Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Why are we deciding to live with this virus and yet China doesn't even want to live with their own virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

It's crazy that he's now coming across as one of the most sane people in all this, but he is.

Ah would ya stop. He's doing what he usually does. Saying what his voters want to hear. Saying the same things as every regular Joe Soap says on the street and he has people lapping it up. When they hear their own I'll informed opinions being spoken back to them through the tele they feel like Healy Rae understands them, the common people and that he will stand up for them against these fellas with their PhD's and their ould statistics and science and all that ould nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

I would have been relieved that it was a mild dose that I didn’t pass to my wife or daughter, or I did and they were asymptomatic. I am also shopping for and taking care of parents and parents in law, 3 of the 4 at risk, and while we had very little contact, if it had been positive, I would be very relieved to have not passed it to them either. I still think that maybe I could have had it, but best to act and behave like I didn’t.

Yeah that's definitely the best course of action. It's such a bizarre virus, there's so little certainty around it. Fair play for taking care of your family, hope they're all keeping well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

Similar, but Fitbit are only rolling out that functionality, so measurements now are available through the sleep function So give overnight estimates as opposed to the higher end garmins which are minute to minute with instant readings. It works by shining red and infrared lights through sensors on the back of the device into the skin which can determine the percentage of oxygenated blood, pretty nifty and potentially a real time alert system for Covid.

Ah okay, good to know! May be time for an upgrade, any excuse and today's payday :pac: thanks so much for the info!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

No bit of a giggle out of her, is she a nordie?

From Donegal. She's not a bad interviewer when she gets going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I'm guessing from the two comments directed at me you are seeking a row, sorry not interested . Try someone else. Thanks.

No you addressed me in a very combative manner , so I replied . Good bye .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,231 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Love Island's Adam Collard has tested positive for coronavirus after travelling to Greece for a holiday. Describing the way the illness has affected him, Adam said it feels "like a bad hangover".

Posting on Instagram Stories this week, the series 4 Love Islander confirmed that he had contracted the virus, while the friend he travelled with had not. "My best mate and me shared a bed/flight for 4 days together in Greece and he’s negative and I’m positive. So it could be from anywhere," Adam wrote.

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/love-islands-adam-collard-says-110400914.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Arghus wrote: »
    I usually take some heed of the medical experts who appear on our TV screens, even Thomas Ryan, but Luke O' Néill is such a spoofer. He does my head in.

Don't like him either but I'd listen to his views before that annoying Tomas Ryan.

Yep, although there’s been very little said about it as a symptom more recently. It fit the description perfectly and lasted a week or so. Hadn’t a clue what it was and at the time (late March) it seemed silly to contact my GP with everything going on at the time. In normal times I would have. Then about two weeks later I read an article on it and saw pictures and it was identical.

Even took an antibody test I was so convinced. But it came up negative. So probably not, but maybe?

Glad you have recovered.

Did your GP say it was Covid toes, or chilblains, and did he send you for the antibody test ?
    Antibody testing is not definitive , so you may have had it but just not produced lasting antibodies .

No bit of a giggle out of her, is she a nordie?

New co host . Yates gone ..retired .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Anyone here who trains regularly and notices an increase in resting heart rate for a time following a cold or flu?
    Could be just trapped wind,try bending up and down.

deisedevil wrote: »
    Ah would ya stop. He's doing what he usually does. Saying what his voters want to hear. Saying the same things as every regular Joe Soap says on the street and he has people lapping it up. When they hear their own I'll informed opinions being spoken back to them through the tele they feel like Healy Rae understands them, the common people and that he will stand up for them against these fellas with their PhD's and their ould statistics and science and all that ould nonsense.

Just like Mattie..on the news again tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

The scaremongers have now turned to athletes.

5 Sampdoria players tested positive for covid 19. All of them returned to play in most or all the remaining Serie A games of the season post covid. Celtic have even tabled a 10 million bid for one of them!

Paolo Dybala returned for Juventus post covid, playing his best football of the season and earning a nice new contract. Before covid it looked like he was on his way out of the club.

These positive stories don't even get a mention in the media. And are ignored by the scaremongers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The new food record rule is one of the most bizarre things I’ve ever seen

What has that got to do with public health?

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I really think you guys are scraping the barrel here with this argument.

Obviously he had the virus , he is first in a clip about healthcare workers who had the virus on the news !

Do you not think it would be the first thing they would check before putting him front and centre of a whole segment , lol?

Really , you are all ridiculous with your Strawmen arguments .

I am wondering if you are all old enough to be allowed post on boards?

Are ye over 18 ?

There's nothing obvious about it. His test was negative from what I understand. Its 50/50 at best whether he had it. If he had it he was one of the minisule minority of young cases who end up in ICU. There may also be a question of viral load and also an undiagnosed underlying condition.
    We know covid 19 isn't as random as we first thought and the scaremongers including some doctors would have us believe. We know with a tiny number of outliers that it affects elderly with chronic conditions, healthy elderly and younger with chronic conditions in the vast majority of cases. Outside of that you are very unlikely to end up in ICU or dying from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

5 Sampdoria players tested positive for covid 19. All of them returned to play in most or all the remaining Serie A games of the season post covid. Celtic have even tabled a 10 million bid for one of them!

Paolo Dybala returned for Juventus post covid, playing his best football of the season and earning a nice new contract. Before covid it looked like he was on his way out of the club.

These positive stories don't even get a mention in the media. And are ignored by the scaremongers.

Novak D. doing fairly well at the moment, seems to have recovered well from Covid.

It's akin to paranoia at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Gives great ammo for the conspiracy theorists,Facebook must be on fire tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

It's akin to paranoia at this stage

Its honestly creepy as ****

Makes no sense to me

Its honestly creepy as ****

Makes no sense to me

Nonsensical crap is what's going to lose public trust if they haven't already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Nonsensical crap is what's going to lose public trust if they haven't already.

b75be75a88881d8b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Looking grim for India :(

Not particularly considering there is 1.3 billion of them.

A number of NBA players in the US tested positive for covid 19. Most of them were unnamed.

3 players were named.

Utah's Rudy Gobert, Indiana Pacers Malcolm Brogdon and Sacramento Kings Jabari Parker.

All three have returned to play post covid with no apparant side effects, playing as well as ever. Brogdon scored 34 points in a game 10 days ago, Gobert 24 in another.

Doesn't get a mention anywhere. Little scaremonger value I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Even though some of the rules required a bit of mental gymnastics to understand why they can help, many of which I’ve defended to friends who say they make no sense, this one has me completely baffled tbh.

If it’s to prove the pub is following the rules, surely there are far better ways. And it’s not like this is absolute proof they are, they can just copy paste “pasta” in a spreadsheet. Mental.
    Goldengirl wrote: »
    Glad you have recovered.

Did your GP say it was Covid toes, or chilblains, and did he send you for the antibody test ?
    Antibody testing is not definitive , so you may have had it but just not produced lasting antibodies .

I didn’t go to the GP, as sore and bizarre as it was (couldn’t even get shoes on), it was the end of March when everything was nuts and people couldn’t even get the GP to test them, so I didn’t want to bother them with “sore toes”. I self-diagnosed chilblains with the help of Dr Google to make myself feel better. It was only weeks later that the articles came out about covid toes and the fact it was noticed by dermatologists as they never see chilblains unless in very cold winters, that I thought maybe it was that.

I went for the test privately just to see, when negative I wrote it off as me just being silly. But since then there’s more info regarding test accuracy and antibody depletion, or zero being shown etc.

There are so many variables in it that it on the balance of probabilities, I’m unlikely to have had it. A couple of things pointing to maybe I did, a couple of things pointing to probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

This pandemic provided quite a few new jobs - like creating new rules and recommendations. People who find themselves in these essential and powerful positions with most likely generous salaries and other perks will not give them up easily or without a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Anywhere thats been giving lads a few pints here and there without food is just going to write down on a docket, €9 pizza or anything else and if a Garda ever looks for it ( I doubt they will) there you go.

Either way the vast vast majority of open establishments follow the guidelines, its added hassle that makes little sense

Pop over to the pub thread some lads reckon that revenue would be watching for that and it'll be fraud. Absolutely bonkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

A number of NBA players in the US tested positive for covid 19. Most of them were unnamed.

3 players were named.

Utah's Rudy Gobert, Indiana Pacers Malcolm Brogdon and Sacramento Kings Jabari Parker.

All three have returned to play post covid with no apparant side effects, playing as well as ever. Brogdon scored 34 points in a game 10 days ago, Gobert 24 in another.

Doesn't get a mention anywhere. Little scaremonger value I guess.

Djokovic still hasn’t lost in 2020. He’s 7-0 post Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Anywhere thats been giving lads a few pints here and there without food is just going to write down on a docket, €9 pizza or anything else and if a Garda ever looks for it ( I doubt they will) there you go.

Either way the vast vast majority of open establishments follow the guidelines, its added hassle that makes little sense

Pop over to the pub thread some lads reckon that revenue would be watching for that and it'll be fraud. Absolutely bonkers

If the Revenue lads see food down at 13.5% while drink sales at the standard rate are suppressed they will certainly crack down on it and they will know it.

I should add that what is proposed is disproportionate and bonkers. Business are hanging on by a finger tip and adding burdens to them does not make sense. The powers for the Guards are sufficient - the record keeping requirement is a case of punishing the many for the actions of the few. There are means for the Oireachtas to challenge it https://data.oireachtas.ie/ie/oireachtas/libraryResearch/2020/2020-07-14_l-rs-infographic-secondary-legislative-processes_en.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,668 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

This is from the USA today article about the big 10 footballers
    "There is simply too much we do not know about the virus, recovery from infection, and longer-term effects," Big Ten Commissioner Kevin Warren wrote last month. "While the data on cardiomyopathy is preliminary and incomplete, the uncertain risk was unacceptable at this time."

Many cardiologists, "some high-level," Sebastianelli said, would come to the conclusion that the high percentage of myocarditis cases are incidental and “may not warrant any further investigation or any further sort of concern.”

For example, a report conducted in Germany in late July and used by the Big Ten to inform last month's decision has since come under increased scrutiny.

"I think it’s important to know what’s reliable and what’s not and I think there are numerous issues with this paper and frankly it’s inconsistent with some of the higher quality data that’s out there in the pathology literature," Michigan associate professor of cardiovascular medicine and radiology Venk Murty told the Detroit Free Press.

Only one of the 26 programs that responded to survey questions conducted by ESPN on the potential heart-related conditions caused by COVID-19 reported having an athlete who developed heart issues. But the school, Oregon State, said the issue was not myocarditis.

So even the doctor who revealed these findings concedes that it probably isn't serious. Seems like its more about not wanting to take the risk. The big 10 is set to start in October anyway. Other college football conferences are starting this week. So its not even correct to say that NCAA football has been "cancelled".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I should add that what is proposed is disproportionate and bonkers. Business are hanging on by a finger tip and adding burdens to them does not make sense. The powers for the Guards are sufficient - this is a case of punishing the many for the actions of the few. The Oireachtas should overturn it as they can do so of the Will is there.

On this point I think the Garda powers to shut down anywhere thats still taking the p1ss after being given a warning and told what they need to do is fully correct and in itself is perfectly enough.

The noting what meal people have no appears to have been approved by cabinet and signed in via the emergency powers by Donnelly on the 31st. All kept very quiet. This particular measure actually lapses in 2 weeks but no doubt will be extended.

There'll be alot of pressure to have it removed but I dont see them budging at the moment.

It'll be interesting to hear the data protection commissioners take on it