Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

seamus wrote: »
    I'm not sure a limit of 3 households meeting up on an ad-hoc basis can be considered "severe". Yes, it means if you have 4 siblings and your parents that you can't see them all at the same time, but you definitely can see them all. And arguably on the same day - one household in, one household out.

Ultimately these are guidelines. If you have a funeral or another once-in-a-lifetime family event, then nobody is going to give you grief for being slightly outside the lines, so long as you're sensible. So invite the grandparents and maybe 3 or 4 aunties/uncles to your daughter's communion celebration, and have a 2/3 hour gathering in the back garden.

Don't be inviting everyone, including the second cousins and the neighbour across the way into the house for drinking into the wee hours.

And if you're used to having 15 people pile into your mother's house for Sunday dinner every week, then you might just have to knock it on the head for a while.

Your response kind of sums this up. Its aimed at middle aged people. Nothing you've said there is particularly relevant for somebody in their twenties. Everything you've said there is around families.

If I want to have 4 friends over, they have to live together (which they don't). It is severe. Not everyone lives with or has their life centralised around familes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,683 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Journalist - So what additional measures are in place for Dublin to slow the infection?
    Martin - ah ah ah ah wash your hands.
    Journalist - anything else?
    Martin - Leo hit him with the 4 W's

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Either its contagious or its not.

How is having 30 kids in a class room less dangerous than me having 8 mates around to watch the football........

Which is more important to society?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Longing

The plan is a shambles form the start when I heard the restrictions would be in LEVELS. The ordinary folks who go about there daily routine work family and play and here Level 1,2,or 3 on the radio and then here 2.5 means nothing. You see when you hear numbers like that it just goes over your head for most people.

The Government are out of touch with reality at the moment I'm afraid to say. They would of been better of putting in a colour level instead let's say from Green, Yellow then Orange on the Red whatever stands out to people who can simply distinguish the warning for each county.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

AdamD wrote: »

It can't be expected that people severely limit social activity for 15 months, it just won't happen. This plan has a max of 3 households regardless in the best case scenario level.

Exactly, our Christmas is usually 10 people (we are 4, 2 adults 2 smallies), then parents and siblings brings us to 10. But even at Level 1 we are 5 households. Ignore it some may say but my inlaws will follow it to the letter :( They have barely left the house even since things have lifted. Personally I think its no way to live the few years you might have yet, but I respect their choice. We haven't been inside their house at all, we sit in the garden when we call.

Dubliners strongly advised to stay within their county :D

I think that should be retained after covid:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

TomSweeney wrote: »

For everyone in the world, they'll be lucky if 10% of the world get it.

Longing wrote: »
    The plan is a shambles form the start when I heard the restrictions would be in LEVELS. The ordinary folks who go about there daily routine work family and play and here Level 1,2,or 3 on the radio and then here 2.5 means nothing. You see when you hear numbers like that it just goes over your head for most people.

The Government are out of touch with reality at the moment I'm afraid to say. They would of been better of putting in a colour level instead let's say from Green, Yellow then Orange on the Red whatever stands out to people who can simply distinguish the warning for each county.

Ya we all know too well the color of the weather warnings, it would be much easier to translate. Hell a child knows RED is bad due to traffic lights (RED is DANGER, GREEN is SAFE) They don't know what the numbers mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Jimi H

Haven’t been online in a few days so haven’t see the plan. Hoping that MM has personally discovered the vaccine, ended homelessness and free Guinness for all. Am I close?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

pc7 wrote: »
    Exactly, our Christmas is usually 10 people (we are 4, 2 adults 2 smallies), then parents and siblings brings us to 10. But even at Level 1 we are 5 households. Ignore it some may say but my inlaws will follow it to the letter :( They have barely left the house even since things have lifted. Personally I think its no way to live the few years you might have yet, but I respect their choice. We haven't been inside their house at all, we sit in the garden when we call.

My oldest inlaw thinks the government are bastard's for what they've done around funerals, they had the fun job of picking who could come to her brothers funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Longing wrote: »

Yes, the colour coded system would be much clearer - even RTE are getting mixed up in their reporting of numbers for weddings.

(It should read, if we move to level 1, guest numbers will be increased)

526419.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

ZX7R wrote: »
    Funny that when other posters post news or information from other countries your quite happy to be informed.

I've obviously hit a raw nerve. I'd really like to know what you've seen in my older posts that provoked that comment, I'd be happy with even one example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Martin getting ripped to shreds at Leaders Questions at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I didn’t know that hypochondriacs had trouble sleeping?

Some of the stupid comments on this thread would put you to sleep quicker!

Boggles wrote: »

2.9999......recurring. It may approach 3 to an infinitely small distance but will never actually be called 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Anyone watching the Dail? Kelly just ripped him to pieces and he started getting personal.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

It was easier with lockdown.

Just deciphering what you can and can't do now is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Anyone watching the Dail? Kelly just ripped him to pieces and he started getting personal.

He's getting very shirty with Roisin Shortall, crying to the Ceann Comhairle if she interrupts him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Yup he didn't like what Kelly had to say. Kelly relayed what he was told by Martins department and MM flat out denied it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Lolz.

The next NPHET briefing will just consist of Glynn saying "we only advise" 400 times in a row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Number of health care workers getting infected is increasing both in absolute terms and as a proportion of total cases reported in the week.

526421.png

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

If Martin wants to keep quoting NPHET why is he creating a buffer between NPHET and the government?

He's all over the place

Is that right? Nightclubs, Casinos and Discos are to remain closed under every level of this plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

It’s taken a Pandemic for the people of Ireland to realise what a complete waste of a suit Michael Martin is. The man has always been incompetent and useless.

Imagine actually making a big announcement that involves the Day to day life for the next six months of every person in Ireland and having a contradiction so blatant about the level Dublin is at. Simply people are not going to take a shred of notice of this system because it’s announcement has been a cluster fawk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Boggles wrote: »
    Lolz.

The next NPHET briefing will just consist of Glynn saying "we only advise" 400 times in a row.

If I was him I'd just say 'I bet ye wish NPHET were actually in charge, rather than that shower of fcukwits"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,998 ✭✭✭growleaves

Our microbial enemies have opened up a terrifying new front on the planet Venus.

He's getting very shirty with Roisin Shortall, crying to the Ceann Comhairle if she interrupts him.

The look on his face, he was fuming with her and only himself to blame