Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,218 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Looks like no early number today can't get hold of my mate

Dara could be out of the loop now for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

This is so messed up.

The country is turning on itself for people attending a fecking dinner.

Get me out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,218 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Big Phil isn't going to worry himself too much about what we have to say in little Paddy land.

His apologies are aimed over at our head at Brussels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Based on the number of swabs taken, today's number will be broadly in line with yesterday's; somewhere between 120 and 180. Tomorrow wil be back to 30-50 ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Sunrise.Sunset

she seems to have survived the last 6 months ok.

Why get concerned about this man's behaviour now?

Social distancing was maintained during the lockdown. It was just her going into the family. Since lockdown was lifted its party here and party there and dinner parties galore and the woman is now working in a position where there is no social distancing. The public health officials has identified house parties as a problem. The woman has followed the guidelines to a T and she feels she's at risk now working for the family who's refusing to maintain social distancing.

I'm trying to see what's there for her to help her. She wants to minimise risks of the virus but her job doesn't allow that anymore. She wants to protect her health and her family. What is there for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

See there are those who understand that public health measures are designed to reduce the overall frequency of transmissions, with understanding that we are willing to accept an increased risk in some areas to allow a viable way of life to continue thorough this, while and those who believe the goal is to eliminate all transmissions, which is both impossible, and incompatible with a sustainable way of living.

This isn't addressing my point, but however.

Currently Re > 1.

We need kids in school, this will increase contacts, so most likely increase Re. But, a necessary risk to keep the country going.

What are we doing to offset this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

This is so messed up.

Get me out of here.

Good news the ports/airports are still open, but hurry.

polesheep wrote: »
    Here's the thing, some people don't drive or stop driving out of that very fear. And they are the very type of people who somehow managed to have a major influence on the way in which the government has dealt with the virus. If they had the same influence on car driving we would have empty roads.

Comparing covid to driving a car is nonsense.

Never been anxious about driving in Ireland or abroad and would never cross my mind that I could get killed or seriously injured in carvwhen getting into a car.

Covid is different. Its killed people from the very young to over 100 and everyone in between from the sick to the healthy. It's the unknowns, the imperfect information, the fact that when you are sick you are a danger to everyone else, the changing information every few weeks. Nothing simple and straightforward about covid. Hence the state of europe at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

This is so messed up.

Get me out of here.

No, it's people who told the rest of us not to attend such a dinner attending a dinner. There is a massive difference. FWIW I think we all should be able to attend such dinners, but we aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Good news the ports/airports are still open, but hurry.

In Germany myself, out for a lovely lunch time walk in 32 degrees Bavarian countryside sun. I'd highly recommend it

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Social distancing was maintained during the lockdown. It was just her going into the family. Since lockdown was lifted its party here and party there and dinner parties galore and the woman is now working in a position where there is no social distancing. The public health officials has identified house parties as a problem. The woman has followed the guidelines to a T and she feels she's at risk now working for the family who's refusing to maintain social distancing.

I'm trying to see what's there for her to help her. She wants to minimise risks of the virus but her job doesn't allow that anymore. She wants to protect her health and her family. What is there for her?

Perhaps she'd be better trying to sort this herself, you've gone above and beyond now at this stage setting up a boards account to complain about the GP and about her working arrangements. Take a break and let her take some responsibility!

Comparing covid to driving a car is nonsense.

Never been anxious about driving in Ireland or abroad and would never cross my mind that I could get killed or seriously injured in carvwhen getting into a car.

Covid is different. Its killed people from the very young to over 100 and everyone in between from the sick to the healthy. It's the unknowns, the imperfect information, the fact that when you are sick you are a danger to everyone else, the changing information every few weeks. Nothing simple and straightforward about covid. Hence the state of europe at the moment.

The point is that fearful people have driven the agenda (no pun intended). The bit in bold is hyperbolic nonsense. The percentage of healthy young people that have died from Covid-19 is infinitesimal.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

US2 wrote: »
    Still no water here since the storm, can't wash my hands. Will I get covid ?

Not if you have a pizza in the pub tonight. But make sure it's not a frozen one (some on here maintain that makes it worse) and obviously make sure it's a big pizza costing at least €9. A slice won't cut covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.rferl.org/amp/covid-19-regional-wrap-august-5-2020/30768048.html

Interestingly Afghanistan may be one of the first countries in the world to reach herd immunity, with infection levels at over 50% in cities such as Kabul and 30% nationally.

46% of Afghanistans population is under 15 years of age so this news could bode very well for sub Saharan Africa with a similar age profile. The number of deaths are very low which is great news although an investigation into the national mortality is under way as it appears to be a significant undercount based on the number of burials in the country during the pandemic .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

In my 13 years living in England over the last few months for the first time ever I am actually gald to be over here looking at how obedient some people in Ireland are acting.

Either that or ****ting their pants about the 'unknowns'. Perspective and common sense seems to have completely vanished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,173 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

This isn't addressing my point, but however.

Currently Re > 1.

We need kids in school, this will increase contacts, so most likely increase Re. But, a necessary risk to keep the country going.

What are we doing to offset this?

That's why avoiding contacts for the rest of the population is vital to the plans. If 80% of the population can keep the risk of transmission to a minimum and schools take as many precautions as practicable then we could keep the R0 at a manageable level. It's a big ask but seems to be the only option at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Apologies, I was wrong about Hogan not isolating on return from Belgium . He isolated and is staying in Kildare! Locked down Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

This is so messed up.

Get me out of here.

You can agree or disagree with rules but if people want to be respected when making the rules they should follow them themselves.

US2 wrote: »
    Apologies, I was wrong about Hogan not isolating on return from Belgium . He isolated and is staying in Kildare! Locked down Kildare

As I said earlier, hardly anyone in Kildare is paying a blind bit of attention the lockdown. All it's doing is hurting local business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Piehead wrote: »
    The country is out of control. Need a full National enforced lockdown for 1 month. Seal border. Arrest and jail all for non compliance

Paddy green was slightly more subtle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Piehead wrote: »
    The country is out of control. Need a full National enforced lockdown for 1 month. Seal border. Arrest and jail all for non compliance

IF YOU TOLERATE THIS YOUR CHILDREN WILL BE NEXT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,989 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

It's better to use the UK as the large of large number gives a better trend .

The number of hospitalised people keeps falling . This backs up scientific studies in Singapore that the strain is less potent than it was a few months ago

Yet in this country there is mass hysteria over 17 people in the whole country in hospital with this virus

It just shows that the big elephant in the room is mental health and anxiety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

In my 13 years living in England over the last few months for the first time ever I am actually gald to be over here looking at how obedient some people in Ireland are acting.

Either that or ****ting their pants about the 'unknowns'. Perspective and common sense seems to have completely vanished.

We’ve lost the plot alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

This is so messed up.

Get me out of here.

Fun fact the Judge in question that attended the Golf dinner was the Attorney General between 2017/ 2020 who gave legal advice on drafting the restrictions he broke.
    Sometimes it's best to step back and say 'nah I ain't defending this ****'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Seen something this morning about an 11 year old with Covid fear. Something of negligible risk to any child.

We have failed as a nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,748 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

There really are no restrictions in Ireland currently, most people wear a mask, but that's about it.
    Maybe a one week TOTAL lock down for country would have an affect,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Fun fact the Judge in question that attended the Golf dinner was the Attorney General between 2017/ 2020 who gave legal advice on drafting the restrictions he broke.
    Sometimes it's best to step back and say 'nah I ain't defending this ****'.

:D I'm definitely not defending this shambles of a government. The optics of this is awful but this sort of event should be allowed. NEPHET are totally out of control.

This country has lost its mind on COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Maybe a one week TOTAL lock down for country would have an affect,

What's a total lockdown I wonder.

Often heard it said on here and I'm curious about it, and the lack of understanding of the mechanics of society that some possess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Zero Covid gaining ground across the water.

https://twitter.com/LaylaMoran/status/1296711894934458368