Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

MrStuffins wrote: »
    He's not wrong. There's currently a virus spreading throughout the world killing the vulnerable. You could easily pick it up in the pub and pass it onto your neighbour.

We can be happy that the pubs are open but let's not pretend we are putting the vulnerable at risk here!

But only if you are a close contact of that person is there a potential risk. If you maintain your social distance then the risk is low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

ShyMets wrote: »
    But only if you are a close contact of that person is there a potential risk. If you maintain your social distance then the risk is low

Sure but the risk exists.

I think there's a way we can live with the pubs open and to potentially keep each other and our vulnerable safe, but we can't just pretend there's no risk. This is how we become complacent and put lives in the balance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Feckin children’s allowance will be all spent before the 21st. Fags ain’t cheap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Feels a bit too soon after the schools open but I'm all for it. Pubs were already effectively open. Does this mean we won't have to get food?

YEP

200.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Cina

Woohoo, let's put the session into this recession!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭showpony1

it says still will be 105 mins limit unless they can spread out over 2m.
    i was in a pub at weekend that the tables were definately 2m apart but were enforcing throwing people out.
    i wonder will many pubs be looking to space out to not have kick people out after 105 - otherwise it's much the same.

I’d be more worried about the cougars roaming around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,348 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

As long as people don't go crazy in pubs like just before lockdown, it should be ok.

But of course people will go crazy and they will be jam packed in some locations, eg Temple Bar.

Its the superspreaders going from one pub to another I'd be worried about. Just wait for the usual Christmas pub crawls.

If you go to a pub, you should be encouraged to stay their for the entire evening.
    I feel that this is almost certainly going to end in disaster. Many Food Pubs were barely adhering to the regulation's as it stands and many were flouting them. This was a decision based on politics not on public health -since if it was public health then they would've opened 6 weeks ago when cases were low, not rising and rising.

So when we have pubs open and widespread uncontrolled community transmission again as well as cases walked into residential care homes, we need look no further than publicans. Trust publicans they said. As my father says they are second only to cattle dealers in the untrustworthy stakes.

quokula wrote: »
    I really worry about the damage this is going to do to the country for the sake of placating money grubbing publicans and morons who care more about having a few pints than killing off their vulnerable neighbours. Particularly as we head into Winter, it's going to be a disaster.

Pubs should stay closed so we can open up more and more things that actually matter safely, as we have been doing successfully in recent months.

giphy.gif

showpony1 wrote: »
    it says still will be 105 mins limit unless they can spread out over 2m.
    i was in a pub at weekend that the tables were definately 2m apart but were enforcing throwing people out.
    i wonder will many pubs be looking to space out to not have kick people out after 105 - otherwise it's much the same.

I live within walking distance of 8 pubs, go figure it out.

That is one rule which they really have not considered correctly, all things considered.

Someone’s after figuring out how to post gifs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

I can't wait for delicious tasty pints with no food! I just hope Limerick isn't locked down before that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭giveitholly

US2 wrote: »
    I can't wait for delicious tasty pints with no food! I just hope Limerick isn't locked down before that .

You better start saying a decade of the rosary

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Someone’s after figuring out how to post gifs.

PM for lessons, I own that shít now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Does anyone know whether it would be a risk to have a couple of pints the afternoon after having local anesthetic earlier in the day?

Have a dental appointment the morning of the grand reawakening, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Does anyone know whether it would be a risk to have a couple of pints the afternoon after having local anesthetic earlier in the day?

Personally I'd be going for a few pints before a visit to the Dentists chair:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

As long as that ould virus doesn't find out, you'll be grand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Depends on how numb you are :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭showpony1

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I live within walking distance of 8 pubs, go figure it out.

yeah great mate good to know - but i don't fancy queuing every 2 hours to get into a decent pub (not any random local ****hole) and also logistics of ensuring you're their for the specific time a match is on etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

There'll be some baby boom in 9 months! :D

i don't fancy queuing every 2 hours to get into a decent pub

Why would you need to queue if you had a booking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,120 ✭✭✭HBC08

yeah great mate good to know - but i don't fancy queuing every 2 hours to get into a decent pub (not any random local ****hole) and also logistics of ensuring you're their for the specific time a match is on etc.

Calm down,this isnt going to happen.

The time limit is a bit stupid. Should be table service with spaced out tables. I can't see any pub attempting to go for 1 meter distance rather than 2 meter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

He's not wrong. There's currently a virus spreading throughout the world killing the vulnerable. You could easily pick it up in the pub and pass it onto your neighbour.

We can be happy that the pubs are open but let's not pretend we are putting the vulnerable at risk here!
    De vulnerable have this figured out and are not going to places of risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

The poor auld curtain twitchers wont be happy :D

What?? They'll be delighted, adds more fuel to their fire

is_that_so wrote: »
    De vulnerable have this figured out and are not going to places of risk.
    You could easily pick it up in the pub and pass it onto your neighbour.

I'm not sure it was my post you were supposed to reply to. If so, you obviously didn't read it, or worse, couldn't comprehend it's contents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'm not sure it was my post you were supposed to reply to. If so, you obviously didn't read it, or worse, couldn't comprehend it's contents.

Delicious creamy pints vs decrepit vulnerable people. I’ll take the pints please.

What a horrible thing to state! Just disgusting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No I just saw a post about some "deep concern" about de vulnerable and a poster who clearly imagines this thing is under every stone. With a cluster disease like this you're more likely to be at risk from your nearest and dearest any day of the week.

How will goin to the jacks work.
    Do you put your hand up and ask permission?