Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The phrase is "ivory tower".

An ivory throne would simply be an uncomfortable chair.

Plus it's difficult to sit on an ivory throne when you're hiding under your bed from the "deadly pathogen".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Plus it's difficult to sit on an ivory throne when you're hiding under your bed from the "deadly pathogen".

It is by definition a deadly pathogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

It is by definition a deadly pathogen

It's just a flu bro.

Road deaths, something, something, something.

MAGA!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Glynn has said little risk in school environment, https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0830/1162211-ronan-glynn-schools/
    Would someone reply to him and ask why they mandatory masks then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Glynn has said little risk in school environment, https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0830/1162211-ronan-glynn-schools/

Take the masks away and the risk increases. Take social distancing away and the risk increases. Take hand sanitizer away and the risk increases.

The use of masks would have been a factor in his low risk assessment, along with everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Take the masks away and the risk increases. Take social distancing away and the risk increases. Take hand sanitizer away and the risk increases.

The use of masks would have been a factor in his low risk assessment, along with everything else.

Agree with distancing and hand washing, Ireland is one of the only countrys in the word to deny an education for not wearing the mask.
    Can you show me where Glynn advises faceshields and that the science applies only if children wear facemasks? He never said it, you made it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

The level of drama and exaggeration over “damaging children’s futures” is gone beyond a joke. They have missed a few months of school, big deal. If they missed another full year it would make feck all difference to their “future”. Honestly people need to get their priority’s straight. The entire country should have one target, eliminating covid-19 everything else can wait.

If people don’t like it well pity about them. Schools should not be opening, restaurants should not be open, the law making house parties criminal should have been pushed through, the guards should be doubling their efforts to stop gatherings etc etc.

You can't enter a house without a warrant, so the house party is out the window

So how long do you want to shutdown things for ? Virus could be here for another 2-5 years. Keep everyone at home till then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

To pacify teachers and their unions of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

Have responsibility for religious ceremonies been taken off the schools yet? If not, they should do it asap. Schools have enough to do without that nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

Both mine back today, happy to go off. Its actually really lovely to see them excited for school.

They take the bus so I didnt personally see the school set up but other parents have said it was very well organized by the PA.

Hopefully school can continue fully for the rest of the school year.

Bottom line Irish kids going to school means parents plan for childcare around school hours. We already have parents opting out of the work force because of childcare costs. Take school away and I would be concerned we would see many more parents (lets face it mums) leaving the workforce. I love my job but if i had to pay full time child care for my kids all year round id pack it in. Not everyone can work from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

schools reopening in the way they are is terrible for the teachers imo. I have no idea why people are actively choosing to ignore this fact while hiding behind "child welfare" when it's so obvious many of them don't give a flying ****

schools should 100% not be open the way they are and it amazes me how selfish some of the parents on this thread are. they don't care about teachers at all

You are like a broken record, masks should be mandatory for all in schools. Teachers and students. You would swear it was a piece of nuclear waste people were being asked to tie to their face, it’s a mask that will help stop the virus spread.

We are lucky people with outlandish nonsense views like you are no where near power as we would end up like the US with the virus rampant.

You are like a broken record, masks should be mandatory for all in schools. Teachers and students. You would swear it was a piece of nuclear waste people were being asked to tie to their face, it’s a mask that will help stop the virus spread.

It's debatable, the benefits of masks are minimal and that's in a controlled scientific environment with proper masks and proper usage.

Children wearing masks all day in school, well I'm not sure if it will do any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

schools reopening in the way they are is terrible for the teachers imo. I have no idea why people are actively choosing to ignore this fact while hiding behind "child welfare" when it's so obvious many of them don't give a flying ****

schools should 100% not be open the way they are and it amazes me how selfish some of the parents on this thread are. they don't care about teachers at all
    So opening schools should be about teachers ONLY?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Locotastic wrote: »
    To pacify teachers and their unions of course.

Third time lucky, eh Fringey AKA Sunday Sunday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

I think thats a very unfair statement to make. Parents very much care about their childs education.
    If the dept wants to decide on a whole rejig then wonderful but untill then the students are still expected to know the curriculum, they will still be expected to pass the same exams and follow the same procedures for college entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

I hope beyond all hope that he is right. I fear he is wrong though. Time will be the decider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Picked my grandchild up at 3 . All went really well and all had happy little smiles skipping out . She knows about hand washing , sanitizer , pods and yard etc all done in song . Fair play to her teacher and principal they have it will oiled and all cogs in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭facehugger99

We probably don't care too much about it TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭combat14

interesting to see Covid-19 incidence rate in Ireland higher than Sweden’s for first time - gives an indication of how we are doing the last while

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-incidence-rate-in-ireland-higher-than-sweden-s-for-first-time-1.4342896?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

combat14 wrote: »
    interesting to see Covid-19 incidence rate in Ireland higher than Sweden’s for first time - gives an indication of how we are doing the last while

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-incidence-rate-in-ireland-higher-than-sweden-s-for-first-time-1.4342896?mode=amp

Maybe it's an indication of how they are doing rather than how we are doing-

One of the World Health Organisation’s six special envoys on Covid-19 has highlighted Sweden’s virus response as a model that other countries should be emulating in the long run.

Dr David Nabarro, speaking in a radio interview in New Zealand, said, “For all countries, the real approach we’ve got to aim for is through behaviour that’s adopted everywhere.”

Dr Nabarro said the key to a sustainable coronavirus strategy is trust, and pointed to Sweden as a case in point. The Nordic nation imposed far fewer restrictions on movement than others, and instead relied on Swedes to act responsibly and embrace the guidelines laid out by the country’s health authorities.

“In Sweden, the government was able to trust the public and the public was able to trust the government,” Dr Nabarro told Magic Talk.

Sweden’s Covid-19 death rate is considerably higher than in many other countries, at 57 per 100,000. But the pace of new infections and deaths has slowed markedly since the end of June. The development prompted Sweden’s national health agency to propose raising the limit on certain public gatherings to 500 people from 50.

In contrast, other governments around the world are once again imposing stricter measures amid a resurgence in cases.

Dr Nabarro described a lockdown as “a blunt instrument” that “really bites into the livelihoods of everybody, particularly poorer people and small businesses.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

pwurple wrote: »
    There's a whiff of privilege off that post. I'm alright Jack is it?

I'm sure if you have mamai sa chistin agus dad on fulltime work-from-home, with fibre broadband and shopping delivered, you're fine with school open or closed.

If you're in a deis area, where the children were being FED actual food at school, it's a different story.

If your family relies on social supports (IE school is the only place they are not hopped off the wall), you're in trouble.

If your child needs intensive support to maintain how they function, you're in bad shape.

If you're in rural ireland with your first chance of getting to college and meet some like minded peers, you're stuck at home on the farm. Putting young adults lives on hold for years? Putting their own home and career out of reach for a longer time.

And don't pooh pooh that childcare aspect either. I have colleagues in healthcare who are having nervous breakdowns from sleep deprivation because they are working nightshifts and coming home to full time childcare.

Even beyond the personal impact on workers, the impact on us is important. If people can't work, they can't create income that gets taxed. Exchequer funds are meaningless to some, but with an eye on the bigger picture, the longer this goes on, the less people can work, the longer we will all be paying for it. Say bye bye to a chunk of your pensions, hello cuts to social welfare, see ya later arts programs, cuts to the gardai etc etc etc.

School is absolutely integral to our society. It's how we stop the poor getting poorer. It's how we prevent future societal breakdown. it's how we support each other, especially those who badly NEED that support.

Excellant post.

Kildare lockdown lifted now, looks like they are back on top of things there. Testing and tracing doing it's job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

At the moment it looks like a new mutated strain that is weaker.
    All stats in Europe show this so far.

There is absolutely no evidence of that.

No concrete evidence yet but several medical professionals have suggested that the virus is weaker than March/April as in that its not effecting people as badly or the viral load in patients is less. I guess we'll know eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Locotastic wrote: »
    No concrete evidence yet but several medical professionals have suggested that the virus is weaker than March/April as in that its not effecting people as badly or the viral load in patients is less. I guess we'll know eventually.

There are three reasons why the virus seems "weaker":

1 - More testing. So more cases are revealed, thus reducing the appearance that the virus is as deadly. Earlier this year there were many unrevealed cases and the situation did not seem to be as serious as it was.

2, 3 - The combination of wearing masks with social distancing are working. This is reducing the viral load of those infected and those becoming infected and thus the virus appears weaker.

Again ZERO international evidence has been proven that the virus is "weaker" than earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

sideswipe wrote: »
    Maybe it's an indication of how they are doing rather than how we are doing-

One of the World Health Organisation’s six special envoys on Covid-19 has highlighted Sweden’s virus response as a model that other countries should be emulating in the long run.

Dr David Nabarro, speaking in a radio interview in New Zealand, said, “For all countries, the real approach we’ve got to aim for is through behaviour that’s adopted everywhere.”

Dr Nabarro said the key to a sustainable coronavirus strategy is trust, and pointed to Sweden as a case in point. The Nordic nation imposed far fewer restrictions on movement than others, and instead relied on Swedes to act responsibly and embrace the guidelines laid out by the country’s health authorities.

“In Sweden, the government was able to trust the public and the public was able to trust the government,” Dr Nabarro told Magic Talk.

Sweden’s Covid-19 death rate is considerably higher than in many other countries, at 57 per 100,000. But the pace of new infections and deaths has slowed markedly since the end of June. The development prompted Sweden’s national health agency to propose raising the limit on certain public gatherings to 500 people from 50.

In contrast, other governments around the world are once again imposing stricter measures amid a resurgence in cases.

Dr Nabarro described a lockdown as “a blunt instrument” that “really bites into the livelihoods of everybody, particularly poorer people and small businesses.”

Pace of new infections dropped when school summer hols started. Be interesting to see what happens now schools are back.

All eyes on sweden for the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭yoshimitsu

There are three reasons why the virus seems "weaker":

1 - More testing. So more cases are revealed, thus reducing the appearance that the virus is as deadly. Earlier this year there were many unrevealed cases and the situation did not seem to be as serious as it was.

2, 3 - The combination of wearing masks with social distancing are working. This is reducing the viral load of those infected and those becoming infected and thus the virus appears weaker.

Again ZERO international evidence has been proven that the virus is "weaker" than earlier this year.

This.

Back in April tests were scarce and you would get tested only if showing multiple symptoms and/or you had confirmed contacts with somebody infected. Now tests are administered in workplaces, airports, schools (ehm, not here in ireland though) so you are bound to find more of these asymptomatic, otherwise healthy people.

This goes hand in hand with another stat that many people misinterpret: average age of those found to be infected is lower than it was in April. Again, have heard the "it's another strain that now hits the young" in reality the young get tested a lot more than they did in April. Back then priority was testing older, more vulnerable folks.

Also the point made earlier about healthcare systems now being able to cope. Back in April there were many cases of doctors having to chose who to treat and who to leave to their own destiny because there simply werent enough ICU beds to treat all COVID patients. This was definitely a factor that contributed to the high death numbers in Northern Italy in March/April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭combat14

just seen a school gym on the rte news converted into a classroom or as advertised 6 classrooms but it is still effectively the one room all sharing the same air.. is that the norm.. and how is it not breaching guidelines!

could have a wedding with a couple hundred at it if hotels did the same thing to large room!

How is it that despite us exiting lockdown some time ago now and all of our increased testing, increased numbers travelling etc that we haven't seen a massive increase in cases or deaths?