Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are there any universally loved Irish people

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭bureau2009

joeguevara wrote: »
    Johnny Logan for Hold me Now alone. And mcgettigan and Harrington for Rock and Roll Kids. Another time when we were the best in the world.

And Niamh Kavanagh for being world class in Millstreet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

bureau2009 wrote: »
    And Niamh Kavanagh for being world class in Millstreet.

Never knew she was in the commitments.

I know the guy isn’t Irish and I know he polarises opinion but the first performance of river dance on Eurovision (rock and roll kids year) was the most amazing spectacle I think definitely Irish television if not Europe had ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,092 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

.anon. wrote: »
    She's a woman though, so you can be guaranteed there'll be lads on Boards who don't like her.

What a load of shyte.
    Is there a list of acceptable accents before we look at achievements such as Olympic gold medal and undisputed champion of the world holding all belts, never done by anyone. And even though I hate religion, I never formed an opinion based on someone having a personal faith.

It is not the accent it is the voice.
    It is kinda grating.
    endacl wrote: »
    Bosco

Now there was one irritating fooking voice.
    Should have strangled the fecker doing it.
    Dav010 wrote: »
    I’ve met Clarke a number of times, he is a bit of a twat.

I would put him up there with that other Northern success Van Morrison.
    Talented but can be obnoxious.
    I see. And can you tell me where he was born?

Sheen is yet another one from a pretty illustrious list pretty talented and successful ones with at least one Irish parent i.e. Johnny Marr, Morrisey, Noel & Liam Gallagher, Mike Oldfield, The Nolans.

BTW the fianna failers hero Dev was born in New York so also a Yank.
    James Connolly who died for Ireland was born in Scotland.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Joey Dunlop was universally loved, especially up north where motorbike racing is a way of life and he has a god like status within that community. His funeral had over 50,000 people in attendance which says it all.

Once met a guy in Latvia and the first thing he said to me when he found out I was Irish was that he raced against Joey Dunlop when he raced in the Baltic states. Don't think it was the actual race in Taillinn.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 962 ✭✭✭irishblessing

Bono. What's not to love? :D

That stupid song with Cher. I got you babe.

Never heard that one :pac:

Best first dance for a wedding song ever is ‘still haven’t found what I’m looking for’

• Registered Users Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

Gerald Fleming - weather man
    And a very good night to ya

I loved Derek Davis doing the charades game show. Twink was one captain and Dave fanning was the other i think. Jaysus irish tv was atrocious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Phil Lynott was no more English than Winston Churchill played Junior B for Upper Church. If i was born in an airplane does that make me a cloud. Phil Lynott born to an Irish mother was one of the proudest Irishmen that ever lived. No way is his pride, roots and love of this country going to be revised, to say he was English, a place that provided the most horrific memories, where he was in an horrific nun orphanage. At the age of 4 he pleaded and pleaded to be allowed stay with his Grandmother in Ireland. He wrote the Song Sarah about her and how she saved him. Everywhere he went he promoted his Irishness and we were proud of him. To flippantly say he is English, is either to be controversial for the sake of it or just no idea.

And by the way at the time, a child born to an Irish Mother when she was unmarried, no matter if outside Ireland automatically granted him Irish citizenship.

Not disagreeing with anything else you wrote but I allways thought Sarah was wrote for Phils daughter, maybe I've been wrong all these years

This is where my love of Phil shows. Two songs called Sarah. Grandmother song is on second album.

Best first dance for a wedding song ever is ‘still haven’t found what I’m looking for’

hahaha thanks for the laugh :pac:

Or highway to hell, ha

• Registered Users Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Never knew she was in the commitments.

I know the guy isn’t Irish and I know he polarises opinion but the first performance of river dance on Eurovision (rock and roll kids year) was the most amazing spectacle I think definitely Irish television if not Europe had ever seen.

I don't think she was in it. Just her voice singing on some of the tracks.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ekerot

Liam Neeson?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

This is where my love of Phil shows. Two songs called Sarah. Grandmother song is on second album.

Great stuff we learn something new every day I will look it up thanks

hahaha thanks for the laugh :pac:

Or highway to hell, ha

This is the aisle song when best man....she’s my best friends girl, but she could have been mine. There is a comedy sketch somewhere on tnis

Great stuff we learn something new every day I will look it up thanks

An Englishman would never write two songs with the same title.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Imelda May seems pretty sound. I don't know anyone who doesn't like her.

Me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,285 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Haven't seen Michael Collins on the thread yet but I think he is worth a mention.

Another thing that is very interesting is I don’t remember seeing any GAA or Hurling player (maybe Christy Ring) when they have given so many Irish people the best times of their lives. Rivalries aside surely there are some that transcend parochial feeling to be seen for the heroes they are. Mick O Connell, Jimmy Barry, Pat Fox, DJ, sheflin, etc but none mentioned.

I grew up in the centre of the gaa and lived my adult life outside it. Gaa love their own but they can really annoy people outside the fence :)

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭omega42

Jim Corr :)

Just to give a bit of input on some names mentioned

Paul McGrath. Very popular but not universally loved.

As I said on another thread lately I was fairly shaken to hear harsh racist comments from ppl in a city centre dublin pub in mid 90s when He was playing on tv - and comments that he “isn’t Irish anyway”.

Just on Michael d Higgens I know LOADS of ppl who can’t stand him so he’s far from universally popular.

Lot of ppl think he’s full of sh1t and a complete hypocrite and Champagne socialist type

On Michael Muireachtaigh I would say he’s closer to being universally loved but Even with him I’ve heard a few put downs over the years. People saying he is very self righteous and “up his own ass”.

Same with gay Byrne. Popular but lots of ppl thought he was a sneering snobbish condescending bollix.

Christy Moore another popular choice but I’ve heard ppl say he was a NIGHTMARE when he was drinking - angry foul mouthed ignorant type. Ppl in Kildare where I am located have a long memory of his boorish behaviour.

Bono - not a hope of being universally loved. Ppl seem to nurse a special hatred/begrudgery for him

Irish ppl can be a fairly harsh judge!

Edit - someone I’d nominate would be the man who played Miley Byrne in Glenroe - Mick Lally.

I was at a book launch where the guest was Micheál o muireachtaigh and forgot to discuss the author and the book :)

Don cockburn /end of discussion

I grew up in the centre of the gaa and lived my adult life outside it. Gaa love their own but they can really annoy people outside the fence :)

Id understand someone like John leahy or davy fitz but someone like mikey sheehy or Mickey Mackey surely transcend rivalries (picked at random) as I wanted nicky English and Brendan Cummins. But I suppose by very nature they can heap misery on your team

• Registered Users Posts: 28,411 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Johnny Logan for Hold me Now alone.
    What's Another Year was a better song, in fairness. Bonus points for Johnny for taking a swipe at Dickie Rock recently.

Rory Gallagher

Barry McGuigan seemed sound, I know he became a Brit but sure nobody is perfect.

I like Barry , I feel his business is being hit by all the drug money the Kinahans are throwing at fighters these days, easy money. Frampton jumped to mtk recently.

Kerry25x wrote: »
    I think Saorise Ronan deserves a mention as well, very talented and seems to represent Ireland very well in any interviews I've seen her in.

Love her

I like Barry , I feel his business is being hit by all the drug money the Kinahans are throwing at fighters these days, easy money. Frampton jumped to mtk recently.

And spread horrible rumours under direction that Harry had ripped him off. Couple that with the death of his daughter it’s amazing how he coped. He did a amazing interview last week calling out the effects of organised crime on boxing and how it needed to stop. So many professionals congratulated him for his courage and honesty. Until Sky Sports released a promotional ad with new addition of MTK logo in bottom corner.

In the 80s when nothing was good and even as a kid could see everyone happy but broke, him winning the world title and showing that Ireland has amazing people was a breath of fresh air.

Then even better Dermot Morgan hit number one with a parody of him thanking mr Eastwood. Good times

https://youtu.be/yHxrDcAjf60

• Registered Users Posts: 15,761 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Haven't seen Michael Collins on the thread yet but I think he is worth a mention.

Civil War?
    Someone shot him, in his own county?
    Hardly universally popular.