ThewhiteJesus wrote: » As long as you are not a straight white male you’ll do great these days
LawBoy2018 wrote: » It's great to see Irish people become more and more educated/qualified. Education is key to balancing social inequality imo.
GooglePlus wrote: » I've a few gay friends and they seem to be doing a lot better than the rest of our group but they have their head screwed on, so it's their own doing.Women send us straight lads stupid.
skooterblue2 wrote: » For every 250 people there is a registered charity. Does that make you head spin?
Rubberchikken wrote: » Imo there aren't any. To have any 'prestige' in my eyes you do your job honourably and efficiently.We have teacher, garda I, judges politicians betc that have shown themselves to be a disgrace to their so-called profession.
Rows Grower wrote: » Nurses, doctors, ambulance drivers and those in the fire service are the people I would have most respect for regarding their choice of career.
pgj2015 wrote: » In my experience most doctors become doctors for the money and status.
Feisar wrote: » Doctors still do IMO.
Antares35 wrote: » Maybe vets?
whisky_galore wrote: » Getting harder to find vets who want to work with large, sometimes dangerous, farm animals. The money is in looking after people's pets, cute kitties and chihuahuas.
smellyoldboot wrote: » Engineer. lmao. Try explaining to the average shmuck you have never touched a car engine or that fixing their computer/washing machine/boiler isn't what an actual engineer does at all
kowloon wrote: » When I started Mech Eng in the introductory lecture thing the head of the course said 'I hope none of you think you're here to learn how to fix cars'. A guy got up and walked out and was never seen again.
whisky_galore wrote: » Eejit should have known that before he ever walked in the door.
BrianD3 wrote: » ..... politicians......... generally up to their necks in p*ssy.................
BrianD3 wrote: » It doesn't matter how many scandals there are - as long as politicians, solicitors, judges, doctors etc. earn (or are thought to earn) great money then their status will persist. Professional bodies will see to it that the market is not flooded with new entrants, reducing status and incomes. If every third level institution linked up with a hospital and started offered accredited medical degrees, CAO points would drop as would status and money. That won't be allowed to happen. In a skewed way, a "badass" professional or politician may actually have a higher social status than someone more "respectable". How many scandals has Michael Lowry been involved in at this stage? How many times has he topped the poll? The best way to judge a man's social status is to look at how women behave around him. Solicitors, doctors, rich publicans and niteclub owners, politicians, GAA stars etc. - generally up to their necks in p*ssy, no matter how much of an asshole they are.