Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,957 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Some of the attitudes here are laughable, or they would be if they were no so absurd, and that's relating to some posters here and to some of the more laughable political contributions that are coming out of the woodwork.

Melbourne is almost 5 times larger than Dublin, the population there is near enough the same as the entire Island here, and the lockdown they have there at present has been eased a little, but for a number of weeks, there was an almost total curfew between 20:00 and 05:00, with very few exception, only one person per day is allowed out for essential shopping, and most other places are completely closed, including bars etc, and they have been operating with a 5Km limit on movement, initially for 1 hour per day, now increased to 2 hours per day, and that can be split into 2 trips out.

if you want to see how tight it's been, have a look

https://www.ctvnews.ca/world/how-draconian-are-melbourne-s-coronavirus-lockdown-measures-1.5105833

They are starting to very slowly reduce the lock down now, as the cases are starting to reduce, and their figures are remarkably similar to Ireland's figures for Dublin, the difference is that their peak happened in July, we're only ramping up towards a new peak here at the moment, so we're up to 6 weeks behind them, and the relevant leadership here is dithering, ducking and weaving in all directions, and clearly nowhere near on top of what's happening on the ground, despite the clear warnings they are being given by the medical guidance.

from another site

https://www.dhhs.vic.gov.au/averages-easing-restrictions-covid-19

Metropolitan Melbourne 694 total cases over the last 14 days, with a case number of 49.6 per 100,000.

There are 1,040 cases currently active in Victoria. 18,079 people have recovered.

118 people are in hospital. This includes 11 patients in intensive care.

IF needed, Victoria State has a capacity of 695 intensive care beds and the capacity to rapidly expand that number if cases surge.

ICU bed capacity in Ireland increased by 39 per cent from 255 at baseline to 354 beds during the pandemic peak, according to the National Office of Clinical Audit.

On that basis, and given that the Irish system was close to breaking during the first wave, I find it worrying that the relevant leaders seem paralysed by indecision when it's become clear that the numbers are only going in one (wrong) direction.

They are seeing the figures decrease after the peak of around 700 cases per day in mid July.

Without wishing to be overly negative, anyone here that thinks we're not at risk of significant problems here, based on the figures that are being reported on a daily basis is living in a very delusional position.

Melbourne has seen close on 19000 cases, and 729 deaths.

Many of the figures being reported are so similar to what's happening here, it's scary, and they have been in severe lock down for nearly 6 weeks.

Also very interesting is the figures that are being posted to the public domain on a daily basis, where the number of tests and active cases by area are being posted, so to put that in local terms, they are giving result for areas, so you can see how many cases are happening in the equivalent of Dun Laoghaire, or Sandymount, or Clontarf, or Malahide, or where ever, and they are also giving specific geographic details of where outbreaks are occurring, by location, or company name.

Looks to me like we need to learn very rapidly from what they have done and are doing in Melbourne, and get similar reporting going here, as only when people can see which specific areas or locations are the hot spots will people then (hopefully) start to respond to that information in ways that will help to contain this pandemic.

Somebody show me where I am reading it wrong, from what I am seeing, we're in trouble, we just haven't taken it on board yet.

Perfect post .

Also this is why I don't understand people wanting to come to Dublin at the moment or that to be honest it is safe to do so .
    Their part of the country does not have the community transmission and rates of infection as parts of Dublin, but hey they still want to come up and mix with the probably infected locals , and then bring it all back home with them , and this is allowed ?
    Our government are so inept and worried about their images with the voters that they are paralysed, unable to stop inward or outward travel either within the country or out of it , except for essential purposes.
    Unable to break up gangs of drinking and socialising teens or idiots having house parties, but now the cases are rising and they wring their hands and plead with people to obey some very confusing and badly phrased guidelines , while their own ministers and tds either don't know what they should be doing or saying , or don't care .
    Its pathetic .
    It's been flagged over and over again since the summer .
    We are heading for major numbers and a healthcare crisis this November and December .
    Sorry for the rant but fed up of this government, or lack of it . :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,815 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

357 cases today, most in Dublin. What's going on in Dublin that they have such a high number of cases?

An observation...I was in two retail environments today, the number of secondary school kids, hanging around in groups, only a tiny percentage of whom were wearing masks, heading back to their families... one group were around at a guess 16/17... it’s natural 100% social and fine normal behavior, but we are 1000000% away from what can be classed as fine, normal, healthy times...

Guys hanging outside the coffee shop by the car park were not only zero distancing but play fighting etc... kids will be kids that I get, but is there anybody imparting education ? Parents wanna kindly step the fûck up and , erm, parent ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Ireland, and as you clearly didn't look at the figures, there are a very large number of worrying similarities between the numbers in Melbourne and the numbers in Dublin, the difference being that Melbourne made the hard decisions and locked down, so their figures are now on the way down again.

What is happening in Melbourne is a disgrace the people need to uprise

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Perfect post .

Also this is why I don't understand people wanting to come to Dublin at the moment or that to be honest it is safe to do so .
    Their part of the country does not have the community transmission and rates of infection as parts of Dublin, but hey they still want to come up and mix with the probably infected locals , and then bring it all back home with them , and this is allowed ?
    Our government are so inept and worried about their images with the voters that they are paralysed, unable to stop inward or outward travel either within the country or out of it , except for essential purposes.
    Unable to break up gangs of drinking and socialising teens or idiots having house parties, but now the cases are rising and they wring their hands and plead with people to obey some very confusing and badly phrased guidelines , while their own ministers and tds either don't know what they should be doing or saying , or don't care .
    Its pathetic .
    It's been flagged over and over again since the summer .
    We are heading for major numbers and a healthcare crisis this November and December .
    Sorry for the rant but fed up of this government, or lack of it . :(

No such problem in Sweden or Belarus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

GT89 wrote: »
    Including Level 5 restrictions which is a lockdown like back in April would be treason if it was to be allowed. There is absolutely no way should go back to those measures the government should not even contemplate it. Pubs in Dublin should all agree to open on the 21st they can't strip every pub of it's licence just like they cannot arrest us all.

The general public have a civic duty to all future generations to disobey these measures introduced by this bunch of traitors.

The general public have a civic duty to resist measures put in place to try to ensure a highly transmissible and dangerous virus stays somewhat under control - because if it's allowed to spread unchecked the consequences for our health system and public health are potentially disastrous?

Mate, that's pretty stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

What is happening in Melbourne is a disgrace the people need to uprise

you should take a look at what's happened to the indigenous Australians over the last 100 years

it's right up your street

Stick to worrying about Ireland, unless you are off to Sweden or Belarus.... because Ireland being problem free is the goal.

Yeah right !

Arghus wrote: »
    The general public have a civic duty to resist measures put in place to try to ensure a highly transmissible and dangerous virus stays somewhat under control - because if it's allowed to spread unchecked the consequences for our health system and public health are potentially disastrous?

Mate, that's pretty stupid.

No they are not it is only dangerous for elderly and vulnerable people. Protect the elderly and vulnerable and let the rest of us get on with it.

If young and healthy people get it, it’s dangerous as they will spread it and need medical treatment possibly, more money the state cannot afford.
    Protect, so lock everybody away, who is elderly or vulnerable with say a preexisting condition? ‘Getting on with it’ as you so eloquently put it puts lives, the economy and the health of the nation further at risk too...

Adhere to restrictions, be the fück sensible, selfless and jobs a good one. :)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Perhaps you could share your pearls of wisdom on how you think we can achieve that? Warning, letting Covid kill off those groups is NOT an option.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Strumms wrote: »
    An observation...I was in two retail environments today, the number of secondary school kids, hanging around in groups, only a tiny percentage of whom were wearing masks, heading back to their families... one group were around at a guess 16/17... it’s natural 100% social and fine normal behavior, but we are 1000000% away from what can be classed as fine, normal, healthy times...

Guys hanging outside the coffee shop by the car park were not only zero distancing but play fighting etc... kids will be kids that I get, but is there anybody imparting education ? Parents wanna kindly step the fûck up and , erm, parent ?

Strumms, that is happening all over the country , and parents do parent but kids will still do what their peers are doing .
    It's what the supposed adults aren't doing in their socialising and house gatherings , and lack of social distancing, as well as population, increased density and sheer number of food pubs , restaurants and shops in the city .
    If everything else was ok those kids would just be a small issue .

Things are climbing slowly in other populated areas around the country , but I have asked before , what else is different , and haven't heard an answer , without getting back judgementalism about Dublin ?
    We are obviously not in this together anymore .
    It is very much the rest of Ireland vs Dublin , I feel , and it's very disheartening.

If young and healthy people get it, it’s dangerous as they will spread it and need medical treatment possibly, more money the state cannot afford.
    Protect, so lock everybody away, who is elderly or vulnerable with say a preexisting condition? ‘Getting on with it’ as you so eloquently put it puts lives, the economy and the health of the nation further at risk too...

And don't forget you'll also have to lock away everyone who lives with these people or who unavoidably interacts with them like carers, doctors, nurses etc.

Just a troll , don't feed him Strumms

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Mercy hospital in Cork had four covid admissions in the last 24 hours.

14th September
    526491.jpg

15th September
    526492.jpg

Perhaps you could share your pearls of wisdom on how you think we can achieve that? Warning, letting Covid kill off those groups is NOT an option.

And remember not to remember your civic duty to try to protect the elderly and vulnerable in the first place - apparently the way to go about this to rise up and let Covid run riot in society.

Strumms, that is happening all over the country , and parents do parent but kids will still do what their peers are doing .
    It's what the supposed adults aren't doing in their socialising and house gatherings , and lack of social distancing, as well as population, increased density and sheer number of food pubs , restaurants and shops in the city .
    If everything else was ok those kids would just be a small issue .
    Things are climbing slowly in other populated areas around the country , but I have asked before , what else is different , and haven't heard an answer , without getting back judgementalism about Dublin ?
    We are obviously not in this together anymore .
    It is very much the rest of Ireland vs Dublin , I feel , and it's very disheartening.

Yeah, I get what you are saying..I’m inclined though to be equally judgemental re : house parties AND the school kids. Simply because the chance of the spread is about equal, people in very close and physical contact

Arghus wrote: »
    And remember not to remember your civic duty to try to protect the elderly and vulnerable in the first place - apparently the way to go about this to rise up and let Covid run riot in society.

Press ignore , not worth even reading that sxxx.

Edit , not talking about you of course.

Yeah, I get what you are saying..I’m inclined though to be equally judgemental re : house parties AND the school kids. Simply because the chance of the spread is about equal, people in very close and physical contact

I have young lads who are trying their best and every day they tell me that so many others don't wear masks , distance or seem to care about Covid anymore .
    I am sure the pervasive attitude of some of that other antimask and restrictions shower are all over social media and affect them more than us .
    All I can do is keep explaining and showing example and I know lots of other parents do the same .
    My lads have walked away from some situations where they felt it was unsafe , but at cost to them socially.
    However they still go out and as long as they are doing their best I encourage them .

s1ippy wrote: »
    Mercy hospital in Cork had four covid admissions in the last 24 hours.

14th September
    526491.jpg

15th September
    526492.jpg

Wow so cases are rising down the country .
    I am not happy to see that , but there seems to be such an anti Dublin bias lately , it is like every place else is doing it right and we are failing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

No problem in Belarus! You couldn't make it up. Sweden is basically at the equivalent of the Level 2 restriction now except it has been for a long time. And with a lot more ICU beds than Ireland does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Ireland, and as you clearly didn't look at the figures, there are a very large number of worrying similarities between the numbers in Melbourne and the numbers in Dublin, the difference being that Melbourne made the hard decisions and locked down, so their figures are now on the way down again.

And what will happen when they open up again?

Wow so cases are rising down the country .
    I am not happy to see that , but there seems to be such an anti Dublin bias lately , it is like every place else is doing it right and we are failing .
    Dublin had 2/3rds of hospitalisations up to yesterday so you might be seeing the shift in narrative tomorrow. They're the focus now but the inevitable thing about this is that no place is necessarily controlled. Likely the situation in Dublin will be reflected in the rest of the country, it's just scaled up there because of population and pop density.

Positive news for balance: Stephen Donnelly didn't take out half of government today

Dublin had 2/3rds of hospitalisations up to yesterday so you might be seeing the shift in narrative tomorrow. They're the focus now but the inevitable thing about this is that no place is necessarily controlled. Likely the situation in Dublin will be reflected in the rest of the country, it's just scaled up there because of population and pop density.

Positive news for balance: Stephen Donnelly didn't take out half of government today

Thanks.
    Have tried to be flip today but it really got to me .
    I cannot see this government getting us out of this at the rate they are going and am totally fed up with the numbers not being taken seriously.

Thanks.
    I cannot see this government getting us out of this at the rate they are going and am totally fed up with the numbers not being taken seriously.
    It sounds like you're being responsible and looking after yourself, that's all anyone can really do in this situation. The sentiment in the news reports interviewing people from Dublin mirrored the vast majority here, people would rather there was a movement towards restrictions now rather than to have to wait and do it for longer in two or three days.

Thanks.

Feeling that I genuinely have and I’d be delighted to be wrong but I think worse before better is a probability....

The government seriously need to get tough with business and business leaders, if it means bringing in emergency legislation and trotting a ceo or two out in handcuffs for six one cameras I’m all for that.

Problem again is the influence big business has at the core of both parties which means it won’t happen....

It sounds like you're being responsible and looking after yourself, that's all anyone can really do in this situation. The sentiment in the news reports interviewing people from Dublin mirrored the vast majority here, people would rather there was a movement towards restrictions now rather than to have to wait and do it for longer in two or three days.

Yes . While I know anecdotally about communion parties etc and we see gangs of Howyas shopping for crates with no masks etc , i am lucky in that none of that is going on near me or by anyone we know.
    However it affects me in work as I see the end result , and I am worried for the next few months , for me and my family.
    While i would not be a FG voter i sincerely wish Leo was back as Taoiseach and Simon Harris as Minister of Health and they were taking charge of it all.
    Not that I love those boyos but it felt safer and that there was a proper plan in place .
    I think this MM doesn't give a sxxx or feel any responsibility towards Dublin, anyway , and probably the rest of the country too.

Yes . While I know anecdotally about communion parties etc and we see gangs of Howyas shopping for crates with no masks etc , i am lucky in that none of that is going on near me or by anyone we know.
    However it affects me in work as I see the end result , and I am worried for the next few months , for me and my family.
    While i would not be a FG voter i sincerely wish Leo was back as Taoiseach and Simon Harris as Minister of Health and they were taking charge of it all.
    Not that I love those boyos but it felt safer and that there was a proper plan in place .
    I think this MM doesn't give a sxxx or feel any responsibility towards Dublin, anyway , and probably the rest of the country too.
    You think you want them. It's like domestic abuse. Better the enemy you know.

But it's a deception. They're in the coalition, they're also in power. But they're casting aspersions on everything being done and leaking left right and centre to damage public confidence and make people pine for the simpler days when they were in charge.

It could be viewed as criminally unethical for them to be scoring political points at a time like this. The less cohesion the bigger the human cost and yet they persist.

You're right about Martin though, he's the most reprehensible of all of them. I had a colleague like him who got promoted way above his rank and he was the same as that blustering idiot. Not even able to answer one question coherently, getting defensive when anyone even pointed out any errors. He even has the same butchered Cork accent and distinctly unlikeable vapidness. He never said anything that interested me or made me laugh even once time and other colleagues used to say to me that he made their skin crawl when he started to join in conversation and I realised it was exactly the same for me. I used to ironically whistle This Charming Man by the Smiths to myself when he went past.

Last summer there was an event where I ended up talking to him and Michael Martin at the same time and I thought I was might have to commit a gbh assault on myself.

Feeling that I genuinely have and I’d be delighted to be wrong but I think worse before better is a probability....

The government seriously need to get tough with business and business leaders, if it means bringing in emergency legislation and trotting a ceo or two out in handcuffs for six one cameras I’m all for that.

Problem again is the influence big business has at the core of both parties which means it won’t happen....

I can't see that happening at all.
    look at the meat factories ..I assume that is who you mean?

Thing is, pubs have been breaking the rules all over Dublin, and the guards have been shutting them down, and poof, they are back open again 2 days later.

I am not anti Pub, however if they want to stay open they have to abide by the guidelines as regards SD, but the legislation needs to be stronger or they need to be shut...these are so called food pubs , not even wet pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Lol.. what? For trying to make a living?

If you want to cocoon then cocoon, but some people here really need a reality check. The debt is already going to subject the next generation to even more debt slavery and the endless borrowed cash is running out imminently.

Learn to live with this thing, there is no other choice.