Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Yes.
    But in fairness if you listened to that report of Phillip Nolan's statement , it was very strange.
    Of course no children have caught it from school as schools have been closed .
    We won't know if this hypothesis ( as that is all it us , of yet no proof) is correct until children go back to school and are back a few weeks .

It wasn't strange at all. He was quite clearly refer to the evidence globally, and schools have been open in many countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,016 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Polar101 wrote: »
    Tomorrow he'll release a statement that he is very very very sorry.

Apparently using the phone while driving , it just gets better and better , lol :)

It wasn't strange at all. He was quite clearly refer to the evidence globally, and schools have been open in many countries.

And they have had rising cases in many countries. In schools as well .
    Israel, Denmark ,Germany , to mention but a few .
    Strange the way he phrased it ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Yes.
    But in fairness if you listened to that report of Phillip Nolan's statement , it was very strange.
    Of course no children have caught it from school as schools have been closed .
    We won't know if this hypothesis ( as that is all it us , of yet no proof) is correct until children go back to school and are back a few weeks .

There’s a lot of things we don’t know are correct, doesn’t stop the gov from using them as justification for the measures they have implemented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

How did we go from the thinking at the beginning that kids were super spreaders to them not transmitting the virus now? Was it because kids are usually asymptomatic so could potentially spread it much easier?

Strumms wrote: »
    Winston unfortunately and his speech though is 100% redundant now in this situation. You just can’t fight what you cannot see. It’s an invisible enemy.

Only real way to fight is to remain disciplined, sacrifice and keep going.

My point was that he was trying to bolster the parents and teachers before they headed back with their kids into school

Apparently using the phone while driving , it just gets better and better , lol :)

It the gift that keeps on giving! Next he’ll be caught with no tax of NCT!

I know this is very immature of me, but between Mr Brightside in Berlin bar, dangerous trampolines, and Golfgate and all the fallout from that, the past week was a bit of craic :pac:

Cases will happen in schools, just like any other area of society. The way people discuss it however you would think it seeps out of the schools walls

No but schools are not going to be distanced like the fest of society based on this hypothesis that children don't spread the virus .
    It's a very risky strategy , to say the least !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

owlbethere wrote: »
    100 children contracted the virus over the past 2 weeks in Ireland. It said on the news, there's no evidence of spread in schools. Do the authorities take us for fools? Of course there's no evidence of spread in Irish schools. They have been closed since March. They say children are more likely to catch the virus at home rather than school. How does the virus know the difference between a home and classroom environment? Is it the same way the virus knows the difference between a pint and a dinner plate?

I think this is a very convenient time for them to release children numbers. Cue 2 weeks time numbers increasing “but sure didn’t we tell you 2 weeks ago that children get the virus outside schools”.

They couldn’t be more transparent in grooming the population for the opening of schools. I’m not an idiot. Schools aren’t any safer then any other indoor environment for my children. Children don’t spread the virus any less then adults, saying they don’t spread as much when there is plenty of evidence that suggests it’s at best unclear is just a lie.

I want schools to open But I don’t beieve enough has been done to offer options to schools or parents. It’s all or nothing. I wish our authorities spent more time doing it right then trying to convince everybody it’s going to be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

My apologies. I should have said conflict of interest as opposed to vested interest.
    It would be like having a president that owns a load of hotels and golf resorts making public health decisions.

Wouldn't end well for us.

Nobody has a fvcking right to make a living.
    You provide a service at a profit and it was probably a good service.
    That service is diametrically opposed to public health measures right now.
    Public health trumps your own personal financial health right now.
    That's a **** sandwich. I'd be angry too.

I'm not smug and I'm not morally superior.

I'm pointing out a clear conflict of interest. You are entitled to comment though.
    Calling people hysteric because they've lost loved ones or have been seriously ill,
    worried that a loved one could become ill if their immune system is suppressed is not hysteric.

Take your anger out on your elected representative.
    Vested interests are usually par for the course with those guys and girls.
    You are entitled to call doctors bastards but it's not nice and I don't agree with it.

I didn’t call people hysterical ‘because they’ve lost loved ones.’
    Most of your posts are either finger pointing or fear mongering.
    You are really terrified, aren’t you?

I'm going to assume the usual sniffles colds etc are about at the minute and children will be spreading them around like they always do. What will happen then.

Those cases tested in hospitals,would these be patients in for other procedures and would have to have a mandatory test and some of them might actually be asymptomatic?

Won't be having any procedure done if positive .
    If asymptomatic would be discharged as soon as well enough.

Likely in for other issues yes and may be asymptomatic yes

I don't know why you are saying that except to mislead that poster.
    It is also very likely that these patients are ill with Covid as not , do why give the impression that they are not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭giveitholly

It is also very likely that these patients are ill with Covid as not , do why give the impression that they are not ?

Just to say I understood fully what ACE was saying and didn't feel mislead at all,those patients could be ill with covid,and they might be asymptomatic.

It the gift that keeps on giving! Next he’ll be caught with no tax of NCT!

I know this is very immature of me, but between Mr Brightside in Berlin bar, dangerous trampolines, and Golfgate and all the fallout from that, the past week was a bit of craic :pac:

Apparently Devitts in Camden Street was packed to the rafters last night , as was parts of George's St , and the guards were just driving on by !

I’ve been out for a meal in town every weekend since the restaurants opened, and while I was probably there for about 3 hours minimum each time and could stay until closing (though perhaps the 2 meter distance was observed, so no need for time constraints), there really was proper social distancing and correct procedure in place. I can’t imagine how a place can get to be packed like that!

Drumpot wrote: »
    I think this is a very convenient time for them to release children numbers. Cue 2 weeks time numbers increasing “but sure didn’t we tell you 2 weeks ago that children get the virus outside schools”.

They couldn’t be more transparent in grooming the population for the opening of schools. I’m not an idiot. Schools aren’t any safer then any other indoor environment for my children. Children don’t spread the virus any less then adults, saying they don’t spread as much when there is plenty of evidence that suggests it’s at best unclear is just a lie.

I want schools to open But I don’t beieve enough has been done to offer options to schools or parents. It’s all or nothing. I wish our authorities spent more time doing it right then trying to convince everybody it’s going to be grand.

Yes , agree.
    I know plenty of parents and teachers who want their kids back in school but know that very little has been done by the government in the intervening months to ensure a safe transition back .
    This statement does smack of grooming , and when you get parents talking about how they hug and kiss their children , as if that is an issue here , they are already being set up to take the fall when cases start to rise in schools .
    We have done everything asked of us , the very least they could do is ensure safety at school either by a staggered day / week or split classes.
    But hey all this costs money and planning , and when school infections start the same as hospital workers in March and April, they will blame the parents, as healthcare workers were blamed when they weren't bring given enough PPE .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

As every patient is tested for Covid on entering a hospital for a procedure it is an absolute certainty that some will test positive.

I’ve been out for a meal in town every weekend since the restaurants opened, and while I was probably there for about 3 hours minimum each time and could stay until closing (though perhaps the 2 meter distance was observed, so no need for time constraints), there really was proper social distancing and correct procedure in place. I can’t imagine how a place can get to be packed like that!

Eldest said it was , and no food being served , no social distancing. He could have gone in but didn't as it looked heaving .
    But apparently town very busy last night .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,216 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Is there anything to explain that increase of 8 in hospital.

As every patient is tested for Covid on entering a hospital for a procedure it is an absolute certainty that some will test positive.

Yes. But not all are asymptomatic by the same token.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

What are ya on about? The confirmed cases column on the daily report refers to test results done through hospitals, from people who are likely in for different reasons. Admissions for people who are already COVID positive aren't pointed out, they're just added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Arghus wrote: »

Basically those two are trying to say that patients in hospital with Covid are only cases that have been screened and found positive.
    In my experience nobody who is positive with Covid is hospitalised unless they are ill.
    Patients for elective treatment are screened and are not admitted unless clear.
    Those few emergencies that are tested Covid positive would be isolated until 2 negative results .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Basically those two are trying to say that patients in hospital with Covid are only cases that have been screened and found positive.
    In my experience nobody who is positive with Covid is hospitalised unless they are ill.
    Patients for elective treatment are screened and are not admitted unless clear.
    Those few emergencies that are tested Covid positive would be isolated until 2 negative results .
    What are you on about? When did we say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

After saying he hadn't been in Kildare.

The gift that keeps on giving

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1297630629513900032?s=19

:pac: What an absolute weapon he is.

For context 397 cases is equivalent of 40 here. So a good day for us is panic stations in SK.

Untrue. Please read my posts and stop making stuff up. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Arghus wrote: »

Nothing really I imagine, only thats its a small number overall

Discharges rarely happen at the weekend so let's follow it over the next few days