Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Absolutely and you felt they actually cared

Ah here Harris maybe but Varadkar not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Goldengirl wrote: »
    At present rate of growth looking at hitting peak levels in about 9 weeks time.
    There's very little growth if any in hospitals outside of Dublin (42 of 64 last night in Dublin), so I very much doubt that.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So if the senior panel are isolating who’s taking questions ?

The Dail cat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Insidious

Does anyone know what the triggers are to move from one level to another? And have we 5 or 10 levels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Oxygen, steroids and antibiotics to fight potential secondary infection are the primary tools. Ventilation still is an important part of how to deal with it though

The WHO say don't get it is the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Really ? You think so ?

It was 6 until, was it a week/10 days ago?
    It was also up and down from 6 to 12 earlier in the summer. In terms of managing numbers it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Insidious wrote: »
    I'm really confused.. can someone clear this up?
    We have 5 levels now.. fine...
    What are the triggers to move from one to another?

It's a secret

You and a lot of people tuned out months ago, that's the problem.

Lack of awareness of how bad this virus is.

Believe me, I understand how severe it can be. My movements have been restricted for years.

But watching the same news over and over and over was driving me further round the bend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

The increase we are seeing now is not even comparable to the almost vertical increase in March...yet

Just edited that for you (>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,918 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

They're meant to be restricting movements I think, not self isolating, there is a difference

I understand there is a difference between self isolating and restricting movements , but there's conflicting reports , Ceann Comhairle said self isolating .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,028 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

GusGus wrote: »
    Really think that’s an unfair comment . It was a terrible interview ( very negative)Basically RTE has decided that no matter what is decided they are going to attack the government.

Well the government are in charge of this country and sorry to say they haven’t done a good job on the messaging part of this phase of Covid-19. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen it here or heard from family the phrases “ I’m confused” Or “that wasn’t very clear” or variations of that. That’s not a good way to be, and yes FF being the biggest party and therefore having the top job had a more difficult job to do reopening the country, it shouldn’t have been this badly communicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,028 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

It's a secret

A secret to who ? Us the people or the government because both seem accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Does anyone know what the triggers are to move from one level to another? And have we 5 or 10 levels?

The country has 25 counties & 5 levels. :D

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,356 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

It's about 7% of what it was at peak. We haven't even approached needing surge yet.

People were saying that @ the start when it was only 1 or 2 ah its only a few but if not carefull it can rise quickly. lets keep the curve flat and not let it rise again or else we will be in another f£$^&&*g lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,169 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The Dail is returning at 8pm apparently

Maybe SD tested negative so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,446 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

The Dail cat?

Clair daly is an mep now.

Cases per 100K will probably be the measure and we have 5 levels. It's level 2 for most of us and Dublin at a hybrid 2.5 but probably borderline Level 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,892 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I felt Leo and Simon Harris had some competence and confidence at least in their briefings and handling of this compared to MM and Simon D

Dumb and dumber replaced by the laurel and Hardy

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

They are but the public perception of how FG handled(I’m not saying they handled it good or bad) seems be holding up. FF don’t have that political goodwill.

FG came across as having strong leaders at the start of the pandemic. Coveney was solid as concrete, Harris was honest and compassionate and Leo (who I never really rated - style over substance) quickly took control and showed real leadership. Every one of Leo's speeches hit the right notes. It also helped them the CMO was a vastly experienced guy who delivered clear and concise info. Glynn is doing a super job but he has big boots to fill.

Unfortunately MM found himself going into government with a band of dodgy buskers - he lost 2 of key allies (Colleary and Cowen), he put the wrong people into the wrong roles (Donnelly, Foley). When Leo won the FG leadership contest he did the smart thing and kept Coveney close. MM on the other hand decided to push his FF nemesis (O'Callaghan) as far away from power as he could. At the end of the day though, the buck stops with him. He's overseeing a shambles of a government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

A secret to who ? Us the people or the government because both seem accurate.

It's a secret to everyone. I think the tooth-fairy will tell us when it's time to move to phase 1, but more likely will come up with a different plan before that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,356 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Oxygen, steroids and antibiotics to fight potential secondary infection are the primary tools. Ventilation still is an important part of how to deal with it though

You do not want a person on a ventilator for too long so other treatments are priority only do when 100% needed

Fine Gael are just as at fault as FF.
    They are not occupying the two key seats at present and judging by polls the public disagree and blame FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    I understand there is a difference between self isolating and restricting movements , but there's conflicting reports , Ceann Comhairle said self isolating .

There all different flavors of the same sauce your still allowed to the shops. There's actually no restrictions on you, it's all voluntary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They are but the public perception of how FG handled(I’m not saying they handled it good or bad) seems be holding up. FF don’t have that political goodwill.

People have short memories. I can remember reading fck all praise for Leo and Simon on boards during the summer, once that first flush of fear began to abate. Particularly Simon Harris. I could link you to literally hundreds - no exaggeration - of posts blasting him: "condescending", "clueless". Leo was trying to cripple the economy, supposedly.

The restoration of their reputation is partly down to FF's sloppiness, but also it's plain old boards short term memory and hating whoever is in charge more than who isn't at any given moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Does it not say on page 15?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭blade1

What's the protocol when a work colleagues son has tested positive?
    I'm not sure if the son lives with them or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Benimar wrote: »
    No, there were 120 cases over weekend not reported. This is 47 of those. No one is really sure why there is a delay but it happens regularly.

It was explained previously as verifying patient details through contact tracing by HSE .
    Can't say that case is confirmed until that is done .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Maybe SD tested negative so

Yeah, is there any danger it was a strategic cough?

"Jaysus that went terribly, time to activate plan D as per the PR plan"