Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Putting people "on edge" or people being given the information needed to modify their behaviour if needed in their location.
    Which clearly assumes there is behaviour that needs modifying. Giving details to "you lot in Ballybay" is really not good public health practice and is condoning that blame game so many seem to favour.

wadacrack wrote: »
    Yea he is a very good source on this and usually weeks ahead of most people on this as you have said

I think its the facts that alarm people . Theirs nothing really dislikeable about the man himself.
    Most people have moved on from his "facts" to what's the next phase of the plan.
    There's only one Dr John anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

That was interesting that Sweden and Denmark took the same hit economically and the only difference was more dead swedes.

People tend to make their own decisions economically when faced with uncertainty. You can tell them everything is grand but chances are they won’t risk going to the cinema or pub or wherever unless there is less risk. Every day there is community transmission. Nobody wants to be a statistic for a bacon sandwich.

https://twitter.com/yaneerbaryam/status/1294286514562707456?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    That makes no sense . Some counties figures are not bad yes but the Irish figures are . You can’t just remove counties and decide not to count them in a national figure .

Isn’t that exactly what the government did?

The looked at the figures for 3 counties and locked them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

smurfjed wrote: »

Yes they did . But taking three counties out of the equation doesn’t give you a national figure regardless . The national figure is all 26 counties . You can have county figures or country figures etc but a national figure is a total country figure and not a figure for your choice of counties

smurfjed wrote: »

It was actually the proliferation of large work-related clusters and the risk of them spreading rapidly into the community that led them to do that, not overall community cases. Cases per 100K has now become the new R0!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Lockdowns should also be introduced by our leaders to clamp down on areas of laxer compliance. The authorities need to have the flexibility to come down hard and fast on those in areas where compliance isn’t satisfactory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Haha your nose is probably dried up because you're dehydrated by the alcohol and the heat!

Your probably right about that, it'll be water for the next few days, great to be in the pub though well worth it got 4hrs until they stopped serving at 11 the doors were closed at 9.30 in case the guards came :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

spookwoman wrote: »

Hold up, Sneezing isn't a symptom, so why all the panic about wearing a mask to stop peoples sneezes, the same with a dry cough that's not producing droplets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,057 ✭✭✭✭fits

Any breakdown of yesterday’s figures by county? Watching Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,505 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Hold up, Sneezing isn't a symptom, so why all the panic about wearing a mask to stop peoples sneezes, the same with a dry cough that's not producing droplets.

Really?

Have you a link to this newly discovered science?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Drumpot wrote: »

The always excellent Dr John with links for sources and information on Africa that’s potentially encouraging.

In short, the death rate in certain parts of Aufrica is practically negligible in some studies (0.0026). He goes into some theories as to why this might be the case but like Ive said before we need a more cohesive, collective study from global partners to start working together with the available data to find chinks In the virus armor.

Anybody who hasn’t watched Dr Johns videos, they are far better then the watered down stuff you get from news media and papers. He’s a retired nurse, who is qualified to be a doctor, who used to train nurses and has worked around the world. He always gives links to the information he discusses and explains why he takes certain stance on scenarios. He seems to annoy some people for some strange reason, but he’s one of the best, most reliable and informed sources I’ve seen online. I watch him, medcram and Dr Hansen on YouTube and they put news sources to shame. Usually stuff they are talking about is discussed like breaking news weeks or even months later from governments.

What are his theories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Wearing a mask is about keeping your droplets to yourself. They are expelled in breath and moreso when talking. Sneezing might not be a common symptom but if someone with covid19 sneezed into an enclosed place, the droplets spread hugely.
    Wearing masks is about prevention of transmission right across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Thierry12 wrote: »
    What are his theories?

He clarified by saying it’s unclear why this is the case but he thinks it could be a number of things:

- Some immunity due to exposure to other corona virus In population
    - stronger immune systems (as they suffer more in Africa), cross immunity, regular exposure to diseases like (malaria
    - No VIT D deficiency (as lots of sun), but this is less likely to explain
    - age (younger) which would explain Kenya figures but Malawi study doesn’t really explain this
    - Genetic factors
    - new strain of virus that’s less lethal (less likely)

He explains pros and cons of each but concludes it’s disappointing that there is no global research to work out why this might be the case. It could be massive for our understanding of the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Ah here, I asked a serious question that requires a serious answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Irish GP who got Covid at the very start of this said that she felt the infection begin at the back of her nasal passage, exactly where they swab. Agitation there had her sneezing like mad, so I guess it depends on the person.

Also a "dry" cough is just a description for a non phlegmy cough, do you think there's no moisture in these people's airways???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Eh, if you have the virus and your body still functions so you can still sneeze and you can still pass on the virus.

It's also spread through talking and shouting. The virus comes out of the mouth and nose, so it makes sense to mask up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Hold up, Sneezing isn't a symptom, so why all the panic about wearing a mask to stop peoples sneezes.

Fascinating fact: people with no illness of any kind sneeze from time to time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

GazzaL wrote: »
    Ah here, I asked a serious question that requires a serious answer.

Mod: @GazzaL - I deleted the deliberately off-topic posts. If you try to derail the thread again, I'll remove your access to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

How hard is it to understand that someone can sneeze without cold too :pac: You amaze me everytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

He clarified by saying it’s unclear why this is the case but he thinks it could be a number of things:

- stronger immune systems (as they suffer more in Africa), cross immunity, regular exposure to diseases like (malaria
    - age (younger) which would explain Kenya figures but Malawi study doesn’t really explain this
    - Genetic factors

He explains pros and cons of each but concludes it’s disappointing that there is no global research to work out why this might be the case. It could be massive for our understanding of the virus.

What about under reporting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

https://www.researchsquare.com/article/rs-57112/v1.pdf
    https://www.cell.com/cell/fulltext/S0092-8674(20)31008-4

Two new studies that show a strong T-cell and B-cell response even in mild and asymptomatic cases that is consistent with long term immunity. This was true even with no detectable antibodies.

Also of note in the second study 28% of the samples previously unexposed to the virus still displayed a T-cell response suggesting a degree of preexisting immunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

- Genetic factors

I think obesity/diet is a huge factor with this virus tbh. Its not hitting athletes hard at all and many teams/leagues have had high infection rates. They obviously have players from many different ethnic backgrounds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

wadacrack wrote: »
    I think obesity/diet is a huge factor with this virus tbh. Its not hitting athletes hard at all and many teams/leagues have had high infection rates. They obviously have players from many different ethnic backgrounds

Teams aren't made up of 84 emyear Olds.

The tcell info is enlightening. I think it's a bit more expensive to carry out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭political analyst

Given that there are no specific bins in public areas for people to dispose of masks they have used and taken off after they have left a supermarket or other commercial premises, does that mean that SARS-CoV-2 poses a much lower risk of death or serious harm to people with no serious underlying health problems than thought by most people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Ineedaname wrote: »
    https://www.researchsquare.com/article/rs-57112/v1.pdf
    https://www.cell.com/cell/fulltext/S0092-8674(20)31008-4

Two new studies that show a strong T-cell and B-cell response even in mild and asymptomatic cases that is consistent with long term immunity. This was true even with no detectable antibodies.

Also of note in the second study 28% of the samples previously unexposed to the virus still displayed a T-cell response suggesting a degree of preexisting immunity.

This seems to becoming more and more clear, immunity is sustained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Renjit wrote: »
    What about under reporting?

Under reporting of deaths? It’s possible I suppose, I think back to Scandinavian countries a bit here, has there been definitive data researched on why for example Ireland did so much worse then Finland and Norway?

I heard one doctor on medcram suggest part of this could be the culture of cold and warm baths (getting warm and cold regularly). But again, nobody seems interested in finding out what makes one country more prone to getting high death rates versus others.

I wonder if culture and diet are massive factors that western society really doesn’t want to face up to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,505 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Given that there are no specific bins in public areas for people to dispose of masks they have used and taken off after they have left a supermarket or other commercial premises, does that mean that SARS-CoV-2 poses a much lower risk of death or serious harm to people with no serious underlying health problems than thought by most people?

The same answer the last time you posed that question.

No.

Unless certain people are rooting around in public bins, in that instance Covid would probably be the least of their worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭1641

I dunno if it has been already linked but there is an interesting article in today's IT about the ooutbreak at O'Briens Foods in Timahoe. Well worth a read.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus/inside-the-o-brien-fine-foods-factory-in-lockdown-kildare-1.4330267

"On Tuesday, August 4th, 243 employees were tested at the plant. Of those, the HSE agreed to test the 70 or so people on A’s immediate shift. A further 170 were tested by a private company, Code Blue, paid for by O’Briens.

On the morning of Wednesday, August 5th, everyone passed through the temperature scanner as normal. Nobody had a temperature. And then, “on Wednesday lunchtime, we got a call from Code Blue to say… your numbers are not good.”

Out of 170 tests, there were 45 positives. O’Brien was stunned. The results from the shift tested by the HSE came that evening, bring the total number of positives to 80.
    "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Under reporting of deaths? It’s possible I suppose, I think back to Scandinavian countries a bit here, has there been definitive data researched on why for example Ireland did so much worse then Finland and Norway?

I heard one doctor on medcram suggest part of this could be the culture of cold and warm baths (getting warm and cold regularly). But again, nobody seems interested in finding out what makes one country more prone to getting high death rates versus others.

I wonder if culture and diet are massive factors that western society really doesn’t want to face up to!

The drug manufacturing industry love obesity and unhealthy diets.

You've high blood pressure? Take blood pressure pills

You're fat? Take some weight loss pills

You've diabetes? Take some of these pills etc

They're certainly not advertising good health can lessen the effects