Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government to discuss right to protest

• 14-09-2020 1:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus/covid-19-government-to-discuss-right-to-protest-says-coveney-1.4354408
    The Government is to discuss the right to protest following an anti-mask demonstration that took place in Dublin at the weekend, Simon Coveney has said.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs said it was important to strike the right balance between the rights of individuals and law and order.

“There’s always a balance that the State has to manage between giving people the right to protest and be heard and to demonstrate and at the same time ensure that law and order is respected,” he told Newstalk’s Pat Kenny show.

The Government is to discuss the right to protest following an anti-mask demonstration that took place in Dublin at the weekend, Simon Coveney has said.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs said it was important to strike the right balance between the rights of individuals and law and order.

“There’s always a balance that the State has to manage between giving people the right to protest and be heard and to demonstrate and at the same time ensure that law and order is respected,” he told Newstalk’s Pat Kenny show.

Thousands of people took part in a protest in Dublin against the wearing of masks on Saturday.

Interesting the right to protest wasn't an issue for BLM in June.

I think it would be unwise to restrict protests no matter who is involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Quite dystopian for a Monday.

Thought the BLM protests were criticised heavily at the time

and if something happens a few times its time to take action

of course, if a protest is literally set up in defiance of public health instruction as opposed to any other consideration then that too has to be considered

ie play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

i think meself its high time the right to protest was challenged.

its pretty much always antisocial idiocy from people who contribute nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

of course, if a protest is literally set up in defiance of public health instruction as opposed to any other consideration then that too has to be considered

Not politiclly, they stayed out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

No, you can't restrict protests and at the same time be talking about opening the pubs. If we were back in March I could see their point but not now. I wouldn't agree with it in March either but there would be some argument.

This is very sinister.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Show me a single condemnation of the BLM protests from an Irish politician.

sabat wrote: »

show me where either of ye have answered my point about the difference between a protest that literally exists to defy public health advice

not all things are equal

nb id have welcomed the govt criticising BLM protest, i criticised them on the board at the time

im sure they would be prohibited too if protests are cancelled

victim complex only has merit if the victims arent deserving of whatever they get imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

The government are spooked at the size of these anti lockdown protests, they thought that only a handful of rent a mobbers would turn up but there looked to be at least 1000 people.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You can't say one protest is fine and another isn't imo. Either ban them all under public health considerations or fcuk off.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

titan18 wrote: »
    You can't say one protest is fine and another isn't imo. Either ban them all under public health considerations or fcuk off.

This.

Id personally support a ban on all protests that interfere with traffic or commerce. These people can go to the phoenix park or something.

But yet again its only an issue now because of who is protesting, not a word about the counter protest on oconnell street being bad too.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's a very bad idea for a country to start restricting the right to protest because the Government doesn't like the message or the support for it. Hiding it behind "health" or "law and order" (from what I saw on the brief Indo video people were marching peacefully) is a sinister unwelcome development.

Not really surprised the comments came from Coveney either. As I've said before, I think he'd be far more damaging on matters like this than the weak, populist Leo if he ever gets to be Taioseach.

The government are spooked at the size of these anti lockdown protests, they thought that only a handful of rent a mobbers would turn up but there looked to be at least 1000 people.

yeah thats a whole

of the population

oh everyone is shook by the power of the numbers there alright

nutters all over the world follow the same trends

victimisation complex
    self aggrandisement
    esoteric knowledge as to why they have beaten science

these folks add a charming dash of thuggery and the usual flag waving to the mix

absolute trash collection as a group, zero worth to anyone including themselves

and anyone on here defending them by sideways means or directly- for political reasons or because they enjoy conspiracy theory and self pity above reality and living in a modern community is no better

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

or journalist

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭conorhal

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    It's a very bad idea for a country to start restricting the right to protest because the Government doesn't like the message or the support for it. Hiding it behind "health" or "law and order" (from what I saw on the brief Indo video people were marching peacefully) is a sinister unwelcome development.

Not really surprised the comments came from Coveney either. As I've said before, I think he'd be far more damaging on matters like this than the weak, populist Leo if he ever gets to be Taioseach.

Simon 'The Merchant Prince of Cork' Coveney, is a very creepy autoctatic character that dispises the plebians who he is forced to lower himself to asking to vote for him.

Make no mistake about it, this is little more then an excuse to grant the government the power to shut down any protest that will arrise when the covid bill comes due in the middle of the looming crash that's just around the corner. Water charges and a whole host of measures and bailouts will be on the cards and they want to be prepared in advance to ensure they have the power to crush any dissent.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Vladimir Putin approves this message.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

conorhal wrote: »
    Simon 'The Merchant Prince of Cork' Coveney, is a very creepy autoctatic character that dispises the plebians who he is forced to lower himself to asking to vote for him.

Make no mistake about it, this is little more then an excuse to grant the government the power to shut down any protest that will arrise when the covid bill comes due in the middle of the looming crash that's just around the corner. Water charges and a whole host of measures and bailouts will be on the cards and they want to be prepared in advance to ensure they have the power to crush any dissent.

It's Ireland we don't have the ability to crush dissent or the man power ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Bad road to be going down.

If protest is banned what will the gardai do if people ignore the rule and hold another protest?

Will they beat them off the streets with batons and water cannon?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭hynesie08

The right to peaceful assembly is a cornerstone of a democracy and should be fought for by every citizen.

Showing up with a 2 by 4 and assaulting people who disagree with your stance loses you that right..

hynesie08 wrote: »
    The right to peaceful assembly is a cornerstone of a democracy and should be fought for by every citizen.

Showing up with a 2 by 4 and assaulting people who disagree with your stance loses you that right..

Mostly peaceful protests are all the rage these days

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

I can see a logic in banning them due to covid, but that has to be a blanket ban. You can't go anti-mask protests are banned, and BLM protests are ok for example when both are flouting public health measures, and use public health as the reason to ban them. That's moronic and hypocritical. Horse has already bolted on it too after the BLM protests back in May/June were allowed work away.

If you ban one, you ban them all, and that includes things like the Debenhams strike then.

I disagree with the anti-maskers but i'm fully in support of their right to say it.

The old "First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out — Because I was not a Socialist. Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out — Because I was not a Trade Unionist. Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out — Because I was not a Jew" quote rings true here

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

We need to get rid of freedom of expression too. People simply shouldn't have a right to disagree with common sentiment, or government mandates. As good obedient citizens, we should always obey our betters.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

Think the anti lockdown/anti mask crowd are nutjobs much like the BLM idiots but i would defend their right to protest and make a fool of themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

titan18 wrote: »
    I think you can when that "protest" is just a homophobic mob looking to kick off. At least one gay person was left in a bloody mess after these "protesters" were done with her.

But hey, the far-right got their chance to start some violence again so naturally their fans here are chomping at the bit to defend it.

I think you can when that "protest" is just a homophobic mob looking to kick off. At least one gay person was left in a bloody mess after these "protesters" were done with her.

But hey, the far-right got their chance to start some violence again so naturally their fans here are chomping at the bit to defend it.
    That person has #righttoprotest in their twitter bio

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

There's convincing evidence all over Twitter that that person used some kind of artificial blood pouch then doubled down when they were caught by injuring themselves later.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭AllForIt

What I think one does not have a right to do is counter-protest. Protesting a protest will only result in someone getting a few smacks. Which they deserve. Talk about asking for it.

And then the police have to not only police the original protest but then break up scuffles requiring even more police/resources.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

There's convincing evidence all over Twitter that that person used some kind of artificial blood pouch then doubled down when they were caught by injuring themselves later.

Saw that, certainly does look like a self inflicted wound. That particular person has been very vocal on social media about punching "fascists". Looks like they found the trouble they were after and couldnt handle it.

Others have pointed out in relation to that incident, but ignoring that part.

Obviously, violence is wrong, but that shouldn't be justification under a public health guise to ban certain protests.

I disagree with the anti mask crowd, but if they want to peacefully protest, which some will do, let them at it. Sure, clamp down when there's violence, but that should be the same with any protest, no matter the reason.

You can't go banning certain protests cos you disagree with them. It's all cos of covid, or none.

Fwiw, if it was up to me, I'd ban them all cos of covid. I didn't agree with the BLM crowd back in June and thought they were all idiots, and I think the anti maskers are idiots. But they're free to preach their idiocy just as I am to ignore it.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

The freedom of assembly is in the constitution, hence the politicians can discuss it, but they cannot change anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭WAW

This.

Id personally support a ban on all protests that interfere with traffic or commerce. These people can go to the phoenix park or something.

But yet again its only an issue now because of who is protesting, not a word about the counter protest on oconnell street being bad too.

You're missing the point of protest completely by suggesting it take place in the Phoenix Park

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

The best way to tackle this is first not to outright remove the right to protest but to tackle the actual problem group: The Ratlicker Conspiracy Peddlers and Organisers of these groups.

There was 2 protests, One involved social distancing and masks and adhering to health guidelines, these are the ones that should be left alone.

The other involved bullshìt peddlers, lies and blatantly ignoring advice and the safety of others in pursuit of an agenda of delusion and deception. This is the one that needs to be targeted, fine and charge the organisers of these and not those who have real grievances like the Debenhams workers.