Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users Posts: 10,707 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Mad cluster here now locally. All young guys. Traced back to a party they were at.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 29,196 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mad cluster here now locally. All young guys. Traced back to a party they were at.

Hope it was worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

whelan2 wrote: »
    Hope it was worth it

There's probably zero symptoms in a good portion and only very mild in the rest

Ye but they would be spreading it to vulnerable people in their wider circle

Was talking to a woman yesterday. Her husband has dementia, needs alot of looking after. Her eldest son is in his late 30s has autism but can just about look after himself. Her home help was stopped when covid came in. She can't leave her husband to fend for himself. She has left him in her eldest sons care while she went to an appointment for one hour and it was a disaster. Shopping gets delivered. She hasnt had a break since March. Have heard of similar stories. Surely at this stage home help could be restarted

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Was talking to a woman yesterday. Her husband has dementia, needs alot of looking after. Her eldest son is in his late 30s has autism but can just about look after himself. Her home help was stopped when covid came in. She can't leave her husband to fend for himself. She has left him in her eldest sons care while she went to an appointment for one hour and it was a disaster. Shopping gets delivered. She hasnt had a break since March. Have heard of similar stories. Surely at this stage home help could be restarted
    Talking to the folks here who know a few with home help and they said it's been going again must be a month.

Ring your southeast relations. Maybe it's area specific?

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 21,162 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Owned by Jay Bourke, he's fecked anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A nice link below showing the cases in your local DED with the lowest level being 5 or less cases.
    Just enter your eircode in the map section and then press the right arrow to see the numbers.

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Anyone listening to the young man on Pat Kenny describing his condition over 5 months after he got Covid19 ? Came home from Canada. Anyone who thinks they are bullet proof should be told to listen to it. He had no underlying conditions and described himself as fit as a fiddle.

Was in the garage yesterday and was the only one wearing a mask and supermarket only bout 60 percent of people wearing them. Some had them on their chin while talking on the phone.

NcdJd wrote: »
    Anyone listening to the young man on Pat Kenny describing his condition over 5 months after he got Covid19 ? Came home from Canada. Anyone who thinks they are bullet proof should be told to listen to it. He had no underlying conditions and described himself as fit as a fiddle.

Was in the garage yesterday and was the only one wearing a mask and supermarket only bout 60 percent of people wearing them. Some had them on their chin while talking on the phone.

It's worth keeping in mind that every year relatively harmless viruses cause severe and long lasting conditions in previously healthy people, Gillian barre syndrome, lupus and many others.
    Others could just get a bad dose and take a few weeks or months to feel 100% again while many will only have very mild to no symptoms

A local man is in hospital at the moment with it too. He too would be very fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Is there not something to be said for we've all probably already had it at this stage.
    It's been here since February.
    Going back on the thread from posts by Yosemitesam. Coronavirus's hits hardest at first contact but there'll always be second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth rounds as you'll have some immunity built in from first contact but the way of coronavirus' they always come around again and again and again. Your exposure or lack of between bouts influences your reactions.

This handling and reaction will ensure we'll still be in the same situation in five years time.

Unpopular opinion but sure..

Respect your view points but I can't find any official evidence that there is any immunity with this.

I think that the attitude that we just let a highly infectious disease run through the population and accept that a certain percentage of vulnerable people will die is wrong. My father is 75 years of age. I want him to be around to enjoy his few years as long as possible and if that means I wear a mask or stay out of the pub for a couple of months to me it is worth putting in the bit of effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,490 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Is there not something to be said for we've all probably already had it at this stage.
    It's been here since February.
    Going back on the thread from posts by Yosemitesam. Coronavirus's hits hardest at first contact but there'll always be second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth rounds as you'll have some immunity built in from first contact but the way of coronavirus' they always come around again and again and again. Your exposure or lack of between bouts influences your reactions.

This handling and reaction will ensure we'll still be in the same situation in five years time.

Unpopular opinion but sure..

It still hasn't dawned on the self-righteous among us that zero covid should be aimed for and to hell with the repercussions don't realise the economic consequences of covid into 2021 when the economy will more than likely shut-down will be far more detrimental and cost multiples in lives for years of what covid would ever of killed if a Sweden type approach had been followed here, the healthcare sector will go into meltdown when the seemingly endless supply of money to prop it up runs out and tens of thousands of perfectly avoidable deaths will occur, it still wont lead to any reform and the cushy middle management jobs and pen pushers will stay on full pay/pensions....
    We are one of the most indebted nations on the planet and only for the tax take from the likes of apple/Intel and co we would be a basket case economy with the IMF back in running the show which is entirely possible we will see again in the next decade

jaymla627 wrote: »
    It still hasn't dawned on the self-righteous among us that zero covid should be aimed for and to hell with the repercussions don't realise the economic consequences of covid into 2021 when the economy will more than likely shut-down will be far more detrimental and cost multiples in lives for years of what covid would ever of killed if a Sweden type approach had been followed here, the healthcare sector will go into meltdown when the seemingly endless supply of money to prop it up runs out and tens of thousands of perfectly avoidable deaths will occur, it still wont lead to any reform and the cushy middle management jobs and pen pushers will stay on full pay/pensions....
    We are one of the most indebted nations on the planet and only for the tax take from the likes of apple/Intel and co we would be a basket case economy with the IMF back in running the show which is entirely possible we will see again in the next decade

You have a second benefit there. Killing off a lot of the elderly and lowering the cost on the rest of the population.

Very few places where over 20% of the pop has been infected. The highest I know of is a Texas prison which hit 75%. We've had one or two factories get to 35%. No, most of us haven't got Covid. That's why a second and third wave are possible.

Water John wrote: »
    You have a second benefit there. Killing off a lot of the elderly and lowering the cost on the rest of the population.

Very few places where over 20% of the pop has been infected. The highest I know of is a Texas prison which hit 75%. We've had one or two factories get to 35%. No, most of us haven't got Covid. That's why a second and third wave are possible.

If you look at the current state of Brazil and the US this throws the whole "this is only a flu" and "we have to get herd immunity" utterances out the window.

On the economic side of things there is the argument to do all you can to prevent the spread of the virus to keep the economy going rather than the idea of we have to live with it. There is a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,490 ✭✭✭jaymla627

If you look at the current state of Brazil and the US this throws the whole "this is only a flu" and "we have to get herd immunity" utterances out the window.

On the economic side of things there is the argument to do all you can to prevent the spread of the virus to keep the economy going rather than the idea of we have to live with it. There is a difference.

Africa is getting away Scot-free re the death rate of the disease with it been estimated as low as .0002% the only notable exception was South Africa, they done testing on groups of healthcare workers in areas where the disease had hit and their was around a 20% infection rate but none our only a tiny % of the control group had any symptoms of covid, by all accounts covid 19 seems to be a disease that is most deadly to overweight and our older people, given the obesity problem in America and Europe its little wonder the death rate and serious illness rates have been so high, if the doomsday projections don't come to pass that the 100 plus cases found the past 3 weeks don't end up in hospital and only a small % require hospitalization their is literally no standing for the government to be following their current course of action that's simply window dressing given the fact they haven't and wont ban travel in our out of the country that's the only plausible way of having zero covid

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Tbh testing capacity should be used to determine how widespread it is, random testing in every county. At least it would improve the info available. There may well be a lot of asymptomatic cases but righting it off isn't correct either. Know of a mid thirties mother of two no underlying conditions who is possibly looking at a heart transplant after it.
    More info is the key and focusing on our own country instead of looking what everyone else is doing. It's happening in real time. As much info should be gathered and looked at as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Looking at Africa's figures also won't tell a lot. Recording and health systems poor along with a low average life expectancy anyway

Mooooo wrote: »
    Tbh testing capacity should be used to determine how widespread it is, random testing in every county. At least it would improve the info available. There may well be a lot of asymptomatic cases but righting it off isn't correct either. Know of a mid thirties mother of two no underlying conditions who is possibly looking at a heart transplant after it.
    More info is the key and focusing on our own country instead of looking what everyone else is doing. It's happening in real time. As much info should be gathered and looked at as possible.

The problem is that those who make the decisions re testing are clinical specialists who have far too much faith in their ability to test and detect this virus.
    Covid is more akin to crop pests than diseases such as HIV, Ebola etc, in how it moves and presents in the population.
    From before testing even started here in February, it was known that infections could range from asymptomatic to serious disease.
    For €200+ million of a spend on testing, one would have hoped for more useful data to be generated

Covid is more akin to crop pests than diseases such as HIV, Ebola etc, in how it moves and presents in the population.

Explain that one to me..

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Africa is getting away Scot-free re the death rate of the disease with it been estimated as low as .0002% the only notable exception was South Africa, they done testing on groups of healthcare workers in areas where the disease had hit and their was around a 20% infection rate but none our only a tiny % of the control group had any symptoms of covid, by all accounts covid 19 seems to be a disease that is most deadly to overweight and our older people, given the obesity problem in America and Europe its little wonder the death rate and serious illness rates have been so high, if the doomsday projections don't come to pass that the 100 plus cases found the past 3 weeks don't end up in hospital and only a small % require hospitalization their is literally no standing for the government to be following their current course of action that's simply window dressing given the fact they haven't and wont ban travel in our out of the country that's the only plausible way of having zero covid

If you read the WHO's update about Africa they have said that there is not enough testing and poor reporting to get a true picture of covid in the continent of Africa.

However I do agree with you on the inconsistent approach to restrictions / advice coming from both nephet and this new government.

Explain that one to me..

It moves in undetected.
    It establishes and spreads from initial area undetected because symptoms are easily confused with other causes or no symptoms at all.
    It can survive at low levels in areas outside of where the severe damage happens at low undetectable, to barely detectable levels (which rely as much on luck as anything else to be found).

Compare that to Ebola or another serious disease.
    It starts to show up rapidly as the majority of cases are severe or present identifiable symptoms.
    It's there in the community or it has been effectively suppressed.
    It's not circulating in the community below the testing radar. It rapidly raises it's head if it wasn't effectively suppressed through very identifiable severe symptoms.
    Had we a laxer testing protocol, we would be under the impression we'd no covid spread in the past few months.

101050634_1322879581243153_1593088058251542528_o.jpg?_nc_cat=110&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=v4V74EyudbEAX8Puwdp&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub5-1.fna&oh=3a1c2fc05b4c46fd55401ea4932d746f&oe=5F62FB67

On the briefing on covid this evening, a findings of a survey they have conducted indicates, that the numbers actually infected nationally is about three times the number that have tested positive. This means less than 2% of the total population have had covid or been exposed to it. Lots of room then for a resurgence.
    Because of less testing in the UK and parts of the US, they have figures which show up to ten times the number tested positive are the real numbers.
    I believe a link to the survey is being put up on their website.

Average of 110 positive cases per day for the last 7 days

But more importantly, how many have ended up in hospital?

Neighbour here is in hospital with it

We can all see it's spreading among younger people ATM. Numbers in hospital are beginning to rise a little. How do propose to separate out the young from the older more vulnerable population?