Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government to discuss right to protest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

There was a thread on "Irish far right " and it went down the path of the alleged assault discussion and arguments. The thread was closed

This thread is about the government thinking that they can decide if protest is allowed or not.
    This affects all Irish people. It's more important.
    Dont give an excuse to close it here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

dan1895 wrote: »

But the mysteriously disappearing "skin flap" was in a completely different place :confused:

That was the self-inflicted wound when they realised they had been rumbled:

https://twitter.com/79_gunrunner/status/1305249825638711305

I think I would protest for the first time if the government attempted to restrict that right

Its your constitutional right. Men in suits who are currently and always temporarily in power dont get to take that away

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

Just a few weeks ago Michael Martin was saying "The rights of people to protest must be respected" when talking about Belarus.
    I'd say protesting a fascist dictator is just a bit different than a far right mob looking to assault anyone that looks at them askance. If anything, they're exactly the kind of people the protesters in Belarus would be against.
    There was a thread on "Irish far right " and it went down the path of the alleged assault discussion and arguments. The thread was closed

This thread is about the government thinking that they can decide if protest is allowed or not.
    This affects all Irish people. It's more important.
    Dont give an excuse to close it here
    It's an example of exactly the kind of mobs "protests" the government is talking about. Don't let people drag this thread away from pointing that out.

Far right apologists on this forum will do anything and everything to stop people talking about the violence that far right thugs mete out. If they can't stop you, they'll start crying 'false flag' and invent lies about it.

They don't want to "protest", they want to kick the **** out of anyone they don't like. And while the rest of society accepts that certain temporary restrictions need to be in place and followed because of a bloody pandemic, these dopes just use it as a chance to push their conspiracies and bring more into the fold. Oh and crib because apparently they're super special and don't need to follow the same rules as the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭HotDudeLife

You'd find more worthiness in a piece of dog **** on the pavement than in that rabble of tin foil hat wearing ratlickers.

I'm agnostic to all this in fairness but I've near seen anyone actually wear a tinfoil hat but i have seen plenty of people wear face nappies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Far right apologists on this forum will do anything and everything to stop people talking about the violence that far right thugs mete out. If they can't stop you, they'll start crying 'false flag' and invent lies about it.

They don't want to "protest", they want to kick the **** out of anyone they don't like.

Lies? You said a lesbian woman was singled out and targeted in a homophobic assault. That's just patently untrue. Some unbalanced rainbow and unicorn cultist with a hero complex went down to an anti-government protest looking to provoke people in order to stage a bloody attack and they got caught. That has been proved right here in this thread and if you can't accept that you need to visit Specsavers or a psychiatrist.
    This isn't Irish woke Twitter where you can spout any old sh1te and have an instant gang ready to back you up and call you "stunning and brave."

I'd say protesting a fascist dictator is just a bit different than a far right mob looking to assault anyone that looks at them askance. If anything, they're exactly the kind of people the protesters in Belarus would be against.

It's an example of exactly the kind of mobs "protests" the government is talking about. Don't let people drag this thread away from pointing that out.

They don't want to "protest", they want to kick the **** out of anyone they don't like. And while the rest of society accepts that certain temporary restrictions need to be in place and followed because of a bloody pandemic, these dopes just use it as a chance to push their conspiracies and bring more into the fold. Oh and crib because apparently they're super special and don't need to follow the same rules as the rest of us.

This is about the rights of Irish citizens to protest. Take the personal politics elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Down in Aus the poor Melbo folks are taking some major guff from their state's leader (Socialist Left faction Labor Premier: Daniel Andrews )
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8729683/How-Melbourne-Daniel-Andrews-repressive-China-North-Korea-lockdowns.html

Melburnians are living under coronavirus lockdown rules 'even more severe than communist North Korea or China' - despite having human rights laws*.

*Victoria in 2006 introduced a Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act that supposedly guaranteed 'freedom of movement' where 'every person lawfully within Victoria has the right to move freely within Victoria'.

This bit sounds like a money tree:
    Melbourne's five million residents are also fined $1,652 if they are outside between the hours of 8pm and 5am - this is despite police not even requesting any curfew.

To counter this money tree, 'Bans on activities which do not involve human contact or congestion, such as golf, fishing, single person real estate inspection are probably unlawful.'
    And Greg Barns, a Senior Counsel barrister who is also the national criminal justice spokesman for the Australian Lawyers Alliance, said people wrongly arrested in Victoria could sue the police using either the charter of human rights or civil law. 'If you prove assault in a civil claim you are entitled to damages,' he told Daily Mail Australia.

sabat wrote: »
    Lies? You said a lesbian woman was singled out and targeted in a homophobic assault. That's just patently untrue. Some unbalanced rainbow and unicorn cultist with a hero complex went down to an anti-government protest looking to provoke people in order to stage a bloody attack and they got caught. That has been proved right here in this thread and if you can't accept that you need to visit Specsavers or a psychiatrist.
    This isn't Irish woke Twitter where you can spout any old sh1te and have an instant gang ready to back you up and call you "stunning and brave."
    You haven't proven a single thing, though.
    This is about the rights of Irish citizens to protest. Take the personal politics elsewhere
    I don't see 'Moderator' under your name. And the mob that was formed over the weekend, that is the subject of the minister making those comments, is absolutely relevant. I'm sorry you don't like the violence of the far right being highlighted but I'm not going to mollycoddle anyone about them just because some here support them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,734 ✭✭✭hynesie08

sabat wrote: »
    But the mysteriously disappearing "skin flap" was in a completely different place :confused:

That was the self-inflicted wound when they realised they had been rumbled:

https://twitter.com/79_gunrunner/status/1305249825638711305

Right, except the cut is in the same place in both pictures...... The "skin flap" is a blood soaked fringe.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭AllForIt

You haven't proven a single thing, though.

I don't see 'Moderator' under your name. And the mob that was formed over the weekend, that is the subject of the minister making those comments, is absolutely relevant. I'm sorry you don't like the violence of the far right being highlighted but I'm not going to mollycoddle anyone about them just because some here support them.

The counter-protesters deserved what they got.

They turned up because they consider the individual protesters their 'enemy'. They didn't turn up to protest about anything. They just showed up to cause trouble. They caused trouble and then they got what they deserved.

I actually think it's quite funny what happened to them. They come across more unhinged than the 'far right' crowd. What's with that full length Nazi looking coat at this time of year. Let's face it - their just that bit weirdo type.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

AllForIt wrote: »

They turned up because they consider the individual protesters their 'enemy'. They didn't turn up to protest about anything. They just showed up to cause trouble. They caused trouble and then they got what they deserved.

I actually think it's quite funny what happened to them. They come across more unhinged than the 'far right' crowd. What's with that full length Nazi looking coat at this time of year. Let's face it - their just that bit weirdo type.

They don't subscribe to your definition of normal, therefore deserve a beating?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

Remember 10 years ago the crusties would be holding rallies and marches for Palestine every weekend? Don’t see too much of that anymore. Seems like Black Lives Matter is stealing the limelight now as the latest trendy bandwagon to jump on. I wonder what their next fashionable cause will be?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,014 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

coinop wrote:
    Remember 10 years ago the crusties would be holding rallies and marches for Palestine every weekend? Don’t see too much of that anymore. Seems like Black Lives Matter is stealing the limelight now as the latest trendy bandwagon to jump on. I wonder what their next fashionable cause will be?

Some environmental thing maybe, climate issues or something. .....

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭ceannbui

jesus, just ban ratlickers from licking rats in public during a pandemic. its pretty ****ing simple. Conspiracy theory is the gateway to fascism, because to believe in the tenets of fascism requires an abandonment of critical thinking and trust in science in order to twist your understanding of the world in such a way that fascist nonsense makes sense. People should stop playing games with these fascists and understand that the goal is to reshape the body politic in such a way that minorities and leftists are excluded, exported or executed

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Antifa and socialists were putting out rethoric implying that were going to use violence to remove the protesters that were outside the customs House a few weeks ago.

https://twitter.com/AntifaSquads/status/1297096078496595969?s=19

They tried to enter a garda cordon but were fought back and subsequently battered.

I didn't even know the protests were organised for Saturday just gone were organised but when an Antifa affiliated mob turn up you know they are there for 1 reason and 1 reason only. Any time these people turn up at a protest it is for violence, therefore any act in deterrence is self defence.

There was a separate protest on O'Connell Street by socialists. If they are true peaceful protesters, that is the way forward. A counter protest in another part of the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭yoke

I think its been established that this wasn't exactly a peaceful protest, of the sort that should be protected by the constitution.

Random members of the public, whether they be gay, lesbian, different ethnic background or whatever should not feel intimidated just because a protest is passing by.

A normal civilised protest would be self-policing in this regard, I have seen plenty of people walk past "normal" protests without being attacked or intimidated, and if they were, then the other protesters themselves would stick up for the random person getting assaulted.

This obviously wasn't a normal protest. More like an Orange Order march, designed to provoke, and where noone is going to stick up for an assault victim against "one of their own".

Once a protest is no longer self-policing, it's become a mob, which must be stopped (by the police).

I'm surprised at the Gardai, hearing that noone has yet been arrested for an assault which happened right in front of gardai doesnt fill me with confidence in their abilities. What the **** are they at?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

You'd find more worthiness in a piece of dog **** on the pavement than in that rabble of tin foil hat wearing ratlickers.

Infini wrote: »
    Why should those who deny reality and perpetuate the spread of a potent and lethal virus be allowed to so without consequence? The Majority of protest's usually have a genuine concern or issue of actual importance or concern. They also have at least tried or mads sure to adhere to health advice because they dont wish harm to society or others but only to highlight issues.

you both miss the point, once the principal is set of what is a worthy cause or not then we fall down the hole of banning the ones we (or those in power) don't like.

If you don't see that , then there is no point arguing with you.
    We all laugh cos Gemma today and then get pissy cos it's your cause next year...
    We have 2 authoritarian personalities in power at the moment coveney and michael martin both would only relish the thought of banning protests they didn't like.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I have no problem with legitimate protests, even those I don't agree with. This lot however are a mob using conspiracy theories to further their agenda. Their opinion as anti-science and anti-5g is is pathetic and dangerous to the wider public.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

While I find it very hard to agree that they deserved ‘ a beating’ , I do not for one second believe that whoever did that knew they were hitting a woman, let alone a lesbian so trying to brand this attack as anything more than silencing a counter protestor is nonsense , and secondly those 2-3 people who went there to counter protest did so to provoke violence and interrupt the democratic right to protest. They didn't come there to peacefully stand by.

However If it was the other way round and you had two-three thugs that were Presumed right wing walking into a left wing march trying to stir things up and got chased out of there with a ‘physical warning’ i suspect the people outraged about this incident here would be the first to say the exact same ‘they deserved it’

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I have no problem with legitimate protests, even those I don't agree with. This lot however are a mob using conspiracy theories to further their agenda. Their opinion as anti-science and anti-5g is is pathetic and dangerous to the wider public.

You people seem to really struggle to get it. It doesn't matter what they believe, once what they believe is legal they have the right to protest. I disagree with nearly every left wing protest you'll find, and think that their positions are often based on lies, yet I'll never say they don't have a right to protest. In a free society people are free to believe what they want.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Allow the anti-maskers gather and march.......... as long as they follow public health guidelines and wear masks. Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

ceannbui wrote: »
    jesus, just ban ratlickers from licking rats in public during a pandemic. its pretty ****ing simple. Conspiracy theory is the gateway to fascism, because to believe in the tenets of fascism requires an abandonment of critical thinking and trust in science in order to twist your understanding of the world in such a way that fascist nonsense makes sense. People should stop playing games with these fascists and understand that the goal is to reshape the body politic in such a way that minorities and leftists are excluded, exported or executed

I don't agree with the protest's message but this sort of rant you have is dangerously polarizing. I think it is beyond far fetched to claim that a significant number of attendees were fascist. BTW belief in science was a huge element of fascism. Fascism such as in Germany or Italy was very much a humanist focused movement, a utopian movement rather than a fundamentalist or reactionary movement. This is perhaps not true in Franco's Spain but Franco's Spain wasn't fascistm. It was falangism.

Absolute rubbish. They showed up to counter protest and, as they always do, the far righters turned violent because they simply cannot hack anyone disagreeing with them. If the far right are allowed protest then the rest of us are just as free to counter protest. Freedom of speech goes both ways.

Says a lot that you think non-far right people exercising their freedom of speech deserves violence being meted out to them, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Absolute rubbish. They showed up to counter protest and, as they always do, the far righters turned violent because they simply cannot hack anyone disagreeing with them. If the far right are allowed protest then the rest of us are just as free to counter protest. Freedom of speech goes both ways.

Says a lot that you think non-far right people exercising their freedom of speech deserves violence being meted out to them, though.

The irony here is too much. Most of the people here against the right to protest for people that they don't like are not far right, they are on your side of the spectrum.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

theres a world of difference between standing on the other side of the street or standing on oconnell street as other counter protestors did and going in to the middle of a group of protestors and screaming trying to silence the original protest. The far left have rented PA equipment, brought megaphones etc.. to anti mask / anti paedophile protests trying to shut them down.

there is definitely a violent element on both sides. But I never see anybody bring equipment to left protests which stops people from hearing speakers or people walking right into the middle of protests and kicking off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭mulbot

There were 3 protests. One on o connelly Street, one outside the Dail, and one that gathered at the Custom House. The Custom House protest was against Government corruption, and the restrictions being imposed, incl masks etc. This and the O Connel Street protest were peaceful and without incidents. The clip of the girl in black jacket included the 3rd protest. Don't mix up which was which.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

This is genuinely hilarious. Kamikaze and her mates turn up to these protests simply because they want anyone who doesn't agree with them thrown off the streets. Isn't her mad mate Doherty the one who flings milkshakes over people she doesnt agree with? They're notoriously intolerant.

keano_afc wrote: »
    This is genuinely hilarious. Kamikaze and her mates turn up to these protests simply because they want anyone who doesn't agree with them thrown off the streets. Isn't her mad mate Doherty the one who flings milkshakes over people she doesnt agree with? They're notoriously intolerant.

thats it, not just enough to make their opposition heard, views they don't like have to be shut down.