The wider population need a carrot dangled to keep up the basic measures. Closing restaurants, sports, cultural events, the things that bring us some joy and sanity, isn’t the way to go.

The household gatherings, parties, family events will continue. They won’t stop. Cases won’t come down quick. We’re looking at months here in Dublin. It would kill your spirit.

This!

From a personal point of view and not including how it affects the wider economy and people's livelihoods...
    I have a job, I can work from home, I don't live in Dublin but, I live alone! I hate where I live, I hate my surroundings as they bring up bad memories and gets me upset 24/7, two major things in my life are put on hold for a long time, maybe years because of this virus.

My one outlet was spending a day in Bray, Killiney and Dun Laoghaire by the sea, taking in that sea air and having a beer and some food. Escapism! A smile! Now, from 12am Saturday morning, that's going to be gone for God only knows how long?

I wouldn't mind if they were the root cause of the rising cases but, they're not!
    Nowhere close to it! "People will die! Everyone will die! SHUT EVERYTHING DOWN"
    I read it here everyday, I hear it everyday but, it's not the answer!

When they do shut and in two weeks time cases are still rising, what then? Who will you blame then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

We reached 1,000 cases daily in mid-April which coincided with intensive care treatment coming under serious pressure if left unchecked. So that's something we can sort of compare to.

That pressure was relieved rapidly due to the lockdown as the number of new cases plummeted to 200'ish by the end of April.

NPHET are predicting we will have between 500 - 1,000 cases daily by the end of September. Other health officials are predicting it will be between 3,000 - 5,000 daily new cases by the end of October if the current tend continues. NPHET do not wish to make their predictions public for that far out.

It's hard to see how the health system will not seriously struggle given that the type of lockdown we saw at the start of the pandemic is unlikely to happen this time around.

I agree that we cant take our eye of the ball for now, but 1000 cases in April are not the same as 1000 cases now. There is a much wider test net now and we test A LOT of people positive we would never have known about in April.

Going by case/hospitalisation rate now vs. April I'd say our 1000 April cases could easily translate to 6000 cases now.

Kh1993 wrote: »

The virus all by itself might kill the spirit too, I'm afraid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

MOR316 wrote: »
    This!

From a personal point of view and not including how it affects the wider economy and people's livelihoods...
    I have a job, I can work from home, I don't live in Dublin but, I live alone! I hate where I live, I hate my surroundings as they bring up bad memories and gets me upset 24/7, two major things in my life are put on hold for a long time, maybe years because of this virus.

My one outlet was spending a day in Bray, Killiney and Dun Laoghaire by the sea, taking in that sea air and having a beer and some food. Escapism! A smile! Now, from 12am Saturday morning, that's going to be gone for God only knows how long?

I wouldn't mind if they were the root cause of the rising cases but, they're not!
    Nowhere close to it! "People will die! Everyone will die! SHUT EVERYTHING DOWN"
    I read it here everyday, I hear it everyday but, it's not the answer!

When they do shut and in two weeks time cases are still rising, what then? Who will you blame then?

The same thing is happening in many parts of Europe and beyond now so if you are implying that it`s only occurring in Ireland then you are mistaken.

7 day average is about 50.

Death numbers jumping up and down massively day to day.

Cases just as high as peak.

Peak deaths in Spain were well over 1000 a day.

That is true, the inconsistency is odd. Although the 7 day average is now almost 90 not 50.

The ICU admissions are hard to argue though, there's no inconsistency with reporting there, growin by over 500 in less than a week and now stand at over 1330, that's an unbelieavble spike in ICU admission in a tiny timeframe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Would you rather people drank in controlled environments or uncontrolled environments?

Well, obviously a controlled environment.

But, I think that either/or binary choice is a false way to frame the situation. 

First of all, I have my doubts about how controlled of an environment a lot of pubs actually are - and how controlled a lot of their patrons often are to boot. I'm sure there's lots of pubs out there that follow every rule and never stray from any guidelines - but we all know there are plenty, plenty, out there that don't.

We all know this.

Also we also all know, even from just reading this thread alone, how many people boast about having a feed of pints and not giving a flying fck about restrictions, time limits - any of it.

I amn't saying everyone is like that and every pub is like that, but this picture of pubs always being these lock-tight-everything-above-board-ultra-sticklers for rules - well, I'm not sure to believe that one Citizen. And now, I don't know about this for sure, but if I was to go back deep into your own post history would I maybe find one or two posts about you yourself staying for hours and getting well plastered in some of these "controlled" environments? If not you, then I'll certainly find literally hundreds of other posters boasting about exactly that. And that's only boards, I don't how many times I've heard of it outside of here - countless, countless, times. Controlled environments? Sometimes, Citizen, sometimes. But, I'm not green enough to believe it all of the time.

And look, people who are going to have house parties are still going to have house parties. Their desire for the craic is not going to be extinguished by two hours in a public house, that's if it sticks to the rules in the first place, of course. Closing time is 11:30 these days. What do you think most groups will do at 11:30 at night? Things are just getting started bro! And you want more rules? - that'll make the pub an even more viable alternative to a house party to those inclined to have one alright - eh, what?

People who go to pubs and obey the rules are not the ones who then will have house parties without the pub being an option. And they aren't the problem.

The problem are the ones who do have the house parties - and I don't believe opening pubs, under strangulated rules and regulations, is going to have much of a material difference in the amount of house parties that take place. The pub usually compliments a party, it's a pit-stop on the journey - in my drunken party going experience; and I have a lot of experience.

If you're going to have a house party then a pub being open or closed isn't going to stop you - they are still going to go on. They've existed for a long time before lockdowns and restrictions. And this is even when pubs were open all the time - some of them even past 11:30 at night!

We were talking earlier about what you think should be the approach. And you seemed to think that there should be greater emphasis on cracking down on private gatherings and house parties and as well as further regulation of wet pubs:
    Open wet pubs with extra regulations & time limits, force people out of homes and into controlled environments. Limit home gatherings and introduce heavy fines if caught.
    The clear issue right now is home gatherings, not people having a burger down the local.

I agree the issue is home gatherings, as opposed to the wet pub. But wet pubs aren't open - it's very hard for them to be the issue if they aren't open.

Limit home gatherings.

That sounds very easy, but I don't think that it is really enforceable - both in terms of the logistics and the basic legality.

There's been limits on home gatherings for ages and they've been widely ignored. Would you be comfortable with legislation that would give Gardai the right to enter private dwellings and start dishing out fines and maybe more, totally upending our culture of policing and the inviolability of private dwellings? Just to make sure, indirectly, that people go to the pub?

And lets say the government went through the tortuous and fractious legal process of signing something like this into law. How many more Gardai would be required to actually police this - dozens? hundreds? I'm sure taking them away from other police work to knock on doors, all across the land, where they suspect a party to be taking place isn't going to prove problematic. And why are we doing all this again? - oh, yeah, because we want pubs to be open.

In reality the government can only do so much. And I'm glad of it. I personally would be concerned if Gardai had the right to enter private dwellings, just because they strongly suspect craic to be taking place - I think that's a step too far on the state's reach. I don't foresee it being a reality, in any case. I think it's a legal minefield and the resources simply aren't there to police it.

The government really can't do much more in real terms to stop people drinking in "uncontrolled" environments. All they can do is place restrictions on the "controlled" environments that, given what is known about how the virus spreads and our specific drinking culture, stand a more than fair chance of being places where the virus can spread. It's something they can do. For the rest - then they have to rely, without coercion, on people being responsible and trying to do the right thing.

It comes down to personal responsibility. People are not obligated to have house parties, people are not obligated to disregard rules on gatherings. It is a personal choice. It is a lame excuse, a total disavowal, of your own capacity for decision making to blame it all pubs being closed. Everyone knows now that house parties and social gatherings are driving rates of infection in the country, ignorance is not an excuse - it's up to individuals to modify their behaviour and try to do the right thing.

It involves sacrifice. Everything in this absolutely shite period of time for everyone involves some form of sacrifice. It does not follow that pubs are closed, ergo, I must have a house party. People should just take responsibility, not whinge constantly and expect the government to hold their hand on every last little thing - and moan when the Goverment does try to hold people's hands - and knuckle down and do our bit until we have this under control again and accept that, given their nature, pubs are always going to be amongst the first places to feel the brunt of restrictions.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I thanked that post be ause I agreed with almost all of it and it is a great post , Calamari !

But that last paragraph is not one I agree with , not totally anyway

You think they are not telling us that the numbers have changed ?

But you know, I know , and so many others know because they have been saying it for weeks now .
    Testing more , picking up more asymptomatic and younger cases .

That worries me all the more , because when hospital cases are rising even slowly , they are true numbers , and they are going in one direction only .

If they start to settle and go down or even just stabilise with these restrictions I will start to feel a lot happier.
    As it is I dread what's coming , and I am not a panicky person , just worried now .

You sound panicky. You might have had it already and you will never be sick from it. That is a possibility.

I dont think there is a 2nd wave. Its the same wave with a lockdown dent in it. I also dont think its weakening, its just a numbers game.

570 people have died in Spain in the last 72 hours with 1330 in ICU currently, mostly in Madrid region. It is undeniably a second wave at this stage and not just in numbers of cases any longer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,685 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I agree that we cant take our eye of the ball for now, but 1000 cases in April are not the same as 1000 cases now. There is a much wider test net now and we test A LOT of people positive we would never have known about in April.

Going by case/hospitalisation rate now vs. April I'd say our 1000 April cases could easily translate to 6000 cases now.

Totally agreed. We could hit 2,000 cases a day and it still mightn’t be as bad as the height of the first wave considering the increased prevalence of testing now.

We could easily hit those numbers though and we should be realistic about that. When people say we need to live with Covid those are the kind of numbers we might be looking at - especially when you consider we haven’t even opened pubs fully yet and schools are just after reopening.

I suppose the real difficulty and concern is trying to find the right balance. It could easily tip over into uncontrolled spread. It obviously becomes more difficult to manage the more cases you have. The UK’s contact tracing difficulties highlights this.

Too late, our time is done, sends shivers down my spine.....

LOL. And this is really where we are now despite all our efforts. Ah well.

Schools. I know I have said it before, but 25 or 30 kids, primary and secondary in an enclosed environment for up to five maybe more hours per day. Coming from households, going back to households. And multiply each class by ten or whatever. That's every day.

I dunno, but seems to be suppressed. So let's stop a few people staying for an hour or two in a controlled environment once or twice a week, sure why not, same with weddings.

Six to be in a house at the one time apart I presume from the dwellers, but all just from one household.

Nope, it is not the partying either I don't think, that is a handy crutch, not doubting that there are such things going on, but have these weekly/bi weekly gatherings really led to the current scary spike? Pubs with food seem to be out of the loop, as do cinemas, gyms, shops and so on.

So let's think it out again. Yep to me it's the schools, has to be, but that will never be mentioned. Now I have no doubt that some statistician will object to what I am saying and will back it up. But the timing of this spike is an outlier since all the above businesses have been open for ages, and parties have been happening all along, whether we want to admit it or not.

Anyway, on a point of order..... I really feel so sorry for those getting married soon. It is a total disaster for them and must be so stressful with the changing of the rules to 25 next week, and no one is sure if that includes or exclues staff, musicians etc. Sad times for them to be sure.

I agree with you about schools but it is the other things too .
    Lots of pubs not complying , restaurants and hotels will be punished now for those that didn't .
    Gyms , training , most sports ok, especially outdoors , except for the ones that have socialising built in .
    That's the thing , not anything else , alcohol related lack of care and social distancing at whatever venue .
    I'm not against alcohol , but the food idea was to slow the drinking down so people would still have a bit of awareness of how they should behave .
    Restaurants with properly distanced tables and food should be allowed , and maybe the weddings should be allowed go ahead with the 50 but for a shorter time ?
    I don't know ..if it was me I'd be cancelling and just have a small civil ceremony until the time comes when we could do it properly .
    But it is not me , and it must be heartbreaking for them , as the funerals were , and all the other events and ceremonies missed this year :(

The virus all by itself might kill the spirit too, I'm afraid.

Don't agree. Maybe for some, but for most of us it is just get on with it territory now. The human spirit is great and will cope. Look at most of us on here!

It is what it is, and we either observe or go rogue, but I really don't think that is happening much either. To be fair it ain't perfect or nice either for the record.

Dublin is a bit of a problem now. So get the shopping delivered, get the grog in, and get on with it.

I always say to those who moan, aren't we so lucky to have gardens. Really feel for those who have no outside space. Balconies are so rare here too I think. But hopefully that is changing too. Everyone needs to breathe outside.

That's where we are at now.

He is a trained medical doctor.

Like many doctors/medically trained professionals across europe he believes the virus may have weakened. Your certain it his not from your extensive medical background.

He just qualified and then left to become a politician .
    Sure, he has medical knowledge but he would be classed as a " baby doctor" by most!
    He is a politician , and a 'cute ' one at that and I am not talking about looks here .
    As such I would take what he says with a very large pinch of Sodium Chloride;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Myramar

See on the News that MASS is going "online" in Dublin.

This means "Watching it on Telly."

That's grand but how does the trans-substantiation thing work? That's where the bit of bread gets turned into Jesus Christ?
    Do You get a bit of Brennan's and hold it up to the telly or what? How close? - 2 metres, one metre what? does the 15 minute rule apply ?

Once again, it's mixed messaging. This needs to be clarified.

How do we turn our bread into Jesus?

Goldengirl wrote: »
    He just qualified and then left to become a politician .
    Sure, he has medical knowledge but he would be classed as a " baby doctor" by most!
    He is a politician , and a 'cute ' one at that and I am not talking about looks here .
    As such I would take what he says with a very large pinch of Sodium Chloride;)

Yes I will listen to you rather than our leader who guided us through first phase and is medically trained.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

I was out driving around Cork today for about eight hours. Saw not a single guard, shade car or paddy wagon anywhere. Nine ambulances though.

I noticed because my passenger has a penchant for emergency services vehicles, especially the noises they make.