Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭redmgar

IS the backlog of confirmed cases included in todays numbers or are there more to be added to tomorrows tally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Strumms wrote: »
    Yes, leafleting a ok but door to door sales/charity collections in the middle of a pandemic is just shïtty behavior. In the age of the internet organizations can still advertise for donations...

From what I’m reading seemingly now this craic is on the rise as charities/sellers are aware that people are in their home for more of the day than usual. Hence a captive audience... probably banking on people throwing a few bob to make them disappear than be rude.

It's probably a failing on my part but I take some pleasure in opening the door to such people purely to tell them that I only give to charities who don't call to the door. But, yes, you're right, most people prefer not be rude.

kippy wrote: »
    What's Monty Python about it?
    Zero funny about it.

It's definitely dark humour.

Our politicians are saying open up pubs in two weeks on a day we have 300 cases. Anybody with a brain knew they should not have made such an announcement as this was brewing for weeks. It's kite flying by politicians who know they are not really in control of this at all. There is a certain humour in watching politicians talk utter rubbish and then have to eat humble pie.

What's Month Python about opening the pubs where infection levels are low and keeping them closed where infections are high? Perhaps if it was the opposite way around, it might make for a sketch but I'm baffled at how making decisions based on levels of risk is somehow funny or whacky

Announcing opening pubs when we have 300 cases reported( the highest in about 4 months). There was a day in July were I think we had 4 cases but it was too dangerous to open pubs then.

OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

redmgar wrote: »
    IS the backlog of confirmed cases included in todays numbers or are there more to be added to tomorrows tally?

Most in today's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Mike3549 wrote: »
    Gardai will not have checkpoints. During the LOKdown, there were no checkpoints, you could leave your home for work, ANY work.
    Also:

Indoor/Outdoor gatherings

A maximum of 15 people has been set for those gathering outdoors, with strict physical distancing rules expected to be in place, while indoor gatherings are limited to just six people with no more than three households in total.

That was in kildare, offaly and laois last month

Drive thru Kildare while it was locked down and there were checkpoints at slip roads onto the N4 and M4. Basically the two slip roads that if you were taking them would lead you into Dublin or Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    So you think absolutely nobody in Dublin or Limerick would follow the restrictions people in Kildare, Offlay and Laois did? That's a sad reflection on the people of those counties.

Well Jim , I would think 99% will follow restrictions , if nothing else but to get out of lockdown .
    I don't know why that poster is posting such negativity :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

thelad95 wrote: »
    Whoever invented the term "wet pubs" should be put up against a wall and have 100 €9 meals fired straight at their face.

You sound angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Announcing opening pubs when we have 300 cases reported( the highest in about 4 months). There was a day in July were I think we had 4 cases but it was too dangerous to open pubs then.

OK?
    Let's be fair, there would have been parties in the streets and stuff to make St. Patrick's Day look like a toddler's birthday if they reacted so quickly. NHPET were too slow about insisting on masks indoors though over the summer. Maybe having 3 instead of 2 week phases was also a bit over the top but probably a symptom of lack of test capacity available to measure the success of reopening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Yes, I hate that term, what brain cell challenged dweeb came up with that phrase.... what’s wrong with ‘food pub’ & ‘non food pub’......

Whether it came from it or not, it's unfortunately like the term wet-house. A place where alcoholics can drink safely, and be kind of looked after.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

UK Government acknowledging those with long Covid. i.e this who have "recovered" but are not getting better.
    Wonder will Irish Gov do the same. We should probably tell them to stop being so negative. The power of positive thought
    can get us through this crisis.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1303349911220518914?s=20

Will this be eventually classed as a disability if people aren't recovering and can't work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

UK Government acknowledging those with long Covid. i.e this who have "recovered" but are not getting better.
    Wonder will Irish Gov do the same. We should probably tell them to stop being so negative. The power of positive thought

How many of them were half knackered anyway before they got the dose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

OK?

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1303318513931689987?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Yeah screw em.....

You'll find plenty of previously healthy people in this bucket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,681 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

September 21st would have been the week of Arthurs Day!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Whoever invented the term "wet pubs" should be put up against a wall and have 100 €9 meals fired straight at their face.

Yes, it really sounds disgusting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

redmgar wrote: »

Past 6 days: 971 swabs vs 972 cases, so pretty close.
    That's not to say there will be 200 swabs tomorrow and only 50 new cases announced, leading to a bigger number than expected on Thursday. It's all over the place. Media only pay attention to the high numbers.

For comparison, below is the number of cases by the Epidemiological date, which is as close to the date of infection they can get (removes all the reporting lag)
    We haven't broken 200 infections a day yet, it's the backlog that's providing the mass panic.

Epidemiological-date.png

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

That's more Black Mirror in terms of satirical content than Monty Python.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

And last weeek they were telling us keeping pubs closed and limiting contact was important for keeping schools open. Story keeps changing to suit public opinion.
    This is a government which are not in control

Whether it came from it or not, it's unfortunately like the term wet-house. A place where alcoholics can drink safely, and be kind of looked after.

In continental europe they don't really do wet bars like wee do.

They eat a meal have one or two drinks and go home.

Maybe the health authorities are telling us what they think of our "Craic pubs". Places to only drink in. Nothing more with no health benefits after 1 or 2 drinks max in wet bars. Restaurants already open. Similar to continental Europe.

Yes, leafleting a ok but door to door sales/charity collections in the middle of a pandemic is just shïtty behavior. In the age of the internet organizations can still advertise for donations...

From what I’m reading seemingly now this craic is on the rise as charities/sellers are aware that people are in their home for more of the day than usual. Hence a captive audience... probably banking on people throwing a few bob to make them disappear than be rude.

Haha, would stop quick enough if everyone answered the door like Basil Fawlty and said " pxxx off ! " and slammed it shut !

Gruffalox wrote: »
    We could call them "moist pubs" for a while.. :)

Looks like they'll be dry ....for a while !

10% report symptoms lasting more than four weeks, it’s going to kill us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

The other day I asked if any of you knew of any good public prediction models to mess around with.
    None of you obliged, so what follows is your own fault. I made my own.

It's very rudimentary, as is my knowhow with Python. Anyways all this shows is the current trajectory of the virus on a logarithmic scale.
    I chucked in the trend-lines by hand so I'm open to correction on them, but if they're off they're not off by a lot and so the general gist will remain the same - we're in trouble.

525723.jpg

I wouldn't use this to make any sort of accurate prediction of course, but if we continue at our current rate of doubling we'll find ourselves in hot water before too long.
    And of course the data here is yet to show the impact of opening schools, colleges and pubs. I'd expect the doubling time to go down, but couldn't possibly guess by how much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Not much makes sense anymore when it comes to some decisions. But roll on the 21st. Just so happens to match up with a few days in Cork

Ah jaysus.. haha, what part you heading to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Has anyone from NPHET explained why now would be a good time to open the ‘Damp’ Pubs. It’s very difficult to follow the logic, (if there is any). Is there any scientific basis to it or are they just following the mob like they did on masks.
    I have come to the conclusion that NPHET is made up of people who have no more idea about how to deal with this virus than than any random person you might meet in a pub, (if they were open). They are like a blind man with a blunderbus firing off salvos in any random direction hoping he’ll hit something.

If they were , how would they know the difference ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,246 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Has anyone from NPHET explained why now would be a good time to open the ‘Damp’ Pubs. It’s very difficult to follow the logic, (if there is any). Is there any scientific basis to it or are they just following the mob like they did on masks.
    I have come to the conclusion that NPHET is made up of people who have no more idea about how to deal with this virus than than any random person you might meet in a pub, (if they were open). They are like a blind man with a blunderbus firing off salvos in any random direction hoping he’ll hit something.

How long will it take people to realise the masks turnaround was more to do with supply and prioritisation rather than the science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

It make me think of a hospital sluice room with God only knows what all over the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Virgin media news confirmed the death announced today occurred in September.