Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Superfoods

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    In fairness to Sinn Fein they did permit a member to speak to Gardaí for a capital murder trial.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/brady-investigator-says-witness-who-was-sf-member-wanted-to-contact-party-first-1.4332502

It only took them a few weeks to decide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

In fairness to Sinn Fein they did permit a member to speak to Gardaí for a capital murder trial.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/brady-investigator-says-witness-who-was-sf-member-wanted-to-contact-party-first-1.4332502

I wonder what they were doing in the time between the request and it being granted?

And FFS - they had to be consulted on giving information in relation to the murder of a Garda?

A mafioso bunch of thugs who clearly think they are above the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I wasn't actually drawing parellels, I was pointing out that the 'depths to which humanity could sink' were shown long before the Nazis sank to their depth.

Basically what we need to do is NOT create the circumstances where humans will sink to those depths because there they will go regardless if it is the 1840's, the 1940's or 2040's.

The 'circumstances' for the conflict/war here were created.

People in glasshouses etc. If you are looking for depths to which humanity can sink, you don't need to look much further than the people you support and defend all day every day.

That is awful, hard to believe that a political party believes it is above the law in respect of Garda killings in this day and age.

And as for the response from the SF spokesperson, do what I do, not what I say, it is only words. SF and its members have no respect for the rule of law in any state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,566 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I wonder what they were doing in the time between the request and it being granted?

And FFS - they had to be consulted on giving information in relation to the murder of a Garda?

:) Not hard to work out that the guy was a bit of an idiot.

'The mafiosa bunch of thugs' that did this at the get go? Not very convincing. This seems to indicate that a 'Shinner councillor - 'mafiosa and thug' apparently supplied the break in the case to Gardai.
    The break in the case came in February 2017 when the witness contacted Louth Sinn Féin Cllr Antóin Watters through Facebook and told him he had information. Mr Watters put him in touch with Mr Marry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭blackwhite

They gave a reason for not supporting the Chinese motion. Look it up...it's probably why they didn't support the Belarus motion, although I cannot confirm that.

No surprise that Francie will swallow that mealy-mouthed excuse that Chris (SF-don't-do-nepotism) MacManus gave - after all, the party line must not be questioned :rolleyes:
    Not wanting to be seen to be on the same side as "former colonial powers" is about as pathetic an excuse that's ever been offered for choosing to instead side with a country that's doing everything in it's power to try and become the world's biggest colonial power.
    And of course, they refused to vote to condemn Russia annexing Crimea - seems they like to pick and choose which colonists are good and bad.

SF make a habit of supporting authoritarian regimes that suppress democracy, so long as those authoritarians are from what would have traditionally been a 2nd-World/Eastern Bloc persuasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It’s one of the clearest examples in recent times of why SF aren’t a normal party. Can you imagine the lads around here if a FG member had to speak to his local TD before giving a statement in the prosecution of a suspect in the murder of a Garda killer?

It’s like Murphy up North having to ask Ted Howell what to do about the cash for ash fiasco. Or Adams knowing his fat brother was a kiddie fiddler and sending him south of the border to work with kids. Or having a SF TD pick up a psychopath Garda killer from prison. Or having a load of knackers bussed up from the ‘Free State’ to attend the funeral of Bobby Storey - another psychopath.

It’s like a criminal organisation to be honest. Repugnant political party. Bravo to the Irish Times for having the integrity and the bravery to continue to shine lights under the slates where most of these people slither and crawl around.

It’s one of the clearest examples in recent times of why SF aren’t a normal party. Can you imagine the lads around here if a FG member had to speak to his local TD before giving a statement in the prosecution of a suspect in the murder of a Garda killer?

He didn't 'have' to. You are falling for the slant in the story. Again...
    The break in the case came in February 2017 when the witness contacted Louth Sinn Féin Cllr Antóin Watters through Facebook and told him he had information. Mr Watters put him in touch with Mr Marry.

blackwhite wrote: »
    No surprise that Francie will swallow that mealy-mouthed excuse that Chris (SF-don't-do-nepotism) MacManus gave - after all, the party line must not be questioned :rolleyes:
    Not wanting to be seen to be on the same side as "former colonial powers" is about as pathetic an excuse that's ever been offered for choosing to instead side with a country that's doing everything in it's power to try and become the world's biggest colonial power.
    And of course, they refused to vote to condemn Russia annexing Crimea - seems they like to pick and choose which colonists are good and bad.

SF make a habit of supporting authoritarian regimes that suppress democracy, so long as those authoritarians are from what would have traditionally been a 2nd-World/Eastern Bloc persuasion.

As it happens this 'Shinner Bot' does not agree with them on not backing the two resolutions.
    The point was there was a reason for it. And sadly for you it was not 'support' for what the Chinese were doing how so ever you wish to colour it...as usual.

:) Not hard to work out that the guy was a bit of an idiot.

'The mafiosa bunch of thugs' that did this at the get go? Not very convincing. This seems to indicate that a 'Shinner councillor - 'mafiosa and thug' apparently supplied the break in the case to Gardai.

After the info had been vetted & rehearsed by the party? Why did SF need to be consulted?

What kind of behaviour breeds this culture of fear?
    That’s why the mafioso bunch of thugs phrase was used & warranted.

So who is gona collect the party’s latest Garda killer when he is released?

Was that in the job spec you applied for Francie?

After the info had been vetted & rehearsed by the party? Why did SF need to be consulted?

What kind of behaviour breeds this culture of fear?
    That’s why the mafioso bunch of thugs phrase was used & warranted.

So who is gona collect the party’s latest Garda killer when he is released?

Was that in the job spec you applied for Francie?

I think somebody has lost the plot.

Read the story properly...the info is all there if you remove the slanting. Let me 'slant' it another way...are we to thank SF for supplying the break in the case?

Note the date when the SF councillor passed the witness and info to the Gardai...go away and have a think about what that means.

He didn't 'have' to. You are falling for the slant in the story. Again...

But Francie, why did he think it was necessary in the first place?

Given what happened with the murder of McCartney in front of loads of SF members it does give the impression he wanted to check first in case Brady was connected.

jh79 wrote: »

Given what happened with the murder of McCartney in front of loads of SF members it does give the impression he wanted to check first in case Brady was connected.

How do I know...because he was stupid? Maybe he came from the north were not that long ago nationalists didn't recognise the police because it was a corrupt force that had to be re-named and restructured?

Seems I have to lead you by the nose here...who did the SF councillor on the ground 'consult' or 'feel the need to consult' when he handed Gardai the 'break in the case' in FEBRUARY 2017?

Lads use the brains here before this turns into another blind alley of 'get the shinners'.

How do I know...because he was stupid? Maybe he came from the north were not that long ago nationalists didn't recognise the police because it was a corrupt force that had to be re-named and restructured?

Seems I have to lead you by the nose here...who did the SF councillor on the ground 'consult' or 'feel the need to consult' when he handed Gardai the 'break in the case' in FEBRUARY 2017?

Lads use the brains here before this turns into another blind alley of 'get the shinners'.

Francie, I'm not saying SF did anything wrong, him consulting the party first was a strange move and possibly shows a mindset within the party membership when it comes to criminality among those that may have links to Republicanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I think somebody has lost the plot.

Read the story properly...the info is all there if you remove the slanting. Let me 'slant' it another way...are we to thank SF for supplying the break in the case?

Note the date when the SF councillor passed the witness and info to the Gardai...go away and have a think about what that means.

And from the evidence presented to court
    The witness wanted to help but told the detective that, as he was a Sinn Féin member, he was “not sure where he stood” about making an official statement without permission.

The witness wanted to help but told the detective that, as he was a Sinn Féin member, he was “not sure where he stood” about making an official statement without permission, said Mr Marry.

The detective said he went back to Mr Watters for help but the councillor told him it was a matter for the party’s head office.

Really speaks to the culture within the party - membership unsure if they are allowed make statements to Gardaí or not. Elected representatives stating that it's a matter for the party's head office to decide on whether a member can talk to the Gardaí or not. Imagine the outrage from the usual mob on here if any other party had a Councillor behaving like that.

Wonder whether they get permission or not depends on whether the alleged perpetrator is a "good republican."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Or the witness knew that Brady was mixed up with on-going criminal activity on the border and contacted his local TD first who advised him to contact the Gardai anyway. It mentions in the article that witnesses were intimidated and that the investigating Garda was surprised that it was a trial by jury and not in the special criminal court.

jm08 wrote: »
    Or the witness knew that Brady was mixed up with on-going criminal activity on the border and contacted his local TD first who advised him to contact the Gardai anyway. It mentions in the article that witnesses were intimidated and that the investigating Garda was surprised that it was a trial by jury and not in the special criminal court.

The article says the witness said he didn't know "where he stood" not that he was afraid. And who the hell is gonna try to intimidate a member of SF anyways !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭christy c

Tbf they shouldnt have imo....that lad is in jail for murder,and no evidence he pulled the trigger

I certainly would be wary of helping gaurds into future after that carry on,surronding this case and attacks/smearing of anyone who dare point this out

You got your ass handed to you in the main thread for waffle like this, might be best to put down the shovel.

Except i didnt??

Still no sign of any evidence,he pulled the trigger :)

You did, might need to read back.

A jury disagreed with you, waffling about the guards' "carry on" won't change that.

After this carryon...why would anyone help the gaurds?

To take proven scumbag Garda killers like Aaron Brady off the streets.

All we need now...is to.em prove he pulled the trigger?

I sense this lack of evidence is a concern for you....hence why yous want to shout down anyone pointing it out

Under Irish Law you don't have to have actually pulled the trigger to commit murder.

Here's an example.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/freddie-thompson-found-guilty-of-murder-of-david-douglas-1.3612610

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

The article says the witness said he didn't know "where he stood" not that he was afraid. And who the hell is gonna try to intimidate a member of SF anyways !

Plenty of criminal activity around the borders or are you trying to claim now that Sinn Fein are behind the Kevin Lunney assault and intimidation*, or the cash machine smash and grab activity, or even the people smuggling that resulted in all those people being dieing in a truck in the UK?

*https://www.thejournal.ie/kevin-lunney-attack-accused-seeks-to-dismiss-charges-5142636-Jul2020/

All we need now...is to.em prove he pulled the trigger?

I sense this lack of evidence is a concern for you....hence why yous want to shout down anyone pointing it out

They have proved to a jury beyond a reasonable doubt that Brady murdered the Garda.

More waffle about me being concerned. Pointing out facts that evidence was sufficient for a jury is not shouting down. The highly paid barristers had enough time since January to highlight the lack of evidence if true, but again, the jury disagreed.

jm08 wrote: »
    Plenty of criminal activity around the borders or are you trying to claim now that Sinn Fein are behind the Kevin Lunney assault and intimidation*, or the cash machine smash and grab activity, or even the people smuggling that resulted in all those people being dieing in a truck in the UK?

*https://www.thejournal.ie/kevin-lunney-attack-accused-seeks-to-dismiss-charges-5142636-Jul2020/

And some will naturally have connections to SF such as Jock Davison , that "one shot " McCabe guy (Paul Murphy's mate) and Slab.

Would be hard for an ordinary member of SF to remember all the "Good Republicans" that need a favour.

Except they didnt,provide evidence he pulled the trigger?

There is literally zero evidence he pulled the trigger however

Seems to me,he is taking rap for something,he hasnt done....i personally would be wary of having anything to do with gaurds after this shambles....

You are only responsible for your own actions,and to my eyes,he isnt triggerman

They have proved to a jury that he murdered the Garda, the fact that it is not sufficient for a random person on the internet has no bearing thankfully and is of no concern to me.

I think it was a great job by the guards, scum like Brady should be nowhere near civilised society.

Really speaks to the culture within the party - membership unsure if they are allowed make statements to Gardaí or not. Elected representatives stating that it's a matter for the party's head office to decide on whether a member can talk to the Gardaí or not. Imagine the outrage from the usual mob on here if any other party had a Councillor behaving like that.

Wonder whether they get permission or not depends on whether the alleged perpetrator is a "good republican."

Expect no direct response to this- just whataboutery

Except they didnt prove he waa triggerman....either you belive in personal responsibilty or you dont

These being gaurds,who have had countless inquiries and tribunals over last 10 years,to prove they are liers....how many ministers of justice last 10 years have resigned by adopting your position of blind faith in the gaurds...your arguement is on fundamentally shaky foundations

I think the guards did a great job getting this scumbag to trial, I do not have blind faith in them as you seem to mistakenly believe.

The courts and ultimately the jury decided on his guilt. Not any of the guards or ministers for justice. Case closed thankfully.

Anyway this is distracting from SF being in the news yet again. Some people might want to discuss it, although personally I'm more turned off by their unbelievably stupid proposals such as pension age, tax, etc.

Except i didnt??

Still no sign of any evidence,he pulled the trigger :)

After this carryon...why would anyone help the gaurds?

You obviously don't understand the law in relation to murder.

The nail has a sore head where you hit it.

A state within a state is how Sinn Fein view themselves, above the laws that apply to ordinary people, John Hume didn't need a show sham funeral, but the Storey thug got one in spades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

The lack of evidence he actually pulled the trigger being the elephant in the room,you are unable to explain?

The only reason this is in the news,is to distract from.the balls ffg have made of opening up the country and we are headed backwards and towards another lockdown

The thick cúnt went around bragging about killing a guard. You don't need to pull the trigger to be a murderer, read up on your law lad.