Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,237 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

25% of close contacts not turning up for testing
    50% not turning up for second test 7 days later.

MM about to take a lashing if he listens to NPHET and won't let the pubs open. Well played Leo.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/now-is-not-the-time-to-reopen-pubs-hse-clinical-director-39500989.html

I can't understand why people refuse the test that is free and in their best interests :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

MM about to take a lashing if he listens to NPHET and won't let the pubs open. Well played Leo.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/now-is-not-the-time-to-reopen-pubs-hse-clinical-director-39500989.html

The HSE clinical director trying to scapegoat Pubs due to the total dysfunction under his management.

Sure take the cars off the road and let's all stay in our bedrooms.

What a joke this whole saga has become.

You've had 6 months lads, you pretty much had an open wallet to get us ready for winter yet youre trying to dump your total ineptitude and mismanagement on the publicans.

There are 40 odd in hospital due to COVID,

The state of our health sector is nothing to do with COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭brick tamland

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I can't understand why people refuse the test that is free and in their best interests :mad:

Just a guess but people would have to take time off work for a test at their own expense on already low wages and/or take long journeys to testing centres with no easy way of getting there.

Probably loads more reasons too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,060 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Close contacts appear to be asymptomatic in general, it's pretty easy to understand why people who aren't sick don't feel they need a test. There's a whole host of reasons but I'd guess that's the main one.
    It's definitely not in their best interest, it's in other people's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Election '21. Leo out of the blocks early.

Christ more guidelines, pubs/restaurant's have to keep a record of substantial meals for 28days, no more than 6 people from 3 houses at the one table.
    It's getting more draconian by the day.

Christ more guidelines, pubs/restaurant's have to keep a record of substantial meals for 28days, no more than 6 people from 3 houses at the one table.

:D:D:D

For serious? Hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

If you don't like the Rocks quote that he and his family is 'stronger and healthier' I suggest you contact him. I only repeated what the article stated. I know a positive such as the Rocks is prehaps not welcome. Would you prefer if his family was still suffering maybe a limb loss here and there?

It's simply not what the article said.
    Coronavirus: Dwayne 'The Rock' 'The Toothfairy' Johnson reveals he and his family all had virus
    Johnson said his family had recovered from the illness and are now "stronger and healthier", but urged fans to take it seriously.
    Quote slightly edited for accuracy of identification but he plainly doesn't mean they're stronger and healthier than they were before, which is what you claimed. He means that they're stronger and healthier than when they had covid, you couldn't possibly interpret what he said to mean that their health is more robust than before they had the illness.

"How are you getting on since you were sick?"
    "Yeah good, I'm stronger and healthier now."

You wouldn't take that to mean that it had enhanced the person's health unless you had serious comprehension issues or some sort of learning difficulty precluding you from grasping implicit meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

It's definitely not in their best interest, it's in other people's.

Yeah, their friends, family, coworkers and neighbours. If they weren't so shortsighted they might see that not infecting these people is in their interest.

Somebody needs to tell NPHET to get real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,512 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

101 new cases, 1 death

five day rolling average now 139

R believed to be about 1.4 - Sturgeon just now: "The virus is spreading again here"

Their test rate is almost 3 times ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Election '21. Leo out of the blocks early.

You give it that long? :pac:

Leo is as transparent as they come. Taniste and Leader of the Opposition :pac:

There will be riots on the streets within a month if MM and NPHET don't cop on.

Leo can smell it already and is distancing himself from this madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The 6 people 3 houses has always been in the guidelines, nowhere is asking seeing as you only need 1 contact number.

The keeping a record stuff will be funny to see the records. They'll literally write something like , pizza, chicken wings beside the name. Not exactly going to write down the 3 course meal for each person every night. It'll go out the window anyway when 'wet pubs open

Yeah, their friends, family, coworkers and neighbours. If they weren't so shortsighted they might see that not infecting these people is in their interest.

Were not testing close contacts of close contacts as far as i'm aware so it's of little relevance as they don't need to inform them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Another school, secondary this time. Story buried in RTE testing story.

Just a potential caveat. Some may read the story below and say "Fake news", "twitter stories I don't agree with are fake".
    I've taken the time to quell those concerns by posting a link to the RTE story.
    Some may think it's a government plot and that RTE is fake news run by lizards.
    I can't confirm or deny that so don't shoot the messenger.

Some may see it as being "bad" news. That's up to you. I'd say it's neither here nor there whether it's bad or good.
    We are thinking of people's safety in all of this not just what you perceive as being "negative".

https://twitter.com/DeeGilhawley/status/1301502891396657152?s=20

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1162903/?__twitter_impression=true
    Students sent home from Kerry school

A secondary school in Co Kerry has sent students home after a pupil tested positive for Covid-19.

The school's principal alerted the parents of the students involved to the situation and has been in touch with the HSE

s1ippy wrote: »
    It's simply not what the article said.

Quote slightly edited for accuracy of identification but he plainly doesn't mean they're stronger and healthier than they were before, which is what you claimed. He means that they're stronger and healthier than when they had covid, you couldn't possibly interpret what he said to mean that their health is more robust than before they had the illness.

"How are you getting on since you were sick?"
    "Yeah good, I'm stronger and healthier now."

You wouldn't take that to mean that it had enhanced the person's health unless you had serious comprehension issues or some sort of learning difficulty precluding you from grasping implicit meaning.

Why are you altering a quote? I provided the link form Sky News your behaviour to say the least is disgraceful. You don't like what the Rock has said about his family's recovery instead you make snide comments about my reading and comprehension abilities.
    You seek negativity everywhere you look and even when some positive articles are posted you twist them to suit your agenda.
    Btw I didn't claim anything, I quoted him . You on the other hand have made up things and attributed them to me. As I said your behaviour is disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,237 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Just a guess but people would have to take time off work for a test at their own expense on already low wages and/or take long journeys to testing centres with no easy way of getting there.

Probably loads more reasons too.

Isn't there special sick pay while off with Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Leo has a great ability at appearing to not be in power for the unpopular decisions he has taken and then to be fully behind the wheel when taking credit for things that were beyond his control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Huge conflict of interest within NPHETs decision making.

Their main goal is to protect the healthcare system which most of the members of NPHET are employed by.

Need someone from outside the circle to have an input into this ASAP before them gobsh1tes flush the country down the drain to cover their very own ineptitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Where is our beer count? Heaven forbid we need to wait until 530/6 with the masses!

Hope the source hasn’t been rumbled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Leo has a great ability at appearing to not be in power for the unpopular decisions he has taken and then to be fully behind the wheel when taking credit for things that were beyond his control.

The debates at election time will fierce, so much back stabbing will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Yeah, I would say you need to read a reputable news source about what most other countries are doing with regard to C19.

The way you and others like you post one would think Ireland is the only country to have restrictions and regulations in place.

Glasgow is shut down. Melbourne also. Parts of the UK, Germany NZ and many other countries. Have a look outside your wee bubble there to see what’s going on without NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Just a potential caveat. Some may read the story below and say "Fake news", "twitter stories I don't agree with are fake".

Some may see it as being "bad" news. That's up to you. I'd say it's neither here nor there whether it's bad or good.
    We are thinking of people's safety in all of this not just what you perceive as being "negative".

Why would it be fake, I presume there will be multiple schools sending classes home every week, due to students or students family members testing positive, it will be the new normal, not fake news, just not very newsworthy to anyone outside of the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

Yeah, I would say you need to read a reputable news source about what most other countries are doing with regard to C19.

The way you and others like you post one would think Ireland is the only country to have restrictions and regulations in place.

Glasgow is shut down. Melbourne also. Parts of the UK, Germany NZ and many other countries. Have a look outside your wee bubble there to see what’s going on without NPHET.

Well, that's not true.

I have a friend in Glasgow and their pubs are open. I recieved pictures from her last night, in the bar.
    Germany also have bars open. I know this as I am in contact with someone I met from Berlin...

I wouldn't be trying to be condescending to other posters without knowing the truth

Isn't this part of the back to school plan? Why do you think it maybe fake?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Why are you altering a quote?
    As I said, I wanted to reflect all facets of his character for ease of identification. Some people might not know him as merely Dwayne 'The Rock' but might be better acquainted with his more nuanced roles.

the-rock-the-tooth-fairy-compressed.jpg

Try not to get so cross, be sure and stay positive as mental health is so important during these difficult times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭setanta1984

Glasgow is "shut down"? They have 1 new restriction - people being told not to visit other people's houses indoors. Is that your definition of "shut down"?

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-53989021

s1ippy wrote: »
    As I said, I wanted to reflect all facets of his character for ease of identification. Some people might not know him as merely Dwayne 'The Rock' but might be better acquainted with his more nuanced roles.

the-rock-the-tooth-fairy-compressed.jpg

Try not to get so cross, be sure and stay positive as mental health is so important during these difficult times.

Why would I get cross? You admitted you ALTERED a quote. That's good enough for me. It's shows others what you are willing to do to push an agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Their main goal is to protect the healthcare system which most of the members of NPHET are employed by.

Need someone from outside the circle to have an input into this ASAP before them gobsh1tes flush the country down the drain to cover their very own ineptitude.
    We've had doctors die of this disease, and thousands of other health staff get infected with it. I know you don't care, but I just find your comment disgusting.

What is it with the site today - it seems to have become over-run with Covid deniers, it's not something I am seeing anywhere else?