Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Aron722 wrote: »
    Average market price value going by done deal is
    €8,305 happy with that.

Average asking price on done deal looks about 5k to 6k to me. One tarted up one looking for 8k but range from 4800 to 6000 for most of them. And that's only asking prices. Where did you get 8305?

We had someone thinking an 09 golf was 7500 here last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Rushden wrote: »
    I'm actually looking at 420d msports at the minute , seriously considering one. I've mainly been looking at 2017/2018 and from what I see yours would definitely be sold from a dealer for 30kish. Would definitely be tough to walk away from it over the 20k balloon

Oh for sure yeah. Very tough! But the balloon doesn’t kick in until about March/April next year so I’m thinking a fair bit ahead. By that stage, it’s a 4 year old car, not 3 years old as it is now. Want to buy mine? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rushden

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Oh for sure yeah. Very tough! But the balloon doesn’t kick in until about March/April next year so I’m thinking a fair bit ahead. By that stage, it’s a 4 year old car, not 3 years old as it is now. Want to buy mine? ;)

Nearly be tempted with the prices I'm looking at from some dealers. Selection amongst dealers isn't great at all either compared to 3 and 5 series, only one I have a real interest in. What individual colour is it out of pure curiosity....?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭Aron722

Mooooo wrote: »
    Asking price and selling price two very different things. 8k for an 11 yr old vw I'd very much doubt if it would achieve it

Yeah I know just going by done deal edit profile where you put in your reg and get a free a valuation. I know I wont get that price but wont be taking silly offers either.

More than likely will trade it in , but open to sell privately what ever comes first .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Yeah I know just going by done deal edit profile where you put in your reg and get a free a valuation. I know I wont get that price but wont be taking silly offers either.

More than likely will trade it in , but open to sell privately what ever comes first .

Define silly.....
    I'd say you'd get 5k max for it as a trade in.
    (they might bury 1k in the list price v cash price)
    That dd valuation is miles too high

Rushden wrote: »
    Nearly be tempted with the prices I'm looking at from some dealers. Selection amongst dealers isn't great at all either compared to 3 and 5 series, only one I have a real interest in. What individual colour is it out of pure curiosity....?

It is "Grigio Telesto Pearl grey", otherwise known as "Lambo" grey :p It's very similar to the Nardo grey on RS Audi's.

IMG_0579.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Average market price value going by done deal is
    €8,305 happy with that.

You may be happy with that valuation but DoneDeal don't buy cars. Assuming it's an average mileage & good condition example, 5-6k will be more realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭carsfan2

That is a lovely looking car Joe. Great colour and spec. One of BMW’s best looking cars.
    It’s a pity it’s not your cup of tea.
    I would put it on done deal And maybe a trader or someone might buy and you will get rid relatively hassle free. Apparently there is a big shortage of good used cars and values are good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭Aron722

millington wrote: »
    You may be happy with that valuation but DoneDeal don't buy cars. Assuming it's an average mileage & good condition example, 5-6k will be more realistic.

I'd be happy with that and add cash of around 4 - 5k should get something decent up the north. Thanks

carsfan2 wrote: »
    That is a lovely looking car Joe. Great colour and spec. One of BMW’s best looking cars.
    It’s a pity it’s not your cup of tea.
    I would put it on done deal And maybe a trader or someone might buy and you will get rid relatively hassle free. Apparently there is a big shortage of good used cars and values are good.

Cheers, yeah its a great looking car alright. I'm in no rush to do anything though tbh, I was just floating some ideas around. I put 4 good tyres on it only recently and I've just renewed the insurance! An expensive month... for a car that isn't getting a lot of use.

millington wrote: »

People do pay insane money for used VW Golfs and 8-9k for an 11 year old one is insane. I would agree, around 5k is more realistic, but I wouldn't be too surprised if someone paid a bit more - if it was a reasonably nice one that some young fella dreams of putting a set of 18's on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rushden

It is "Grigio Telesto Pearl grey", otherwise known as "Lambo" grey :p It's very similar to the Nardo grey on RS Audi's.

Lovely looking car, would probably be the standout used 420d up for sale from what I can see. I know id be all over it if one of the dealers had it up at a reasonable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I'd be happy with that and add cash of around 4 - 5k should get something decent up the north. Thanks

Be careful of the NOX charge if importing an older diesel.
    May be better looking local at 10k cars or taking the hit on slightly higher consumption and tax for a petrol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 Harper91

IMG_0579.jpg

Lovely car joe , what series is that ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Noah G

Can you pay VRT in installments ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,611 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

lol, no, has to be paid in full.

Harper91 wrote: »
    Lovely car joe , what series is that ?

Cheers, yeah its the 4 series Gran Coupe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Google photos reminding what I was at this time 5 years ago....picking this thing up from the dealer and blasting home with herself.

IMG-20200819-153850.jpg

This was me getting into for the first time as she took it half way home from dealers. Was mega excited about getting it and a long delay in the order just added to it, was around a 5 month wait I think.

IV done the diesel thing for the last 2 years and 40k miles and covid working from home has me again looking at petrol stuff. My millage now is about 8k miles per year based on last 4 months.

Looking now at blue oval stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

A rare enough car back then too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

That was very nice vintage, are you sorry you sold it? Still making very decent money now

hooch-85 wrote: »
    That was very nice vintage, are you sorry you sold it? Still making very decent money now

Vintage collected his R the very same day as I collected mine ;) I remember we had poor Katie (?) in VW Ireland plagued with calls between the 2 of us, enquiring why it was taking them 5 months to build the car lol. Vintage himself can elaborate but I think the shine wore off fairly quick for him, once the new car smell evaporated.

Thoughts on a Mazda 6 sport 2.2 diesel
    2014 - 2017 range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Vintage collected his R the very same day as I collected mine ;) I remember we had poor Katie (?) in VW Ireland plagued with calls between the 2 of us, enquiring why it was taking them 5 months to build the car lol. Vintage himself can elaborate but I think the shine wore off fairly quick for him, once the new car smell evaporated.

Ha, poor Katie, think she knew our build numbers by the end from memory....."ah sure it's yourself Joe!". Haha

Truth is that I just never really got hooked fully by it. I had ideas of tracking it couple times a year and really using it as it was meant. I took it to Mondello in November that year and whilst it was probably one of the quicker cars there it was defo the least fun. It was pissing rain and all the rwd cars were hanging out of every corner, think there was even a 106 that you'd swear was rwd the way your man was driving it.

Short story is that I just found it a bit boring when the performance of it wore off. Odd time I would have people in the car that would be laughing and swearing at how quick it would leave a junction or go down a familiar road, but as with everything I just got used to it and didn't really enjoy as much as I was paying in depreciation at the time.

I actually exported that car and claimed a lump of vrt back. Had it gone to plan and the Brits didn't vote for Brexit causing stg to weaken so much I would of had a very cheap years ripping around in that thing. I could of kept it to get more value out of it, but when I wasn't enjoying the car there is no value in it.

I mentioned I recently test drove a mk8 fiesta st and was massively impressed by it. It's just good fun. Problem is there are none for sale in Ireland 2nd hand. So I went to my local Ford dealer last week and wanted to get a price to change into a new one with my own just to see where we were at. No new ones here either and he guessed 5month build. He was to get back to me with alternative but never did. He then asked what about a 2016 focus RS he has coming into stock. I told him no way straight away but it's been chipping away at me since. The RS isn't gonna drop 50% in 3 years like a new fiesta. But still think it's too much of a stretch. The fiesta is much more modern inside, warranty, cheap to fuel,tax,insure etc.

So forerunner at the min is offload my own car in some way and buy a fiesta 2nd hand from UK.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Ha, poor Katie, think she knew our build numbers by the end from memory....."ah sure it's yourself Joe!". Haha

lol yeah. Not this fella again! I remember one day she tried to tell me it took 12 weeks to actually build the car, start to finish... bespoke hand built lol. but, no fear - my car was on the “priority” list. I reckon that was similar to the Ryanair priority queue.

I wonder would similar feelings of boredom hit you after 6 months in the Fiesta?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

You will really enjoy a Fiesta ST, they are such good craic to drive. On a B road, they are as quick as you need for this country. The harsh ride is the main thing that grated me about my old one. Apparently they have improved that on the mk8.

I haven't driven a mk8 but from reading reviews by all accounts they are brilliant. If you don't need the space they are ideal.

I can't imagine my 5 months pregnant Mrs trying to squeeze into the Recaros that were in the mk7 if I still had it, or as she used to call it the "sports bra car"��

Harper91 wrote: »
    Thoughts on a Mazda 6 sport 2.2 diesel
    2014 - 2017 range

200.gif

And keep running.

bazz26 wrote: »
    200.gif

And keep running.

Thats bad ? Family member has a 142 in white loves it
    Japanese manufactur thought they would be good .

Not a Mazda built diesel engine. They are a disaster, your friend got lucky. Google is your friend.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Not a Mazda built diesel engine. They are a disaster, your friend got lucky. Google is your friend.

What Japanese engines are the best to look at other then honda of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

A bit of history first, have had Gti's since 2006, Mk5, Mk6, and 2 Mk7 (I got the first one just after JoeA3 back in 2013).

I traded the last Mk7 into Beshoff Motors March last year, and got into a 530i M Sport. There are a few pictures over on the last GTI tread around Paddys day 2019.

Initially was love at first sight, the car was beautify, picked it up with under 4K miles, a new smell and have only put another 9K miles since ( I few on here know i do micro miles each year).

The love affair has now worn off, nothing wrong with the car exactly but probably not really a correct fit for for me. Love the luxury, the quietness, the fit and finish, so does the Mrs, but its a bit 'big'. Even though I'm extremely careful Iv kerbed the 20" alloys more than once, and parking in tight shopping centers is a constant worry.

The performance is good, not great, but markedly different from the GTi's, lots of midrange torque but "sluggish" getting going.

So last month just missed out on a Blue 330e M Sport, again in Beshoff's. I was literally 1 hour late in putting down a deposit. Found out a few days later that a lad I know well, had actually bought it.

So where to next ? One of the lads I work with just bought a Tesla Long range. 4sec 0-60 :cool:, but fully EV and €65K is a bit of a stretch. Looking at a 192 330e M Sport in Colm Quinn on Saturday, and if the cost to change works i may go that way.

But is there something else out there I'm not considering ?