Do any careers still enjoy high social status in Ireland today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

It's great to see Irish people become more and more educated/qualified. Education is key to balancing social inequality imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

As long as you are not a straight white male you’ll do great these days

Dry your eyes ffs

Grow up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    It's great to see Irish people become more and more educated/qualified. Education is key to balancing social inequality imo.

It isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭Feisar

GooglePlus wrote: »
    I've a few gay friends and they seem to be doing a lot better than the rest of our group but they have their head screwed on, so it's their own doing.

Women send us straight lads stupid.

True that but god damn them curves...

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

For every 250 people there is a registered charity. Does that make you head spin?

Government spends 5.5bn a year handing out cash to them. They are all part of massive clique.

Spunout.ie sums it up. A website Founded by a guy call Ruairi Mckiernan, who weaseled his way onto the Presidents Council of State. Chairman of the Board - Chris Donoghue, formerly of Newstalk and now working for Simon Coveney. Their twitter page get f**k all interactions. The same person liking and retweeting the posts (he just happens to work there)
    https://twitter.com/SpunOut?s=09

Over 80% of their funding comes from Government (over 500k), from 3 different departments. Wages account for 63% of their spending (420k). All that for a website and twitter page that nobody looks at.

There are tons and tons of Spunouts floating about. And the same names and office addresses seem to pop up all of the time. They'll say their CEO only earns 60k or so but you can bet your bottom that the CEO has their fingers on a second or third NGO/Charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭Hijpo

To be fair, poster has a point. Straight white males are un-balancing diversity and inclusion.
    Who has ever heard of the bad ass straight white working father who has the power and confidence to run the world no matter what he wears, how he looks or what gender they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Lidl cashiers were lauded as the greatest heroes in society there for a while, but I don’t think it lasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Carers spring to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Imo there aren't any.
    To have any 'prestige' in my eyes you do your job honourably and efficiently.

We have teacher, garda I, judges politicians betc that have shown themselves to be a disgrace to their so-called profession.

There are bad apples in every profession. you are taking about a tiny number of bad apples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Nurses, doctors, ambulance drivers and those in the fire service are the people I would have most respect for regarding their choice of career.

In my experience most doctors become doctors for the money and status.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

The good old road frontage seems to be back in fashion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

pgj2015 wrote: »
    In my experience most doctors become doctors for the money and status.

I think they exchanged personality types with Dentists. Dentists used to have the bad rep for status and money.

From my experience, my dentist is pretty flexible in that if she thought the job isn't wasnt as big as she thought, she wouldn't charge the price advertised. Whereas if I went to my doctor with a cold and all I wanted was a sick note for work and for him to tell me what I already know, a bit of lemsip, vitamin C and some rest, I'm still getting charged that €60.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

I have respect for anyone who their job to the best of their capabilities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Maybe vets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,435 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Feisar wrote: »
    Doctors still do IMO.

I read these two posts and thought what about all those doctors who are from the Indian sub continent in Ireland, or who have parents from that sub continent?

https://www.tuh.ie/Consultants/Dr-Karthikeyan-Srinivasan.html

Plus Leo Varadradkar became Taoiseach how can anyone ignore that!

Plus Rotimi Adebari (from Nigeria) was elected Mayor of Portlaoise in 2007.

Also Ireland has had Jewish TD's Briscoes, Shatter and so on throught the history of the state .

Ireland has top class lecturers from places as varied as Sudan.
    Like Abdullahi El-Tom who lectures anthropology in Maynooth university

https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/people/abdullahi-el-tom

Plus only recently we have seen Hazel Chu elected Lord Mayor of Dublin

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/green-party-s-hazel-chu-elected-lord-mayor-of-dublin-1.4291870

I believe 'straight white male' myth is an American construct which has seeped into the English speaking worlds lexicon without any real thought.

As regards as what career as social status (the OP's question), yeah you could say Law, Medicine, Science, High End IT.
    But I honestly think social status is really high in those who have to work thier way up from nothing, these days. As those who were born into status only seem to have reflected glory.
    Another factor in high social status is the contacts people make.

So if you take all these things together:

1) Working in a top field such as Medicine
    2) Coming from nothing and being a success
    3) Being an emigrant or children of an emigrant in Ireland
    4) Many high profile contacts made in both personal and professional life

If you have all of these four criteria you will have the ultimate social status, and more importantly respect in Ireland.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Antares35 wrote: »
    Maybe vets?

Getting harder to find vets who want to work with large, sometimes dangerous, farm animals.
    The money is in looking after people's pets, cute kitties and chihuahuas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Getting harder to find vets who want to work with large, sometimes dangerous, farm animals.
    The money is in looking after people's pets, cute kitties and chihuahuas.

True. Find them more expensive than human doctors at times! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Engineer. lmao. Try explaining to the average shmuck you have never touched a car engine or that fixing their computer/washing machine/boiler isn't what an actual engineer does at all

When I started Mech Eng in the introductory lecture thing the head of the course said 'I hope none of you think you're here to learn how to fix cars'. A guy got up and walked out and was never seen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

kowloon wrote: »
    When I started Mech Eng in the introductory lecture thing the head of the course said 'I hope none of you think you're here to learn how to fix cars'. A guy got up and walked out and was never seen again.

Eejit should have known that before he ever walked in the door.

kowloon wrote: »
    Eejit should have known that before he ever walked in the door.

A chap I went to school with started mech eng in college, he did a year or two of it, might have gotten a cert ..... anyway he was always complaining how it wasn't practical enough. Not, not practical enough for him, but as a course .... as in there was something fundamentally wrong with the curriculum. He went off and became a mechanical fitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,039 ✭✭✭BrianD3

It doesn't matter how many scandals there are - as long as politicians, solicitors, judges, doctors etc. earn (or are thought to earn) great money then their status will persist.

Professional bodies will see to it that the market is not flooded with new entrants, reducing status and incomes. If every third level institution linked up with a hospital and started offered accredited medical degrees, CAO points would drop as would status and money. That won't be allowed to happen.

In a skewed way, a "badass" professional or politician may actually have a higher social status than someone more "respectable".

How many scandals has Michael Lowry been involved in at this stage? How many times has he topped the poll?

The best way to judge a man's social status is to look at how women behave around him. Solicitors, doctors, rich publicans and niteclub owners, politicians, GAA stars etc. - generally up to their necks in p*ssy, no matter how much of an asshole they are.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    ..... politicians......... generally up to their necks in p*ssy.................

I don't think that's true, fair enough most are married but is that "up to their necks in p*ssy" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Saying you work in IT automatically means that you can "fix" someone's computer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Political Careers

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Doctor, Nurse, Emergency services, Teachers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

High-earning jobs in "Tech" MNCs and Aviation Leasing, and to a lesser extent Pharma MNCs, were the big newcomers to high social status in recent years. They had the very high salaries to buy the houses in desirable areas that the older professional elites are less and less able to afford.
    How that develops with things like Covid taking the wheels off Aviation Leasing and tax harmonisation challenging our FDI model is anyone's guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,077 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Why do People attach social status to employment. It’s an outdated notion.

Similarly I can’t understand why people tie their self worth and value ton heir own employment.

Employment is just a means to supply the lifestyle we want. If that’s digging a ditch or brain surgery doesn’t mean either person is better than the other.

Sooner we just see people as people and take them at face value the sooner society will be better for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Social Influencer.

sorry - did you mean real jobs? suscribers are the new currency baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Doc07

BrianD3 wrote: »
    It doesn't matter how many scandals there are - as long as politicians, solicitors, judges, doctors etc. earn (or are thought to earn) great money then their status will persist.

Professional bodies will see to it that the market is not flooded with new entrants, reducing status and incomes. If every third level institution linked up with a hospital and started offered accredited medical degrees, CAO points would drop as would status and money. That won't be allowed to happen.

In a skewed way, a "badass" professional or politician may actually have a higher social status than someone more "respectable".

How many scandals has Michael Lowry been involved in at this stage? How many times has he topped the poll?

The best way to judge a man's social status is to look at how women behave around him. Solicitors, doctors, rich publicans and niteclub owners, politicians, GAA stars etc. - generally up to their necks in p*ssy, no matter how much of an asshole they are.

Be careful what you wish for. I’m as cynical as the next man but not everything in life is a cartel. Every hospital in Ireland fit for training medical students is already hooked up with a university. We have plenty of Med schools in Ireland. Seven on a small island is loads. Quantity definitely does not equal quality for Med schools.

I’m embarrassed to admit that the ‘up to your neck in pu&&y’ remark was probably accurate in the 00’s at least if you wanted to be

LawBoy2018 wrote: »

+1 Its been a great leveller.