Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

OwenM wrote: »
    I think some calm and a sense of perspective is needed, an awful lot of fearmongering in the media and social media in the last few days. We are not all going to die in the next few weeks, we need to learn to live with this and that means not locking down the country because somebody might die, people die every day.

The one thing not being talked about is the prospect that there might never be a vaccine, it's a reality and it's not being planned for. Worse than that we will never IMO arrive at a point where we accept that and spend years destroying the mental health and economy of the country.

Here's a perspective that might make people feel a bit better. France, Spain and the UK combined have had more cases in the last 6 weeks than all of March, April and May but a tiny fraction of the deaths.

My source is the WHO Europe region website: https://who.maps.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/ead3c6475654481ca51c248d52ab9c61

FSUK-combined-cases.png

FSUK-combined-deaths.png

Good post, it would have made me feel better yesterday, but today its been reported that 200+ people died in Spain in the last 24 hours.

it's starting to head back to spring territory.

Depressing, the one thing that was keeping my head up was the low death rate here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Would you care to expand on your perspective?

Seriously? It's been done to death.

Maybe take a stab at it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Seriously though I'm not sure I'll be mentally able for what's ahead, finding positivity hard to come by atm. I've been an upbeat, positive person for the vast majority of my 46 years on this planet, now there's a raw, unfamiliar sadness and anxiety that's hard to bare at times, I'm snappy with loved ones and generally no longer the person I was 6 months ago. Sorry for the negativity.
    Get off the internet.

Seriously. Delete the social media apps from your phone, remove your bookmarks for boards.ie from your work computer.

By all means read the news, but you'll find that it doesn't move along that much; it's social media that drives the constant barrage of updates.

If you read something and feel the need to go on social media and discuss it, take out a diary and write down your thoughts there instead. Scratch that itch.

Then move on with your day. Decide on a couple of books to read if you find your hands being idle. Take some time to get back into a hobby. Learn to play an instrument. Install a few games on your phone to give you something else to do on the toilet.

There's a certain level of FOMO if you don't engage with social media. But if you just ignore it, you'll quite quickly find out that you don't miss anything of substance. Nobody on social media is saying anything profound or groundbreaking. And even if you take a month off, when you come back you will have missed absolutely zero.

But you will find that your mental health is in a much better state.

With social media you end up cramming your brain with everything you can get a hold of. Thinking about all the different problems of the world and how to solve them. Getting worked up worrying about what other people are trying to do to the world.
    You can't sustain this 24/7. None of us can. We need to stop filling our brains with 50 different topics that we have fvck all control over anyway. Once you make room in your brain, you'll be surprised how quickly your own imagination and introspection roars back to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Virus survives 7X longer on surfaces in autumn conditions than it does in summer conditions on a range of surfaces.

https://twitter.com/QuickTake/status/1306518291377160192?s=20

So reduce the amount of surfaces the virus is on especially the ones we're touching and fidgeting with constantly that contain the most amount of the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭firemansam4

Boggles wrote:
    Of course they will.

Also if you live in a rural area with one health center, if they have an outbreak among staff, you have no health center.

The systems there are to protect patients and staff, they are not apparent so you don't see them.

I understand they are trying to limit the risks from covid but there is going to be a knock on affect to this.

There will be patients not going to Doctors because of this, maybe for things that might seem minor now but could turn out to be more severe if not diagnosed early.

A bit like the cancer screenings there will be a secondary knock on affect to people's health because of this.

Now could there be more done to mitigate risks so patients can see doctors in person?
    I'm sure more could and should be done to facilitate this in a safe way to limit infection risks, maybe it would require investment or renting out more space?

I'm by no means against all restrictions and I abide by them myself as best as I can, but there are questions and will be more questions in the future about some aspects of the restrictions and weather they are ultimately going to cause more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Good post, it would have made me feel better yesterday, but today its been reported that 200+ people died in Spain in the last 24 hours.

it's starting to head back to spring territory.

Depressing, the one thing that was keeping my head up was the low death rate here.

and pro rata that would translate to a report of 20 deaths for the Irish population, perspective is everything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I think masks definitely help for loads of reasons. I think the resurgence of cases can be attributed to a couple of things. Other European countries have had mandated masks in place since the start and didn't see an uptick.

The easing of restrictions is what caused it. I'm not advocating reimplementing them but it's fairly clear that and human behaviour are the drivers.

Interestingly this winter will see another driver that we haven't seen thus far.
    Greater time spent indoors.

What can we do when being indoors in winter? I know opening a window helps.

This is what I'm trying to figure out now, apparently keeping humidity between 40-60% can also help. So what should I do now to prepare for winter. Do I need a humidifier or a dehumidifier or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,570 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Is this lockdown in Dublin going to change anything?

Exponential growth, if we don't take pretty drastic steps, would see us with over 3000 cases per day by early November.

Our hospitals won't be able to handle this by the middle of next month if it keeps growing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Boggles wrote: »
    Seriously? It's been done to death.

Maybe take a stab at it yourself.

So you just don't want to engage, simply state I'm wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭hopgirl

If a doctor thinks he has a good reason not to see any patients they need to rethink their profession. Mary for her repeat prescription for the pill or Tommy to have his statins renewed yes, but the one profession that needs to keep face to face contacts are doctors.

Having said that, I personally have not heard of any gp refusing to see patients

My mum tried to make an appointment yesterday to see the doctor or nurse in relation to an area on her leg that has broken out, it doesn't look great. The nurse rang back she thinks it's an infection supplied cream. Last night it it got worse, in pain and breaking out in other areas. I spoke to the receptionist all I was getting was to take a picture and send it to them. I was like I want her to get seeing too that she was pain with it last night but they were like with covid and social distancing want to keep the risk down for the patient and doctor or nurse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Government still advising against non essential foreign travel no?

No. There is a green list with exemptions from that advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

polesheep wrote: »
    No. There is a green list with exemptions from that advice.

Not yet though?

What can we do when being indoors in winter? I know opening a window helps.

This is what I'm trying to figure out now, apparently keeping humidity between 40-60% can also help. So what should I do now to prepare for winter. Do I need a humidifier or a dehumidifier or both.

The best thing you can do for everyone is get the Virus and help build immunity in the heard, your young and healthy and have nothing to fear.
    He does my head in and I can't believe a word comes out of his mouth but Luke O'Neill was on about the antibodies lasting a lot longer than previously thought this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

owlbethere wrote: »
    'kids can't transmit the infection' - it was peddled our way to get the schools back.

Where are you getting this nonsense from? It was never said by anyone of any importance in the last 6 months. What is your agenda here?

Nope that'll change for anywhere on the new greenlist

That was always the case. It was crystal clear on the DFA website for anyone who read past the first paragraph. The media, falsely, gave the impression that the green list wasn't exempted from the advice.

Where are you getting this nonsense from? It was never said by anyone of any importance in the last 6 months. What is your agenda here?
    Well I heard this from lots of parents who claimed it was said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

eagle eye wrote: »
    Is this lockdown in Dublin going to change anything?
    Yes. We know from March/April that we can get control of this within 2/3 weeks through fairly extreme measures. The question now is really how far do we have to go in terms of restricting our activities to get control - Kildare, Laois etc showed that we don't have to go back as far as we did in March/April.

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Not yet though?

The green list has always been exempt from the advice. I just checked and it still says so on the DFA website.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

The best thing you can do for everyone is get the Virus and help build immunity in the heard, your young and healthy and have nothing to fear.
    He does my head in and I can't believe a word comes out of his mouth but Luke O'Neill was on about the antibodies lasting a lot longer than previously thought this morning.

Fcuk right off with your comment.

This affects many organs, don't know what way the virus will go if you catch it and not to mention the long haulers going months and not feeling better.

I'm doing whatever I can not to get this.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    The media are in thrall to the medics and the scientists who by their own admission know feck all about this virus.
    NPHET, of course, don’t want to do themselves out of business by even hinting that this pandemic might not as bad as everyone first thought. They have been hogging the limelight for a good while now and they would be reluctant to give that up.

again, message board posters are a better alternative? a hundred experts each with a different tweet?

embarrassing stuff in this and all the other threads. treating this entire pandemic like something that was done to ye just to annoy ye, as if anyone asked for it or was prepared for it

whole load of barstool experts each with their own little resentments and massive certainty.

why arent ye all on the decision making bodies? there's a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Are you first in the queue to get it so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So you just don't want to engage, simply state I'm wrong?

You are wrong, it's not my opinion.
    Here's a perspective that might make people feel a bit better. France, Spain and the UK combined have had more cases in the last 6 weeks than all of March, April and May

I'll give you a hint, do you think those countries are detecting the same level virus now than they were in March, April and May?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Believe it or not, 200+ deaths in Spain yesterday isn't at all contradictory to that overall graph. At the height of it, Spain was registering 500+ deaths a day for 4 weeks. At one stage they nearly hit 1,000 dead in a single day.

Their new case rate is the same as back in March/April, but even 200 deaths a day is a considerably lower death rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

https://www.eurosurveillance.org/content/10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2020.25.21.2000903

As many countries begin to lift some of the restrictions to contain COVID-19 spread, lack of evidence of transmission in the school setting remains. We examined Irish notifications of SARS-CoV2 in the school setting before school closures on 12 March 2020 and identified no paediatric transmission. This adds to current evidence that children do not appear to be drivers of transmission, and we argue that reopening schools should be considered safe accompanied by certain measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,203 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

It appears that house parties are being blamed for the high numbers?

What about those people not having house parties and getting sick?

Do they ever got to the bottom of Community or Unknown transmission?

These people have to be picking it up somewhere.

I think high fines for house party owners/tenants

seamus wrote:
    Their new case rate is the same as back in March/April, but even 200 deaths a day is a considerably lower death rate.
    This is because we are now protecting those who are more susceptible to serious illness.
    People are mistaking the lower death numbers as the virus weakening but that's not the case, it's that most that are getting it now are healthier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

seamus wrote: »
    Believe it or not, 200+ deaths in Spain yesterday isn't at all contradictory to that overall graph. At the height of it, Spain was registering 500+ deaths a day for 4 weeks. At one stage they nearly hit 1,000 dead in a single day.

eh yeah, but it's a massive increase. Shows significant growth.

You know this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Does dental work (specifically teeth cleaning) count as an essential journey provided Stage Three comes into effect the weekend?

Fcuk right off with your comment.

This affects many organs, don't know what way the virus will go if you catch it and not to mention the long haulers going months and not feeling better.

I'm doing whatever I can not to get this.

Not if your wearing a mask and micro dose the Covid...you'll be grand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

polesheep wrote: »
    The green list has always been exempt from the advice. I just checked and it still says so on the DFA website.

Ah cheers I get you, I've totally been reading that page wrong!