Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Well Holy God :eek: Dara the minister for agriculture should be sorting out the meat plants, people will revolt against this government and their "restrictions and recommendations"

If only the Gardai had special powers to be able to break up these massive indoor parties...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 regulators

Oranage2 wrote: »
    If only the Gardai had special powers to be able to break up these massive indoor parties...

Better off leaving the house parties go as mostly younger people and open up back the pubs and get things back to normal.

Start building up herd immunity. Your never going to eliminate the virus.

People 60 or should take pension if have one or given the state pension at 60 for a while and cocoon. People with underlying conditions continue on the 350 a week.

Open back the pubs and sporting events. Its getting ridicolous now. Just have the over 60's self isolate and people with underlying conditions self isolate.

Its coming to this pretty soon, especially with the schools reopening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    How many worldwide have died from it now

From it directly? Nobody has a clue.

And it's still the wrong question.

The question, come Janueay, is what was the annual excess mortality, then you'll know the true figure and how much of an impact it really had.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

We're years away from herd immunity. Not going to happen without massive damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

regulators wrote: »
    Better off leaving the house parties go as mostly younger people.

Ah the old herd immunity, with only young people getting it, argument. We've been there done that with this argument long ago. It sucked then and still does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0820/1160204-world-covid/
    Europe can combat Covid-19 without full lockdowns now that authorities are better prepared and have gained knowledge about how to fight it in recent months, the World Health Organization (WHO) has said.

"With the basic nationwide and additional targeted measures, we are in a much better position to stamp out these localised virus flare-ups," the head of the WHO's European branch, Hans Kluge, told reporters.

"We can manage the virus and keep the economy running and an education system in operation," he added.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Ah the old herd immunity, with only young people getting it, argument. We've been there done that with this argument long ago. It sucked then and still does.

Why, sure the schools and colleges are opening back now aren't they? This is the plan going forward.

Better off leaving the house parties go as mostly younger people and open up back the pubs and get things back to normal.

People 60 or should take pension if have one or given the state pension at 60 for a while and cocoon. People with underlying conditions continue on the 350 a week.

Open back the pubs and sporting events. Its getting ridicolous now. Just have the over 60's self isolate and people with underlying conditions self isolate.

Its coming to this pretty soon, especially with the schools reopening.

In theory, that might eliminate the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

Well your rigorous scientific reasoning has won me over.

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    We're years away from herd immunity. Not going to happen without massive damage.

So we continue forever like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Thank you, and to all the others, for the well wishes... we couldn’t keep her away even if the docs had advised us to, she’s so excited about it.
    Best of luck to ye, ye are definitely in my thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

It seems our elite can't count. 80 is greater than 50.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40035389.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭Allinall

In theory, that might eliminate the virus.

Thankfully we live in the real world, and not a theorised one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,543 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It seems our elite can't count. 80 is greater than 50.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40035389.html
    They are coming out with some rubbish about them being split between two rooms....and apparently Dara Calleary only appeared briefly....hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

Boggles wrote: »
    Or mortality rate based on those figures is around 2%.
    The mortality rate in Stockholm, a hard hit city using the official confirmed cases for ages 0-69 is 0.1%.
    The overall mortality rate imo won’t be much higher when all the data is collected in a year or two.

So we continue forever like this?

No, not forever. The word is figuring out the best path out of this with the least damage (of all sorts). Best hope still lies with the vaccine.

Allinall wrote: »

Sure when the schools reopen is no different to having pubs open now and people attending sporting events and going back to work.

1,000 teenagers tightly packed into a school? That's worse than any meat factory in the country and then showing no symptons and going home infecting their parents and possible elderly relatives?

So my theory is over 60's have to self isolate and people with underlying conditions. Let the world get on with it.

In theory anyway this is happening when the schools reopen so there's no real point arguing about it as its happening.

With schools reopening the country will be back to normal thank God.

Fit, young and healthy people don't need to be in lockdown.

The fear propagated by NPHET and media is ENTIRELY theoretical.

Herd immunity is now being proved in real world examples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

gmisk wrote: »
    They are coming out with some rubbish about them being split between two rooms....and apparently Dara Calleary only appeared briefly....hmmm

Do as we say, not as we do. These guys really have no understanding of the word credibility.

Silly question, but why can't secondary students school from home with lessons online?

It seems the younger ones don't spread the virus as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I watched a video on medcram that had a very interesting alternative that could be up and running a lot quicker then a vaccine (that maybe he promising but possibly still a long time away).

Was very simple really, that significant resources (funds) going into a vaccine be diverted to produce a €1 test can everybody can do at home And get results within minutes. Everybody can literally test themselves every day. Even if the test results were only a significantly high percentage like (can’t remember the percentage but not 100%) accurate, with mass daily testing (self tests) , the virus would struggle to rise significantly.

Seems like everybody is banking everything on a vaccine, just like our government are banking everything on opening schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

“Luckily” she was out the other side before she was 18 months so doesn’t remember it at all, and is as strong as an ox now :)

The conversation was far longer and detailed than my post, and these guys are basically at the absolute top of their game in Ireland if not up there in the top in Europe for their treatments, one an OBE... so a second opinion, in my opinion, is not needed. You’re absolutely right though, I brought up the schools being closed as well but it seems like all of these guys are talking, very frequently, with international colleagues and know as much as can be known at this point.

That's brilliant. I don't mean any disrespect to the doctors when I say second opinions. Generally with big things I always try to triangulate opinions off a number of experts. (dangerous to use that word here)

Got the idea from the Ray Dalio book principles. He's worth about 17 billion and tells how one doctor said that he should be disembowelled to curtail the growth of a cancer. He got 3 world class people on the phone and they suggested a far less radical course of action. Then 2 more confirmed it. We can't all do that but two can help.

Won't post whole thing here but have a read.

http://meaningring.com/2019/05/03/life-principles-3-4/

523667.png

Silly question, but why can't secondary students school from home with lessons online?

They do but don't show any symptons.

There is going to be over a million people packed into cramped conditions when the schools reopen. I hope that sinks into peoples heads.

This is not including colleges.

Then all of them going hope to siblings and parents and possibly infecting them.

Reopen schools and keep a lot of the country locked down doesn't make sense.

And people giving out about a few people having a few pints and house parties. Give me a break.

Like those real world models, eh, that were used and readjusted downward to the tune of hundreds of thousands. They are theories. Science is all theory. And that is the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Do as we say, not as we do. These guys really have no understanding of the word credibility.
    Yup, not sure how many more examples people need to see in order to accept that Ireland's covid restrictions have been ridiculous and should've eased up as soon as the data appeared during lockdown showing the curve was flattened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

You can't really teach the leaving cert online.

No, not forever. The word is figuring out the best path out of this with the least damage (of all sorts). Best hope still lies with the vaccine.

So till then, we live like this, no thanks, society is slowly accepting of the death, time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,855 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

pjohnson wrote: »
    The schools wont see to mid september.

No matter how stubborn they insist on opening them is there not a high chance they would run out of teachers?

I mean how many teachers can a school afford be quarantined if they test positive; if that teachers been in a staff room and is a "close contact" waiting for a test? Who'll teach the kids then?

Not even teach, supervise even. A real dearth of leadership on the matter. Schools are facilities to educate young people. Not expensive baby sitting / crèche services. I think a lot of parents just enjoy the fact kids can go back so they get some time off from their primary role and responsibilities...parenting.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40013891.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Well 3.4% of people infected die and just less than 1% with the flu.
    Its also more contagious as people have no herd immunity against a new disease.

There's roughly between 30,000 and 60,000 deaths in the US from flu every year.
    The death toll from Covid-19 currently stands at 177,000 in the US with four months of the year remaining.

Nevertheless my point stands.

Yup, not sure how many more examples people need to see in order to accept that Ireland's covid restrictions have been ridiculous and should've eased up as soon as the data appeared during lockdown showing the curve was flattened.

There’s plenty of lockdown Larrys around from my experience.

I think a lot of people detached themselves from following the numbers due to fatigue or boredom and aren’t really in tune with how things currently stand.