Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 962 ✭✭✭irishblessing

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    Primary school children wouldnt be wearing masks?

Mine will be. According to very recent chats with other parents many of their kids will be too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    Primary school children wouldnt be wearing masks?

Not mandatory in Primary but our daughter will be wearing one in the School Building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,789 ✭✭✭✭josip

So when a kid is showing symptoms and is sent home from school.
    1. Do they have to get a test (and results) before they are allowed back to school ?
    2. Are the rest of the class allowed continue until the test results are known?
    3. If a kid tests positive, is it the pod/class/school that then goes into quarantine for 14 days?
    4. Are any of the above the same for the country or is it up to each individual school to decide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,463 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Took the kids to school this morning only to see dozens of parents were just standing there crowding around the school gate and chatting away while the kids were trying to get in past them. Absolute morons of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Took the kids to school this morning only to see dozens of parents were just standing there crowding around the school gate and chatting away while the kids were trying to get in past them. Absolute morons of the highest order.

Did you say anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭PCros

See this is the stuff I hate, I'll probably lose my shít tomorrow if that's the case for my kids school - I'll probably steam train through them!

Principal around at all to move them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,463 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

jrosen wrote: »
    Did you say anything?

I didn't go near the gate. I let the kids walk the last 50 metres to the school like we were told to do. I did message the school about it. They'll "monitor" it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

Well, did the drop off for my two this morning. Four class years were being dropped off at 8.40, with the other four at 8.50. They were really clear that if you had siblings with different drop off times, bring them both to the later time. They really didn't want parents hanging around at the gate. Given it was the first day, myself and my husband dropped them separately, since the younger one is only in senior infants and I didn't want her to have to find her own way from the gate to her queue.

A few things struck me and I'm hoping it was because it was just the first day. There's a sort of grassy knoll set back from the school gate, and there was a big crowd of parents and kids there at 8.45 - parents with the later drop off kids waiting for their time to go in. Most parents were wearing masks but there wasn't much social distancing and it seemed more crowded then when you just have to drop them all off at 8.40.

Secondly, because you have to drop them at the gate and then they follow a painted line to their class queue in the yard, there was masses of parents at the school railings making sure their children found the right queue. The principal had a loudspeaker and had to say a few times for parents to head off home, the kids were fine, that they had to keep 2m social distancing etc. It probably won't be like that tomorrow.

PCros wrote: »
    See this is the stuff I hate, I'll probably lose my shít tomorrow if that's the case for my kids school - I'll probably steam train through them!

Principal around at all to move them?

Id be the same, id make it my business to call them out if they were in front of an access point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭cuculainn

Mine will be. According to very recent chats with other parents many of their kids will be too.
    SusanC10 wrote: »
    Not mandatory in Primary but our daughter will be wearing one in the School Building.

Just curious as to the reasoning behind this,

are you making them wear the mask to prevent them spreading to the other kids or to reduce the chances of catching from other kids?

The mantra still seems to be that masks dont prevent you getting the virus, just reduces the chance of spreading it.

we have two kids starting back and havent made a decision around the mask.

I do think once the mask comes off and on repeatedly the benefit is minimal....but i think it also helps remind people that they need to take precautions......just not sure kids will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,856 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

JDD wrote: »
    Most parents were wearing masks but there wasn't much social distancing and it seemed more crowded then when you just have to drop them all off at 8.40.

Unfortunately it looks like social distancing is a thing of the past going by what I'm seeing when I'm out and about.

cuculainn wrote: »

are you making them wear the mask to prevent them spreading to the other kids or to reduce the chances of catching from other kids?

The mantra still seems to be that masks dont prevent you getting the virus, just reduces the chance of spreading it.

I do think once the mask comes off and on repeatedly the benefit is minimal....but i think it also helps remind people that they need to take precautions......just not sure kids will

We all know they're not N95 masks... But if my kid wears one and your kid wears one then collectively they're more protected, including the teacher. I'm hoping we can get most of the parents/kids on board to wear them in my children's classes. I'm not confident my kids will remember not to touch the front of their masks, or to not touch their face, or to sanitise after the bathroom because they opened a door after washing hands... etc etc. It's all very stressful thinking about tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

See this is my thinking on it. Masks are really only beneficial if the majority of the children in the class are wearing them. Cloth/disposable masks catch most of the large droplets/aerosol droplets expelled when you breath out, but won't prevent you from breathing in aerosol droplets. So if only two or three or five kids are wearing them in the class, they're kind of useless.

I put a mask in my 5 year old's coat pocket this morning, because she asked to bring it. But I don't expect her to wear it and even if she does, it probably won't be for longer than five minutes.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Unfortunately it looks like social distancing is a thing of the past going by what I'm seeing when I'm out and about.

It will take everyone a few days to get it right- hopefully schools will adjust approach based on how well parents followed instructions or change processes where not working- while there are likely idiots just not following protocols laid down hopefully these will be called out over coming days and made conform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Drove past local primary school this morning as parents were dropping kids off. Majority of kids standing outside the school did not have masks on, and seemed to be little to no social distancing. Hopefully they were all keeping their masks for once they went inside.

Seriously you expect kids to be social distancing ? What planet are you on?

Class will be a bubble but kids out in the open are grand playing with each other

Not in ours. Teacher will alright.

I think it's no harm for older primary school kids to wear them. I think its tougher with younger kids in JI/SI as they would just have their hands all over them throughout the day.

With the older primary school kids I wonder is it "cool" or "not cool" to wear a mask in class? What is the status amongst their peers I wonder.

josip wrote: »
    So when a kid is showing symptoms and is sent home from school.
    1. Do they have to get a test (and results) before they are allowed back to school ?
    2. Are the rest of the class allowed continue until the test results are known?
    3. If a kid tests positive, is it the pod/class/school that then goes into quarantine for 14 days?
    4. Are any of the above the same for the country or is it up to each individual school to decide?

Talk to the principal of the school. By now the school should of made all of this clear to the parents via some form of communication channel.

If they are from the same friends circle its no harm. Otherwise its an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,176 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Kids are inherently unhygienic.
    The mask will make them stop picking their nose or touching stuff and putting hands in mouths etc.

ELM327 wrote: »
    The mask will make them stop picking their nose or touching stuff and putting hands in mouths etc.

No it won't! :pac:

If a kid is going to pick their nose they are going to go for it regardless of a mask.

PCros wrote: »
    No it won't! :pac:

If a kid is going to pick their nose they are going to go for it regardless of a mask.
    It will stop absent minded picking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭cuculainn

We all know they're not N95 masks... But if my kid wears one and your kid wears one then collectively they're more protected, including the teacher. I'm hoping we can get most of the parents/kids on board to wear them in my children's classes. I'm not confident my kids will remember not to touch the front of their masks, or to not touch their face, or to sanitise after the bathroom because they opened a door after washing hands... etc etc. It's all very stressful thinking about tbh.

Lets face it...if we thought about it too much we probably wouldnt send them back:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

josip wrote: »
    Do they have to get a test (and results) before they are allowed back to school ?
    No, the school can't legally do that. In the absence of a test, the guidelines are that the child should be symptom-free for 48 hours before being returned to school.
    If a parent insists on sending a child in, the school can refuse, but it becomes trickey if a parent insists on putting everyone at risk, every day. The schools policy is not unlike the national policy and relies heavily on people choosing to do the right thing rather than forcing them to, with minimal ability for the Gardai to stop any breaking the guidelines.

One would hope that the kind of parent who's selfish/apathetic enough to send their child in while sick, is also the kind of parent who would just keep the kid at home for two weeks rather than deal with the hassle of being called to pick them up.

There is scope to get Tusla involved on the grounds that the parent is being negligent with their child's well-being, but again one would hope it wouldn't come to that.
    Are the rest of the class allowed continue until the test results are known?
    Yes.
    If a kid tests positive, is it the pod/class/school that then goes into quarantine for 14 days?
    The contact tracing process takes over, and all of the child's close contacts will be notified and offered a test.
    Since being a close contact requires 14 days of self-isolation, this will in effect close the class for two weeks.
    Closure/quarantine of an entire school will be a matter for the HSE or the school's principal to decide; that is if they think the impact of the positive cases in the school is so wide that closure of individual classes is insufficient.
    Are any of the above the same for the country or is it up to each individual school to decide?
    The guidelines are wide enough for interpretation that a principal obviously thought a prayer service in the gym was appropriate. It's disappointing that there aren't more hard and fast rules for schools as this would take a lot of the guesswork out of implementation.
    Waiting for, fist school case, first pod sent home, first bubble sent home, first school closure?
    Yes. These are inevitable. After the fourth or fifth such occurence, they'll only be reported as sidelines, they won't be a major concern any more.

Even outbreaks in creches have been relegated to minor news now.

Lets face it...if we thought about it too much we probably wouldnt send them back:confused:

I know, and both of us are chronic over/deep thinkers :pac: so homeschooling isn't yet off the table. So we've been looking into that on the side, it's a lot tbh. At least we're luckier than some as it could be accommodated if we chose to. We just don't really know what we're at or if its the right call. My head has been wrecked for a couple weeks solid at this point.

I know some people who are opting to keep their kids at home for the first 2 weeks to see how things go and let the kinks work out. You could perhaps take this route? You might feel happier to send them then or that you dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Very disappointed with both the media and the school principle involved in pushing that hyperbolic news news story yesterday about using a damp garden shed as an isolation room for kids. A pure bs media op that does nobody any good.

In an interview the principal said she wouldn’t have been able to get a fire cert for a prefab but had no problem using a wooden shed .. she also mentioned in another interview they had a store in the school but that was being used to obviously store school equipment .. surely to **** it must have entered head to store the equipment in the shed and use store room as the quarantine room .. pure Publicity stunt ..

I know some people who are opting to keep their kids at home for the first 2 weeks to see how things go and let the kinks work out. You could perhaps take this route? You might feel happier to send them then or that you dont
    This is what we are doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Similar story. I was trying to be optimistic. Here's a brief rundown of an absolute **** show involving hundreds of families.

TL;DR Zero distancing inside and outside. Parents think "great we are back to normal"
    • gates not opened on time
    • not one family socially distancing.(100s)
    • groups of parents (3+ couples) on top of each other having great craic having not seen each other making it impossible to distance while walking by
    • got skipped by 3 groups who "didn't see the line"
    • Waiting in the yard to go to class took about 30 mins to get kids in, again no distancing observed although better than the outside.
    • one in a hundred people wearing masks (I didn't as I presumed stupidly system would work)
    • The hand sanitiser dispenser is behind the door and super awkward to get to and reach.
    • 6 kids to a pod on the desks.
    • one kid couldn't sit down at desk as there wasn't enough space between pods to pull out the chair.
    • Eventually managed to sit down but his chair and hair was touching the hair of another child in a different pod.
    • Parents standing around in groups chatting in the yard after drop off.
    • Parents standing around in groups chatting outside the gate. again making it very hard to pass while observing distance.
    • There was supposed to be a one way system, wasn't observed everyone doubled back and past by everyone else at the gate which was a major choke point for the crowd.
    • Principal said nothing to anyone.

That's true, and we've definitely thought about that angle. Or what if we put them in for the first couple weeks, (so long as the community spread is holding okay in our area), and pull if we don't feel it's going well in the school and/or things are getting a bit hairy? Or would that be massively unsettling to the children or a good thing they at least connected with the teacher and friends a bit? Classes/schools could close anyway, so maybe it makes no difference there. See, absolutely melted.