Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah of course. In the pub we were all in 15 individual Perspex boxes and kept our masks on throughout the meal. We each took a bath in hand sanitizer on the way out.

Went back to the gaff then, got naked and just rubbed off each other.

Yeah you already made that little joke.
    Lads, is it any wonder the people in favour of opening pubs have failed to convince the government to do it yet? Their level of discourse is abysmal if this thread is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Because he knows, as all of us do, that the reason we have to have such restrictions in place is because of people like him. The Jim Corr cheerleaders of the world.

Yeah i remember it clearly back in March when I closed the pubs.

You're dealing with someone who believes this is all a power grab by the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

You're dealing with someone who believes this is all a power grab by the government

Government to discuss banning the right to protest. Wow, where’s this, China, North Korea? Oh that’s right, Ireland. Doesn’t that just suit the government fine and dandy.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40048394.html#.X19ZQLMmDZU.facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Government to discuss banning the right to protest.

A) Nowhere in the article you linked does it say that the Government are going to discuss banning the right to protest. Again, you're just making things up, like when you tried to claim that pubs were being banned from showing sport and people were going to be banned form talking to each other in the pub.

B) The article DOES contain a quote describing some people in this thread very well:

“It is very unwelcome that people are foolhardy enough to think that they can ignore all of the public health advice, all of the doctors that are repeating the message over and over again, of our national public health team at Nphet, and the Minister for Health and the Government messages, they're ignoring all of that because they see conspiracies in everything, and they just demand the freedom to walk around without restrictions - that is a tiny minority view.”

C) This is a thread about pubs not conspiracy theories. If you want to peddle Jim Corr-isms, there's an entire forum dedicated to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Wow, where’s this, China, North Korea?
    Don't forget Germany, England & Wales, and probably various other places.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/covid-19-protest-camp-grows-ahead-of-banned-berlin-march-1.4340453

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-53051570

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Government to discuss banning the right to protest. Wow, where’s this, China, North Korea? Oh that’s right, Ireland. Doesn’t that just suit the government fine and dandy.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40048394.html#.X19ZQLMmDZU.facebook

My interest in this house party keeps growing!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

why is this absolute myth that once pubs are closed people go to house parties still going on ?

I and all my buddies I used to meet with in the pub are not attending house parties. The only house parties I have been aware off are the ones by the same can swigging gurriers that were happening before covid.

This myth has been made up by publicans to use in an effort to have pubs open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

why is this absolute myth that once pubs are closed people go to house parties still going on ?

I and all my buddies I used to meet with in the pub are not attending house parties. The only house parties I have been aware off are the ones by the same can swigging gurriers that were happening before covid.

Nah, they're just not inviting you.

rubadub wrote: »

As I mentioned before, it's the self-fulfilling conspiracy for these people.

Measures need to be brought in to suppress a virus > Conspiracy theorists claim the lizards are behind it all > Conspiracy theorists flout measures > Measures need to be kept in place because people are flouting measures > Conspiracy theorists claim lizards are behind it all.

It's the same as above.

Don't gather in public places, we need to suppress a virus > The lizards can't tell us what to do, let's all gather in a public place > Virus cases go up due to public gatherings >Don't gather in public places, we need to suppress a virus > The lizards are behind it all............. etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Nah, they're just not inviting you.

This is the type of reasoning and debate you have ?

typical of the nonsense response i have come to expect

The blame and finger pointing culture that has developed is disgusting.

People are not the reason pubs are closed, the only reason the pubs are closed is because the government decided to keep it that way - they chose not to open them during the summer even though we had consistent daily cases in single figures, somehow deciding that it wasn't "safe", yet they plan on opening them now when nothing has changed except for higher case numbers.
    Which proves how terrible and ridiculous the decision not to open them during the summer was.
    Opening them now proves there was 0 justification to not opening at the same time as restaurants.

People are the reason for all restrictions. Selfishness has been the weak link in everything.

Not only attending but FORCED to attend them. Like someone is dragging people.

This is the type of reasoning and debate you have ?

typical of the nonsense response i have come to expect

So you haven't heard of a single person having a bbq? Or birthday drinks in their house? Or mates around for the match? Not one single gathering that possibly had people gathering together probably without social distancing and with alcohol involved?

House parties aren't just something you saw on skins once......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

So you haven't heard of a single person having a bbq? Or birthday drinks in their house? Or mates around for the match? Not one single gathering that possibly had people gathering together probably without social distancing and with alcohol involved?

Yeah it only occurred to me this week that from other people’s point of view I’ve been hosting weekly ‘house parties’ since early June.
    To me I was just having 6/7 friends over for a few glasses of wine and a cheeseboard. It didn’t feel reckless or like I was taking any big risks.
    But to some this is akin to me hosting weekly wild piss up like something out of Project X. People have lost all perspective.

This is the thing of course, many people don't consider their house party to be a 'house party'. They have some wild image in their heads when in reality most are relatively small gatherings that keep people socially ticking over most weekends.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Yeah it only occurred to me this week that from other people’s point of view I’ve been hosting weekly ‘house parties’ since early June.
    To me I was just having 6/7 friends over for a few glasses of wine and a cheeseboard. It didn’t feel reckless or like I was taking any big risks.
    But to some this is akin to me hosting weekly wild piss up like something out of Project X. People have lost all perspective.

Yeah I guess the issue is just that potentially infecting 6 households. Or then they go to another wine and cheeseboard with other friends another night. Those wine and cheese nights start to have an effect ha!

With people I know there is lots of small sensible meet ups happening, but meeting multiple small groups adds up.

People have lost all perspective.

Very true. As long as you are safe and responsible, having some people over and enjoying the company should be completely fine.

We have people gathering in their hundreds (if not thousands) when we're being asked not to and hosting "large house parties" when we are trying to suppress a virus.

These people have also lost all perspective. There will always be those who want all of the benefits of society but can not be trusted to keep it safe for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,348 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I suppose once you know who the people are and officials aren't watching, the virus wouldn't bother with infecting them.

If you walk blindfold across a precipice you might not know that you you are taking a risk. It doesn't mean that you aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I generally don’t go back to house parties after the pub because it’s too late and I can’t handle all nighters anymore. I’d rather get some sleep, get up and go at it again. But I’ve been to and been invited to a load of house parties since the pubs have closed. Some I’ve gone to others I haven’t. On FA Cup final day I was at 2 separate house parties. There are plenty going on. I’d prefer to be in the pub though, less lads hassling you to do a bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I suppose once you know who the people are and officials aren't watching, the virus wouldn't bother with infecting them.

If you walk blindfold across a precipice you might not know that you you are taking a risk. It doesn't mean that you aren't.

You mean the same virus that doesn’t infect people if they have a €9 meal in the pub, or the doesn’t infect players on the sports field if there are no spectators watching their match?

To me it’s about risk versus benefit.
    I spent 13 weeks of lockdown alone in my bedroom after losing my job. Seeing my friends a few times a week is very beneficial to my mental health, self worth, and overall happiness.
    I am significantly less anxious, sleeping better and have a more positive outlook in general since I started regularly meeting up with them again.
    It’s worth it to me and I won’t be guilted into stopping.

I’m not holding anyone at gun point to attend, but my friends feel the same as I do.
    If I get coronavirus then so be it. I know I’m not being reckless or selfish, I’m simply trying to make the best of a very very bad situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,786 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So no wet pubs opening for Dublin on the 21st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,348 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

You mean the same virus that doesn’t infect people if they have a €9 meal in the pub, or the doesn’t infect players on the sports field if there are no spectators watching their match?

To me it’s about risk versus benefit.
    I spent 13 weeks of lockdown alone in my bedroom after losing my job. Seeing my friends a few times a week is very beneficial to my mental health, self worth, and overall happiness.
    I am significantly less anxious, sleeping better and have a more positive outlook in general since I started regularly meeting up with them again.
    It’s worth it to me and I won’t be guilted into stopping.

I’m not holding anyone at gun point to attend, but my friends feel the same as I do.
    If I get coronavirus then so be it. I know I’m not being reckless or selfish, I’m simply trying to make the best of a very very bad situation.

Ah that old canard and you highlighting it just tells me that you don't understand the restrictions or more likely want to justify your own actions. But in case you didn't know - the €9 meal I believe is a threshold that bord failte uses to distinguish between a place that has a snack offering vs something that could be called a restaurant. Of course it does not offer protection from covid but it was used as a means to distinguish between pubs/restaurants and the risk of transmission. It was also a crude method to keep half of the most risky social spaces closed. Similarly taking part in sport including contact sport was deemed to carry less risk of disease spread that congregating and attending because groups of players can be controlled much easier than a croud can be marshalled.

If you get the virus will you seek medical attention? Will those that attend your gatherings do so too? Will they all pay the €200 a go that the state is paying for their tests?

I agree you shouldn't be guilted into stopping. You should be prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

PTH2009 wrote: »

Probably be pushed out 2 or 3 weeks I'd say.

Might give people a kick up the arse. Dont know if you could push out Dublin alone more than once though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

PTH2009 wrote: »

Source?

Might give people a kick up the arse. Dont know if you could push out Dublin alone more than once though.

What do you by a kick up the, who?

I really don't see it happening. Logistically alone how do you do it? All pubs, non food pubs, do you put gardai on the border making sure people from dun laoighre don't pop over to Bray for a pint? It's unworkable.

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    What do you by a kick up the, who?

As bad as it sounds the pub might be the dangling carrot. Behave for 2 weeks and we'll open then pubs

I really don't see it happening. Logistically alone how do you do it? All pubs, non food pubs, do you put gardai on the border making sure people from dun laoighre don't pop over to Bray for a pint? It's unworkable.

I agree fully unworkable, like many things that have been brought in before and its just silly with food serving establishments being open.

Its unlikely they'll open though, optics and all that

As bad as it sounds the pub might be the dangling carrot. Behave for 2 weeks and we'll open then pubs

It's about time they clearly said something like that. Would have more effect than all the pussyfooting around they do normally.

"Cop the **** on you entitled pack of whingers and we'll see about opening pubs and letting people go to events. It's up to you"

Job done, plain and simple. Should have been done weeks ago.