Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Drive over an hour to grab a coffee :D must be joking
    Apparently driving over an hour to stand beside a pitch is grand, but getting a coffee, that's unreasonable. OK...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Looney1 wrote: »
    First time in a while I have seen the word national lockdown been mentioned this morning. Scary

Never going to happen. Even if it were implemented it wouldn't be adhered to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

polesheep wrote: »
    Are you part of an Amish community? Just about every child in the country has been behaving exactly as Seamus described.

Maybe children at your 'level'.

Not at mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

seamus wrote: »
    Bring a book, go grab a coffee, go for a walk or a run.

Seriously, it's a pandemic. This is hardly a huge imposition to ask of parents.

You can walk around the park there playing in ,
    But don't forget to close your eyes when you walk past the pitch there playing on or Covid will get ye,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Apparently driving over an hour to stand beside a pitch is grand, but getting a coffee, that's unreasonable. OK...

I’ve driven 4/5 hours up the country for matches, wouldn’t do it for a cup of coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Do those complaining about parents not allowed to matches actually have kids and if yes did they usually stand around gossiping with other parents while their kids played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭seanb85

Christ.

It's no wonder contact tracing is facing delays then.

By highlighting this they are just trying to shift blame for the system's inadequacy. They won't highlight the person who only had 2. If society is to remain open the tracing has to be capable of coping when people have a lot of contacts.

There are plenty of teachers and schoolkids who in a few weeks will all have a lot of close contacts.

I’ve driven 4/5 hours up the country for matches, wouldn’t do it for a cup of coffee.
    "Sorry son, you can't play this match if Daddy can't watch it. There's no point"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

The media really needs to double down on getting the message out there to hold firm because we are in it together to stay safe, sometimes we have to stay home to stay safe but we always have to follow the rules to stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,385 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

blackcard wrote: »
    It would be interesting to establish what the issues are so that they can be avoided when the ban on spectators is lifted. I am not aware of people gathering in large clusters before club matches. What is the purpose? I presume that people meeting in large clusters after matches relates to people drinking in pub restaurants or in private houses but these activities are regulated anyway. Are people not more likely to gather together to watch matches being streamed?

You seem to be just talking about intercounty or senior county championship games.

Go to a local GAA club on a weekend which would often host a couple of games and training sessions and you'll see people gathered and talking for a decent period of time.

Not sure what you qualify as a large cluster, but you will always have people gathered in large groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

And if the U10 child gets injured and is crying for their parents or needs to get to a hospital asap? Delegate parenting to the coach?

"Sorry son, you can't play this match if Daddy can't watch it. There's no point"

How do you expect the kid to get to the match? Carpooling? Exactly what the government don’t want you to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

A small price to pay during a crisis as terrifying as this.

How do you expect the kid to get to the match? Carpooling? Exactly what the government don’t want you to do?
    You're missing my point.

Nothing has materially changed from the parent's point of view. Without a pandemic, they'd still have to drive for an hour, hang around and then drive home again.

The only difference is how the parents chooses to entertain themselves while waiting for the match to finish.

Your assertion is that there is no point in your child playing sport if you're not able to watch it. Or that you shouldn't have to suffer the hassle of driving them to the match and not be allowed watch it.

Matches are not held for the entertainment of parents.

You're missing my point.

Nothing has materially changed from the parent's point of view. Without a pandemic, they'd still have to drive for an hour, hang around and then drive home again.

The only difference is how the parents chooses to entertain themselves while waiting for the match to finish.

Your assertion is that there is no point in your child playing sport if you're not able to watch it.

The fact you think parents will drive to the match and not watch it is bizarre tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Government have pulled a slight of hand here ,

Everyone talking about kids games, and also the talk of Garda having the power to walk into homes,
    The government never mentioned the meat factories where the actually clusters are ,
    The government gave these places notice in advance of there inspection, so they just need to get there house in order for that time,
    Why haven't the government have not given Garda power to walk in and spot check the meat plants ?

They keep banging on about house parties but yet there has been no big outbreaks from them The big outbreaks are meat plants that seem to just be going ahead as usual nothing done, Why aren't the journo's pushing for these question to be answered at the press conferences ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Government have pulled a slight of hand here ,

Everyone talking about kids games, and also the talk of Garda having the power to walk into homes,
    The government never mentioned the meat factories where the actually clusters are ,
    The government gave these places notice in advance of there inspection, so they just need to get there house in order for that time,
    Why haven't the government have not given Garda power to walk in and spot check the meat plants ?

They keep banging on about house parties but yet there has been no big outbreaks from them The big outbreaks are meat plants that seem to just be going ahead as usual nothing done, Why aren't the journo's pushing for these question to be answered at the press conferences ?

Because sports are the real problem here!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

And if the U10 child gets injured and is crying for their parents or needs to get to a hospital asap? Delegate parenting to the coach?

Not all parents attend these matches and what happens usually when there is an injury when parent not there, :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

You're missing my point.

Your assertion is that there is no point in your child playing sport if you're not able to watch it. Or that you shouldn't have to suffer the hassle of driving them to the match and not be allowed watch it.

Whatever the point of the no spectators rule is, it badly needs to be firmly and clearly explained. And why it's necessary to restrict spectators but weddings having 50 people inside in a function room are ok. Or why 50 people at the theatre is ok. Mickey Martin's exhortation to not weight restrictions against each other, doesn't cut it. He's treating the people like fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,058 ✭✭✭✭fits

He didn't ban matches. He is telling parents to drop their young kids off at a GAA pitch and disappear for over an hour.
    It is ludicrous.

No he’s telling people cannot gather to watch matches. If parents presence is necessary ( it is) then matches cannot happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    It's mad

We had a minor championship match last week

Very few kids those ages drive themselves

So parents travel an hour 15 to the match but are expected to go away for the match, collect the kids again and then just drive home

20 x 2m = 40m = less than half of one side of a pitch. Ludicrous guideline.

Hurrache wrote: »
    Don't bother going so if you can't adhere to public health advice.

If a parent gets out of the car and stands at the side line, distant from anyone, this is bad because?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

He didn't ban matches. He is telling parents to drop their young kids off at a GAA pitch and disappear for over an hour.
    It is ludicrous.

Just 'disappear' to the far side of the pitch. It's totally unenforceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,113 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Very inspirational (Not) HSE press conference taking place right now, just cringe worthy. I often wondered have any of these HSE executives actually worked on the front line, they seem disjointed from reality, absolutely amazing as statistics, figures, graphs, percentages, most of which make no sense whatsoever. Actually an annoying spectacle, not helped by whomever is their long haired PR person overseeing proceedings.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

What happens when they don’t have symptoms as the majority of the cases now are asymptomatic?

The close contacts? Heard Prof Codd? I think in charge of UCD? tracing say close contacts are advised to go for test asap and then week later which they arrange afaik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

The GAA thing is just a distraction for the schools thing.

You are all falling hook line and sinker for it.

Schools and the lack of planning is the real disgrace.

If schools can't open then the economy will tank anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,385 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Whatever the point of the no spectators rule is, it badly needs to be firmly and clearly explained. And why it's necessary to restrict spectators but weddings having 50 people inside in a function room are ok. Or why 50 people at the theatre is ok. Mickey Martin's exhortation to not weight restrictions against each other, doesn't cut it. He's treating the people like fools.

That was a mess they caused for themselves. To many vested interests having a say, but their answer will be that in theatres, cinemas and restaurants there's already controls in place.

Weddings though, sweaty ties will be wrapped around random peoples heads soon after dinner at each one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

robbiezero wrote: »
    While I couldn't give a rats about the FAI,
    I'd prefer to see some transparency about the whole process.
    The FAI is no position to make anything awkward for the Government and will be just fobbed off or be told something about trampolines.

Nice well thought out comment.

The FAI is a bit more than spoofers squabbling over board positions numbers and influence.
    They have told clubs that parents can't watch kids playing.
    They have to wait in their cars (or somewhere away from the pitch).
    These spoofers (NPHET) have "proof" that gathering before and after matches is what caused the recent increases.
    This is basesd on their figures that were proved to be inaccurate.

Their wisdom extends to advising to let your 10 year olds off and trust them in the care of their coach.
    That has always worked well in this country.

How could anyone doubt their competence??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I know if people have opted in HSE ring to confirm contact with positive case as well as notification via app. If contact tracing is under pressure should they not get rid of this duplication?