If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Storm Ellen - 19th/20th August 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭TTLF
    save the trouble and jazz it up

is itr supposed to track up the east coast/midlands and get worse through the night orrr, whats the situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭pnpweirdo

Horrendous in limerick city now. Wind, rain power out. End of the world ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Limerick is nuts.

You don't really need the rest of that text in fairness.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Saw a large flash out towards Caherdavin, Limerick so I’d say power out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

East coast impacts will likely continue rather moderate, peak gusts around Dublin could reach 90-100 km/hr but some areas are protected from southwest winds which will eventually reach there as well. Rain also rather moderate, heaviest from Ellen is near track and to the west of the track (which is looking like Clare-Galway-east Mayo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,904 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

TTLF wrote: »
    is itr supposed to track up the east coast/midlands and get worse through the night orrr, whats the situation?

The winds will be less overland but the rain wrapped around the low could give significant rain anywhere, especially over Mountains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Limerick is nuts. The rain was falling so heavily I thought we had leak in house. First big storm as a homeowner.

Its the worst ive seen in Limerick in quite a while. Even the last couple of red warnings were mild compared to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

earth calling cork

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

Its the worst ive seen in Limerick in quite a while. Even the last couple of red warnings were mild compared to this.

I'd agree, this one is definitely scarier than others we've had. wind has dropped a little here, but rain is still very heavy.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Limpy

Can there be anything said for another staycation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Saw a large flash out towards Caherdavin, Limerick so I’d say power out there.
    Not yet kid.

An Ri rua wrote: »
    You're right, I'm left, shed goooone..

You're right, I'm left, all aloooone,

Some songs just make you shed tears..

I bet your shed was a 'she' too

Ah yeah, a bottle of whiskey by the fire in the storm. I'm understand you buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Pressure got to 977.7 North Offaly. Seems to be on the rise now, it's blowy but not exceptional.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    If there's one thing Met Éireann can forcast accurately with these storms, there's always a fecking trampoline gone rogue.

Yeah. I mean how hard can it be to properly secure these things? It`s not as if there weren`t adequate warnings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Limpy wrote: »
    Can there be anything said for another staycation.

A grand soft evenin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

Still mental in Limerick, it’s like trying to go asleep in a ****in car wash :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Starting to pick up in Castlebar, first moderate gusts are occurring after a very calm and wet evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

5 times taller than the Californian redwoods. Ye don't mess about in Cork! ;)

The real capital of tall trees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

me tomato plants are all over me garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭limericklad87

Seconded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Darth Melkor

East Clare here. 15 minutes ago it was really calm. Has picked up massively in the last 5 minutes. Can't imagine the power lasting for long.

syngindub wrote: »
    me tomato plants are all over me garden

RIP

The wind was so bad the rain was turned into a mist/fog

pnpweirdo wrote: »
    End of the world ****

Cats and dogs living together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Seems to have calmed down here west of cork city. Went a good bit quieter around 1215, still have power sofar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭DrGreenThumb82

Power gone in Ardnacrusha. Wind crazy.

Cats and dogs living together

Ive no time for cats

Yeah. I mean how hard can it be to properly secure these things? It`s not as if there weren`t adequate warnings.

The rogue trampoline is probably owned by a family who have gone to kerry with a tent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Up there with Darwin I'd say. Far worse than any of last winter's storms. The rainfall this past hour was something else to behold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

On this note I'm actually going to bed now, still very strong gusts here in West cork but definitely died down but the coastal aspect is keeping the winds up I think. (EDIT: Just as I say that the gusts pick up again and are howling.. at least this is making up for missing the thunderstorms last week!)

Rain has stopped and looks to have moved northwards. Best of luck to those up the country overnight!