Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭snowgal

The original time for this press conference was 3pm. It is now almost 5 and nothing yet.

cos Meehall is crappng himself, knowing he has to come out in his boring boring voice and tell us the bad news....Id say hes putting it off for as long as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭growleaves

MOR316 wrote: »
    "Packaged Ham" would make a great name for a band

MOR316 and the False Positives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Arghus wrote: »
    Back when Harris, Varadkar and others were saying that about how long people can put up with restrictions I think they genuinely hadn't envisioned a situation where the virus would still be spreading going into the Autumn. I think they accepted that it might take April, May and some of June, but the situation would have definitely righted itself by August, sure look we have a plan to have all the pubs open again by August 10th, things are surely going to be sound by then... There was a total naivete about how truly long and drawn out this is all going to be.

This was the source of my pretty-heavy anxiety in March and April tbh. It seemed like everyone was pulling on the jersey and having fun posting #stayathome on instagram and I just kept looking at the situation and thinking "What?!". Lots of friends and families just getting on with it as if it would be short term, etc, and the only conclusion I could get to was this is going to go on for far longer than most expect. It wasn't even anxiety about Covid, it was about the reaction people would have when it went on too long, and how you even go about unwinding such measures without a clear exit such as vaccine. And now here we are 5 months later talking about bringing in restrictions that won't have any effect on the numbers. Mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Really impressive from the government if true.

ah you've just proved your on a wind up.

Whats impressive about it ?

Any logic behind some of these decisions because they appear to be pointless

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

snowgal wrote: »
    cos Meehall is crappng himself, knowing he has to come out in his boring boring voice and tell us the bad news....Id say hes putting it off for as long as possible!

Don't forget the incessant, never ending hand waving. God it drives me demented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

Really impressive from the government if true.

How are you not banned from this thread?

You're the ultimate WUM :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

I'm fairly certain you can live without packaged ham.

Certain you can live without watching sports as well.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    The restrictions are pretty light. It reeks of making an attempt to be seeing to be doing something without actually doing a whole lot to reduce the spread of the virus. Get on top of Civil Servants for a start and force them to actually go into the field and inspect the meat plants daily. Split up direct provision centres, investigate the allegations of labour employed by meat plants not paying into the Irish tax system. These are meaningful actions.

Waste of time.

Agree. Nothing there that will change current numbers. To me the lax quarantine of visitors is key to all this. How can you try to open everything up with infected people arriving into our country every week not properly contained. Has taken two months of this to get us to were we are now. Then asking older people to shield. They must feel let down by the government. Reactionary actions and their original plan is in tatters. They probably need to go back to phase 2, but know the people won't stand for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

spookwoman wrote: »
    The fact you're arguing for meat factories vs sports says it all. Blinkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

ah you've just proved your on a wind up.

Whats impressive about it ?

Any logic behind some of these decisions because they appear to be pointless

Without fail every evening. I'm far from optimistic at the best of times but this chap feeds off the souls of children.

growleaves wrote: »
    MOR316 and the False Positives

"Growleaves, Growleaves, GRROOOWLEEEEAVES...I'm begging of you please don't take my man"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

MOR316 wrote: »
    How are you not banned from this thread?

You're the ultimate WUM :D

I dunno why people bother responding to such nonsense tbh. Just ignore it

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Under the restrictions, that will remain in place until 13 September at the earliest, indoor events will be limited to six people - reduced from 50 - except for businesses likes shops and restaurants which are subject to separate rules.

Weddings will be exempted from the new restrictions, meaning they can go ahead with fifty people.

wtf, weddings are immune from the virus?

What were they smoking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Enough is enough now.this madness has to stop now.nhpet have to be told hey lads feck off and let people live.this isn’t going to end well.were all in this together.ya fcuking right.

growleaves wrote: »
    A ban on cash will lead to a black market in unofficial currencies. Would be interested to know what the penalty for holding such would be.

Who is talking about banning cash apart from one post from someone trying to be funny and a few more running with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭redarmy

Sources suggest that gov are considering significant measures including reducing the amount of participants allowed at indoor & outdoor social, recreational, cultural, entertainment and sporting gatherings. More stringent enforcement of face covering wearing & travel restriction

Stheno wrote: »
    wtf, weddings are immune from the virus?

What were they smoking?
    Weddings can continue but outdoor spectators can't? I don't even know what to say

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Without fail every evening. I'm far from an optimistic at the best of times but this chap feeds off the souls of children.

Would explain why he's so eager for Schools to reopen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

spookwoman wrote: »

What is the public health issue with 50 people spread out in a large open area watching a match ?

There isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

6 people to be allowed attend funerals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Longing

It wouldn't surprise me if schools now will be delayed opening until after 13 September. Some wacky decisions been leaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Patser

Still sounds like a lot of fuss over very little - matches will be annoying, and over 70s will be annoyed - but nothing about restrictions in Kildare, Offaly or Laois - nothing about Tipp's numbers or Carlow's, nothing about large scale restrictions on movement...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Any word on when press conference is? In time for 6pm news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Any sort of competent PR person would realise that governmental support is about to plummet.

Possibly but public support is not rational or predictable. In many cases more draconian restrictions, the perception that a politician is taking decisive action can lead to more support.

People don't not love dictators for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Can live without schools too but we seem to be intent on opening them up at the cost of everything else.

I know, I have no idea what their line of thinking is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

redarmy wrote: »
    Sources suggest that gov are considering significant measures including reducing the amount of participants allowed at indoor & outdoor social, recreational, cultural, entertainment and sporting gatherings. More stringent enforcement of face covering wearing & travel restriction

interesting. you'd swear it was an outright singular attack on the GAA by some of the posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,531 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Food is of vital importance. Watching people play sports isn't.

The sports games (for the most part) are appropriately managed and distanced, and kept within public health guidelines with no indication of clusters started by them, affected meat and other factories are another story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Any sort of competent PR person would realise that governmental support is about to plummet.

Why is it about to plummet? Because you say so?

What is the public health issue with 50 people spread out in a large open area watching a match ?

There isn't

Exactly. The players and management are included in the 200 so in all reality it's a maximum of 100 spectators.

I'm in Sligo. All GAA grounds can hold multiples of this number.

I'm actually closer to people at my workplace or even walking down the street than I am at a match FFS

Why? Because you say so?
    You seem intent on defending the government here John. You seem to be in the minority.