Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Special place in hell for bus lane abusers.
    I commuted in London and the bus drivers were the best drivers on the road and we always have each other respect and space

You've a virtual zero chance of it being enforced here. Cameras pretty common in London for bus lanes abusers.
    Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,801 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Im yet to go for a cycle and not have a near miss. Im not doing big distance - today was a little over 50km and that's pretty normal, i am yet to cycle 100km this year.

Todays incidents were a double decker bus deciding we should share the bike lane and taking over half of it as is was in it - Dedicated bike lane not a shared one. (I was in yellow jacket, lights front and back)
    Second one was a car zipping by on a country road going within 10 inches of me. Plenty of room on the other side of the road, no car coming against them

Last time I was out a car pulled out of a driveway and I got me some bumper to the leg, managed to stay upright but only just.

Out of interest is my experience normal? Does every regular cyclist have an average of one 'near miss' per spin? Or should I change my routes / behaviour / approach - not than I'm sure it really possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,660 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Im yet to go for a cycle and not have a near miss. Im not doing big distance - today was a little over 50km and that's pretty normal, i am yet to cycle 100km this year.

Todays incidents were a double decker bus deciding we should share the bike lane and taking over half of it as is was in it - Dedicated bike lane not a shared one. (I was in yellow jacket, lights front and back)
    Second one was a car zipping by on a country road going within 10 inches of me. Plenty of room on the other side of the road, no car coming against them

Last time I was out a car pulled out of a driveway and I got me some bumper to the leg, managed to stay upright but only just.

Out of interest is my experience normal? Does every regular cyclist have an average of one 'near miss' per spin? Or should I change my routes / behaviour / approach - not than I'm sure it really possible!

I have a 10 min commute each way 5 days a week and one 50km spin and probably have 1 or 2 dodgy overtakes a week and have rarely been in a collision in 10 yrs and I'm not one to back down in traffic

So far this week my only issue was a taxi driver pulled parallel to me in a bike space at traffic lights so I moved up a bit and he followed me and every time I moved up he followed until we were both right at the pedestrian crossing line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭tnegun

Got out for a spin a lunch today left hook so I followed to remonstrate with the driver as they were on the phone too! https://streamable.com/mlnii7 not smart but was in the heat of the moment etc.

Then met what must be some relation of that driver further down the road in his tractor he had a phone or something in his hand too and saw me late couldn't stop and barely gave me room https://streamable.com/0sjm3t

breezy1985 wrote: »
    I have a 10 min commute each way 5 days a week and one 50km spin and probably have 1 or 2 dodgy overtakes a week and have rarely been in a collision in 10 yrs and I'm not one to back down in traffic

So far this week my only issue was a taxi driver pulled parallel to me in a bike space at traffic lights so I moved up a bit and he followed me and every time I moved up he followed until we were both right at the pedestrian crossing line

I suppose it’s hardly a surprise, I drive everyday on a pretty short commute to work and it’s rare not to see a driver doing something dangerous / unnecessary / impatient etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

tnegun wrote: »
    Got out for a spin a lunch today left hook so I followed to remonstrate with the driver as they were on the phone too! https://streamable.com/mlnii7 not smart but was in the heat of the moment etc.

Then met what must be some relation of that driver further down the road in his tractor he had a phone or something in his hand too and saw me late couldn't stop and barely gave me room https://streamable.com/0sjm3t

With the first clip.....you weren't actually turning left but had to due car cutting across your path?

I suppose it’s hardly a surprise, I drive everyday on a pretty short commute to work and it’s rare not to see a driver doing something dangerous / unnecessary / impatient etc etc

The way he was purposely playing chicken with me was pathetic. I got out ahead when the lights went green and normally would have no problems keeping left and letting someone past but after that I kept my lane as I was going right at the next set of turns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,716 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Did you catch the driver?

micar wrote: »
    With the first clip.....you weren't actually turning left but had to due car cutting across your path?

I was going to continue straight and pulled left when he pulled in and decided to follow.

Did you catch the driver?

No they floored it after that I hadn't a hope of catching him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

The first one is disgraceful.

The second one, whilst scary to see a big vehicle on the road, there are a limited amount of places the tractor can go on that road. It looks like you were surprised to see each other. Maybe the tractor should have been going slower to be able to cope with the unexpected, but I don't think there was anything malicious in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Ferris

One skim today on the Malahide road by a guy with his kids in the car to get 100yds to the next tailback. Started shouting that I was all over the road......

Also 3 dangerous overtakes into oncoming traffic. Oncoming cars beeping / having to slow down etc. I wouldn't mind, i wasnt exactly hanging around.

eeeee wrote: »
    The first one is disgraceful.

The second one, whilst scary to see a big vehicle on the road, there are a limited amount of places the tractor can go on that road. It looks like you were surprised to see each other. Maybe the tractor should have been going slower to be able to cope with the unexpected, but I don't think there was anything malicious in it.

I hear you on the no where to go and probably more absent minded than malicious but he was way too fast around that bend and I was a bit hyped after the left hook a few mins earlier :o

Tis that tractor time of year. Had a pair of young bucks coming towards me the other evening pulling a trailer of bales with a phone to the ear of the driver. Nowhere near as narrow as that video as it was a main rd but still boiled my piss as the potential for carnage had they to as much as swerve or break hard with that load :mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

eeeee wrote: »
    Maybe the tractor should have been going slower to be able to cope with the unexpected, but I don't think there was anything malicious in it.
    I hear you on the no where to go and probably more absent minded than malicious but he was way too fast around that bend and I was a bit hyped after the left hook a few mins earlier :o

Its very rare that dangerous driving is malicious but he was way too fast, and I'd sooner someone explained to him the reasons rather than him find out the hard way. The main issue with modern tractors is that people are still taught to drive them like they are old tractors. My 135 would top out at 30kmph on a downhill. Modern tractors can top out at north of 60kmph without issue, many alot faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

He was in such a hurry to get around you that he actually ended up on the wrong side of the road!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Down at the luas stop at Belgard.

Cyclists in the cycle lane goes thru red light, car with green light almost hits him. Not sure how they didnt.
    Son(7) says car is wrong as cyclists allow to break red lights in cycle lane.

Then 5 mins later, the car breaks red light. Son was right on that one.

People must be color blind these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

stupid passes seem to be getting more common recently

Cars are even beeping and getting annoyed at other motorists who *aren't* dangerously cutting left on cyclists going straight. Seeing this more and more on the roads.

Tis that tractor time of year. Had a pair of young bucks coming towards me the other evening pulling a trailer of bales with a phone to the ear of the driver. Nowhere near as narrow as that video as it was a main rd but still boiled my piss as the potential for carnage had they to as much as swerve or break hard with that load :mad:

What ever happened to having to stop for a herd of cows or sheep coming up the road? Do they not move livestock round like that anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Mac-Chops

Serious bit of agro out there this morning. One skillful taxi driver was able to judge the width of my elbows to the mm in Ballybough, very impressive.

Nothing like a gloomy/rainy start to the day to get people's rage levels up.

Mac-Chops wrote: »
    Serious bit of agro out there this morning. One skillful taxi driver was able to judge the width of my elbows to the mm in Ballybough, very impressive.

I never understood why people driving inside a heated box get more agitated and rush around more when it's wet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Mac-Chops wrote: »

Ah that's those professional drivers for you. They're great lads really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Ah that's those professional drivers for you. They're great lads really.

Thats how you go from amateur to pro - inch perfect knowledge of your vehicle!

(yes I know, not generalising all taxi/bus drivers etc most are grand, few ars3holes same with any transport etc etc etc)

How about the seller remaining legally responsible for the vehicle until change of ownership is complete and change of ownership being contingent on government issued photo ID ?

How about the Gardai enforce the laws that currently exist and ensure people driving have a licence without adding another layer of Bureaucratic paperwork for every other person in the country who doesn’t drive illegally and kill a cyclist. It’s not as if enough laws don’t exist that have been broken here, adding another one isn’t going to stop this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Ive had more close passes in the last 6 weeks than all my years cycling in this country. I hadnt been reporting any, as I have been busy with other things, but Tuesday I had 3 in 2.5 hours, so that was it, I went through my footage from tha last week and have reported 3, one is a commercial arctic, so I got the number from the side of their truck. He started questioning why it took me so long and that he'd have to see the footage etc. So I told him if i didnt have footage, does that mean he'd do nothing, he said yes. So I saw red, Im taking his all the way to the court if I can, we need to do what we can about this, it's really out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,716 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Ive had more close passes in the last 6 weeks than all my years cycling in this country. I hadnt been reporting any, as I have been busy with other things, but Tuesday I had 3 in 2.5 hours, so that was it, I went through my footage from tha last week and have reported 3, one is a commercial arctic, so I got the number from the side of their truck. He started questioning why it took me so long and that he'd have to see the footage etc. So I told him if i didnt have footage, does that mean he'd do nothing, he said yes. So I saw red, Im taking his all the way to the court if I can, we need to do what we can about this, it's really out of hand.

Who's 'he'? Driver? Employer? Gardai?

Keep on reporting.

I had another person drive really close to me yesterday, and this one looks to me to have been intentional and wilful.

There was a small amount of traffic because of a short stretch of roadworks on a straight two lane no shoulder road.
    I moved up on the inside of cars to behind a bus that was first in line, when he moved I stayed behind the bus. We were past the roadworks quickly and two cars went past Fine With nothing on-coming, the third came within inches of me again no oncoming car, when I waved in objection I got a middle finger out the back window. Black 11-D reg car with a N plate. It’s clear to me that they were attempting to get a reaction / intimidate me.

He’s lucky because I can’t fully remember his reg, I would have reported it, and if there was another bit of traffic I would have caught up with him.

Sad to say now that I’m seriously considering investing in a camera because this stuff is happening every time I go for a cycle.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

a chap driving a vehicle recovery truck roared past doing, at a guess, close to sixty, with not much more than a foot to spare. was more of a flash of anger than fright he gave me, i briefly turned the air blue in a loud fashion. not that he heard me.

Seen one almost flip on the N11 as he broke the red well after it changed, must have taken the corner at north of 60 and closer to 80 with a sh1tbox on the back. I didn't even think it could gt to that speed with a vehicle on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Do we actually know what happened here except for the toe rags in the car.
    Did the car break the lights as well?

kenmm wrote: »
    Ouch, hopefully no lasting injuries..

I bet that's at the crossing of n strand road/ Amiens st- used the new path a couple of times, but people fly through that crossing.

After mistakenly calling this one out the other week, I got a bit of a heart in mouth moment. Waited for green man, bus was in city bound bus lane to my right (waiting at red) and as I'm approaching the middle of crossing the road a Merc is going at it up the driving lane (hidden by the bus, but luckily was looking as I crossed)

They jammed on and stopped ok, full apologies etc, no harm done, but one can only imagine it was an amber gamble (IE red) on the lights at the start of the bridge (Ossary road?).

I don't know if the lights are connected, but it seems a risky spot, heads up for anyone using it!

Stark wrote: »
    I was waiting to cross at the Seville Place end on Wednesday in order to head on to the new stretch of greenway. (Where the Dublin Commuter Coalition guy got ran over). There were two Gardaí in full hi-viz stationed at the junction of Seville Place and Guild Street. They were literally screaming "wtf are you doing, the light is red you idiots" at the cars driving through the red light there without a care in the world.
    Police have been seen all over this area (and I mean over the last few weeks, not since that poor Brazilian lad), mostly not giving a fu(k.